Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books

The Easy Way Out

By Steven Amsterdam
Authors:
Steven Amsterdam
EVAN IS A SUICIDE ASSISTANT. HIS JOB IS LEGAL - JUST.'A poignant, sharply funny story that raises questions about life, death, and love' Louise O'Neill'You might just want to find and hug a nurse after finishing this thoughtful and ethically nuanced novel' GuardianShortlisted for the ALS Gold Medal 2017.Evan is the one at the hospital who hands out the last drink to those who ask for it. Evan's friends don't know what he does during the day. His mother, Viv, doesn't know what he's up to at night. And his supervisor suspects there may be trouble ahead. As he helps one patient after another die, Evan pushes against the limits of the law - and his own morality. And with Viv increasingly unwell, his love life complicated, to say the least, Evan begins to wonder who might be there for him, when the time comes.From an award-winning author, The Easy Way Out is a brilliantly funny and exquisitely sad novel that gets to the heart of one of the most difficult questions each of us may face: would you help someone die?
  • More

Echoes from Afar

By Tamara McKinley
Authors:
Tamara McKinley
A powerful story of love and loss from the beloved internationally bestselling author, Tamara McKinley, who also writes as Sunday Times bestseller Ellie Dean. For fans of Lesley Pearse and Susan Lewis.So this is Paris, she thought in awe. Spread out before her beneath a clear blue sky, it was like a precious gift after the smog and filth of London. No wonder it was called the city of love . . .After a spiteful rumour ruins her career in London, Annabelle Blake must travel to Paris to start afresh. There she makes the acquaintance of Etienne and Henri - one a poet, the other a painter - both charming, talented and handsome. They spend their days flirting and drinking with the city's artistes and Bohemians, and soon Annabelle too is swept up in the exotic and exhilarating world of 1930s Paris. But as ever more young people are drawn to the fight against Fascism in Spain, Annabelle must wake from the dream and confront the reality of war. A lifetime later, gifted artist Eugenie Ashton falls in love with Paris the moment she sets foot outside the Gare de Lyon. Like her mother Annabelle before her, the artistic delights of the city are a bright new world to her: but Eugenie will soon find that in its shadows are hidden the secrets of her family's past.Discover Tamara McKinley's other timeless bestsellers Ocean Child and Matilda's Last Waltz.
  • More

Eden in Winter

By Richard North Patterson
Authors:
Richard North Patterson
  • More

England's Lane

By Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly
  • More

The Enigma of the Return

By Dany Laferrière
Authors:
Dany Laferrière
  • More

Every Seventh Wave

By Daniel Glattauer
Authors:
Daniel Glattauer
  • More

English as a Second Language

By Megan Crane
Authors:
Megan Crane
Alexandra Brennan is doing just fine in a dead end job working for people she hates in New York, until she bumps into an ex in a bar, and he tells her she'll never make it to graduate school in the UK. Never one to let a challenge pass her by, Alex applies and when she gets a place at the University of York, she finds herself on a plane to the other side of the Atlantic, wondering what on earth she's done.Armed with American cigarettes and extra-strength coffee, Alex is ready to face everything Britain has to offer - beer, blokes and more books than she can possibly read in a year. Falling for her lecturer, the divine Sean Douglas, and managing to get a Master's somewhere along the line, Alex realises that instead of running away from home, she might just have found it
  • More

The Extinction Club

By Jeffrey Moore
Authors:
Jeffrey Moore
Nile Nightingale, a troubled man in search of refuge, arrives in the Laurentian mountains of Quebec: a remote land home to rare wildlife and a violent hunting community. He soon finds haven, in the form of a run-down country church for sale. Until, that is, he stumbles upon something in its snow-covered graveyard. A bloody sack, tied with Christmas ribbon. Inside, slashed and beaten, is fourteen-year-old Céleste Jonquères, whose recent testimony has put the hunters' leader, a man who's killed more animals than a hundred winters, behind bars.What follows is a darkly comic tale, in which the very urban Nile and the country-smart Céleste teach each other about life and death, love and loss. Inspired by true events, The Extinction Club is a powerful portrayal of wildlife plunder and those who dare to oppose it.
  • More

Everyone Else's Girl

By Megan Crane
Authors:
Megan Crane
Meredith does things for other people. She does her boyfriend's laundry, she attends her ex-best friend's hen party (her brother is about to marry the girl) and she moves back to her parents' house to look after her dad when his leg is broken. She's a good girl and that matters. But when she gets back home, all is not as Meredith remembered. Especially Scott, that geeky teenager from her old class at school. He's definitely different now. And so, it seems, is she. One by one, her family and old friends start to tell her some home truths and Meredith begins to realise she's not so perfect after all. Maybe it's time she stopped being everyone else's girl and started living for herself.
  • More
1