Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books
  • One Clear Ice-cold January Morning at the Beginning of the 21st Century

    By Roland Schimmelpfennig
    Authors:
    Roland Schimmelpfennig
    "A highly original and often hypnotic work . . . exactly the type of book that readers in search of striking European voices should embrace" John Boyne, author of THE BOY IN THE STRIPED PYJAMASA contemporary Berlin fairy tale that bristles with urban truths - the first novel of Germany's best-known contemporary playwright One clear, ice-cold January morning shortly after dawn, a wolf crosses the border between Poland and Germany. His trail leads all the way to Berlin, connecting the lives of disparate individuals whose paths intersect and diverge. On an icy motorway eighty kilometres outside the city, a fuel tanker jack-knifes and explodes. The lone wolf is glimpsed on the hard shoulder and photographed by Tomasz, a Polish construction worker who cannot survive in Germany without his girlfriend. Elisabeth and Micha run away through the snow from their home village, crossing the wolf's tracks on their way to the city. A woman burns her mother's diaries on a Berlin balcony. And Elisabeth's father, a famous sculptor, observes the vast skeleton of a whale in his studio and asks: What am I doing here? And why? Experiences and encounters flicker past with a raw, visual power, like frames in a black and white film. Those who catch sight of the wolf see their own lives reflected, and find themselves searching for a different path in a cold time. This first novel of Germany's most celebrated contemporary playwright is written in prose of tremendous power and precision. Translated from the German by Jamie Bulloch
    • More

    One Summer in Tuscany

    By Domenica De Rosa
    Authors:
    Domenica De Rosa
    Rivalries and romance in a Tuscan paradise. A relaxing writers' retreat? If only! Perfect holiday reading from Domenica de Rosa, author of the bestselling Dr Ruth Galloway series under the name Elly Griffiths. Previously published as SUMMER SCHOOL.Patricia Wilson's carefully composed ads for the writers' retreat she runs at her thirteenth-century Italian castle promise so much. But while the splendour of their surroundings and chef Aldo's melanzane never fail to wow the guests, huge maintenance bills and bad news from the bank threaten to close Patricia down. It's make or break time for the Castello.Each of her seven aspiring authors arrives with the inevitable baggage alongside their unpublished manuscripts. But this August something is different, and soon lifelong spinster Mary is riding on the back of Aldo's vespa, and smouldering odd-job man Fabio has set more than one heart racing.As temperatures rise, the writers gossip, flirt and gently polish their prose by the pool. But with ghosts, scorpions, and some unexpected visitors to contend with, one thing's for sure: neither the Castello, nor Patricia, has ever seen a summer like this.
    • More

    Outstanding

    By Kathryn Flett
    Authors:
    Kathryn Flett
    'Flett's all-seeing eye misses nothing' Daily MailWitty, poignant and wonderfully observed, this book's title gets it in one Independent on SundayA sharp-eyed modern morality tale about mothers and daughters and how we raise our children, from the author of Separate Lives. Perfect for fans of Jane Fallon.Eve Sturridge, a high-flying divorcee and mother of two girls, is head teacher of Ivy House, an Ofsted 'Outstanding' prep school in Sussex. Eve is passionate about her school and its pupils. When Danish power couple, Stefan and Anette Sorensen, jet in and choose Ivy House over other schools, Eve is justifiably proud. The Sorensons are A-listers who bring an aura of style and power to Ivy House. Zoe is Eve's pretty seventeen-year-old daughter. Unlike her mother, Zoe's not so keen on school. She prefers sending nude selfies to her boyfriend.When glamorous Stefan Sorensen proposes that Zoe interns at his company and invites her to accompany him to New York, Zoe is over the moon with excitement, while Eve is too focused on Ivy House to smell danger . . .
    • More

    Only Ever Yours

    By Louise O'Neill
    Authors:
    Louise O'Neill
    'Utterly magnificent . . . gripping, accomplished and dark' Marian KeyesWINNER: Newcomer of the Year at the IBAs WINNER: Bookseller YA Prize WINNER: CBI Eilis Dillon Award Buzzfeed's Best Books Written by Women in 2014The bestselling novel about beauty, body image and betrayaleves are designed, not made. The School trains them to be prettyThe School trains them to be good.The School trains them to Always be Willing.All their lives, the eves have been waiting. Now, they are ready for the outside world.companion . . . concubine . . . or chastityOnly the best will be chosen.And only the Men decide.
    • More

    The Other Child

    By Lucy Atkins
    Authors:
    Lucy Atkins
    A gripping psychological thriller from the author of the bestselling debut The Missing One. Perfect for fans of I Let You Go, The Sisters by Claire Douglas, The Book of You and The Ice Twins.Sometimes a lie seems kinder than the truth . . . but what happens when that lie destroys everything you love? When Tess is sent to photograph Greg, a high profile paediatric heart surgeon, she sees something troubled in his face, and feels instantly drawn to him. Their relationship quickly deepens, but then Tess, single mother to nine-year-old Joe, falls pregnant, and Greg is offered the job of a lifetime back in his hometown of Boston. Before she knows it, Tess is married, and relocating to the States. But life in an affluent American suburb proves anything but straightforward.Unsettling things keep happening in the large rented house, Joe is distressed, the next-door neighbours are in crisis, and Tess is sure that someone is watching her. Greg's work is all-consuming and, as the baby's birth looms, he grows more and more unreachable. Something is very wrong, Tess knows it, and then she makes a jaw-dropping discovery . . .
    • More

    Out of the Dark

    By Adèle Geras
    Authors:
    Adèle Geras
    A special story for the literacy charity Quick Reads, about the healing power of love. Rob Stone comes back from the horrors of the First World War with a ruined face and a broken heart. Lonely, unable to forget the things he has seen, and haunted by the ghost of his dead Captain, all that Rob has left is a picture of the Captain's family. Rob sets out to find them, hoping that by bringing them the picture, he can bring peace to the Captain's ghost - and to his own troubled heart.
    • More

    One Step Closer to You

    By Alice Peterson
    Authors:
    Alice Peterson
    After Polly ends her relationship with the father of her young son, Louis, she is determined to move on. All she wants is to focus on her job, her friends and to be a good mum. No more looking over her shoulder. No more complications... Then Polly meets Ben. Ben is guardian of his niece, Emily. They become close, with Polly teaching Ben how to plait Emily's hair, and Ben playing football with Louis. Their friendship is unexpected. Polly's never been happier. But when Louis's dad reappears in their life, all Polly's mistakes come back to haunt her and her resolve weakens when he swears he has changed. Will she give herself a second chance to love?
    • More
  • The Oath of the Vayuputras

    By Amish Tripathi
    Authors:
    Amish Tripathi
    Shiva has accepted his destiny, but it has brought him to despair. Can he heal himself and the people who look to him as a god?Today, Shiva is a god. But four thousand years ago, he was just a man - until he brought his people to Meluha, a near-perfect empire founded by the great king Lord Ram. There he realised he was the Neelkanth, a barbarian long prophesied to be Meluha's saviour. But in his hour of victory fighting the Chandravanshis - Meluha's enemy - he discovered they had their own prophecy. Now he must fight to uncover the treachery within his inner circle, and unmask those who are about to destroy all that he has fought for. Shiva is about to learn that good and evil are two sides of the same coin . . .
    • More
  • Original Skin

    By David Mark
    Authors:
    David Mark
    SINS OF THE FLESH WILL SEAL THEIR FATE - THE FOLLOW UP TO THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING DARK WINTER, AND BOOK TWO IN THE HULL-BASED DS AECTOR MCAVOY SERIES.'Truly exhilarating and inventive. Mark is a wonderfully descriptive writer and an exciting young talent' Peter JamesSimon Appleyard and Suzie Devlin are two pleasure seekers defined by their flamboyant tattoos. Their lust for life is matched only by their hunger for taboo pleasures - a lifestyle that has just made them the deadliest enemy imaginable. DS Aector McAvoy has been a marked man all his life. A policeman with scars to his body and career, his fate will become linked with that of Simon and Suzie as painfully and intricately as tattooed markings on virgin skin.Want more McAvoy? Easy - just go to the third instalment in the DS McAvoy series, Sorrow Bound . . .
    • More

    Only For You

    By CC Gibbs
    Authors:
    CC Gibbs
    Lady Flora Bonham has never lived according to anyone else's rules, but even she is dismayed at the instant desire she feels for the exotic half-native Adam Serre. She knows she must possess him, and she won't take no for an answer. While Adam certainly finds Flora captivating, he's weary about binding himself to another woman after a marriage gone horribly wrong. But Lady Flora is a much more dangerous adversary than she first appears. With satisfaction as her only aim, Adam Serre may not be given a choice but to succumb to her passionate advances.
    • More

    Our Bodies Entwined

    By CC Gibbs
    Authors:
    CC Gibbs
    Alexandra Ionides already knows Viscount Ranelegh by reputation, as does every lady in London. His prowess in the bedroom is legendary, and his trysts are brief but passionate. The Viscount has heard of Alex too, and is determined to add the young beauty to his list of conquests. Alexandra is curious, but determined not to become another one of the spoiled Viscount's playthings. A game of seduction and submission ensues, may the best man (or woman!) win.
    • More
    1