Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books

The Gravity of Love

By Sara Stridsberg
Authors:
Sara Stridsberg
A dazzlingly inventive and acclaimed novel set in a Stockholm psychiatric hospital - by one of Sweden's most exciting literary talents"I'll put my head in the oven so you know where I am," he whispers, kissing her neck.Jim - charming, captivating, much loved by his women friends - has attempted suicide several times. Over his period of incarceration at the Beckomberga hospital for the mentally unstable, he voices his determination to succeed. Some day soon, he tells his daughter - as he has earlier told his mother and his wife - he will swallow sixty tablets, help them down with a bottle of whisky, and swim impossibly far out into the Atlantic.Will he, really? This question plagues Jim's daughter, the narrator of this powerful novel, who is as addicted to the hospital as her father is to alcohol. Through her subtle observations we understand the emotional needs of diehard alcoholics, the rationally uxoricidal, and other seemingly normal inhabitants of a psychiatric unit in the process of shutting down, depriving them of the only place they have known as home.A Magic Mountain for our times, for readers of Eimear McBride and Alexander Masters.Translated from the Swedish by Deborah Bragan-Turner
  • More

Gold Fame Citrus

By Claire Vaye Watkins
Authors:
Claire Vaye Watkins
'A Mad Max world painted with a finer brush' Elle 'An unforgettable journey into a hauntingly imagined near-future' Ruth Ozeki'Set in a drought-ravaged Southern California trolled by scavengers, Gold Fame Citrus burns with a dizzying, scorching genius' Vanity Fair Desert sands have laid waste to the south-west of America. Las Vegas is buried. California - and anyone still there - is stranded. Any way out is severely restricted. But Luz and Ray are not leaving. They survive on water rations, black market fruit and each other's need. Luz needs Ray, and Ray must be needed. But then they cross paths with a mysterious child, who needs them more than anything - and the thirst for a better life begins.Claire Vaye Watkins's much-anticipated and lauded first novel delivers on her promise as one of America's best new writers.
  • More

The Great Swindle

By Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre
Now a major French film Au revoir là-haut - Prix Goncourt-winning masterpiece by the writer who brought you Alex, Irène and Camille.October 1918: the war on the Western Front is all but over. Desperate for one last chance of promotion, the ambitious Lieutenant Henri d'Aulnay Pradelle sends two scouts over the top, and secretly shoots them in the back to incite his men to heroic action once more.And so is set in motion a series of devastating events that will inextricably bind together the fates and fortunes of Pradelle and the two soldiers who witness his crime: Albert Maillard and Édouard Péricourt.Back in civilian life, Albert and Édouard struggle to adjust to a society whose reverence for its dead cannot quite match its resentment for those who survived. But the two soldiers conspire to enact an audacious form of revenge against the country that abandoned them to penury and despair, with a scheme to swindle the whole of France on an epic scale.Meanwhile, believing her brother killed in action, Édouard's sister Madeleine has married Pradelle, who is running a little scam of his own...Translated from the French by Frank Wynne
  • More

A God for the Killing

By Kain Massin
Authors:
Kain Massin
  • More

Grey Souls

By Philippe Claudel
Authors:
Philippe Claudel
  • More

The Girl Who Was Saturday Night

By Heather O'Neill
Authors:
Heather O'Neill
***LONGLISTED FOR THE BAILEYS WOMEN'S FICTION PRIZE 2015***At birth, Nouschka forms a bond with her twin that can never be broken.At six, she's the child star daughter of Quebec's most famous musician.At sixteen, she's a high-school dropout kicking up with her beloved brother.At nineteen, she's the Beauty Queen of Boulevard Saint-Laurent.At twenty, she's back in night school. And falling for an ex-convict. And it's all being filmed by a documentary crew.
  • More
  • The Gift of Darkness

    By Valentina Giambanco
    Authors:
    Valentina Giambanco
    A heart-stopping thriller perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Sharon Bolton and Alex Marwood. Twenty-five years ago in the woods by the Hoh River near Seattle, three boys were kidnapped. One never came home. Last night, a family of four was found brutally murdered, the words 'thirteen days' carved near their lifeless bodies. Homicide Detective Alice Madison - a one-time child runaway with a murky past - now spends her life hunting down the very worst humanity has to offer. Madison has a hunch that the two murders are linked . . . and she has thirteen days to prove it. To stop a psychopath, Madison returns to the woods to confront the unsolved mystery of the Hoh River Boys. She must forget her training and follow her instincts to the terrifying end as enemies become allies and, in the silent forest, time is running out to save another life.Discover more Detective Alice Madison with the next instalments of the gripping series - The Dark and Blood and Bone.
    • More

    Girlchild

    By Tupelo Hassman
    Authors:
    Tupelo Hassman
    • More

    The Gurkha's Daughter

    By Prajwal Parajuly
    Authors:
    Prajwal Parajuly
    • More

    The Ghost Hunters

    By Neil Spring
    Authors:
    Neil Spring
    'Deliciously creepy' Herald. A hair-raising fictionalized account of the Borley Rectory haunting, based on contemporary first-hand testimonies.Welcome to Borley Rectory, the most haunted house in England. The year is 1926 and Sarah Grey has landed herself an unlikely new job - personal assistant to Harry Price, London's most infamous ghost hunter. Equal parts brilliant and charming, neurotic and manipulative, Harry has devoted his life to exposing the truth behind England's many 'false hauntings', and never has he left a case unsolved, nor a fraud unexposed. So when Harry and Sarah are invited to Borley Rectory - a house so haunted that objects frequently fly through the air unbidden, and locals avoid the grounds for fear of facing the spectral nun that walks there - they're sure that this case will be just like any other. But when night falls and still no artifice can be found, the ghost hunters are forced to confront an uncomfortable possibility: the ghost of Borley Rectory may be real. And, if so, they're about to make its most intimate acquaintance.
    • More

    The Guard

    By Peter Terrin
    Authors:
    Peter Terrin
    • More

    Goodbye Mr Rat

    By Patrick McCabe
    Authors:
    Patrick McCabe
    A girl from northern Indiana travels to rural Ireland; where, as she bids a friend farewell, she meets malign misfortune. Goodbye Mr Rat forms half of Hello and Goodbye: two glitzy baubles - generously stuffed with the choicest, rustiest nails, lacquered with dread, and compressed to the point of detonation. Its sister title is Hello Mr Bones.
    • More

    The Greek Myths

    By Robin Waterfield, Kathryn Waterfield
    Authors:
    Robin Waterfield, Kathryn Waterfield
    • More

    Goshawk Squadron

    By Derek Robinson
    Authors:
    Derek Robinson
    • More

    Good Offices

    By Evelio Rosero
    Authors:
    Evelio Rosero
    • More

    A Good Clean Fight

    By Derek Robinson
    Authors:
    Derek Robinson
    • More

    The Golden Hour

    By William Nicholson
    Authors:
    William Nicholson
    She loves him. She's happy. But could she be happier? 'Capturing humour in the small, perfectly skewered moments of everyday life, this is a story of small, largely middle-class lives enclave, made golden by the light that Nicholson shines on them' Sunday Times'Nicholson is a subtle and addictive writer who deserves to be a household name' Observer Maggie and Andrew are lovers who live apart - Maggie in the country, Andrew in town. When Andrew is offered a job close to Maggie, moving in with her is the obvious next step. Or is it? Is this the man she wants to spend the rest of her life with? Maggie panics. She ends their relationship, devastating Andrew. But when he turns the tables on her, she begins to see him differently. Meanwhile, Maggie's Sussex neighbours are living through their own intense dilemmas. The stories of Maggie and other characters entwine in a continuous dance over seven golden days of high summer - a human kaleidoscope that captures how passionate yet mundane, painful yet comic our everyday lives can be.These are seven golden days of summer ... time enough for relationships to change for ever...
    • More

    The Gardener

    By Prue Leith
    Authors:
    Prue Leith
    'Under the bracken, under the soil, under the forest, under the water, the garden's history is there. It needs an ardent lover to find it.' Lotte is in unfamiliar territory. After a divorce and a great deal of soul-searching, she has abandoned her successful career as an architect for a degree in garden history, and uprooted her three children to take a job as head gardener to millionaire Brody Keegan at Maddon Park in Oxfordshire. Brody is as ignorant about gardens as Lotte is knowledgeable, his tastes as loud as hers are quiet. They have little in common except a passion for Maddon Park and a determination to get their own way. As Lotte locks horns with her boss and his spoilt young wife, she finds herself on an emotional roller coaster. She knows what is right for the garden, but - still raw from divorce, anxious about the children and frightened of entanglement - she is less sure of what is right for her.
    • More

    The Goldsmith's Secret

    By Elia Barceló
    Authors:
    Elia Barceló
    • More

    Great British Speeches

    By Simon Heffer
    Authors:
    Simon Heffer
    • More