Elly Griffiths - The Janus Stone - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Janus Stone

The Dr Ruth Galloway Mysteries 2

By Elly Griffiths

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

Readers met Dr Ruth Galloway, forensic archaeologist, in Elly Griffiths' acclaimed debut The Crossing Places. Here is the second novel in this bestselling series.

Dr Ruth Galloway's forensic skills are called upon when builders, demolishing an old house in Norwich, uncover the bones of a child - minus the skull - beneath a doorway. Is it some ritual sacrifice or just plain straightforward murder? Ruth links up with DCI Harry Nelson to investigate.

The house was once a children's home. Nelson traces the Catholic priest who used to run the place. He tells him that two children did go missing forty years before - a boy and a girl. They were never found.

When carbon dating proves that the child's bones predate the home and relate to a time when the house was privately owned, Ruth is drawn ever more deeply into the case. But as spring turns into summer it becomes clear that someone is trying hard to put her off the scent by frightening her to death...

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781849162296
  • Publication date: 29 Jul 2010
  • Page count: 336
  • Imprint: Quercus
'The setting is enticingly atmospheric. I closed the book wanting to know more... as well as feeling the satisfaction that a really intelligent murder story can give' Independent. — Independent
Quercus

Now You See Her

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths

The fifth gripping Stephens & Mephisto mystery from the bestselling author of the Dr Ruth Galloway series - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie and Robert Galbraith.DCI Edgar Stephens, Detective Sergeants Emma Holmes and Bob Willis, and of course magician Max Mephisto, are facing a brave new world: the 1960s. Max is a huge TV star in the USA, and life in Brighton has settled down for the three police officers. The funeral of Diablo, actor and wartime comrade to Edgar and Max, throws the gang back together. A more surprising face to see is Ruby, Edgar ex-fiance, now the star of her own TV show. At the funeral Ruby asks Emma's advice about someone who is stalking her. Emma is flattered and promises to investigate. Then Ruby goes missing and the race to find her involves not only the old comrades but sundry new characters from the often bewildering world of the sixties music scene...

Quercus

The Man on the Street

Trevor Wood
Authors:
Trevor Wood

A killer is on the streets of Newcastle. So is the man who will catch them.As Newcastle cleans up its streets for the Queen's Diamond Jubilee, homeless veteran Jimmy Mullen witnesses a crime committed in the dead of night. Years of living on the streets and a long stretch in prison have taught him to keep his head down, to stay out of other peoples' fights. But when he sees an appeal made by the victim's daughter, the memories of his own shattered home life flood back.When he comes forward as a witness, the police aren't interested. As he seeks to find out the truth of that night and with his own past catching up with him, Jimmy is forced to play a deadly game of hide and seek in the city's darkest corners.

Quercus

The Boy Who Fell

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain
MacLehose Press

The Dance of Death

Oliver Bottini
Authors:
Oliver Bottini

The third in the Black Forest Investigations series - by CWA shortlisted authorOne wet and misty weekend in October, the Niemann family find a stranger in their garden. He is armed and tries to force his way into the house, but disappears as soon as the police are alerted. That night he's back with an impossible ultimatum . . .Freiburg detective Louise Boni and her colleagues are put under enormous pressure. Traces of evidence lead her to a no-man's-land, and to a ruthless criminal who brings with him the trauma of conflict in the Balkans.Translated from the German by Jamie Bulloch

Quercus

Unfollow Me

Charlotte Duckworth
Authors:
Charlotte Duckworth
Quercus

Remembrance Day

Henry Porter
Authors:
Henry Porter
Quercus

Brandenburg

Henry Porter
Authors:
Henry Porter

'A fascinating switchback roller-coaster of a plot' GuardianNovember 1989. The fall of the Berlin Wall. One man is caught between East and West...The Stasi was among the most sophisticated intelligence organisations in the world, but by the end of the 1980s the Orwellian state of East Germany was collapsing around it.In the last few paranoid weeks of the Communist world one man will carry out one last desperate mission under the very noses of the Stasi. Dr Rudolf Rosenharte is an academic from Dresden and agent for MI6; his controller is Robert Harland, from A Spy's Life and Empire State. When Rosenharte's security is compromised he is faced with a stark choice: to defect to the West, leaving his beloved family to the mercies of the Stasi, or return to East Germany to carry out the most dangerous assignment of his career. November 1989 will mean the end of communism. But will it mean the end of Rosenharte?

Quercus

The Dying Light

Henry Porter
Authors:
Henry Porter
riverrun

The Killer in Me

Olivia Kiernan
Authors:
Olivia Kiernan

'The heir to Tana French's throne' Irish Times'Such sharp, clean writing and so atmospheric' Caz Frear, author of Sweet Little Lies'Tense, fast-paced . . . An excellent read' Jenny Quintana, author of The Missing GirlDetective Chief Superintendent Frankie Sheehan does not wish to linger on the grisly scene before her eyes. Two mutilated corpses. In a church. In Clontarf. Her profiling background screams one fact: this is just the beginning of a sickening message.Meanwhile, a 17-year-old case is playing out on a TV documentary, the convicted professing his innocence and historical police errors being exposed daily in the media. Frankie's superior, commissioner Donna Hegarty, makes no bones about who she expects to clean things up - both in terms of past mishandlings and the present murders.But not everyone working the cases wants the truth to come out. And the corridors of power have their own vested interest. Soon Frankie pinpoints just what is making her so nervous: the fact that anyone could be the next victim when justice is the killer. The Killer In Me is a fast-paced thriller in which lies are safer that the truth, the past is never far from the present, and the ability to kill could well, it seems, live in everyone.

Jo Fletcher Books

Hearts of Ice

David Hair
Authors:
David Hair
riverrun

Prefecture D

Hideo Yokoyama
Authors:
Hideo Yokoyama

A collection of four novellas: each taking place in 1998, each set in the world of Six Four, and each centring around a mystery and the unfortunate officer tasked with solving it.SEASON OF SHADOWS"The force could lose face . . . I want you to fix this." Personnel's Futawatari receives a horrifying memo forcing him to investigate the behaviour of a legendary detective with unfinished business.CRY OF THE EARTH"It's too easy to kill a man with a rumour." Shinto of Internal Affairs receives an anonymous tipoff alleging a Station Chief is visiting the red-light district ­- a warning he soon learns is a red herring.BLACK LINES"It was supposed to be her special day." Section Chief Nanao, responsible for the force's 49 female officers, is alarmed to learn her star pupil has not reported for duty, and is believed to be missing.BRIEFCASE"We need to know what he's going to ask." On the eve of a routine debate, Political Liaison Tsuge learns a wronged politician is preparing his revenge. He must now quickly dig up dirt to silence him.Prefecture D continues Hideo Yokoyama's exploration of the themes of obsession, saving face, office politics and inter-departmental conflicts. Placing everyday characters between a rock and a hard place and then dialling up the pressure, he blends and balances the very Japanese with the very accessible, to spectacular effect.

Quercus

Beautiful Bad

Annie Ward
Authors:
Annie Ward
Quercus

The Stone Circle

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths

'My favourite series' Val McDermidDCI Nelson has been receiving threatening letters telling him to 'go to the stone circle and rescue the innocent who is buried there'. He is shaken, not only because children are very much on his mind, with Michelle's baby due to be born, but because although the letters are anonymous, they are somehow familiar. They read like the letters that first drew him into the case of The Crossing Places, and to Ruth. But the author of those letters is dead. Or are they?Meanwhile Ruth is working on a dig in the Saltmarsh - another henge, known by the archaeologists as the stone circle - trying not to think about the baby. Then bones are found on the site, and identified as those of Margaret Lacey, a twelve-year-old girl who disappeared thirty years ago.As the Margaret Lacey case progresses, more and more aspects of it begin to hark back to that first case of The Crossing Places, and to Scarlett Henderson, the girl Nelson couldn't save. The past is reaching out for Ruth and Nelson, and its grip is deadly.

Quercus

Dirty Little Secrets

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain

FROM THE NUMBER ONE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE CONFESSION AND CO-WRITER OF RTE ONE'S TAKEN DOWNSix neighbours, six secrets, six reasons to want Olive Collins dead.In the exclusive gated community of Withered Vale, people's lives appear as perfect as their beautifully manicured lawns. Money, success, privilege - the residents have it all. Life is good. There's just one problem. Olive Collins' dead body has been rotting inside number four for the last three months. Her neighbours say they're shocked at the discovery but nobody thought to check on her when she vanished from sight. The police start to ask questions and the seemingly flawless facade begins to crack. Because, when it comes to Olive's neighbours, it seems each of them has something to hide, something to lose and everything to gain from her death. The new psychological thriller from the bestselling author of The Confession, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty.See what everyone is saying about Jo Spain, the hottest new name in psychological thrillers:'Enthralling' JP Delaney'Chilling' Sunday Times'Arresting' Sunday Express'Brilliant' BA Paris'Gripping' Best'Compulsive' Sunday Mirror'Addictive'Michelle Frances'Refreshing'Express

Quercus

Fight Back

Anna Smith
Authors:
Anna Smith
Quercus

Village of the Lost Girls

Agustín Martínez
Authors:
Agustín Martínez
Quercus

Empire State

Henry Porter
Authors:
Henry Porter

'An espionage master' Charles CummingFormer spy Robert Harland returns in this nailbiting thriller set in the aftermath of 9/11The head of the US National Security Agency is assassinated in spectacular fashion at Heathrow.An airport employee and his family are found murdered in their council house in Uxbridge.In New York, a fashionable Upper East Side osteopath receives two postcards showing the Empire State Building.A group of migrant workers are brutally gunned down in Macedonia.The quest to find the link between these apparently random events is pursued by Robert Harland - drawn back to a world he thought he'd left behind - with a dual role for the UN and MI6.

Quercus

A Spy's Life

Henry Porter
Authors:
Henry Porter
Jo Fletcher Books

Our Child of the Stars

Stephen Cox
Authors:
Stephen Cox
MacLehose Press

Name of the Dog: A Lefty Mendieta Investigation (Book 3)

Élmer Mendoza
Authors:
Élmer Mendoza