Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books

His Whole Life

By Elizabeth Hay
Authors:
Elizabeth Hay
Starting with something as simple as a boy who wants a dog, His Whole Life takes us into a richly intimate world where everything that matters to him is at risk: family, nature, home.At the outset ten-year-old Jim and his Canadian mother and American father are on a journey from New York City to a lake in eastern Ontario during the last hot days of August. What unfolds is a completely enveloping story that spans a few pivotal years of his youth. Moving from city to country, summer to winter, wellbeing to illness, the novel charts the deepening bond between mother and son even as the family comes apart.Set in the mid-1990s, when Quebec is on the verge of leaving Canada, this captivating novel is an unconventional coming of age story as only Elizabeth Hay could tell it. It draws readers in with its warmth, wisdom, its vivid sense of place, its searching honesty, and nuanced portrait of the lives of one family and those closest to it. Hay explores the mystery of how members of a family can hurt each other so deeply, and remember those hurts in such detail, yet find openings that shock them with love and forgiveness. This is vintage Elizabeth Hay at the height of her powers.
  • More

A Harvest of Thorns

By Corban Addison
Authors:
Corban Addison
A beloved American corporation with an explosive secret. A disgraced former journalist looking for redemption. A corporate executive with nothing left to lose.In Dhaka, Bangladesh, a garment factory burns to the ground, claiming the lives of hundreds of workers, mostly young women. Amid the rubble, a bystander captures a heart-stopping image-a teenage girl lying in the dirt, her body broken by a multi-story fall, and over her mouth a mask of fabric bearing the label of one of America's largest retailers, Presto Omnishops Corporation. When the photo goes viral, it fans the flames of a decades old controversy about sweatshops, labor rights, and the ethics of globalization.A year later, in Washington, D.C., Joshua Griswold, a disgraced former journalist for the Washington Post, receives an anonymous summons from a corporate whistleblower promising information about Presto. There, to Griswold's astonishment, he meets Cameron Alexander, Presto's long-time general counsel. Alexander, who has secrets of his own, offers Griswold confidential information about Presto's apparel supply chain.For Griswold, the challenge of exposing Presto's willful negligence is irresistible, as is the chance, however slight, at redemption. Deploying his old journalistic skills, he builds a historic case against Presto, setting the stage for a war in the courtroom and in the media that Griswold is determined to win-both to salvage his reputation and to provoke a revolution of conscience in Presto's boardroom that could change the course of the fashion industry across the globe.
  • More

The Hanging Girl

By Jussi Adler-Olsen
Authors:
Jussi Adler-Olsen
A NO. 1 INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLEROVER 16 MILLION COPIES SOLDWINNER OF THE GLASS KEY AWARDJussi Adler-Olsen returns with the newest book in his acclaimed Department Q series. In the middle of a hard-won morning nap in the basement of police headquarters, Carl Mørck, head of Department Q, receives a call from a colleague working on the Danish island of Bornholm. Carl is dismissive at first, but then he receives some shocking news. Carl then has no choice but to lead Department Q into the tragic cold case of a vivacious seventeen-year-old girl who vanished from school, only to be found dead hanging high up in a tree. The investigation will take them from the remote island of Bornholm to a hidden cult, where Carl and his assistants must stop a string of new murders by a skilled manipulator who refuses to let anything-or anyone-get in the way.For fans of Tim Weaver and Jo Nesbo
  • More

Hello and Goodbye

By Patrick McCabe
Authors:
Patrick McCabe
  • More

Hot Summer Nights

By CC Gibbs
Authors:
CC Gibbs
From CC Gibbs, the New York Times bestselling Queen of Contemporary Romance, comes a sizzling trio of erotic novels. Alone With You. Zoe Chandler flees to a secluded lake house to finish a breaking expose she's sure will make her career. She thinks a few weeks of peaceful solitude are just what she needs - until she spies her delicious next-door neighbor, and now she's not so sure! The Heat of the Night. SUMMER IS HERE... BRING ON THE HEAT! Lily, Ceci and Serena have been best friends since childhood, and now they're returning to their tiny hometown to revisit treasured memories of long passionate nights, erotic explorations and teenage love. But now the girls are all grown up, and it's time to take things up a notch: as temperatures soar, this will be a summer that Lily, Ceci and Serena will never forget! French Caress. L.A. architect Nicole Lesdaux has been given a dream project: a luxury commission for handsome record producer (and single father!) Johnny Patrick. Nicole can't help but be attracted to Johnny, but she tells herself she can never allow herself to get involved with clients. But when tragedy strikes, Nicole is forced to join Johnny on a trip to Paris ménage-a-deux. As the two grow closer the sexual tension mounts, and resisting suddenly seems more futile than ever... Three books in one great value package!
  • More

Holly at Christmas

By Rosie Fiore
Authors:
Rosie Fiore
An exclusive ebook sequel to Rosie Fiore's hugely popular novel, Wonder Women. Christmas comes but once a year... unless your name is Holly Evans. She'll be experiencing Christmas four times over. In the course of one year, Holly will see the festive season in all its guises, from the sizzling to the stressful to the hopelessly romantic. After a rollercoaster couple of years and a three-month holiday in South Africa, Holly is on her way back to London. She has a firm plan for her life - career, money, home, romance - it's all worked out. Except it looks like nobody let the universe know that. Almost as soon as she touches down in England, Holly's plans begin to go awry. With no flat, no job and dwindling finances, Holly will need to be brave and resourceful in order to build herself a new life. And what about handsome doctor Fraser John? Where does he fit into her plans? And does he really want to catch Holly under the mistletoe?
  • More

Hello Mr Bones

By Patrick McCabe
Authors:
Patrick McCabe
An evil puppet master and his flotilla of fiends reacquaint two reformed souls with the demons they thought they had defeated. Hello Mr Bones forms half of Hello and Goodbye: two dark tales from two deceased narrators - bottled-lightning treats that will make you gasp, gurn, shiver and squirm. Its sister title is Goodbye Mr Rat.
  • More

Hidden Fantasies

By CC Gibbs
Authors:
CC Gibbs
Stella Scott never mixes business with pleasure. But when a gorgeous guy strolls into her comic book store - lean, toned and darkly handsome - Stella may just have to rethink her priorities. Danny Rees is any woman's superhero: he looks the part, he acts the part, and he always gets the girl. As Stella finds herself swept up in a sensuous fling, she promises she won't let it get out of control. She won't fall for the hero... or will she?
  • More

The Heat of the Night

By CC Gibbs
Authors:
CC Gibbs
SUMMER IS HERE . . . BRING ON THE HEAT!Lily, Ceci and Serena are best friends that haven't always been lucky in love. Determined to turn their lives around, the three decide to return to their tiny hometown for a summer of new romance and erotic liaisons. For each, home holds memories of long passionate nights, erotic explorations and first loves. But now the girls are all grown up, and it's time to take things up a notch: while temperatures soar this will be a summer that Lily, Ceci and Serena will never forget . . .
  • More
1