Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books

¡Golazo!

By Andreas Campomar
Authors:
Andreas Campomar
  • More

The Zookeeper's War

By Steven Conte
Authors:
Steven Conte
It is 1943 and each night in a bomb shelter beneath the Berlin Zoo an Australian woman, Vera, shelters with her German husband, Axel, the zoo's director.Together, they struggle to look after the animals through the air raids and food shortages. When the zoo's staff is drafted into the army, forced labourers are sent in as replacements. At first, Vera finds the idea abhorrent, but gradually she realizes that the new workers are the zoo's only hope, and forms an unlikely bond with one of them.This is a city where a foreign accent is a constant source of suspicion, where busybodies report the names of neighbours' dinner guests to the Gestapo. As tensions mount in the closing days of the war, nothing and no one, it seems, can be trusted.The Zookeeper's War is a powerful novel of a marriage, and of a city collapsing. It confronts not only the brutality of war but the possibility of heroism - and delivers an ending that is both shocking and deeply moving.
  • More

Zola and the Victorians

By Eileen Horne
Authors:
Eileen Horne
London, 1888: Jack the Ripper stalks the streets of Whitechapel; national strikes and social unrest threaten the status quo; a grave economic crisis is spreading across the Atlantic . . . Yet Her Majesty's government is preoccupied with "a mere book" - or rather, a series of books: new translations of the Rougon-Macquart saga by French literary giant Émile Zola.In his time, Zola made his British contemporaries look positively pastoral; much of his work is considered shocking and transgressive even now. But it was his English publisher who bore the brunt of the Victorians' moral outrage at Zola's "realistic" depictions of striking miners, society courtesans and priapic, feuding farmers.Seventy years before Lady Chatterley's Lover broke the back of British censorship, Henry Vizetelly's commitment to publishing Zola, and to the nascent principle of free speech, not only landed him in the dock and thereafter in prison, but brought to ruin to the publishing house he had founded. Meanwhile, Zola was going from strength to strength, establishing his reputation as a literary legend and falling in love with a woman half his age.This lively, humorous and ultimately tragic tale is an exploration of the consequences of translation and censorship which remains relevant today for readers, publishers and authors everywhere.
  • More
  • The Zig Zag Girl

    By Elly Griffiths
    Authors:
    Elly Griffiths
    Brighton, 1950. When a girl's body is found, cut into three, Detective Inspector Edgar Stephens is reminded of a magic trick, the Zig Zag Girl. The inventor of the trick, Max Mephisto, is an old friend of Edgar's. They served together in the war as part of a shadowy unit called the Magic Men. Max is still on the circuit, touring seaside towns in the company of ventriloquists, sword-swallowers and dancing girls. Changing times mean that variety is not what it once was, yet Max is reluctant to leave this world to help Edgar investigate. But when the dead girl turns out to be known to him, Max changes his mind. Another death, another magic trick: Edgar and Max become convinced that the answer to the murders lies in their army days. When Edgar receives a letter warning of another 'trick', the Wolf Trap, he knows that they are all in the killer's sights...
    • More

    Zero Six Bravo

    By Damien Lewis
    Authors:
    Damien Lewis
    • More

    Zambezi

    By Tony Park
    Authors:
    Tony Park
    When a young American research assistant is killed by a lion, three people are devastated - Jed Banks, an American Special Forces soldier serving in Afghanistan; Professor Christine Wallis, a wildlife researcher in South Africa; and Hassan bin Zayid, a hotel magnate in Zambia. The victim, Miranda Banks-Lewis, was their daughter, protegee and lover respectively. Desperate to find out what happened to Miranda, Jed and Christine set out on a perilous journey of discovery. Forced to pit themselves against the continent's dangers, they will also learn shocking truths about the woman they thought they knew.
    • More

    Youth

    By Paolo Sorrentino
    Authors:
    Paolo Sorrentino
    BY THE DIRECTOR AND CO-AUTHOR OF THE ACADEMY AWARD WINNING THE GREAT BEAUTYTHE FILM OF YOUTH, STARRING MICHAEL CAINE, HARVEY KEITEL, RACHEL WEISZ, PAUL DANO AND JANE FONDA IS RELEASED IN THE UK ON 29 JANUARYIn a luxury spa hotel in the Swiss Alps, octogenarian friends Fred Ballinger and Mick Boyle look back on their eventful and successful lives as composer and film director, surrounded by a host of colourful and eccentric fellow guests. But despite the tranquil setting, trouble is brewing. Fred's daughter and Mick's son are having marital problems, and both men, without knowing it, are entering a critical stage in their careers - for it is never too late to snatch defeat from the jaws of victory.
    • More
  • Your Servants and Your People

    By David Towsey
    Authors:
    David Towsey
    No one knows who will return as one of the Walkin'. But everyone agrees it's a curse . . . and there are those who will not suffer the wicked to live.Seven years after Thomas returned as a Walkin', the McDermott family are looking for a new life. Thomas has set his heart on starting a farm near the remote army outpost of Fort Wilson. But there are those who would see all Walkin' dead, and they are slowly closing in.
    • More
  • Your Resting Place

    By David Towsey
    Authors:
    David Towsey
    Perfect for fans of The Walking Dead and The Road: the stunning, terrifying, moving conclusion to The Walkin' Trilogy.Is there a future for those already dead?Rumours of the Drowned Woman are rife. Some say she can't be killed, not in the usual ways. She hunts down wanted men - but never collects on the bounty; they say she is looking for one man in particular. He killed her husband and stole her daughter.There will be a reckoning.'Haunting, elegiac, evocative and human' Christopher Brookmyre, author of Dead Girl Walking
    • More
  • Your Brother's Blood

    By David Towsey
    Authors:
    David Towsey
    An action-packed, post-apocalyptic adventure for fans of The Walking Dead, World War Z and Feed. The dead don't always die. Those who rise again are the Walkin' . . .Thomas is thirty-two. He comes from the small town of Barkley. He has a wife there, Sarah, and a child, Mary; good solid names from the Good Book. And he is on his way home from the war, where he has been serving as a conscripted soldier. Thomas is also dead - risen again, he is one of the Walkin'. And Barkley does not suffer the wicked to live.And Barkley does not suffer the wicked to live.
    • More

    You, Me and Him

    By Alice Peterson
    Authors:
    Alice Peterson
    From Alice Peterson, author of the ebook sensation Monday to Friday Man, comes You, Me and Him, a moving and honest account of family, parenthood and love. Josie and Finn are happily married, with promising careers, and a gorgeous young son, George. But despite their apparently enviable lives, George's hyperactivity disorder means the days aren't always easy. Josie's best friend Justin has always been there for her, and when she finds out she's pregnant again she turns to him for support. She loves George, but it's just such hard work, especially as Josie takes much of the strain.Finn is suspicious. What does Justin want in return for his help? And just how close are they really? Told with her trademark warmth and wit, You, Me and Him was Alice's second novel. This ebook reissue also contains a preview of Alice's new novel, The Things We Do for Love, coming in ebook this July.
    • More

    You Should Have Left

    By Daniel Kehlmann, Peter Noble
    Authors:
    Daniel Kehlmann
    Read by:
    Peter Noble
    A thrilling exploration of psychological disturbance and fear from the bestselling and prize-winning author of Measuring the World.On retreat in the wintry Alps with his family, a writer is optimistic about completing the sequel to his breakthrough film. Nothing to disturb him except the wind whispering around their glassy house. The perfect place to focus. Intruding on that peace of mind, the demands of his four-year-old daughter splinter open long-simmering arguments with his wife. I love her, he writes in the notebook intended for his script. Why do we fight all the time?Guilt and expectation strain at his concentration, and strain, too, at the walls of the house. They warp under his watch; at night, looking through the window, he sees impossible reflections on the snow outside.Then the words start to appear in his notebook; the words he didn't write.Familiar and forbidding by turns, this is an electrifying experiment in form by one of Europe's boldest writers. The ordinary struggles of a marriage transform, in Kehlmann's hands, into a twisted fable that stays darkly in the mind.
    • More

    You Know What You Could Be

    By Mike Heron, Andrew Greig
    Authors:
    Mike Heron, Andrew Greig
    'Mike Heron, as part of the Incredible String Band, changed the way I looked at music. Read it!' Billy Connolly'Mike Heron's lyrics always sparkled with wit and warmth and his prose is a delightful continuation. The book evokes a smoky, unheated eccentric Edinburgh that was a crucible for so much creativity.' Joe Boyd, author of White BicyclesThis singular book offers two harmonising memoirs of music making in the 1960s. Mike Heron for the first time writes vividly of his formative years in dour, Presbyterian Edinburgh. Armed with a love of Buddy Holly, Fats Domino and Hungarian folk music, he plays in school cloakrooms, graduates to rock, discovers the joy of a folk audience, starts writing songs, tries to talk to girls, wishes he was a Beatnik all while training as a reluctant accountant. When asked to join Robin Williamson and Clive Palmer, the Incredible String Band are formed - and their wildly innovative, astounding music became indelibly linked with the latter Sixties.Andrew Greig was a frustrated provincial schoolboy when he heard their songs. It changed everything. Undaunted by a lack of experience and ability, he formed a band in their image. Fate & Ferret populated back-country Fife with Pan, nymphs and Apollo, met the String Band and caught the fish lorry to London to hang around Joe Boyd's Witchseason office, watching at the fringes of the blooming Underground scene. It was forty years later that he and Mike became friends.These entwined stories will delight anyone who has loved the Incredible String Band; and their differing portraits of that hopeful, erratic and stubborn stumble towards the life that is ours will strike a chord with everyone.
    • More