Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books

The Mountain

By Luca D'Andrea
Authors:
Luca D'Andrea
A CURSED PLACE. A COLD CASE. A KILLER WHO LEFT NO TRACE.The huge International bestseller.Gripping, unputdownable and packed with twists, The Mountain is a thriller that you will never forget."Can be compared (with no fear of hyperbole) to Stephen King and Jo Nesbø" - Massimo Vincenz, La Repubblica.Jeremiah Salinger blames himself. The crash was his fault. He was the only survivor. Now the depression and the nightmares are closing in. Only his daughter Clara can put a smile on his face. But when he takes Clara to the Bletterbach - a canyon in the Dolomites rich in fossil remains - he overhears by chance a conversation that gives his life renewed focus. In 1985 three students were murdered there, their bodies savaged, limbs severed and strewn by a killer who was never found. Salinger, a New Yorker, is far from home, and these Italian mountains, where his wife was born, harbour a close-knit, tight-lipped community whose mistrust of outsiders can turn ugly. All the same, solving this mystery might be the only thing that can keep him sane.Translated from the Italian by Howard Curtis
  • More
  • The Man Who Wanted to Know

    By D. A. Mishani
    Authors:
    D. A. Mishani
    Soul-shattering and profound detective novel from the international award-winning sensationWHAT YOU DON'T KNOWCAN NEVER HURT YOUTHE UNKNOWNMazal Bengtson doesn't know what her husband was doing on the night of the storm. Inspector Avraham Avraham doesn't know how to begin his first murder case.THE KNOWNWhat they do both know is something of the victim's past that holds the key to understanding not just the murder, but stranger, more disturbing events.THE UNKNOWABLEFor the things that happen in a long marriage, under strain may not always be against the law. Desperate to solve a terrible death, Avraham cannot mend what he cannot know.
    • More

    The Memory of Evil

    By Roberto Costantini
    Authors:
    Roberto Costantini
    Everything started from that day.The memory of 31 August 1969 has been at the back of Commissario Michele Balistreri's mind for over four decades. It was not only the day that preceded Colonel Muammar Gadaffi's seizure of power in Balistreri's birthplace of Libya, drastically altering his and his country's destiny, but that on which his beloved mother Natalia fell to her death, and the resulting suicide verdict that Balistreri - now Head of Homicide in Rome - has always suspected to be a flagrant cover-up for her murder.The memory of 23 July 2006 has been at the front of investigative journalist Linda Nardi's mind for the past five years. Ever since her and Balistreri together thwarted a phantom-like killer stalking Rome, Nardi has been intent on shedding further light on the Vatican Bank's shadowy involvement in the abominations uncovered that summer. But now Linda will find her attention diverted to an equally irresistible assignment: the collapse of Colonel Gadaffi's forty-two year dictatorship.The Memory of Evil is the earth-shattering finale to Roberto Costantini's internationally bestselling trilogy, in which one woman will encounter a long-entombed truth in the rubble of Gadaffi's Tripoli: unearthing a conspiracy neither she, nor the man it was designed to protect, will ever be able to erase from their minds.
    • More
  • Murder

    By Sarah Pinborough
    Authors:
    Sarah Pinborough
    From the Number One bestselling author of Behind Her Eyes: Jack the Ripper is vanished, but Dr Thomas Bond is back - and this time the trial of murders leads straight to his front door.Dr Thomas Bond, Police Surgeon, is still recovering from the events of the previous year when Jack the Ripper haunted the streets of London - and a more malign enemy hid in his shadow. Bond and the others who worked on the gruesome case are still stalked by its legacies, both psychological and tangible. 'Few writers blend mystery and the supernatural as well as Sarah Pinborough. Quite, quite brilliant' says John ConnollyBut now the bodies of children are being pulled from the Thames . . . and Bond is about to become inextricably linked with an uncanny, undying enemy.'A compulsively readable story that starts as a conventional murder mystery and morphs, by degrees, into a horrifying supernatural thriller' Guardian
    • More
  • Mayhem

    By Sarah Pinborough
    Authors:
    Sarah Pinborough
    From the Number One bestselling author of Behind Her Eyes. Delve into a gaslit London, where Jack the Ripper is making headlines, but another, much more dangerous, madman is on the loose. When a rotting torso is discovered in the vault of New Scotland Yard, it doesn't take Dr Thomas Bond, Police Surgeon, long to realise that there is a second killer at work in the city where, only a few days before, Jack the Ripper brutally murdered two women in one night. This is the hand of a colder killer, one who lacks Jack's emotion. As more headless and limbless torsos find their way into the Thames Dr Bond becomes obsessed with finding the killer. As his investigations lead him into an unholy alliance, he starts to wonderIs it a man who has brought mayhem to the streets of London, or a monster?'A compulsively readable story that starts as a conventional murder mystery and morphs, by degrees, into a horrifying supernatural thriller' Guardian.
    • More

    The Missing File

    By D. A. Mishani
    Authors:
    D. A. Mishani
    • More

    The Missing One

    By Lucy Atkins
    Authors:
    Lucy Atkins
    'From the very first page I was drawn in, hook, line and sinker' Amazon reviewerThe bestselling noir thriller about the lengths a mother will go to protect her child. Perfect for fans of Linda Green and Fiona Barton.The loss of her mother has left Kali McKenzie with too many unanswered questions. But while clearing out Elena's art studio, she finds a drawer packed with postcards, each bearing an identical one-line message a Canadian gallery owner called Susannah Gillespie: thinking of you. Who is this woman and what does she know about Elena's hidden past? Desperate to find out, Kali travels with her toddler, Finn, to Susannah's isolated home on a remote British Columbian island, a place of killer whales and storms. But as bad weather closes in, Kali quickly realises she has made a big mistake. The handsome and enigmatic Susannah refuses to talk about the past, and as Kali struggles to piece together what happened back in the 1970s, Susannah's behaviour grows more and more erratic. Most worrying of all, Susannah is becoming increasingly preoccupied with little Finn . . .
    • More

    A Man Without Breath

    By Philip Kerr
    Authors:
    Philip Kerr
    • More

    The Minotaur's Head

    By Marek Krajewski
    Authors:
    Marek Krajewski
    • More

    The Marseille Caper

    By Peter Mayle
    Authors:
    Peter Mayle
    • More

    The Minotaur

    By Stephen Coonts
    Authors:
    Stephen Coonts
    Jake Grafton is back! After flying A-6 Intruders in Vietnam and, seventeen years later, commanding an air wing aboard a super carrier in the Mediterranean, Jake - now grounded - is assigned to the Pentagon where he is in charge of developing the navy's new top secret stealth attack plane, the A-l2.Faced with political and technical problems at every turn, Jake soon finds himself drawn into the hunt for the Minotaur, a mole hidden in the Pentagon who is giving America's most precious defense secrets to the Russians. The FBI's chief spy-catcher is hot on the Minotaur's trail, or is he? Just who are the traitors in this Byzantine world of technocrats, politicians, and multi-billion dollar defense programs? Four people are dead and a test pilot is near death before Grafton hones in on the shocking identity of the Minotaur - and his even more chilling motive.Combining authentic details of weapons strategies and stealth technology with an all-to-real story of the international trade in military secrets - and featuring the classic flying scenes that are Coonts' trademark - THE MINOTAUR confirms that Stephen Coonts is a modern master of suspense.
    • More

    Memory of Bones

    By Alex Connor
    Authors:
    Alex Connor
    • More

    The Merry Misogynist

    By Colin Cotterill
    Authors:
    Colin Cotterill
    • More

    The Master of the Delta

    By Thomas H. Cook
    Authors:
    Thomas H. Cook
    • More

    The Museum of Dr Moses

    By Joyce Carol Oates
    Authors:
    Joyce Carol Oates
    • More
    1