Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books
  • Untitled

    By Various
    Authors:
    Various
    When was the last time you wrote a personalised letter? Chose just the right thickness of card, the smoothest writing pen, the best colour ink?The bestselling author of Letters of Note gets to the heart of the dying art of letter-writing. Drawing on ancient history and Victorian how-to guides, Shaun Usher reminds us of the significance of letters. By selecting some of the most fascinating and moving correspondence of all time, he shows how revealing a letter can be as part of a person's character. And why it's so important we keep writing.
    • More

    Under the Wire

    By Paul Conroy
    Authors:
    Paul Conroy
    NOW A MAJOR FEATURE DOCUMENTARYDetermined to cover the Syrian regime's brutal crackdown on dissent and the devastating impact of the war on Syria's civilians, veteran photographer Paul Conroy and Marie Colvin,one of the foremost war correspondents of her generation, decided to smuggle themselves across enemy lines and into the blood and terror of Homs. But tragedy struck before the pair could finish documenting the slaughter. A rocket killed Colvin and ripped a hole in Conroy's leg. As Syrian ground forces closed in on his position,Conroy was forced to make a terrifying last-ditch attempt to escape from a regime that appeared determined to murder him. Under the Wire is the epic, untold account of Conroy and Colvin's last, tragic assignment together. A rare and touching portrait of an extraordinary woman driven by an unquenchable desire to 'bear witness', it is as much a tale of courage and survival as it is the poignant account of a friendship forged amid the carnage of war.
    • More

    Untitled Book 6 Asa Larsson

    By Åsa Larsson
    Authors:
    Åsa Larsson
    • More

    Untitled Book 3

    By Jin Yong
    Authors:
    Jin Yong
    • More

    Untitled Avraham 4

    By D. A. Mishani
    Authors:
    D. A. Mishani
    • More

    Under a Pole Star

    By Stef Penney
    Authors:
    Stef Penney
    RICHARD & JUDY BOOK CLUB 2017. SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2017 COSTA NOVEL AWARD.'A dazzling tale of romance and survival' (Guardian)Follow the path to the freezing north. Follow your ambition. Follow your heartFlora Mackie first crossed the Arctic Circle at the age of twelve. Years later, in 1892, determination and chance lead her back to northern Greenland as a scientist at the head of a British expedition, defying the expectations of those who believe a woman has no place in that harsh world.Geologist Jakob de Beyn was raised in Manhattan. Yearning for wider horizons, he joins a rival expedition. Jakob and Flora's paths cross. It is a fateful meeting, where passion and ambition collide and an irresistible attraction is born.The violent extremes of the north obsess them both: perpetual night and endless day; frozen seas and coastal meadows, and the strange, maddening pull it exerts on the people trying to make their mark on its vast expanses - a pursuit of glory whose outcome will reverberate for years to come.
    • More

    The Unseen

    By Roy Jacobsen
    Authors:
    Roy Jacobsen
    Shortlisted for the Man Booker International Prize 2017Nobody can leave an island. An island is a cosmos in a nutshell, where the stars slumber in the grass beneath the snow. But occasionally someone tries . . . Ingrid Barrøy is born on an island that bears her name - a holdfast for a single family, their livestock, their crops, their hopes and dreams.Her father dreams of building a quay that will connect them to the mainland, but closer ties to the wider world come at a price. Her mother has her own dreams - more children, a smaller island, a different life - and there is one question Ingrid must never ask her.Island life is hard, a living scratched from the dirt or trawled from the sea, so when Ingrid comes of age, she is sent to the mainland to work for one of the wealthy families on the coast.But Norway too is waking up to a wider world, a modern world that is capricious and can be cruel. Tragedy strikes, and Ingrid must fight to protect the home she thought she had left behind.Translated from the Norwegian by Don Bartlett and Don Shaw
    • More

    Undertow

    By Elizabeth Heathcote
    Authors:
    Elizabeth Heathcote
    My husband's lover. They said her death was a tragic accident. And I believed them . . . until now.Carmen is happily married to Tom, a successful London lawyer and divorcé with three children. She is content to absorb the stresses of being a stepmother to teenagers and the stain of 'second wife'. She knows she'll always live in the shadow of another woman - not Tom's first wife Laura, who is resolutely polite and determinedly respectable, but the lover that ended his first marriage: Zena. Zena who was shockingly beautiful. Zena who drowned swimming late one night. But Carmen can overlook her husband's dead mistress . . . until she starts to suspect that he might have been the person who killed her.'Absolutely gripping, I raced through Undertow at the speed of knots' Rosamund Lupton.
    • More

    Unforgettable Walks

    By Julia Bradbury
    Authors:
    Julia Bradbury
    From Dorset's iconic Jurassic Coast to the picturesque Cotswolds and the rugged Peaks, join Julia Bradbury as she travels across Britain in search of the perfect walk, the perfect view - and the perfect pub. Britain is a nation of walkers. Walking is ingrained in our identity - and our passion for the countryside is stronger than ever. Unforgettable Walks takes us on eight of our beloved paths, showcasing Britain's diverse and beautiful landscape at its very best. Follow in Julia's footsteps as she explores the flora and fauna and shares the stories past and present of the people she meets along the way, and her own experiences. With beautiful hand-drawn maps, illustrations - and tips for local pubs and sights - this book will fit as well on a bookshelf as in a rucksack.The WalksDorset: The Golden Cap WalkCotswolds: The Cleeve Hill WalkAnglesey: The Snowdon View WalkYorkshire Dales: The Malham Cove WalkLake District: The Borrowdale Valley WalkCumbria: The High Cup Nick WalkSouth Downs: The Birling Gap WalkPeak District: The Kinder Scout Walk
    • More

    Uncertain Glory

    By Joan Sales
    Authors:
    Joan Sales
    SPAIN, 1937. Posted to the Aragonese front, Lieutenant Lluís Ruscalleda eschews the drunken antics of his comrades and goes in search of intrigue. But the lady of Castel de Olivo - a beautiful widow with a shadowy past - puts a high price on her affections. In Barcelona, Trini Milmany struggles to raise Lluís' son on her own, letters from the front her only solace. With bombs falling as fast as the city's morale, she leaves to winter with Lluís' brigade on a quiet section of the line. But even on 'dead' fronts the guns do not stay silent for long. Trini's decision will put her family's fate in the hands of Juli Soleràs, old friend and traitor of easy conscience, a philosopher-cynic locked in an eternal struggle with himself. Joan Sales, a combatant in the civil war, distilled his experiences into a timeless story of thwarted love, lost youth and crushed illusions. A thrilling epic that has drawn comparison with the work of Dostoevsky and Stendhal, Uncertain Glory is a homegrown counterpart to classics such as Homage to Catalonia and For Whom the Bell Tolls.
    • More
  • Unholy War

    By David Hair
    Authors:
    David Hair
    In war, nothing is holy. The third in David Hair's epic Moontide Quartet, perfect for fans of Brandon Sanderson, George R.R. Martin and Robert Jordan.Emperor Constant's crusade is teetering on the edge of disaster. In the wake of a devastating battle, everything has changed: the East is rising, bringing equal measures of hope and despair to Urte.For Elena and Kazim, the victory is a call to arms against the renegade spymaster Gurvon Gyle. For the Queen of Javon, it is a beacon as she seeks new ways to overthrow her usurper husband and reclaim the country for her brother. For Ramon, trapped behind enemy lines, it is one more obstacle in his desperate attempt to get his men safely home. And while the armies of East and West clash in ever-more-bloody conflict, emperors, inquisitors and assassins hunt the Scytale of Corineus, the key to ultimate power, which is in the hands of the most unlikely guardians: failed mage Alaron and market-girl Ramita, pregnant widow of the world's greatest mage.What they choose to do with the Scytale could change Urte forever.'Filled with action, adventure, magic, love, danger and hope. This is a series I cannot recommend enough' - C.E. Tracy
    • More

    The Underpainter

    By Jane Urquhart
    Authors:
    Jane Urquhart
    The Underpainter is a novel of interwoven lives in which the world of art collides with the realm of human emotion. It is the story of Austin Fraser, an American painter now in his later years, who is haunted by memories of those whose lives most deeply touched his own, including a young Canadian soldier and china painter and the beautiful model who becomes Austin's mistress. Spanning decades, the setting moves from upstate New York to the northern shores of two Great Lakes; from France in World War One to New York City in the '20s and '30s. Brilliantly depicting landscape and the geography of the imagination, The Underpainter is Jane Urquhart's most accomplished novel to date.
    • More
  • The Unnatural Inquirer

    By Simon R. Green
    Authors:
    Simon R. Green
    In his most lucrative case yet, private eye John Taylor must find a missing man . . . and potential proof of the Afterlife. John Taylor's latest case is going to make him a lot of money - he'll earn more than a million pounds if he manages to find Pen Donavon, a man who claims to have a DVD with evidence of the afterlife. The editor of The Unnatural Inquirer, the most notorious gossip rag in the Nightside, has made a deal with Donavon for exclusive rights, but now both man and DVD have vanished. Taylor is used to dealing with the unsavoury denziens of the Nightside, but it's becoming clear that someone altogether more powerful - and deadly - is also on the trail. Taylor must act fast if he's to find the missing DVD before his mysterious adversary, or he may well be the next one to disappear.The Unnatural Inquirer is the eighth title in the New York Times bestselling Nightside series by Simon R. Green.
    • More