Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books

A Foolish Virgin

By Ida Simons
Authors:
Ida Simons
It is the middle of the roaring twenties, and Gittel is living The Hague with her parents, whose blazing rows are the traditional preserve of Sundays and public holidays. What luck, then, that Gittel is Jewish, and must submit to "the double helping of public holidays that is the lot of Jewish families".After every matrimonial slanging match, Gittel's mother runs off to her parents' home in Antwerp - with her daugher in tow. Much to her delight, Gittel makes the acquaintance of the well-to-do Mardell family, who allow her to practise on their Steinway. Gittel feels that she is taken seriously by Mr Mardell, the head of the household, and by thirty-year-old Lucie, whom she adores. When these friendships turn out to be nothing but an illusion, Gittel learns her first lessons about trust and betrayal. Her second comes soon after, when her father, whose talents for business leave much to be desired, attempts to make a quick killing in Berlin on the eve of the Wall Street Crash.Though this intimate portrayal of familial strife is set in the shadow of the Holocaust, Simons says little about the horror that awaits her characters, yet she succeeds in giving the reader the sense that the novel is about more than a young girl's loss of innocence. In a fluid, almost casual style, she has written a masterly and timeless ode to a relatively carefree interlude in a dark and dramatic period.Translated from the Dutch by Liz Waters
  • More

Fall of Man in Wilmslow

By David Lagercrantz
Authors:
David Lagercrantz
A powerful tale of honour, prejudice and the twentieth century's most maltreated hero, by the acclaimed author of THE GIRL IN THE SPIDER'S WEB.June 8, 1954. Alan Turing, the visionary mathematician, is found dead at his home in sleepy Wilmslow, dispatched by a poisoned apple. Taking the case, Detective Constable Leonard Corell quickly learns Turing is a convicted homosexual. Confident it's a suicide, he is nonetheless confounded by official secrecy over Turing's war record. What is more, Turing's sexuality appears to be causing alarm among the intelligence services - could he have been blackmailed by Soviet spies? Stumbling across evidence of Turing's genius, and sensing an escape from a narrow life, Corell soon becomes captivated by Turing's brilliant and revolutionary work, and begins to dig deeper. But in the febrile atmosphere of the Cold War, loose cannons cannot be tolerated. As his innocent curiosity takes him far out of his depth, Corell realises he has much to learn about the dangers of forbidden knowledge.
  • More

Fish Have No Feet

By Jón Kalman Stefánsson
Authors:
Jón Kalman Stefánsson
Longlisted for the Man Booker International Prize 2017.Keflavik: a town that may be the darkest place in Iceland, surrounded by black lava fields, hemmed in by a sea that may not be fished, and site of the U.S. military base, whose influence shaped Icelandic culture from the '50s to the dawning of the new millennium. Ari - a writer and publisher - lands back in Keflavik from Copenhagen. His father is dying, and he is flooded by memories of his youth in the '70s and '80s, listening to Pink Floyd and the Beatles, raiding American supply lorries and discovering girls. And one girl he could never forget. Layered through Ari's story is that of his grandparents in a village on the eastern coast, a world away from modern Keflavik. For his grandfather Oddur, life at sea is a destiny; for Margret its elemental power brings only loneliness and fear.Fish Have No Feet is a novel of profound beauty and wisdom by a major international writer. By the author of the acclaimed trilogy Heaven and Hell, The Sorrow of Angels and The Heart of Man
  • More

A Field Guide to Reality

By Joanna Kavenna, Oly Ralfe
Authors:
Joanna Kavenna
Illustrated by:
Oly Ralfe
Eliade Jencks knows the only reason people call at midnight is to tell you someone has died. Professor Solete was one of her few friends. Perhaps her only friend. But his friends don't think much of her - a vague, scruffy waitress, impatient with philosophical onanism at parties. Naturally, they're horrified to find out that Solete has left her his Field Guide to Reality.The Guide has taken on legendary proportions among the celebrated minds of Oxford. The work of a lifetime, it purportedly advances Solete's great philosophical Theory of Everything and even defines the very nature of reality. A big, important book. Only, they can't find it.So, baffled, grieving, and slightly annoyed, Eliade sets out on a quest for the missing manuscript, and falls down a rabbit-hole of metaphysical possibility. From a psychotropic tea party to the Priests of the Quantum Realm, she trips her way through Solete's wonderland reality and, without quite meaning to, bursts open the boundaries of her own. In this clever, darkly ironic and moving novel, Granta Best of Young British author Joanna Kavenna displays fearless originality and dread wit in confronting the strangeness of reality and how we contend with the disappearance of those we love. Beautiful original drawings by Oly Ralfe illustrate this haunting tale of bringing light to an empty room.
  • More

The Foxglove Tree

By Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
As war fades, they must rebuild their lives. From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy comes a gritty family saga, perfect for fans of Catherine King and Nadine Dorries. Returning to his home town from the Great War, Allan Jamieson is hailed as a hero. But inside he is a changed man, so affected by his experiences at the Front that he withdraws from his wife Kaye and their young son. Allan soon resumes his civilian career as a respected barrister, and takes on the defence of a beautiful young woman accused of killing her war-wounded husband. Alienated from his wife, it is not long before Allan and the woman have become recklessly involved. As war casts its long shadow over everyone's lives, the townspeople must learn to start again.
  • More

Fragments

By Sarah Foot
Authors:
Sarah Foot
  • More

F

By Daniel Kehlmann
Authors:
Daniel Kehlmann
  • More

The Flavours of Love

By Dorothy Koomson
Authors:
Dorothy Koomson
A gripping psychological drama from the beloved Sunday Times bestselling author of That Girl From Nowhere . . .'I'm looking for that perfect blend of flavours; the taste that used to be you.'It's been 18 months since my husband was murdered and I've decided to finish writing The Flavours of Love, the cookbook he started before he died. Everyone thinks I'm coping so well without him - they have no idea what I've been hiding or what I did back then to protect my family. But now that my 14-year-old daughter has confessed a devastating secret, and my husband's killer, who was never caught, has started to write to me, I know it's only a matter of time before the truth about me and what I've done will be revealed.My name is Saffron Mackleroy and this is my story.
  • More

The Foxes Come at Night

By Cees Nooteboom
Authors:
Cees Nooteboom
  • More

French Caress

By CC Gibbs
Authors:
CC Gibbs
L.A. architect Nicole Lesdaux has been given a dream project: building a luxury treehouse for handsome record producer Johnny Patrick's little daughter Jordi. As Nicole settles into the job, she can't help but be attracted to Johnny - warm personality, loving father, and a body to die for. Nicole tells herself she can never allow herself to get involved with clients. But when tragedy strikes, Nicole is forced to join Johnny on a trip to Paris to save his little girl. As the two grow closer the sexual tension mounts, and resisting seems more futile than ever . . .
  • More

Forbidden Pleasure

By CC Gibbs
Authors:
CC Gibbs
Etienne Martel is the most celebrated lover in Paris, but from the moment he sees Montana-born beauty Daisy Black, he has eyes for no other. Daisy, a born wit and dedicated women's rights activist, can't help but notice the handsome Etienne. The desire is mutual, but one great obstacle stands in the lovers' way. Etienne is already married, and his wife won't relinquish her man so easily...
  • More

Fame

By Daniel Kehlmann
Authors:
Daniel Kehlmann
Imagine being famous. Wouldn't that be great?'A real beauty of a book' - Jonathan Franzen'Riffs echo through this playful, perplexing landscape' - The Times But what if, one day, you got stuck in a country where no one spoke your language. Where no one knew your face and you had no way of contacting home. How would your fame help you then? What would happen if someone got hold of your mobile phone? If they spoke to your girlfriends, your agent, your director and started making decisions for you. And when no one believed that you were you any more, when you saw a lookalike acting your roles for you, what would you do? In this delightfully entertaining book, Daniel Kehlmann throws his characters into situations that are thrilling, funny, surprising and tragic, confirming his place as one of his generation's finest writers.
  • More

Frenemies

By Megan Crane
Authors:
Megan Crane
Everyone knows that girl. The one who effortlessly attracts the eyes of every guy in the room, doesn't seem to need girlfriends and never gives any thought to her appearance - no need, it's always perfect. But what happens when that girl is your college roommate and she has her eye on the love of your life?Gus Curtis approaches the big three-o with a plan to usher herself painlessly into official adulthood. But then she walks in on her perfect boyfriend lip-locked with one of her oldest friends. When she loses most of her dignity in attempts to win him back, her two best friends finally lose patience with her and she finds herself seeking consolation in the arms of the one boy she really should stay away from. Gus realises she needs to do some growing up - and fast.Frenemies is impossible to put down, it's funny, honest and the love interest is a true Mr Darcy. This is feel-good fiction at its best.
  • More
1