Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books
  • Mage's Blood

    By David Hair
    Authors:
    David Hair
    The Moontide is coming. Urte stands on the brink of war. Now three seemingly ordinary people will decide the fate of the world.Urte is divided, its two continents separated by impassable seas. But once every twelve years, the Moontide sees the waters sink to their lowest point and the Leviathan Bridge is revealed, linking east to west for twenty-four short months.The Rondian emperor, overlord of the west, is hell-bent on ruling both continents, and for the last two Moontides he has led armies of battle-magi across the bridge on crusades of conquest, pillaging his way across Antiopa.But the people of the east have been preparing - and, this time, they are ready for a fight.An epic fantasy, rich in intricate plots, intrigue and treachery. Vast forces collide and ordinary people make heart-rending choices that will shake the world.'A complex world populated by a rich and diverse cast of characters . . . Recommended for fans of George R.R. Martin, Brandon Sanderson and Patrick Rothfuss' - Library Journal
    • More

    The Man Who Travelled on Motorways

    By Trevor Hoyle
    Authors:
    Trevor Hoyle
    A cult classic by an award-winning novelist, The Man Who Travelled on Motorways is the first novel to exploit the mystique of motorway travel - the realities, unrealities and fantasies that take over the mind of the long-distance driver.The night drives between Manchester and London are long and dull, even though our narrator whiles away the hours reminiscing about his life - the motorway service stations, the pubs and hotels, the mills and moorlands that punctuate his journeys . . . But then things start to change: nothing is what it appears to be; no actions are innocent.As the secret life of his imagination begins to take on a nightmarish power of its own, so the objective world begins to sift through his fingers like a handful of dust.'A novel that blurs the boundaries between fantasy and illusion, amusing and terrifying by turns as it considers the impact of motorway travel on the modern psyche' - Morning Star
    • More
  • The Man with the Golden Torc

    By Simon R. Green
    Authors:
    Simon R. Green
    Meet a new kind of hero in an old kind of war: Eddie Drood, aka Shaman Bond. He protects humanity from the bad guys.All those things you hear about as a kid? The boogeyman under the bed? The creature in the closet? They're for real, and Eddie Drood's family has kept humanity safe from the things that go bump in the night for centuries. They hold back the nightmares, lock the doors, bar the gates, and put righteous boot to monster arse on a nightly basis. But now Eddie's in trouble. One of his own has convinced the rest of the family that humanity needs to be protected from him. So he's on the run, using every trick in the book, magical and otherwise, to live long enough to prove his innocence. He knows how dangerous the Droods can be - after all, he's one of themThe Man with the Golden Torc is the first book in the Secret History series From the New York Times bestselling author of the Deathstalker and Nightside series, Simon R. Green.
    • More
  • Marked

    By Sue Tingey
    Authors:
    Sue Tingey
    Team Jamie or Team Jinx? Which handsome hunk will Lucky choose - once she's dealt with the demon assassin on her trail, that is?Lucky's always known about her own psychic powers - after all, her closest friend is a ghost - but she knows nothing of her long-dead family . . . until a daemonic assassin brings a message that drags both Kayla and Lucky down to the Underlands - and into the political fight for the daemon king's throne. Lucky's determined to find her way home, but Jinx and Jamie have both marked her - and now she's not sure she even wants to escape the loving attentions of her handsome winged Guardian and her devilishly charming horned Deathbringer.And if she stays, she might just find out who she really is . . .'Reads like the Sookie Stackhouse series combined with the sinister undertones of Neil Gaiman' Neverwhere' says Booklist
    • More

    Memories of the Body

    By Lisa Tuttle
    Authors:
    Lisa Tuttle
    Award-winning horror author Lisa Tuttle's second short story collection is 'both entertaining and thought-provoking' Publisher's Weekly.This collection of fifteen emotionally-powerful short stories by a writer of cutting-edge fantasy, science fiction and horror are filled with subtlety, power and distinctive voice demanding to be heard.Includes five stories singled out by critic John Clute as 'among the very best short stories published in the last decade' - 'The Wound', 'Memories of the Body', 'Riding the Nightmare', 'Husbands' and 'Lizard Lust', along with 'A Mother's Heart', 'Bits and Pieces', 'Dead Television', 'Other Room', 'Skin Deep', 'Colonization of Edwin Beal', 'Spirit Cabinet', 'Jamie's Grave', 'Heart's Desire' and 'A Birthday'.
    • More

    Mirrorman

    By Trevor Hoyle
    Authors:
    Trevor Hoyle
    Convicted murderer Frank Kersh is bound for the electric chair - until he receives a unique offer from a cult known as the Messengers. In return for his life - and the fulfilment of his every desire - he must destroy one man and thwart any threat to the cult's plans for world domination. But Jefferson Cawdor, Kersh's target, proves to be a determined adversary - and Cawdor may just have found a way into Kersh's realm: that single frozen moment between life and death in which Kersh now exists.Mirrorman, a dark erotic fantasy about the nature of good and evil, 'will keep you up way past your bedtime!' (Nicholas Royle)
    • More

    The Moon and the Sun

    By Vonda N. McIntyre
    Authors:
    Vonda N. McIntyre
    Can she find the courage to defy a king?In seventeenth-century France, Louis XIV rules with flamboyantambition. From the Hall of Mirrors to the vermin-infested attics of the Chateauat Versailles, courtiers compete to please the king, sacrificing fortune,principles and sacred bonds.Here, Marie-Josephe de la Croix looks forward to assisting herbrother, Yves, in the scientific study of the rare sea monster he has captured.But when Marie-Josephe makes adiscovery about the sea creature that threatens all her brother, the courtiersand the King understand, it is left to her to defy the institutions that powerher world. But in the decadent court of KingLouis, where morality is skewed and corruption reigns - will anyone listen to asingle voice? Somehow, she must find the courage to follow her heart andher convictions - even at the cost of changing her life forever.
    • More

    My Pathology and Other Stories

    By Lisa Tuttle
    Authors:
    Lisa Tuttle
    What if the logic of the world reflected the bizarre logic of the unconscious? Each story in My Pathology explores the insanity just below the surface of normal life, especially the madness that unites and divides the sexes. A woman's obsession with her younger sister's nocturnal activities centres uneasily upon the attic of their shared home, where someone or something has built a room-sized nest. A man's desire to connect with aliens threatens his ability to form human relationships. And in the title story, a modern-day alchemist has enlisted sexuality itself into his quest for the philosopher's stone, with uncertain consequences for the women who love him. By turns disturbing and compelling, these sixteen multi-faceted tales reprise the career of one of SF's most emotionally insightful writers.Includes the stories 'Replacements', 'Honey, I'm Home!', 'Food Man', 'Mr Elphinstone's Hands', 'Lucy Maria', 'Where the Stones Grow', 'White Lady's Grave', 'Tir Nan Og', 'The Dragon's Bride', 'Manskin, Womanskin', 'From Another Country', 'The Walled Garden', 'The Extra Hour', 'In Jealousy', 'Turning Thirty' and 'My Pathology'.
    • More

    The Mysteries

    By Lisa Tuttle
    Authors:
    Lisa Tuttle
    'A deft and daring blend of mystery and dark fantasy . . . Richly imagined and beautifully written, it lingers in the mind long after the last page is turned' - George R.R. MartinBlending mystery, thrills and fantasy, this standalone novel from award-winning author Lisa Tuttle will leave you looking over your shoulder . . .Laura Lensky's daughter, Peri, has been missing for two years. For the police it's a closed case - she wanted to run away - but for her mother and boyfriend, Hugh, it's a different story.When Laura hires private investigator Ian Kennedy, it is a last-ditch attempt to find her daughter before she leaves for America.Drawn in by strange parallels to an obscure Celtic myth and his first, almost unexplainable case, Ian takes the job. But his beliefs are about to be stretched to their limit - there are darker and more devious forces at work here than any of them imagined . . . 'It will make the hairs stand up on the back of your head. It will make you imagine things you've never imagined before. And it will make you think. It is her best novel to date' - Michael Moorcock
    • More
    1