Matt Rubenstein - Vellum - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Vellum

By Matt Rubenstein

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

In the crypt of an old church, a translator and linguist uncovers a vellum-bound, illuminated manuscript. Written in an unknown alphabet, Jack's not sure if his discovery is a hoax, a code, or even the only written record of a long-forgotten language, but he's determined to unlock the manuscript's secrets.
Scribbled marginalia reveal he's not the first to try - his predecessors are shadowy figures, monks from furtive religious orders, cryptographers and alchemists.
Seduced by the lure of the unknown, Jack is drawn ever deeper into the manuscript's labyrinthine past - to the crusades, to the great Library of Alexandria and perhaps even further back. But is each new turn in the labyrinth only taking him further from the truth?
Intoxicated by his quest, Jack is lead into ever-darker territory. Nearing the heart of the mystery, he can feel sinister forces gathering and his life disintegrating. To save his life and his mind, he has no choice but to break the cipher and reveal the manuscript's ultimate truth.

Biographical Notes

Matt was born in 1974 in Sydney, Australia, and lived in Adelaide for 15 years before returning to Sydney in 1997. He practised law for five years and now writes full-time. He is currently working on a new novel, a feature film script and several short film projects. He is Gillian Rubinstein's (aka Lian Hearn) son.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781849169714
  • Publication date: 15 May 2012
  • Page count: 336
  • Imprint: Quercus
MacLehose Press

The Faculty of Dreams

Sara Stridsberg
Authors:
Sara Stridsberg
MacLehose Press

Winds of the Night

Joan Sales
Authors:
Joan Sales
MacLehose Press

Birth of a Bridge

Maylis de Kerangal, Maylis de Kerangal
Authors:
Maylis de Kerangal, Maylis de Kerangal

Coca, Southern California. A small town on a wild river, at the margins of the red-rocked desert and the forest where the last of the state's Native Americans still make their home.When Boa, the charismatic new mayor, decides to put Coca on the map, he plans a monumental new project: a six-lane bridge, two hundred metres high, designed and destined to catapult the city into the third millennium.Workers from across the globe flock to California: to earn a living, to escape their pasts, to bear witness to man's mastery of nature. But the project's majestic scope has no regard for the legacy of this ancient land, and within this monochrome Babel festers a very human cocktail of fears and passions. At once timeless and yet exquisitely of its moment, Maylis De Kerangal's multi-award-winning novel follows its broad cast of construction workers and architects, diggers and dreamers, as they navigate both the intricacies of their project and the depths of the human heart.Translated from the French by Jessica Moore

riverrun

This Is 64

Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly
MacLehose Press

Monte Carlo

Peter Terrin
Authors:
Peter Terrin

It is the Monaco Grand Prix in May 1968. Jack Preston, a mechanic for Team Sutton, is making the final checks on his car as the beau monde mingles with the drivers under the eyes of the world's press and the galleries of spectators. DeeDee, a starlet of great beauty, seems to be walking towards him, or perhaps towards the royal box. Without warning a fireball rips across the starting grid. Preston will always bear the scars as a consequence of his unthinking heroism, his saving the life and the beauty of the girl, but details of the accident remain vague - no photographs capturing the moment have come to light.Weeks later, Preston emerges from hospital and goes home to his wife in a remote English village from which the drab atmosphere of the 1950s has yet to recede. There, as he slowly recovers, he awaits word from his employers and some sign of DeeDee's gratitude, an acknowledgment that it was he who saved her life.This is an unsettlingly beautiful story of obsession by an acknowledged master of classical restraint.Translated from the Dutch by David Doherty

Quercus

The Lavender House

Hilary Boyd
Authors:
Hilary Boyd

Emotional, page-turning women's fiction from the author of #1 EBOOK BESTSELLER, THURSDAYS IN THE PARK. Will Nancy dare to risk a second chance at love with a man her family and friends tell her is totally unsuitable? Beautiful storytelling for fans of Erica James, Veronica Henry and Harriet Evans.Nancy de Freitas is the glue that holds her family together. Caught between her ageing, ailing mother Frances, and her struggling daughter Louise, frequent user of Nancy's babysitting services, it seems Nancy's fate is to quietly go on shouldering the burden of responsibility for all four generations. Her divorce four years ago put paid to any thoughts of a partner to share her later years with. Now it looks like her family is all she has. Then she meets Jim. Smoker, drinker, unsuccessful country singer and wearer of cowboy boots, he should be completely unsuited to the very together Nancy. And yet, there is a real spark. But Nancy's family don't trust Jim one bit. They're convinced he'll break her heart, maybe run off with her money - he certainly distracts her from her family responsibilities. Can she be brave enough to follow her heart? Or will she remain glued to her family's side and walk away from one last chance for love?

MacLehose Press

In the Café of Lost Youth

Patrick Modiano
Authors:
Patrick Modiano

Four narrators, a student from a café, a private detective hired by an aggrieved husband, the heroine herself and one of her lovers, construct a portrait of Jacqueline Delanque, otherwise known as Louki. The daughter of a single mother who works in the Moulin Rouge, Louki grows up in poverty in Montmartre. Her one attempt to escape her background fails when she is rejected from the Lycée Jules-Ferry. She meanders on through life, into a cocaine habit, and begins frequenting the Café Condé, whose regulars call her "Louki". She drifts into marriage with a real estate agency director, but finds no satisfaction with him or his friends and so makes the simple decision not to return to him one evening. She turns instead to a young man almost as aimless and adrift as she, but who perhaps loves her all the same.Ever-present through this story is the city of Paris, almost another character in her own right. This is the Paris of 'no-man's-lands', of lonely journeys on the last metro, or nocturnal walks along empty boulevards; of cafés where the lost youth wander in, searching for meaning, and the older generation sift through their memories of their own long-gone adolescence.Translated from the French by Euan Cameron

riverrun

The Death of Rex Nhongo

C. B. George
Authors:
C. B. George

Harare, Zimbabwe, 2011This is a story of five marriages and one gun.A British couple wonder at the unknowable city beyond their guarded compound while they build walls between themselves.An American begins to suspect his new home is having an insidious effect on his 'African queen' and their young daughter.An enthusiastic young intellectual follows his wife and his dreams to the city and finds only disillusion.An Intelligence Officer loses a crucial piece of evidence. It will cost him his marriage and his girlfriend; maybe even his life.A taxi driver and his wife, living on the knife-edge of poverty, find a gun in the cab. From this point on, all their lives are tied to the trigger.C. B. George's Zimbabwe is a personal portrait, both tender and brutal. The betrayals and conspiracies of the corrupt world are nothing compared to those of marriage; in which husband and wife love and leave, fight and flee, recant and reconcile, with outcomes that are by turns shocking, heartbreaking and, ultimately, full of hope.

Quercus

The Things We Do for Love

Alice Peterson
Authors:
Alice Peterson
MacLehose Press

Fall of Man in Wilmslow

David Lagercrantz
Authors:
David Lagercrantz

June 8, 1954. Alan Turing, the visionary mathematician, is found dead at his home in sleepy Wilmslow, dispatched by a poisoned apple. Taking the case, Detective Constable Leonard Corell quickly learns Turing is a convicted homosexual. Confident it's a suicide, he is nonetheless confounded by official secrecy over Turing's war record. What is more, Turing's sexuality appears to be causing alarm among the intelligence services - could he have been blackmailed by Soviet spies? Stumbling across evidence of Turing's genius, and sensing an escape from a narrow life, Corell soon becomes captivated by Turing's brilliant and revolutionary work, and begins to dig deeper. But in the paranoid, febrile atmosphere of the Cold War, loose cannons cannot be tolerated. As his innocent curiosity fast takes him far out of his depth, Corell realises he has much to learn about the dangers of forbidden knowledge.

riverrun

Style

Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly

riverrun

This Is It

Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly

riverrun

Winter Breaks

Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly

riverrun

Breaking Light

Karin Altenberg
Authors:
Karin Altenberg
riverrun

Stuff

Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly

riverrun

The Girl Who Was Saturday Night

Heather O'Neill
Authors:
Heather O'Neill
riverrun

Boys and Girls

Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly
riverrun

The Works

Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly

riverrun

These Are Our Children

Julie Maxwell
Authors:
Julie Maxwell

Florence is pregnant and 99% sure it's her husband's. But it could be Thomas's. Thomas is a neo-natal doctor whose invention could save premature babies. Helen is a midwife grieving for her baby, lost before the technology was invented. This is a novel that explores what love can drive us to do; searingly funny, audaciously smart and devastatingly moving.

Quercus

Summer Lightning

Tamara McKinley
Authors:
Tamara McKinley