Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books

The First Man

By Xavier-Marie Bonnot
Authors:
Xavier-Marie Bonnot
Commandant Michel de Palma, known by his colleagues as 'the Baron', has chosen early retirement and plans to travel the world. But he is dragged back into the force when a case that has haunted him for a decade erupts once more. Resurfacing from Le Guen's Cave, a prehistoric grotto thirty-eight metres below sea level outside Marseilles, France, an experienced diver mysteriously gets into difficulties. Meanwhile, Thomas Autran, a serial killer with a peculiar interest in the supernatural, suffering from a dangerous form of schizophrenia, is once again on the run. Ancient cave paintings, savage murders committed according to a precise ritual: a return to the first ages of humanity, the era of the great Palaeolithic hunters. And despite the gory trail left at each crime scene, de Palma must first understand the child, the secrets of a family, a story of exploitation - and revenge - before he can track down the First Man.
  • More
  • Fatal Pursuit

    By Martin Walker
    Authors:
    Martin Walker
    The Bugatti Type 57 Atlantic was called the most beautiful car of all time. Only four of them were ever built. A California museum paid $37 million for one; Ralph Lauren bought another; a third was smashed by a train at a level crossing. The fourth disappeared in France during World War 2. It was the car used by British racing ace, William Grover Williams, twice winner of the French and Monaco Grand Prix, who became an undercover agent in Occupied France.The latest adventure in the Bruno series of mystery novels starts from this true story. Two young men, both racing drivers with a passion for antique cars, compete to find new clues as to the car's hiding place in the Perigord region of France where Bruno is the local chief of police. When a local researcher turns up dead on Bruno's patch, and French intelligence starts investigating the use of classic car sales to launder money for funding Islamic terrorism, Bruno finds himself once more caught up in a case that reaches far beyond his small town and its people.With the bucolic charm and gourmet cooking that are the hallmark of this series, Bruno's latest adventure finds him falling in love again as he races to find the murderer and to track down the fate of the most beautiful car ever made.
    • More
  • Freeze Frame

    By Peter May
    Authors:
    Peter May
    ENZO MACLEOD TACKLES ONE OF FRANCE'S MOST NOTORIOUS UNSOLVED CASES, IN THE FOURTH OFFERING FROM THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING MASTER OF CRIME.ILE DE GROIX, FRANCE.A Frozen Island. This tiny isle off the coast of Brittany is the scene of a murder left shrouded in mystery and grief. A Frozen Crime. Adam Killian's study has been left intact since his death - the perfect state for Enzo Macleod's forensic investigation. A Frozen Heart. Killian's daughter-in-law is still hoping; the first suspect is still hiding; and the treacherous island itself still has a revelation for Enzo.
    • More

    Flight of the Intruder

    By Stephen Coonts
    Authors:
    Stephen Coonts
    1972, North Vietnam. A vicious war is being fought on the ground, but in the skies above, life is perhaps even more precarious; especially for those flying the A-6 Intruders just above the treetops. Navy aviator Jake 'Cool Hand' Grafton and his bombardier-navigator Morgan 'Morg' McPherson are only too aware that each flight could be their last. And when a farmer's bullet hits Morg during an attack mission on yet another suspected truck depot, Grafton is forced to question whether these missions are really worth risking their lives for. Grafton is next paired up with veteran bombardier Virgil 'Tiger' Cole, and it doesn't take long for the two to formulate a plan. They choose a new target: a Communist Party centre in Hanoi; an unauthorized mark that not only defies the American military's rules of engagement, but one that will require all the skill and nerve they can muster. Told with an authenticity possible only from someone who has shared the experiences of his protagonist, Flight of the Intruder is widely considered a classic of naval aviation fiction. The first in the hugely popular Jake Grafton series, it also marked the beginning of Stephen Coonts' career as a bestselling author.
    • More

    The Flavours of Love

    By Dorothy Koomson
    Authors:
    Dorothy Koomson
    A gripping psychological drama from the beloved Sunday Times bestselling author of That Girl From Nowhere . . .'I'm looking for that perfect blend of flavours; the taste that used to be you.'It's been 18 months since my husband was murdered and I've decided to finish writing The Flavours of Love, the cookbook he started before he died. Everyone thinks I'm coping so well without him - they have no idea what I've been hiding or what I did back then to protect my family. But now that my 14-year-old daughter has confessed a devastating secret, and my husband's killer, who was never caught, has started to write to me, I know it's only a matter of time before the truth about me and what I've done will be revealed.My name is Saffron Mackleroy and this is my story.
    • More

    Firing Offence

    By David Ignatius
    Authors:
    David Ignatius
    When rising-star reporter Eric Truell accepts information from a maverick CIA agent, he becomes enmeshed in an international trade war in which even his own newspaper may be an unsuspecting participant. When Eric's sources tell him there is a spy inside the newsroom, he is tempted to cross a dangerous professional line and risk his career - possibly even his life - to find the truth.
    • More

    The Forger, the Killer, the Painter and the Whore

    By Alex Connor
    Authors:
    Alex Connor
    From international bestseller Alex Connor - master of the art-based conspiracy novel and author of the forthcoming thriller The Caravaggio Conspiracy: THE FORGER: An exclusive ebook short story, set within the competitive and cutthroat circles of the elite London art word. THE KILLER, THE PAINTER AND THE WHORE: An introduction toAlex Connor's latest blockbuster, TheCaravaggio Conspiracy.
    • More

    Fall from Grace

    By Richard North Patterson
    Authors:
    Richard North Patterson
    • More

    First Watch

    By Valentina Giambanco
    Authors:
    Valentina Giambanco
    A exclusive ebook-only standalone preview to The Gift of Darkness, a perfect introduction to the critically acclaimed Detective Alice Madison series. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Sharon Bolton and Kathryn Croft. Featuring a special prequel scene and an extract from the new book.
    • More

    Fortunes of War

    By Stephen Coonts
    Authors:
    Stephen Coonts
    Fortunes of War is a fast-paced, action-packed story from New York Times bestselling author Stephen Coonts. After the collapse of their economy, fanatic Japanese nationalists take matters into their own hands and, with the approval of the Prime Minister, launch an attack on Russia. Bound by secret protocol to come to Russia's aid in the event of war, the US government sends Air Force Colonel Bob Cassidy and a squadron of F-22s to thwart the Japanese in the skies over Siberia. The operation brings Cassidy one on one with Captain Jiro Kimura, flying Japan's most secret weapon. Japan's goal is world domination, the price a third world war. All that stands between Kimura and the completion of his mission is Cassidy, a man he once counted his best friend.
    • More

    Final Flight

    By Stephen Coonts
    Authors:
    Stephen Coonts
    After a particularly long cruise, the USS United States is in port in Naples and her crew is enjoying its first liberty in months. But something's not right. Several crew-members have not reported back from their leave and a beautiful American reporter who boarded the United States in Tangiers may not be a reporter, or even an American. When one of Jake's men, in a hotel in Naples, witnesses an assassination attempt led by this woman, Grafton realizes the situation is much more serious than he suspected. What he doesn't know is that Colonel Qazi, an international terrorist, plans to board the United States and steal six nuclear weapons from her heavily guarded arsenal. Nor does he know that the plot is being financed by El Hakim, the power-hungry leader of an oil-rich Arab state. And most important, he doesn't know he, Jake, past forty and recently grounded by night blindness, is the only one who can stop Qazi, in one man-to-man aerial dogfight, one "final flight."
    • More

    Freedom

    By Daniel Suarez
    Authors:
    Daniel Suarez
    • More

    Field Grey

    By Philip Kerr
    Authors:
    Philip Kerr
    • More

    The Fate of Katherine Carr

    By Thomas H. Cook
    Authors:
    Thomas H. Cook
    • More

    Fidelity

    By Thomas Perry
    Authors:
    Thomas Perry
    • More

    The First Fingerprint

    By Xavier-Marie Bonnot
    Authors:
    Xavier-Marie Bonnot
    • More
  • Flesh and Bone

    By Jefferson Bass
    Authors:
    Jefferson Bass
    • More

    The Fabric of Sin

    By Phil Rickman
    Authors:
    Phil Rickman
    NOW A MAJOR ITV DRAMAThe Master House, close to the Welsh border, is medieval and slowly falling into ruins. Now the house and its surrounding land have been sold to the Duchy of Cornwall. But the Duchy's plans to renovate the house and its outbuildings are frustrated when the specialist builder refuses to work there. 'This is a place,' he tells the Prince's land-steward, 'that doesn't want to be restored.'Directed by the Bishop of Hereford to investigate, deliverance consultant Merrily Watkins discovers ancient connections between the house and the nearby church, built by the Knights Templar whose shadow still envelopes isolated Garway Hill and its scattered communities. Why did all the local inns have astrological names? What deep history lies behind the vicious feud between two local families? And what happened here to intimidate even the great Edwardian ghost-story writer M R James? When Merrily learns that she - and even her daughter, Jane - are under surveillance by the security services, she's ready to quit. But a sudden death changes everything, and she returns to Garway to uncover fibres of fear and hatred stitched into history and now insidiously twisted in the corridors - and the cloisters - of power.
    • More

    Firebreak

    By Richard Stark
    Authors:
    Richard Stark
    • More

    Flashfire

    By Richard Stark
    Authors:
    Richard Stark
    • More