Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books
  • How to Make Children Laugh

    By Michael Rosen
    Authors:
    Michael Rosen
    'A WORK OF GENIUS' - Chris EvansJokes, a jack-in-the-box, jelly and jumping beans make children laugh.As do practical jokes, peekaboo, pantomine and poetry that makes no sense.Why and how does this work? And why does it matter?Writer and Professor of Children's Literature Michael Rosen, whose books - from We're Going on a Bear Hunt to Chocolate Cake - have made millions of children rock with laughter, gives us the tools for this greatest of gifts.
    • More

    The Hit

    By Anna Smith
    Authors:
    Anna Smith
    Rosie Gilmour is hot on the trail of a ring of baby-sellers and people-traffickers. The problem is, her main suspect is a dead man. Or is he?A money-laundering accountant disappears in Romania. The hitman hired to disappear him is found dead in a Glasgow flat. And the owner of the flat, the accountant's widow, claims she knows nothing about it.Crime reporter Rosie Gilmour isn't convinced by Helen Lewis's innocent facade - she is convinced Helen was the one who ordered the hit on her husband, and she's going to prove it. But when she discovers that Helen's husband worked for a ring of gangsters selling babies from Romanian orphanages, her focus shifts. Now she has two sets of criminals to bring to justice - she'd better pray they don't catch up with her first.'Plenty of action, chills and thrills [with a] quite enchanting finale' Crime Review
    • More

    How to Play the Piano

    By James Rhodes
    Authors:
    James Rhodes
    Learn to play one of Bach's most exquisite preludes in just 6 weeks, even if you have never played the piano before. An accessible and inspiring book by the pianist and international bestselling writer James Rhodes, who promises that it gives anyone with two hands, a piano or an electric keyboard and just 45 minutes a day the tools they need to learn to play Bach's Prelude No. 1 in C Major in 6 weeks, even if they know nothing about music and have never even touched a piano before.How often do we convince ourselves that it's just too late - too late to learn how to ride a bike, too late to know how to meditate, too late to travel the world... As we get older and time slips through our fingers like water, we become resigned, almost defeatist, about abandoning our dreams. For James Rhodes, after the inevitable "How many hours a day do you practice?" and "Show me your hands", the most common thing people say to him when they hear he's a pianist is "I used to play the piano as a kid. I really regret giving it up". Where does this mourned and misplaced creativity go? For Rhodes, it's still there to be tapped into by all of us, at any point. This inspirational book gives us the means to do this, by breaking up Bach's seminal Prelude No. 1 from the Well-Tempered Clavier into manageable segments, teaching us the basics of piano playing - how to read music, the difference between the treble and the bass clef, sharp and flat notes, how to practice etc.. - and encouraging personal interpretation in a way that is guaranteed to soothe the mind, feed the soul and unleash creative powers we didn't know we still had. All of this will culminate in an ability to perform one of Bach's masterpieces."If listening to music is soothing for the soul, then playing music is achieving enlightenment. It's going from kicking a ball around with a few pals to playing alongside Ronaldo."
    • More
  • How to Land a Plane

    By Mark Vanhoenacker
    Authors:
    Mark Vanhoenacker
    THE DAILY MAIL BOOK OF THE YEAR'Illuminates the practical reality of piloting in a concise and useful manner' Times Literary SupplementDo something amazing and learn a new skill thanks to the Little Ways to Live a Big Life books! By the author of the acclaimed international bestseller Skyfaring, the Economist's 'Best book of the Year' and a New York Times 'Notable Book', and a BBC Radio 4 Book of the WeekSo, hello! Welcome! Honestly, you look surprisingly relaxed. That's great to see. Have a seat on the left side of the cockpit - that's the captain's seat. Yes, that's right, you're now the captain, and yes, that's the runway down there. Fasten your seatbelt, order yourself a cup of tea, and let's get cracking.Mark Vanhoenacker, the airline pilot who makes poetry out of the science of flight technology, hands over the controls. Walking and talking us through the nitty-gritty of an approach and touchdown, he builds our understanding of flight from the ground up (or rather from the sky down), offering a new perspective of one of the more challenging and rewarding tasks ever.
    • More

    The Hanging Girl

    By Jussi Adler-Olsen
    Authors:
    Jussi Adler-Olsen
    A NO. 1 INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLEROVER 18 MILLION COPIES SOLDWINNER OF THE GLASS KEY AWARDJussi Adler-Olsen returns with the newest book in his acclaimed Department Q series. In the middle of a hard-won morning nap in the basement of police headquarters, Carl Mørck, head of Department Q, receives a call from a colleague working on the Danish island of Bornholm. Carl is dismissive at first, but then he receives some shocking news. Carl then has no choice but to lead Department Q into the tragic cold case of a vivacious seventeen-year-old girl who vanished from school, only to be found dead hanging high up in a tree. The investigation will take them from the remote island of Bornholm to a hidden cult, where Carl and his assistants must stop a string of new murders by a skilled manipulator who refuses to let anything-or anyone-get in the way.For fans of Tim Weaver and Jo Nesbo
    • More
  • The House at Sea's End

    By Elly Griffiths
    Authors:
    Elly Griffiths
    WNNER OF THE 2016 CWA DAGGER IN THE LIBRARY. The shadow of the Second World War looms dark over the third chilling mystery for Dr Ruth Galloway. Some buried secrets shouldn't be uncovered.'A melancholy setting, an eerie discovery, a lone investigator... perfect for the long winter evening' Financial TimesDr Ruth Galloway is called in by a team of archaeologists investigating coastal erosion on the north Norfolk coast, when they unearth six bodies buried at the foot of a cliff. They seem to have been there a very long time. Ruth must help discover how long, and how on earth they got there. Ruth and DCI Nelson are drawn together once more to unravel the past. Tests reveal that the bodies have lain, preserved in the sand, for sixty years. The mystery of their deaths stretches back to the Second World War, a time when Great Britain was threatened by invasion. Ruth thought she knew the history of Norfolk - she's about to find out just how wrong she was, and how far someone will go to keep their secrets buried.
    • More
  • A Home for Maddy

    By Elizabeth Gill
    Authors:
    Elizabeth Gill
    From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy comes the third book in the popular Black Family trilogy. Perfect for fans of Catherine King, Katie Flynn and Dilly Court. Maddy Grant is a country girl, living high up on the fells above the small town of Sweet Wells, where her family has lived for hundreds of years. But when her father dies, Maddy learns the land has been sold to businessman Jonas Ward, who evicts Maddy and her mother from the house. As they scrape to make ends meet, Maddy finds herself slowly falling in love with Jonas' handsome nephew, who is also the local solicitor's son. But can she ever truly be with him, knowing how his uncle has treated Maddy's family?Note: this book was previously published under the title Sweet Wells.
    • More

    The Hunter

    By Tony Park
    Authors:
    Tony Park
    • More
  • A House of Knives

    By William Shaw
    Authors:
    William Shaw
    GET HIGH. FALL FAR.'William Shaw is one of the great rising talents of UK crime fiction' Peter James'If you're not a fan yet, why not?' Val McDermid'Utterly nails the myth of the Swinging Sixties' Sun The Black SheepThe wayward son of a rising MP is mutilated and burnt in suspicious circumstances. The Honest DetectiveDS Cathal Breen dodges political embargo and death threats to pursue the case. The Rolling StoneNotorious art dealer Robert Fraser may provide the only clue - if only he will talk.And as Breen slips deeper into London's underground of hippies and heroin, he edges nearer to the secrets of those at the very top. Banished from a corrupt and fracturing system, he will finally be forced to fight fire with fire.
    • More

    Hello Bunny Alice

    By Laura Wilson
    Authors:
    Laura Wilson
    I had the dream again last night. I'm at the bottom of a lake looking through the window of a car... and there's a skeleton behind the wheel, dressed as a Bunny Girl. Playboy Bunny Alice Conway's world was shattered when her fiancé, famous comic Lenny Maxted, committed suicide. Now, in 1976, Alice leads a quiet, reclusive life in Oxfordshire - until a newspaper cutting arrives, anonymously, in the post, an unexpected visitor turns up at her door, and the dark secrets of the past come flowing back. And a car containing human remains is discovered in a lake...
    • More

    Holy City

    By Guillermo Orsi
    Authors:
    Guillermo Orsi
    • More

    Hong Kong

    By Stephen Coonts
    Authors:
    Stephen Coonts
    When the government sends Jake Grafton to Hong Kong to find out how deeply they are embedded in a money-raising scandal, Jake takes his wife, Callie, along. And why not? They first fell in love during the Vietnam War, and the consul-general there, Tiger Cole, is an old friend.But a lot has changed since those days, as the Graftons quickly discover. They find Hong Kong is a powder keg, ready to explode. The closure of a foreign bank by the communist government is the spark that lights the fuse... and Tiger Cole is right in the middle of the action.When Callie is kidnapped by a rebel faction, Jake finds himself drawn into the vortex of a high-tech civil war. As a revolution unfolds, Grafton must draw on the skills of CIA burglar Tommy Carmellini to pinpoint the enemy...
    • More

    Hidden Genders

    By Colin Cotterill
    Authors:
    Colin Cotterill
    Hidden Genders is an exclusive short story, introducing Jimm Juree, a bicycle-riding Thai reporter with the most eccentric family you'll ever encounter. Jimm is the heroine (of sorts) of Colin Cotterill's brand new crime series, which begins with Killed at the Whim of a Hat, out now.
    • More

    Hollywood Moon

    By Joseph Wambaugh
    Authors:
    Joseph Wambaugh
    • More

    Hollywood Crows

    By Joseph Wambaugh, Kerry Shale
    Authors:
    Joseph Wambaugh
    Read by:
    Kerry Shale
    • More

    Hollywood Station

    By Joseph Wambaugh
    Authors:
    Joseph Wambaugh
    Hollywood is not all movies, fame and fortune, its underside is dirty, drugged up and criminal with a capital C. Under the watchful eye of their veteran sergeant, known as the Oracle, the men and women of the LAPD working out of Hollywood Station are the ones on the front line.The Hollywood Station squad are as different as the streets that they police - Budgie Polk is a 27-year-old firecracker who is begrudgingly teamed with Fausto Gamboa, the oldest, tetchiest patrol officer. Andi McCrea is a single mom, Wesley Drubb a university drop-out desperateto see some action. Flotsam and Jetsam are two aptly named surfer boys who pine for the petite - but intrepid - Mag Takara. Together they spend their days and nights in the city's underbelly, where a string of seemingly unrelated events lure them to their most startling case yet.
    • More
    1