Rod Rees - The Demi-Monde: Spring - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £18.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781849165020
    • Publication date:05 Jan 2012
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781849166621
    • Publication date:22 Dec 2011
Books in this series

The Demi-Monde: Spring

Book II of the Demi-Monde

By Rod Rees

  • Paperback
  • £14.99

Biographical Notes

Rod Rees has spent his life travelling. He has built pharmaceutical factories in Dhaka, set up a satellite communication network in Moscow, and conceived and designed a jazz-themed hotel in Scarborough. The Demi-Monde: Winter, his first novel, is followed by three further books in the series: Spring, Summer and Fall.

His website can be found at www.thedemi-monde.com.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781849165037
  • Publication date: 05 Jan 2012
  • Page count: 576
  • Imprint: Jo Fletcher Books
Jo Fletcher Books

Morhelion

Dominic Dulley
Authors:
Dominic Dulley

An alien exile. A lethal secret. The hunt is on . . .Orry Kent may not have stopped the war between the Ascendancy and the alien Kadiran, but at least she saved the Grand Fleet from immediate annihilation. Now she just wants to get on with her own life. The conflict feels a long way away - until a con turns sour and she finds herself drawn into the very heart of the war.When a dying agent of the emperor's shadowy Seventh Secretariat tells Orry there's a traitor at the highest levels of the Ascendancy, she has little choice but to take on the mission.Which is why she finds herself stranded among the floating bubble habitats of Morhelion, where pollution-spewing smokers ply their trade in the beautiful but toxic atmosphere.The hunt is on . . .

Jo Fletcher Books

The Pyramid Wish

Tom Fletcher
Authors:
Tom Fletcher

Quercus

The Burning House

Neil Spring
Authors:
Neil Spring

MacLehose Press

The Carrier

Mattias Berg
Authors:
Mattias Berg

The man with the nuclear briefcase has gone rogue - Mission Impossible meets the Hunt for Red October in an explosive new thriller for fans of James Swallow and Tom Clancy"I don't think I have read such a philosophical, knowledge-studded and realistic adventure novel since Umberto Eco's The Name of the Rose" Göteborgs-PostenErasmus Levine has a job like no other. He travels with the President of the United States at all times, and holds in his hands the power to obliterate life as we know it. He is the man with the nuclear briefcase, part of a crack team of top-secret operatives established after 9/11 and led by a man codenamed Edelweiss. But even Edelweiss does not know the identity of their ultimate authority, known only as Sysboss.Levine has a secret.For twelve years he has been receiving cryptic messages from Sysboss - an elaborate communication that began with the words We two against the world. Slowly but surely, Levine begins thinking of escape. His chance comes during an official visit to Sweden, when the alarm sounds in Stockholm's Grand Hotel.But Sysboss has other plans for him. From their first meeting in a network of tunnels and bunkers beneath the city, Levine is drawn into a plan to eliminate the world's nuclear arsenals. But how can he be sure that controlled demolition is the endgame? Could he be working towards a controlled apocalypse, a doomsday plot to wipe humanity from the face of the earth?Translated from the Swedish by George Goulding

Quercus

The Perfect Wife

JP Delaney
Authors:
JP Delaney
Jo Fletcher Books

Stained Light

Naomi Foyle
Authors:
Naomi Foyle
Jo Fletcher Books

Foundryside

Robert Jackson Bennett
Authors:
Robert Jackson Bennett
MacLehose Press

Balco Atlantico

Jérôme Ferrari
Authors:
Jérôme Ferrari

In a village square in Corsica lies the body of ardent nationalist, Stéphane Campana, shot down at close range. And over his body weeps Virginie, the young woman who has venerated Stéphane all her life - a veneration that has led her to abandon herself to him and his twisted desires completely.Meanwhile, brother and sister Khaled and Hayet, who once gazed out to sea from the shoreline path known as "Balco Atlantico" and dreamed of a better future, are now stranded in Corsica. As Ferrari traces the history of Stéphane and Virginie that leads to the shooting in the village square, we encounter the story of Khaled and Hayet and see through their story and the stories of many others in this one Corsican square how a relentless pursuit of happiness and fulfilment can bring us perilously close to despair and disillusionment.

Jo Fletcher Books

The Detainee Omnibus

Peter Liney
Authors:
Peter Liney

There is no point trying to run. There is no point trying to escape. The island means the end of all hope, until Clancy finds a reason to fight back. Peter Liney's thrilling dystopian The Detainee omnibus includes The Detainee, Into the Fire and In Constant Fear.When the fog comes down and the drums start to beat, the inhabitants of the island tremble: the punishment satellites, which keep the tyrannical Wastelords at bay, are blind in the darkness, and the islanders become prey. The inhabitants are the old, the sick, the poor: the detritus of Society, dumped on the island with the rest of Society's waste. There is no point trying to run. There is no point trying to escape. The satellites - the invisible eyes of the law - mete out instant judgement from the sky. The island is the end of all hope, until Clancy finds a blind woman living in a secret underground warren and discovers a reason to fight . . .'Impressively dark' - Financial Times

Jo Fletcher Books

Evolution Omnibus

Stephanie Saulter
Authors:
Stephanie Saulter

They were created to save humanity. Now they must fight to save themselves. The complete Evolution series by Stephanie Saulter.For years the human race suffered from a deadly Syndrome, but when a cure was found - in the form of genetically engineered human beings, gems - the line between survival and ethics was radically altered. Now the gems are fighting for their freedom, from the oppression of the companies that created them, and against the norms who see them as slaves. And a conference at which Dr Eli Walker has been commissioned to present his findings on the gems is the key to that freedom. But with the gemtech companies fighting to keep the gems enslaved, and the horrifying godgangs determined to rid the earth of these 'unholy' creations, the gems are up against forces that may just be too powerful to oppose.'Some books are good, some books are even great. This one is important' - SF Signal on Binary

Quercus

The Memory Chamber

Holly Cave
Authors:
Holly Cave
Jo Fletcher Books

The Blood of the Hoopoe

Naomi Foyle
Authors:
Naomi Foyle

Is Astra ready to accept her destiny? A gripping novel for 'Hunger Games fans of all ages' says Library Journal. War is breaking out in Kadingir. Still struggling to accept her role as a long prophesied icon of unification between Is-Land and Non-Land, Astra Ordott is on a journey across the wind sands to join her father and his people - the mystics of Shiimti, who claim to hold the secret of truly healing the damaged relationship between human beings and the Earth.Astra's desperate to get there quickly, but when her guide and companion, the shepherd Muzi, leads her off course into the path of a vicious sandstorm, she is forced to confront what the gods of their devastated world might be telling her: that there will be no refuge from her destiny.

Jo Fletcher Books

The Doctor Thomas Bond Omnibus

Sarah Pinborough
Authors:
Sarah Pinborough

The complete Mayhem and Murder series by the Number One bestselling author of Behind Her Eyes. Jack the Ripper may be making the headlines, but another, much more dangerous, madman is loose on the streets.When a rotting torso is discovered in the vault of New Scotland Yard, it doesn't take Dr Thomas Bond, Police Surgeon, long to realise that there is a second killer at work in the city where, only a few days before, Jack the Ripper brutally murdered two women in one night. This is the hand of a colder killer, one who lacks Jack's emotion. As more headless and limbless torsos find their way into the Thames Dr Bond becomes obsessed with finding the killer. As his investigations lead him into an unholy alliance, he starts to wonder:Is it a man who has brought mayhem to the streets of London, or a monster?'A compulsively readable story that starts as a conventional murder mystery and morphs, by degrees, into a horrifying supernatural thriller' Guardian

Quercus

The Invisible Cross

Andrew Davidson
Authors:
Andrew Davidson
Quercus

The Genius Test

Giles Sparrow
Authors:
Giles Sparrow
Quercus

Five Get Gran Online

Bruno Vincent
Authors:
Bruno Vincent
Quercus

How To Understand E =mc²

Christophe Galfard
Authors:
Christophe Galfard
riverrun

At the Strangers' Gate

Adam Gopnik
Authors:
Adam Gopnik
Quercus

To Siri, With Love

Judith Newman
Authors:
Judith Newman
MacLehose Press

The Baltimore Boys

Joël Dicker
Authors:
Joël Dicker

Fresh from the staggering success of The Truth about the Harry Quebert Affair, Marcus Goldman is struggling to write his third novel. A chance encounter in Florida throws him some inspiration from a surprising source: Alexandra Neville, the beautiful, phenomenally successful singer and Marcus's first love. All at once, memories of his childhood come flooding back. Memories of a family torn apart by tragedy, and a once glorious legacy reduced to shame and ruin.The Baltimore Boys. The Goldman Gang. That was what they called Marcus, and his cousins Hillel and Woody. Three brilliant young men with their whole lives ahead of them, before their kingdom crumbled beneath the weight of lies, jealousy and betrayal. For years, Marcus has struggled with the burdens of his past, but now, he must attempt to banish his demons and tell the real story of the Baltimore Boys.Translated from the French by Alison Anderson