Trevor Hoyle - K.I.D.S. - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

K.I.D.S.

By Trevor Hoyle

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Danielle was fun-loving and affectionate, just like any other lively eleven-year-old - until she came home from hospital. Now something has infected Danielle's body and poisoned her mind . . . A fast-paced horror-thriller for fans of Dean Koontz and Adam Nevill.

A fast-paced horror-thriller about a biological disaster that turns children into killers, from the award-winning author of Rock Fix.

Danielle isn't the only one who appears to be possessed by an evil, destructive power she can't control. Soon, infected children all over the country are committing acts of violence and destruction, openly revolting against their parents and the adult world. Something has polluted and twisted their young minds, and given them a great power - but who? And why?

Then Danielle disappears and soon, children all over the country are running away from home too, Only one thing is clear: these children won't stop until they have exacted a terrible, deadly revenge - but why?

'Trevor Hoyle is Britain's most exciting writer currently working in genre fiction and the more experimental reaches of the mainstream' - Nicholas Royle, author of the cult classic Antwerp

Biographical Notes

Trevor Hoyle was born in Lancashire, and started out as an actor before moving to the other side of the screen as a full-time writer. His award-winning short fiction and novels range from hard-edged thrillers to comedy to science fiction, including his most recent blockbuster, the eco-thriller The Last Gasp. He has also written for the radio (his first radio play, GIGO, won the Radio Times Drama Award) and TV, including the cult TV series Blake's 7; his bestselling novelisations include Blake's 7, which he co-wrote with Terry Nation, the show's creator, followed by Blake's 7: Project Avalon and Blake's 7: Scorpio Attack. His novel Rule of Night was a Time Out Book of the Week. He's also won the Transatlantic Review Erotic Fiction Award and the Ray Mort Northern Novel Award. After travelling the world, he returned to his roots, and once again lives in Lancashire.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781848669215
  • Publication date: 18 Dec 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Jo Fletcher Books
Quercus

The Norse Myths

Dr Tom Birkett
Authors:
Dr Tom Birkett
MacLehose Press

Homeland or Death

Alberto Barrera Tyszka
Authors:
Alberto Barrera Tyszka

Quercus

The Stranger Diaries

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths
Quercus

The Burning House

Neil Spring
Authors:
Neil Spring
riverrun

At the Strangers' Gate

Adam Gopnik
Authors:
Adam Gopnik
Quercus

Leave No Trace

Mindy Mejia
Authors:
Mindy Mejia
Quercus

On Sheep

Axel Lindén
Authors:
Axel Lindén

Why do we keep sheep? Alex Lindén ruminates as he watches his sheep ruminating. Naive and inexperienced, he has ditched his doctoral studies in order to move to a fully working farm in the country with his family, where he is tasked with the responsibility of caring for a herd of sheep.Lindén records his new life in his diary, as he tries to manage life on the farm, the ever-escaping sheep and the trials and tribulations that come with being a shepherd - shearing, lambing and confronting the slaughterhouse. As time passes and he gradually settles into the rhythm of shepherding, his naivete fades away and is replaced with stark realisations about what is now his everyday life. He finds himself applying his experiences of animal husbandry to consider our place - as individuals and as a collective organism - in the universe. Is he really the one caring for the sheep, or are they the ones keeping him? Lindén finds both companionship in his flock and a sound, if complex, moral framework for examining the lives we lead.The result is a sensitive and entertaining meditation on the small wonders in our world.

MacLehose Press

Inhuman Resources

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre

Alain Delambre is a 57-year-old former HR executive, drained by four years of hopeless unemployment.All he is offered are small, demoralizing jobs. He has reached his very lowest ebb, and can see no way out.So when a major company finally invites him to an interview, Alain Delambre is ready to do anything, borrow money, shame his wife and his daughters and even participate in the ultimate recruitment test: a role-playing game that involves hostage-taking.Alain Delambre commits body and soul in this struggle to regain his dignity.But if he suddenly realised that the dice had been loaded against him from the start, his fury would be limitless.And what began as a role-play game could quickly become a bloodbath.

Jo Fletcher Books

Haunted

Christopher Golden, Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Christopher Golden, Charlaine Harris
Quercus

Darling Blue

Tracy Rees
Authors:
Tracy Rees
Jo Fletcher Books

Shattermoon

Dominic Dulley
Authors:
Dominic Dulley
Jo Fletcher Books

Blood Cruise

Mats Strandberg
Authors:
Mats Strandberg
riverrun

Too Close to Breathe

Olivia Kiernan
Authors:
Olivia Kiernan
Quercus

Blood Feud

Anna Smith
Authors:
Anna Smith

They came for her family. Now she's coming for them. This nail-biting thriller introduces Glasgow's newest gangland mistress, Kerry Casey - a gripping read perfect for fans of Martina Cole and Kimberley Chambers.Kerry Casey thought she'd made a life away from the dirty dealings of her gangster family. Her father wanted to make them legit - her brother Mickey had other ideas, and now it's got him killed. When Mickey's funeral turns into a bloodbath at the hands of a group of anonymous shooters and Kerry's mother is killed in the crossfire, Kerry finds herself at the head of the Casey family, and desperate for revenge.Running a crime empire is not a job she ever asked for, and not one she wants, but Kerry is determined to fulfil her father's wishes and make the Caseys go straight. First, though, she will find the men who murdered her mother, and she will take them down, no matter what it takes.(P)2018 Quercus Editions Limited

riverrun

Almost Love

Louise O'Neill
Authors:
Louise O'Neill

'A bold, uncompromising depiction of obsessive love' MARIAN KEYES'O'Neill is a vital and necessary presence in contemporary literature and we are lucky to have her' SARAH PERRY'A real, raw story . . . Louise O'Neill will once again connect to the secret, intimate places of readers' minds and lives' CECELIA AHERNWhen Sarah falls for Matthew, she falls hard.So it doesn't matter that he's twenty years older. That he sees her only in secret. That, slowly but surely, she's sacrificing everything else in her life to be with him. Sarah's friends are worried. Her father can't understand how she could allow herself to be used like this. And she's on the verge of losing her job.But Sarah can't help it. She is addicted to being desired by Matthew. And love is supposed to hurt. Isn't it?

MacLehose Press

About the Size of the Universe

Jón Kalman Stefánsson
Authors:
Jón Kalman Stefánsson
MacLehose Press

The Baltimore Boys

Joël Dicker
Authors:
Joël Dicker
riverrun

Seventeen

Hideo Yokoyama
Authors:
Hideo Yokoyama

FROM THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF SIX FOUR: AN INVESTIGATIVE THRILLER SET AMID THE AFTERMATH OF AN AIR DISASTER - PERFECT FOR FANS OF SPOTLIGHT AND AFTER THE CRASH.'He's a master' New York Times Book Review'Very different . . . to almost anything out there' Observer1985. Kazumasa Yuuki, a seasoned reporter at the North Kanto Times, runs a daily gauntlet against the power struggles and office politics that plague its newsroom. But when an air disaster of unprecedented scale occurs on the paper's doorstep, its staff are united by an unimaginable horror, and a once-in-a-lifetime scoop.2002. Seventeen years later, Yuuki remembers the adrenaline-fuelled, emotionally charged seven days that changed his and his colleagues' lives. He does so while making good on a promise he made that fateful week - one that holds the key to its last unsolved mystery, and represents Yuuki's final, unconquered fear.(P)2018 Quercus Editions Limited

riverrun

Histories

Sam Guglani
Authors:
Sam Guglani
MacLehose Press

The House with the Stained-Glass Window

Zanna Sloniowska
Authors:
Zanna Sloniowska

"The House with the Stained-Glass Window is remarkable, a gripping, Lvivian evocation of a city and a family across a long and painful century, at once personal and political, a novel of life and survival across the ages" PHILIPPE SANDS, author of East West StreetIn 1989, Marianna, the beautiful star soprano at the Lviv opera, is shot dead in the street as she leads the Ukrainian citizens in their protest against Soviet power. Only eleven years old at the time, her daughter tells the story of their family before and after that critical moment - including, ten years later, her own passionate affair with an older, married man. Just like their home city of Lviv, which stands at the crossroads of nations and cultures, the women in this family have had turbulent lives, scarred by war and political turmoil, but also by their own inability to show each other their feelings. Lyrically told, this is the story of a young girl's emotional, sexual, artistic and political awakening as she matures under the influence of her relatives, her mother's former lover, her city and its fortunes.Translated from the Polish by Antonia Lloyd-Jones