G.F. Newman - Crime and Punishment - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781849166485
    • Publication date:01 Oct 2009

Crime and Punishment

By G.F. Newman

  • Paperback
  • £12.99

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781849160124
  • Publication date: 01 Oct 2009
  • Page count: 704
  • Imprint: Quercus
'For readers who can think of no more delicious treat than a London underworld saga of murder and mayhem... Newman knows all the moves and lands narrative punch after punch... Bring on the sequel - soon.' Independent. — Independent
'A Sopranos-meets-Eastenders saga that consumes lowlife and highlife alike. an unashamedly unselfconscious bath in a wholly English underworld' The Times. — The Times
riverrun

Three Hours

Anders Roslund, Börge Hellström
Authors:
Anders Roslund, Börge Hellström
MacLehose Press

The Dance of Death

Oliver Bottini
Authors:
Oliver Bottini
riverrun

Fake Like Me

Barbara Bourland
Authors:
Barbara Bourland
Quercus

The Body in the Castle Well

Martin Walker
Authors:
Martin Walker
riverrun

Yellowhammer

James Henry
Authors:
James Henry

July 1983, Essex. Fox Farm is, thanks to two corpses, neither picturesque nor peaceful. The body in its kitchen belongs to eminent historian Christopher Cliff, who has taken his own life. The second, found on the property boundary, remains unidentified.To catalyze his investigation, DI Nick Lowry enlists the services of DC Daniel Kenton and WPC Jane Gabriel. And the team soon find themselves interrogating enigmatic neighbors, antiques merchants, jilted lovers and wronged relatives.Only when they fully open their eyes and minds will they begin to unpick a web of rural rituals, dodgy dealings and fragmented families - and uncover not just one murder, but two.

Quercus

Beautiful Bad

Annie Ward
Authors:
Annie Ward
Jo Fletcher Books

Council

Snorri Kristjansson
Authors:
Snorri Kristjansson
Quercus

Village of the Lost Girls

Agustín Martínez
Authors:
Agustín Martínez
Quercus

The Darkest Place

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain
MacLehose Press

The Girl in the Spider's Web

David Lagercrantz
Authors:
David Lagercrantz
MacLehose Press

Inhuman Resources

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre

Alain Delambre is a 57-year-old former HR executive, drained by four years of hopeless unemployment.All he is offered are small, demoralizing jobs. He has reached his very lowest ebb, and can see no way out.So when a major company finally invites him to an interview, Alain Delambre is ready to do anything, borrow money, shame his wife and his daughters and even participate in the ultimate recruitment test: a role-playing game that involves hostage-taking.Alain Delambre commits body and soul in this struggle to regain his dignity.But if he suddenly realised that the dice had been loaded against him from the start, his fury would be limitless.And what began as a role-play game could quickly become a bloodbath.

Quercus

An Autumn Hunting

Tom Callaghan
Authors:
Tom Callaghan
MacLehose Press

A Summer of Murder

Oliver Bottini
Authors:
Oliver Bottini
Jo Fletcher Books

Restoration

Angela Slatter
Authors:
Angela Slatter

Walking between the worlds has always been dangerous - but this time V's facing the loss of all she holds dear.Verity Fassbinder thought no boss could be worse than her perfectionist ex-boyfriend - until she grudgingly agreed to work for a psychotic fallen angel. And dealing with a career change not entirely of her own choosing is doing nothing to improve V's already fractious temper. The angel is a jealous - and violent - employer, so she's quit working for the Weyrd Council and sent her family away, for their own safety. Instead of indulging in domestic bliss, she's got to play BFFs with the angel's little spy, Joyce the kitsune assassin . . . and Joyce comes with her own murderous problems. The angel has tasked V with finding two lost treasures, which would be hard enough even without a vengeful Dusana Nadasy on her heels. And Inspector McIntyre won't stop calling: the bodies of Normal women who disappeared decades before are turning up, apparently subjected to Weyrd magics. Angelic demands or not, this isn't something she can walk away from. And the angel is getting impatient for results . . .'Slatter [has] gone from strength to strength, armed with first-class imagination and first-class storytelling skills' Jeff Vandermeer, bestselling author of the Southern Reach trilogy

riverrun

I'll Keep You Safe

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
Quercus

Believe Me

JP Delaney
Authors:
JP Delaney
MacLehose Press

The Lizard Strategy

Valerio Varesi
Authors:
Valerio Varesi

Italy's Maigret returns in another smouldering noir from a master of the police procedural "A master storyteller" Barry Forshaw, IndependentParma is blanketed in snow, but this pristine, white veneer cannot mask the stench of corruption. Its officials are no longer working for its people - only for themselves - crime is out of control and resentment festers in every district. Commissario Soneri remains at heart an idealist, so the state of Parma wounds him more than most. And now he is presented with three mysteries at once, each more impenetrable than the last. In a river creek on the outskirts of the city, tipped off by a local, he finds a mobile phone that rings through the night but holds no data; an elderly patient with senile dementia is reported missing from a hospice; and the mayor of Parma, who was reported as taking a holiday on the ski slopes, has disappeared off the face of the earth - just when he seemed certain to be implicated in a seismic corruption scandal at city hall.

Quercus

The Dark Angel

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths
Quercus

The Scarred Woman

Jussi Adler-Olsen
Authors:
Jussi Adler-Olsen

The international no. 1 bestseller returns with his most captivating and suspenseful novel yet - perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo. In a Copenhagen park the body of an elderly woman is discovered. Though the case bears a striking resemblance to another unsolved homicide from over a decade ago, the police cannot find any connection between the two victims. Across town a group of young women are being hunted down. The attacks seem random, but could these brutal acts of violence be related? Detective Carl Mørck of Department Q is charged with solving the mystery.Back at headquarters, Carl and his team are under pressure to deliver results: failure to meet his superiors' expectations will mean the end of Department Q. Solving the case, however, is not their only concern. After a breakdown, their colleague Rose is struggling to deal with the ghosts of her past - a past seemingly connected to one of the division's most sinister case-files. It is up to Carl, Assad and Gordon to unearth the dark and violent truth plaguing Rose before it is too late.Translated by William Frost

MacLehose Press

The Awkward Squad

Sophie Hénaff
Authors:
Sophie Hénaff

Suspended from her job as a promising police officer for firing "one bullet too many", Anne Capestan is expecting the worst when she is summoned to H.Q. to learn her fate. Instead, she is surprised to be told that she is to head up a new police squad, working on solving old cold cases.Though relieved to still have a job, Capestan is not overjoyed by the prospect of her new role. Even less so when she meets her new team: a crowd of misfits, troublemakers and problem cases, none of whom are fit for purpose and yet none of whom can be fired.But from this inauspicious start, investigating the cold cases throws up a number of strange mysteries for Capestan and her team: was the old lady murdered seven years ago really just the victim of a botched robbery? Who was behind the dead sailor discovered in the Seine with three gunshot wounds? And why does there seem to be a curious link with a ferry that was shipwrecked off the Florida coast many years previously?Translated from the French by Sam Gordon