Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books

The Early Birds

By Laurie Graham
Authors:
Laurie Graham
The Early Birds is the touching and funny follow-up to The Future Homemakers of America. 'Funny, heartwarming and a real treat. I would recommend it to anyone!' Katie Fforde'Wit and insight to match Nick Hornby, and the entertainment value of Helen Fielding' Independent on The Future Homemakers of America'Why is Laurie Graham not carried on people's shoulders through cheering crowds? Her books are brilliant!' Marian KeyesPeggy, the southern belle. Kath, the pragmatist with the only Norfolk accent in New York state. Gayle, the preacher with healing hands. Mrs Colonel Audrey Rudman, forever keeping up the standards of the Officers' Wives Club. Lois, who's never had a thought she didn't voice. Loudly. Their menfolk may be long retired, but once a US Air Force wife, always an Air Force wife, and the bonds of friendship forged in base after military base are still going strong fifty years later. Time is rendering its Accounts Payable for all of them now: hip replacements, eye problems, forgetfulness and departures. In this hymn to lifelong female friendship, Peggy soldiers on through new upheavals, including her ex-husband Vern's Alzheimer's diagnosis, the death of one of her nearest and dearest, a life-changing house move and the world-shattering events of 9/11 with the help of her sharp-tongued, often eccentric, but always loyal group of friends.
  • More
  • The Exile

    By David Hair
    Authors:
    David Hair
    Ravindra is back, and close to his dream of becoming the Demon King Ravana once and for all - unless Vikram, Amanjit, Deepika and Ras find their own powers, evil will overwhelm the world . . .Bollywood superstar Sunita Ashoka's reality show Swayamvara Live! has ended in bloodshed and disaster, and Vikram, Amanjit and Rasita are on the run, accused of her murder. And just like the heroes of the Ramayana, they soon find themselves beset by the same perils as Rama, Laksmana and Sita.When an unexpected death forces Vikram into the open, they start to despair - but there is some hope: Amanjit's warrior skills are returning, Rasita is beginning to remember her own past lives, and Deepika is awakening to terrifying new powers. But the enemy, Ravindra, has also found allies: the nightmarish Rakshasa army.Memories and legends are coming alive all over India. The fight to the finish has begun . . .'David Hair hasn't just broken the mould. He's completely shattered it' - Bibliosanctum on The Pyre
    • More

    The Eternal City

    By Domenica De Rosa
    Authors:
    Domenica De Rosa
    A heart-warming tale of sibling rivalry, secrets, love and death, steeped in local colour and noise and tender in its depiction of family at their worst, and at their best from Domenica de Rosa, author of the bestselling Dr Ruth Galloway series under the name Elly Griffiths. 'Witty and as light as a tiramisu but with tart insight on sibling rivalry' Nottingham Evening PostGaby, the youngest of the de Angelis sisters, always secretly knew she was her father Enzo's favourite; so when Enzo dies on the day her own daughter is born, her life is turned upside down. In the emotional aftermath of the funeral, it emerges that her father has asked that his ashes be taken back his native city, Rome. Suddenly, Gaby and her new family are thrown headfirst into the wider de Angelis clan, and all of their conflicting ideas and opinions. As the family journeys to Rome to say a final goodbye to Enzo, emotions run high; but none higher than Gaby's, as she comes face to face with the man she once thought she would marry, and is forced to question everything of which, until now, she was so sure.
    • More

    The Easy Way Out

    By Steven Amsterdam
    Authors:
    Steven Amsterdam
    EVAN IS A SUICIDE ASSISTANT. HIS JOB IS LEGAL - JUST.'A poignant, sharply funny story that raises questions about life, death, and love' Louise O'Neill'You might just want to find and hug a nurse after finishing this thoughtful and ethically nuanced novel' GuardianShortlisted for the ALS Gold Medal 2017.Evan is the one at the hospital who hands out the last drink to those who ask for it. Evan's friends don't know what he does during the day. His mother, Viv, doesn't know what he's up to at night. And his supervisor suspects there may be trouble ahead. As he helps one patient after another die, Evan pushes against the limits of the law - and his own morality. And with Viv increasingly unwell, his love life complicated, to say the least, Evan begins to wonder who might be there for him, when the time comes.From an award-winning author, The Easy Way Out is a brilliantly funny and exquisitely sad novel that gets to the heart of one of the most difficult questions each of us may face: would you help someone die?
    • More

    Echoes from Afar

    By Tamara McKinley
    Authors:
    Tamara McKinley
    A powerful story of love and loss from the beloved internationally bestselling author, Tamara McKinley, who also writes as Sunday Times bestseller Ellie Dean. For fans of Lesley Pearse and Susan Lewis.So this is Paris, she thought in awe. Spread out before her beneath a clear blue sky, it was like a precious gift after the smog and filth of London. No wonder it was called the city of love . . .After a spiteful rumour ruins her career in London, Annabelle Blake must travel to Paris to start afresh. There she makes the acquaintance of Etienne and Henri - one a poet, the other a painter - both charming, talented and handsome. They spend their days flirting and drinking with the city's artistes and Bohemians, and soon Annabelle too is swept up in the exotic and exhilarating world of 1930s Paris. But as ever more young people are drawn to the fight against Fascism in Spain, Annabelle must wake from the dream and confront the reality of war. A lifetime later, gifted artist Eugenie Ashton falls in love with Paris the moment she sets foot outside the Gare de Lyon. Like her mother Annabelle before her, the artistic delights of the city are a bright new world to her: but Eugenie will soon find that in its shadows are hidden the secrets of her family's past.Discover Tamara McKinley's other timeless bestsellers Ocean Child and Matilda's Last Waltz.
    • More

    Eden in Winter

    By Richard North Patterson
    Authors:
    Richard North Patterson
    Two months after the suspicious and much-publicized death of his father on the island of Martha's Vineyard, it is taking all of Adam Blaine's character to suture the deep wounds - both within his family and himself - torn open by the tragedy. Moreover, as the court inquest into Benjamin Blaine's death continues, it is taking all of Adam's cunning to protect those closest to him from figures who still suspect that Adam's father was murdered by one of his kin. But the sternest test of all is Adam's proximity to Carla Pacelli - his late father's mistress; and a woman who, despite being pivotal to his family's plight, Adam finds himself increasingly drawn to. The closer he gets to this beautiful, mysterious woman, the further Adam feels from his troubles. Yet the closer he also comes to revealing the secrets he's strived to conceal, and condemning the people he's fought so hard to protect.
    • More

    England's Lane

    By Joseph Connolly
    Authors:
    Joseph Connolly
    SHORTLISTED FOR THE BOLLINGER EVERYMAN WODEHOUSE PRIZE - AS IF THE ROYLE FAMILY WERE WRITTEN BY MARTIN AMIS!'Vibrant tragicomic slices of cosmopolitan Englishness' Independent on Sunday'A rich and compelling drama of life' Daily Mail'Connolly has a keen sense of the hushed emotional tenderness of English life and our silent shattering pain' Sunday TelegraphJim and Milly. Stan and Jane. Jonathan and Fiona. Winter, 1959. Three married couples: each living in England's Lane, each with an only child, and each attending to family, and their livelihoods - the ironmonger's, the sweetshop and the butcher's. Each of them hiding their lies, disguising sin, coping in the only way they know how.
    • More

    Every Promise

    By Andrea Bajani
    Authors:
    Andrea Bajani
    • More

    The Enigma of the Return

    By Dany Laferrière
    Authors:
    Dany Laferrière
    • More

    Every Seventh Wave

    By Daniel Glattauer
    Authors:
    Daniel Glattauer
    • More
  • Exile

    By Jakob Ejersbo
    Authors:
    Jakob Ejersbo
    • More

    English as a Second Language

    By Megan Crane
    Authors:
    Megan Crane
    Alexandra Brennan is doing just fine in a dead end job working for people she hates in New York, until she bumps into an ex in a bar, and he tells her she'll never make it to graduate school in the UK. Never one to let a challenge pass her by, Alex applies and when she gets a place at the University of York, she finds herself on a plane to the other side of the Atlantic, wondering what on earth she's done.Armed with American cigarettes and extra-strength coffee, Alex is ready to face everything Britain has to offer - beer, blokes and more books than she can possibly read in a year. Falling for her lecturer, the divine Sean Douglas, and managing to get a Master's somewhere along the line, Alex realises that instead of running away from home, she might just have found it
    • More

    The Extinction Club

    By Jeffrey Moore
    Authors:
    Jeffrey Moore
    Nile Nightingale, a troubled man in search of refuge, arrives in the Laurentian mountains of Quebec: a remote land home to rare wildlife and a violent hunting community. He soon finds haven, in the form of a run-down country church for sale. Until, that is, he stumbles upon something in its snow-covered graveyard. A bloody sack, tied with Christmas ribbon. Inside, slashed and beaten, is fourteen-year-old Céleste Jonquères, whose recent testimony has put the hunters' leader, a man who's killed more animals than a hundred winters, behind bars.What follows is a darkly comic tale, in which the very urban Nile and the country-smart Céleste teach each other about life and death, love and loss. Inspired by true events, The Extinction Club is a powerful portrayal of wildlife plunder and those who dare to oppose it.
    • More

    Everyone Else's Girl

    By Megan Crane
    Authors:
    Megan Crane
    Meredith does things for other people. She does her boyfriend's laundry, she attends her ex-best friend's hen party (her brother is about to marry the girl) and she moves back to her parents' house to look after her dad when his leg is broken. She's a good girl and that matters. But when she gets back home, all is not as Meredith remembered. Especially Scott, that geeky teenager from her old class at school. He's definitely different now. And so, it seems, is she. One by one, her family and old friends start to tell her some home truths and Meredith begins to realise she's not so perfect after all. Maybe it's time she stopped being everyone else's girl and started living for herself.
    • More
    1