Peter Stanford - Religion - 50 Ideas You Really Need to Know - Quercus

Religion - 50 Ideas You Really Need to Know

By Peter Stanford

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The need to understand religion and the role it plays in our world has never been more pressing. The beliefs and actions of the planet's 2 billion Christians, 1.2 billion Muslims, 800 million Hindus and 700 million followers of other religions has an impact on every aspect of war and peace, ethics, politics, reproduction, family and social structure across every civilization and continent.

50 Religion Ideas You Really Need to Know aims to lift the clouds of confusion surrounding religion and to address its key issues. What is the 'Golden Rule' and how does it unite religious people? How did the divisions arise between Catholics and Protestants and what do they mean for us today? What are the differences between Anglicanism, Methodism, Baptism and Presbyterianism? What separates Sunni Muslims from Shi'a Muslims? What does it mean to be Jewish?

Award-winning writer Peter Stanford answers these and a myriad other questions in 50 Religion Ideas You Really Need to Know. Both readable and informative, it will appeal to anyone who wants to understand one of the most powerful and enduring forces shaping our world.

Biographical Notes

Peter Stanford is a former editor of the Catholic Herald, and now writes for a variety of papers including the Observer, Daily Telegraph, Daily Mail and The Tablet.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781849165709
  • Publication date: 27 Apr 2010
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Quercus
MacLehose Press

The Slaughterman's Daughter

Yaniv Iczkovits
Authors:
Yaniv Iczkovits

When Fanny Keismann turns ten, her father gives her a ritual slaughtering knife, and she soon develops a talent for his trade. But in 19th century Russia, ritual slaughter does not befit a wife and mother, so when it comes time to raise a family, Fanny abandons her work and devotes herself to her five children. When Fanny's older sister's husband disappears, Fanny leaves her own family and sets out for the great city of Minsk in search of her wayward brother-in-law. She is accompanied by Zizek Bershov, who was forced into the Tsar's army as a boy, and has refused to speak since he returned home. Fanny and Zizek are soon accosted by a band of highway robbers. Fanny dispatches the three brigands with her ritual slaughtering knife, and then flees with Zizek. The killings attract the attention of Piotr Novack, the head of the secret police, who, believing that the crime scene is part of a plot to incite a revolt against the Tsar, begins a pursuit of the pair of fugitives. Fanny's initial mission to help her sister turns into a misadventure that manages to threaten the foundations of the Russian Empire. What began as a family matter in Motol, a peripheral Jewish settlement, breaks the bounds of the shtetl, pits the police against the army, and upsets the political and social order.

Quercus

Countries of the World in Minutes

Jacob F. Field
Authors:
Jacob F. Field

The Countries of the World in Minutes is the quickest way to understand the modern world and every country in it.For each of the 195 officially recognised countries of the world, a mini-essay clearly and concisely explains its key history, characteristics and social and political structures. Alongside, an outline map shows each country's global location, main geographic features and capital city, whilst a table of essential data details its population, political system, languages, major religions, currency, gross domestic product, main industries, and much more.Illustrated with 195 up-to-date country maps.

Quercus

Darling Blue

Tracy Rees
Authors:
Tracy Rees

'Tracy Rees writes from the heart' Kathryn Hughes, author of The Letter. Perfect for fans of The Keeper of Lost Things and The Villa in Italy.Blue lives a charmed life. From her family's townhouse in Richmond, she lives a life of luxury and couldn't want for anything - well, on the surface at least. Then on the night of her twenty-first birthday her father makes a startling toast: he will give his daughter's hand to whichever man can capture her heart best in the form of a love letter. But Blue has other ideas and, unwilling to play at her father's bewildering games, she sets out on her own path to find her own destiny...

riverrun

Ottoman Odyssey

Alev Scott
Authors:
Alev Scott
Quercus

Get Smart: Philosophy

Marcus Weeks
Authors:
Marcus Weeks
riverrun

Testament

Kim Sherwood
Authors:
Kim Sherwood
Quercus

The Ancient World in Minutes

Charles Phillips
Authors:
Charles Phillips
Jo Fletcher Books

Evolution Omnibus

Stephanie Saulter
Authors:
Stephanie Saulter
Jo Fletcher Books

The Triumph of the Dwarves

Markus Heitz
Authors:
Markus Heitz
riverrun

Minds of Winter

Ed O'Loughlin
Authors:
Ed O'Loughlin

Longlisted for the Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction 2017.'Ed O'Loughlin is a skilled cartographer of both the Arctic and the human heart. What a magnificent novel' Ron Rash'A brilliant paean to the obsessions of the polar explorers . . . stupendously good' Australian'Vastly entertaining' Sunday TimesFROM BOOKER-LONGLISTED ED O'LOUGHLIN: THE PERFECT NOVEL FOR FANS OF AMY SACKVILLE'S THE STILL POINT AND FRANCIS SPUFFORD'S I MAY BE SOME TIME.It begins with a chance encounter at the top of the world.Fay Morgan and Nelson Nilsson have each arrived in Inuvik, Canada - 120 miles north of the Arctic Circle - searching for answers about a family member: Nelson for his estranged older brother, Fay for her disappeared grandfather. They soon learn that these two men have an unexpected link - a hidden share in one of the greatest enduring mysteries of polar exploration.

MacLehose Press

A Foolish Virgin

Ida Simons
Authors:
Ida Simons
Quercus

Wonders of the World

Hugh Thomson
Authors:
Hugh Thomson
MacLehose Press

Making Things Right

Ole Thorstensen
Authors:
Ole Thorstensen
Quercus

To Siri, With Love

Judith Newman
Authors:
Judith Newman
riverrun

Spoonbenders

Daryl Gregory
Authors:
Daryl Gregory
Quercus

Religion in Minutes

Marcus Weeks
Authors:
Marcus Weeks

Learn about the religions of the world - in minutes. What are the differences between Sunni and Shi'a, Catholic and Protestant, Buddhism and Confucianism? Who were Moses, Jesus and Muhammad, and what did they really preach? Why are the concepts of karma, jihad and nirvana so important? And what do the religions of the world say about life, death and how we should act? Answering these and many other critical questions, this book explains the histories, key texts, prophets and essential teachings of the ancient and modern religions and their offshoots, including: Judaism, Christianity, Islam, Hinduism, Buddhism, Sikhism, Greek, Roman and Norse mythologies, indigenous traditional religions, Zoroastrianism, Jainism, Daoism, Confucianism, Shinto, Catholicism, Protestantism, Anglicanism, Baptists, Methodists, Puritans, Mormons, Sufism, Hasidism, Scientology, Baha'I, New pagans and many more, as well as considering their common themes and the future of religion.Clear, concise and with 200 iconic images, Religion in Minutes is the fastest, fullest way to understand the beliefs that shape the world around us.

Quercus

The Hourglass

Tracy Rees
Authors:
Tracy Rees

'Tracy Rees writes from the heart' Kathryn Hughes, author of The Letter. Perfect for fans of The Keeper of Lost Things and The Villa in Italy.2014. Nora has always taken success for granted, until suddenly her life begins to fall apart. Troubled by anxiety and nightmares, she finds herself drawn to the sweeping beaches of Tenby, a place she's only been once before. Together with a local girl she rents a beautiful townhouse and slowly begins to settle in to her new life. But Tenby hides a secret, and Nora will soon discover that this little town by the sea has the power to heal even the most painful memories.1950. Chloe visits Tenby every summer. She stays with relatives, and spends the long, idyllic days on the beach. Every year is the same, until she meets a glamorous older boy and is instantly smitten. But on the night of their first date, Chloe comes to a realisation, the aftermath of which could haunt her forever.The Hourglass is a moving novel about finding love even after it seems too late and the healing power of a magical place by the sea.(P)2017 WF Howes Ltd.

Quercus

Spindrift

Tamara McKinley
Authors:
Tamara McKinley
MacLehose Press

Retribution Road

Antonin Varenne
Authors:
Antonin Varenne
Quercus

Cosmos

Giles Sparrow
Authors:
Giles Sparrow