Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books

The Norse Myths

By Dr Tom Birkett
Authors:
Dr Tom Birkett
The great Norse Myths are among the most dramatic and unforgettable stories in all human history. These fascinating, fantastical tales have inspired centuries of art, culture and literature, including the storytelling of Tolkien, Neil Gaiman, George RR Martin's Game of Thrones, Wagner's Ring Cycle and Marvel Comics.The Norse Myths takes us on a thrilling journey through the Norse cosmos, from the creation of the world to Ragnarok, the final world-destroying conflict; via the Nine Worlds, and the exploits of the mighty gods and goddesses - mystical Odin, malicious Loki, mighty Thor and more - and their quarrel with the giants. Bringing to life the magical world of monsters and mythical creatures, this also introduces the adventures of humankind: folk heroes and tricksters; Sigmund's great battle in the Volsung Saga; the exploits of Kings and Princes; and Viking exploration and settlement of new lands including Iceland, Greenland, America, and Viking life in the Mediterranean and the East. As well as a treasure trove of these epic stories of heroism and cruelty, squabbles and seductions, The Norse Myths is a comprehensive study of their origins, survival and interpretations - as academically important as it is exhilarating.
  • More

The Night Visitor

By Lucy Atkins
Authors:
Lucy Atkins
'One of the most vivid, memorable and menacing characters I've ever read' C.L. Taylor, author of The Fear She knows your secret . . . and she'll make you payAs high-flying TV presenter and historian Olivia Sweetman stands before an adoring crowd at the launch of her new bestseller she can barely pretend to smile. Her life has spiralled into lies and if the truth comes out she'll lose everything.Only one person knows what Olivia has done. Vivian Tester is the socially awkward housekeeper of a Sussex manor who has become Olivia's unofficial research assistant. But Vivian has secrets too, and as the relationship between the women grows more and more tangled, a bizarre act of violence changes everything . . .Perfect for fans of Little Fires Everywhere and He Said She Said.PRAISE FOR THE NIGHT VISITOR:'WONDERFUL' - Clare Mackintosh, author of Let Me Lie'INSIDIOUS' - Guardian 'BRILLIANT' - Fiona Barton, author of The Child'PROPULSIVE' - Metro'INGENIOUS' - Sabine Durrant, author of Lie With Me'SINISTER' - Red'MENACING' - C.L. Taylor, author of The Fear 'FANTASTIC' - Sunday Mirror'ELEGANT' - Joanna Cannon, author of Three Things about Elsie'GRIPPING' - The Literary Review'UNRELENTING' - Mick Herron, author of Spook Street 'ENTHRALLING' - Heat'FASCINATING' - Linda Green, author of When My Eyes Were Closed'INTELLIGENT' - Good Housekeeping
  • More
  • Nevada Days

    By Bernardo Atxaga
    Authors:
    Bernardo Atxaga
    Nevada Days is a fictionalised account of Atxaga's nine months' stay as writer-in-residence at the Centre for Basque Studies at the University of Nevada. He is accompanied by his wife, Ángela, who is also doing research there, and by their two daughters. During their first few weeks, the family encounter a strange mapache (racoon), which is always staring at them from the garden, a flight of helicopters immediately overhead, a black widow spider, a warning about bears, a party of prisoners in the desert, a lake that is somehow far too calm and too blue, and, not long into their stay, the kidnap and murder of a young girl living in the house right next door.Atxaga tells us about all these strange encounters, and about his colleagues at the university, about the trips the family make to California and across the Sierra Nevada and to Lake Tahoe, but this narrative is also interspersed with accounts of his dreams, with stories from his past.Nevada Days seductively weaves together past and present, and shows us how deeply marked we are by experience and history and relationships, however fleeting or enduring, and reminds us what a very strange thing life is.Translated from the Spanish by Margaret Jull Costa
    • More

    The Night in Question

    By Laurie Graham
    Authors:
    Laurie Graham
    Dot Allbones had no beauty, and few prospects, but luckily she has one lucrative talent - she can make people laugh. Now the queen of London's music hall stage, Dot feels she's not done badly. She has her audience, her independence, and enough money for champagne: a good life. Pretty, popular orphan Kate Eddowes was an unlikely childhood friend for Dot. The older girl's beauty was bound to take her places, and sure enough Kate soon left, lured away by love and the prospect of adventure. A chance encounter on a London street years later makes it clear that Kate's life has not gone according to plan. Though poor and alone, she retains her indomitable spirit. But this is Whitechapel in 1888, and the shadowy streets are no place for a desperate woman to wander . . .
    • More

    News from Berlin

    By Otto de Kat
    Authors:
    Otto de Kat
    June 1941. Dutch diplomat Oscar Verschuur has been posted to neutral Switzerland. His family is spread across Europe. His wife Kate works as a nurse in London and their daughter Emma is living in Berlin with her husband Carl, a 'good' German who works at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. Briefly reunited with her father in a restaurant in Geneva, Emma drops a bombshell. A date and a codename, and the fate of nations is placed in Verschuur's hands: June 22, Barbarossa. What should he do? Warn the world, or put his daughter's safety first? The Gestapo are watching them both. And with Stalin lulled by his alliance with Hitler, will anyone even listen? Otto de Kat is fast gaining a reputation as one of Europe's sharpest and most lucid writers. News from Berlin, a book for all readers, a true page-turner driven by the pulse of a ticking clock, confirms him as a storyteller of subtly extravagant gifts.
    • More

    A Naked Singularity

    By Sergio De La Pava
    Authors:
    Sergio De La Pava
    Casi is a hotshot public defender working on the front line of America's War on Drugs. So far he's on the winning side. He's never lost a case. But nothing lasts forever, and pride like his has a long way to fall. Funny, smart and always surprising, A Naked Singularity speaks a language all of its own and reads like nothing else ever written. Casi's beautiful mind and planetary intelligence make him an inimitable and unforgettable narrator. In De La Pava's hands, the labyrinthine miseries of the New York Justice System are as layered and diabolical as Dante's nine circles of Hell. But the Devil doesn't hog the best lines. There are plenty here to go around.
    • More

    No! I Don't Need Reading Glasses

    By Virginia Ironside
    Authors:
    Virginia Ironside
    Marie may be 'getting on a bit' but it's certainly not getting her down. Her family around her and a man who loves her means that life is good - but nothing stays the same for long. Marie's golden years are filled with as much drama - love, laughter and tears - as ever. Which just goes to show that getting on a bit does not mean giving up - or even growing up.
    • More

    Names My Sisters Call Me

    By Megan Crane
    Authors:
    Megan Crane
    • More
    1