Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books
  • Prussian Blue

    By Philip Kerr
    Authors:
    Philip Kerr
    The twelfth book in the Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling series, perfect for fans of John le Carre and Robert Harris. 'One of the greatest anti-heroes ever written' Lee ChildFrance, 1956. Bernie Gunther is on the run. If there's one thing he's learned, it's never to refuse a job from a high-ranking secret policeman. But this is exactly what he's just done. Now he's a marked man, with the East German Stasi on his tail.Fleeing across Europe, he remembers the last time he worked with his pursuer: in 1939, to solve a murder at the Berghof, Hitler's summer hideaway in the Bavarian Alps. Hitler is long dead, the Berghof now a ruined shell, and the bizarre time Bernie spent there should be no more than a distant memory.But as he pushes on to Berlin and safety, Bernie will find that no matter how far he thinks he has put Nazi Germany behind him, for him it will always be unfinished business. The Berghof is not done with Bernie yet.
    • More
  • Pen 33

    By Anders Roslund, Börge Hellström
    Authors:
    Anders Roslund, Börge Hellström
    THE FIRST IN THE MILLION-SELLING DCI EWERT GRENS SERIES, WINNER OF THE GLASS KEY 2005 FOR BEST SCANDINAVIAN CRIME NOVEL OF THE YEAR, AND AS HARD-HITTING A CRIME NOVEL AS YOU WILL EVER READ.'A must read' ObserverBernt Lund harbours a sickness. He is a monster: in the mind of society, in the mind of his nine-year-old victims' parents, and in the mind of his fellow inmates.Lennart Oscarsson has a situation. The worst scenario imaginable for Aspsås prison's Department for Sexual Crimes.These two men's actions are about to hand DCI Ewert Grens the most profoundly sickening and impossibly sensitive case of his career, and in Stockholm's history.Pen 33 is both an unforgiving collision between a time-hardened policeman and a truly heinous crime, and an unflinching exploration of what people - whether criminals or victims - are capable of when they choose to relinquish self-control.Loved Pen 33 and hungry for another DCI Ewert Grens thriller? If so, choose the next novel in the series, Box 21 . . .
    • More
  • The Pale Criminal

    By Philip Kerr
    Authors:
    Philip Kerr
    'One of the greatest anti-heroes ever written' LEE CHILDA series of horrific ritual murders leads Bernie Gunther to an occult conspiracy at the very heart of the Nazi Party - hard-boiled noir thriller for fans of Raymond Chandler and John le CarréFive German schoolgirls are missing. Four have been found dead. But unlike the undesirables who make up the majority of dead and missing people in Hitler's Berlin, these girls were blonde and blue-eyed - the Aryan flower of German maidenhood - and their gruesome deaths recall ritual killings.Busy with a blackmail case, Bernie is reluctant when he is asked to rejoin the Berlin police in order to track down the murderer. But when the person doing the asking is none other than head of the SD, Reinhard Heydrich, it's not exactly a request he can turn down. As Bernie gets closer to the truth, he realises that at the heart of this case is much more than one lone madman - in fact, there is a conspiracy at work more chilling than he could ever have imagined.
    • More

    Poisoned Ground

    By Barbara Nadel
    Authors:
    Barbara Nadel
    • More

    The Prey

    By Tony Park
    Authors:
    Tony Park
    • More

    A Possibility of Violence

    By D. A. Mishani
    Authors:
    D. A. Mishani
    • More
  • Paths Not Taken

    By Simon R. Green
    Authors:
    Simon R. Green
    Private eye John Taylor must travel back in time to stop his mother destroying the Nightside, the secret heart of London. Things are about to get complicated . . .John Taylor is a private detective with a supernatural gift - he can find what is lost. But sometimes that gets him in trouble . . . During his last case, he made the most dangerous of discoveries: his mother's true identity. Even worse she created his home - the twisted, noir playground known as the Nightside - and she has the power and the will to destroy it.Taylor must find a way to stop his mother; he's convinced that the answer lies deep in the past, in the days of the Nightside's creation, so that's exactly where he's headed. But travelling through time is a dangerous business, and the past can be a deadly place.Paths Not Taken is the fifth title in Simon R. Green's New York Times bestselling Nightside series.
    • More

    Prayer

    By Philip Kerr
    Authors:
    Philip Kerr
    • More

    Pirate Alley

    By Stephen Coonts
    Authors:
    Stephen Coonts
    • More

    Paper Doll (A Spenser Mystery)

    By Robert B. Parker
    Authors:
    Robert B. Parker
    Hired by an aristocrat who refuses to believe that his wife's brutal street-slaying was random violence, private detective Spenser suddenly finds himself in a world where nothing is what it seems, least of all the life - and death - of the victim.
    • More

    Pastime (A Spenser Mystery)

    By Robert B. Parker
    Authors:
    Robert B. Parker
    Ten years ago, Spenser saved a teenage boy from his father's rage. Now, in his twenties, the son is seeking answers to his mother's sudden disappearance. And once again, Spenser is the only one he can turn to.
    • More

    Playmates (A Spenser Mystery)

    By Robert B. Parker
    Authors:
    Robert B. Parker
    When Spenser is hired to look into rumours of match fixing in university basketball, his investigations lead him deep into the gambling underworld - and into the most dangerous job of his career.
    • More

    Pale Kings and Princes (A Spenser Mystery)

    By Robert B. Parker
    Authors:
    Robert B. Parker
    When a young journalist researching the cocaine trade in a small Massachusetts town is found murdered, private detective Spenser is called in to find out who is responsible. Wheaton isn't just any small town though - Spenser soon discovers it's one of the biggest cocaine distribution centres in the Northeast. But the local drugs cartel are not the only suspects - did the journalist get too close to the truth, or too close to the wife of a very jealous man?
    • More

    A Private Business

    By Barbara Nadel
    Authors:
    Barbara Nadel
    • More

    Path of Needles

    By Alison Littlewood
    Authors:
    Alison Littlewood
    Some fairy tales are born of dreams . . . and some are born of nightmares. Chrissie Farrell is young, beautiful and about to be crowned Queen of the Dance. But on the evening of her triumph she is abducted and murdered, her body left for the police to find.With no other clues, the disturbing way in which Chrissie's body has been posed has PC Cate Corbin at a loss - until university lecturer Alice Hyland is called in. An expert on fairy tales, Alice quickly notices a connection between the murder and an obscure version of Snow White.When a second body is found, Alice is dragged further into the investigation - and only then realises that she is becoming a suspect. Now Alice must fight, not just to prove her innocence, but to protect herself: because the body count is growing and it's looking like she might be next . . .'I loved Path of Needles. Dark but satisfying, like the best chocolate' Elly Griffiths, bestselling author of The Dark Angel
    • More

    Promised Land (A Spenser Mystery)

    By Robert B. Parker
    Authors:
    Robert B. Parker
    Harvey Shepard's wife has run away and private detective Spenser has been hired to find her. A seemingly easy mission, but there may be more to this case than meets the eye.
    • More

    Parker

    By Richard Stark
    Authors:
    Richard Stark
    The book that inspired the major new film, starring Jason Statham and Jennifer Lopez. Parker is a thief with a unique code of ethics: Don't steal from people who can't afford it and don't hurt people who don't deserve it. When he is double-crossed by his crew and left for dead, Parker is set on revenge. Assuming a new disguise and forming an unlikely alliance with a woman on the inside, he looks to hijack the score of the crew's latest heist, and put right what they took from him. Please note that this novel was previously published as Flashfire.
    • More

    Pacific Heights

    By Paul Harper
    Authors:
    Paul Harper
    • More

    The Pillow Friend

    By Lisa Tuttle
    Authors:
    Lisa Tuttle
    Perfect for fans of Tanith Lee and Joyce Carol Oates, this extremely dark and disturbing novel by award-winning author Lisa Tuttle is 'Impossible to forget' Neil Gaiman.Be careful what you wish for . . . As a child, Agnes Grey dreamed of the perfect friend to ease her loneliness: a doll that would talk to her, tell her stories, share her secrets, just like her Aunt Marjorie used to have.So when she receives an old-fashioned porcelain doll as an adult, painted to look like an old-world gentleman, she's certain her dreams have come true. But as the line between fantasy and reality begins to blurs, Agnes discovers that every dream has its price and every wish must be paid for . . .
    • More
  • Prague Fatale

    By Philip Kerr
    Authors:
    Philip Kerr
    Philip Kerr's sequence of historical thrillers featuring private detective Bernie Gunther forms a body of work comparable to the great series of the two masters of the genre, Len Deighton and John le Carré. The Berlin Noir Trilogy quickly established Kerr and Gunther as the perfect combination of writer, character, setting and genre. These gritty, noir thrillers, narrated in Gunther's wry, sardonic voice, range all over Europe and beyond. They span a 20-year period from the mid-30s to the mid-50s, covering the build up to World War 2, the war itself and finally its bitter aftermath. With impeccable research that is accurate in every detail yet never interferes with narrative pace, Philip Kerr has created an epic series of thrillers that deserve all the praise that has been heaped upon them. Prague Fatale is Bernie Gunther's eighth outing. Set in Prague in 1942, it delivers all the fast-paced and quick-witted action that we have come to expect from Philip Kerr. It is an outstanding thriller by a writer at the top of his game.
    • More