Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books
  • The Pilgrims

    By Will Elliott
    Authors:
    Will Elliott
    The first book in the Pendulum Trilogy, a visionary work of imaginative fantasy from one of genre fiction's most exciting new voices.Eric Albright, a 26-year-old unemployed journalist, and Stuart Casey, a homeless old drunk, discover a door in a graffiti-covered wall that leads them into the strange world of Levall. Here it is said a mountain-sized dragon with the powers of a god lies sleeping beneath a great white castle. In the castle the sinister Lord Vous rules with an iron fist, and the Project, designed to effect his transformation into an immortal spirit, nears completion. But Vous's growing madness is close to consuming him, together with his fear of an imaginary being named 'Shadow'. And soon Eric may lend substance to that fear. An impossibly vast Wall divides Levall. No one has ever seen what lies beyond. But Eric and Casey possess powers that no one in either world yet understands, and soon the Wall may be broken. What will enter from the other side? The Pilgrims is no ordinary alternate-world fantasy: Will Elliott's brilliantly subversive and creative imagination twists the conventions of the genre for an unforgettable, visionary experience.
    • More
  • Planesrunner

    By Ian McDonald
    Authors:
    Ian McDonald
    'Chock-full of awesome,' says Paolo Bacigalupi, 'the kind of airship-dueling, guns-blazing fantasy that makes me wish I could pop through to the next reality over!' - so join Everett and Sen on the airship Everness as they race through parallel worlds to save his dad!There is not just one you, there are many yous. We're part of a multiplicity of universes in parallel dimensions - and Everett Singh's dad has found a way in. 'Chock-full of awesome,' says Paolo Bacigalupi, 'the kind of airship-dueling, guns-blazing fantasy that makes me wish I could pop through to the next reality over!'But he's been kidnapped, and now it is as though Everett's dad never existed. Yet there is one clue for his son to follow, a mysterious app called the Infundibulum: a map not just to the Ten Known Worlds, but to the entire multiverse - and someone wants to get her hands on it . . . very badly. If Everett's going to keep it safe and rescue his dad, he's going to need friends: like Captain Anastasia Sixmith, her adopted daughter and the crew of the airship Everness.'Romantic, action-packed, wildly imaginative and full of heart' Cory Doctorow'Shining imagination, pulsing suspense and sparkling writing make this one stand out. As Sen would say, "fantabulosa bona"' Kirkus Starred Review
    • More

    Path of Needles

    By Alison Littlewood
    Authors:
    Alison Littlewood
    Some fairy tales are born of dreams . . . and some are born of nightmares. Chrissie Farrell is young, beautiful and about to be crowned Queen of the Dance. But on the evening of her triumph she is abducted and murdered, her body left for the police to find.With no other clues, the disturbing way in which Chrissie's body has been posed has PC Cate Corbin at a loss - until university lecturer Alice Hyland is called in. An expert on fairy tales, Alice quickly notices a connection between the murder and an obscure version of Snow White.When a second body is found, Alice is dragged further into the investigation - and only then realises that she is becoming a suspect. Now Alice must fight, not just to prove her innocence, but to protect herself: because the body count is growing and it's looking like she might be next . . .'I loved Path of Needles. Dark but satisfying, like the best chocolate' Elly Griffiths, bestselling author of The Dark Angel
    • More

    Panther in Argyll

    By Lisa Tuttle
    Authors:
    Lisa Tuttle
    A unique and inventive story by award-winning author Lisa Tuttle.When Danni chooses to spend the school holidays with her godmother, Claire, she thinks she will find a kindred spirit. She doesn't bank on meeting the mysterious Finlay Black, or Claire being on the look out for the Panther of Argyll - the beast that supposedly roams the woods around her cottage. And she doesn't bank on discovering that she has the 'animal spirit' - a rare and unique ability that not only provides an empathy with animals, but the ability to become them. But there is a price for letting the animal within loose. Panthers are wild, primal, strong . . . and most of all free: why remain human when all of this is within your grasp?
    • More
  • Paths Not Taken

    By Simon R. Green
    Authors:
    Simon R. Green
    Private eye John Taylor must travel back in time to stop his mother destroying the Nightside, the secret heart of London. Things are about to get complicated . . .John Taylor is a private detective with a supernatural gift - he can find what is lost. But sometimes that gets him in trouble . . . During his last case, he made the most dangerous of discoveries: his mother's true identity. Even worse she created his home - the twisted, noir playground known as the Nightside - and she has the power and the will to destroy it.Taylor must find a way to stop his mother; he's convinced that the answer lies deep in the past, in the days of the Nightside's creation, so that's exactly where he's headed. But travelling through time is a dangerous business, and the past can be a deadly place.Paths Not Taken is the fifth title in Simon R. Green's New York Times bestselling Nightside series.
    • More
  • Property of a Lady Faire

    By Simon R. Green
    Authors:
    Simon R. Green
    Call me Drood, Eddie Drood. Some know me as Shaman Bond but most don't want to know me at all - especially when I'm in need of help. Not everybody appreciates what the Droods do, which means an endless succession of assassination attempts and very few people to rely on. Things have been especially tough for Eddie recently - his parents are missing in action, his grandfather has been murdered and the future of his family lies in the iron grasp of the Lady Faire, an incredibly seductive, dangerous, and powerful being. She possesses an ancient object that can save the Droods, so, of course, Eddie needs to steal it from her. Easier said than done . . . Property of a Lady Faire is the eighth and final title in New York Times bestselling author Simon R. Green's Secret Histories series featuring Eddie Drood.
    • More

    The Pendulum Trilogy

    By Will Elliott
    Authors:
    Will Elliott
    Including The Pilgrim, Shadow and World's End, the Pendulum Trilogy is a visionary work of imaginative fantasy from one of genre fiction's most exciting new voices.In Levaal, the world between worlds, a dark age has come. The gods struggle to contain eight terrible dragons, restless in their sky prisons, while Vous, the people's 'friend and lord', descends into madness.When a small red door appears in a graffiti-clad train bridge, journalist Eric Albright and his friend, the homeless drunk Stuart Case, give no thought to what may be on the other side.Now they will discover why some doors should not be opened . . .
    • More
  • The Pyre

    By David Hair
    Authors:
    David Hair
    'David Hair hasn't just broken the mould. He's completely shattered it' - Bibliosanctum One deathless Demon King. Six ghostly queens. And only four twenty-first century young men and women to stand against a centuries-old evil . . . The first in award-winning author David Hair's series The Return of Ravana. Mandore, Rajasthan, 769 AD: the evil sorcerer-king, Ravindra-Raj, has devised a deadly ritual. He and his seven queens will burn on his funeral pyre, and he will rise again with the powers of Ravana, Demon-King of the epic Ramayana. But things go wrong when a court poet rescues the beautiful, spirited Queen Darya, ruining the ritual - and Ravindra's plans. Jodhpur, Rajasthan, 2010: At the site of ancient Mandore, Vikram, Amanjit, Deepika and Rasita meet - and are forced to accept that this is not the first time they have come together to fight the deathless king. Now Ravindra and his ghostly brides are hunting them down. As vicious forces from the past come alive, Vikram needs to unlock truths that have been hidden for centuries, if they are to win this ancient battle . . . for the first and last time. 'Riveting! Like its reincarnated heroes, I was drawn again and again to David Hair's gripping, blood-soaked tale' - Chris Bradford, author of Young Samurai
    • More
  • Path of Gods

    By Snorri Kristjansson
    Authors:
    Snorri Kristjansson
    The epic conclusion to The Valhalla Saga, perfect for fans of Vikings and The Last Kingdom.Reunited, Audun and Ulfar have a new sense of purpose: to ensure that the North remains in the hands of those who hold with the old gods. To do this, they must defeat the people who seek to destroy all they have ever known with the new White Christ. But these are powerful enemies and if they have any chance of victory, they must find equally powerful allies. In Trondheim, King Olav, self-appointed champion of the White Christ, finds that keeping the peace is a much harder test of his faith than winning the war. With his garrison halved and local chieftains at his table who wish him nothing but ill, the king must decide how and where to spread the word of his god. And in the North, touched by the trickster god, something old, malevolent and very, very angry stirs . . .'Fans of David Gemmell's work should feel right at home with this one' Starburst Magazine
    • More
  • Prince of the Spear

    By David Hair
    Authors:
    David Hair
    Desperate for the next Game of Thrones? Prince of the Spear continues the Sunsurge Quartet and delivers a full-on fix of epic fantasy.The unthinkable has happened. With the Leviathan Bridge critically damaged and its towers unable to control the skies between Yuros and Antiopia, the East has invaded the West. A vast windfleet, constructed in secret, is winging across the Pontic SeaThe holy Shihad has begun.The Rondian Empire is divided and weak. Empress Lyra has barely survived a coup, triggered by a masked cabal whose members still remain concealed in the highest echelons of her court. Only Lyra's secret affinity to the heretical power of dwyma saved her - but that affinity is also her most dangerous weakness.As empires clash, lives are torn apart and long-held beliefs are overthrown by circumstance and desperation. A young queen whose court is riddled with traitors turns to the wrong people in her hour of need. Two princes clash in the skies, the fate of two nations riding on their skill. Two brothers must reconcile disparate cultures to regain their kingdom. An idealistic rabble-rouser sees a chance to strike. And a small group of dwymancers grope blindly for knowledge in a race against time before the masked Cabal strike again.'Represents modern epic fantasy at its best' - Fantasy Book Critic on the Moontide Quartet
    • More
    1