Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books

Dark Water

By Elizabeth Lowry
Authors:
Elizabeth Lowry
  • More
  • Destroying Angel

    By S. G. MacLean
    Authors:
    S. G. MacLean
    'A gripping tale of crime and sedition' Sunday Times on The Black Friar'The best historical crime novel of the year' Sunday Express on The SeekerCaptain Damian Seeker has gone north. Charged with preparing the way for the rule of the major-generals, he is now under the command of Colonel Robert Lilburne at York. But when Lilburne orders him to a small village on the North York moors with details of the stringent new anti-Royalist laws, Seeker finds that what should be a routine visit will reveal a plot to rival anything in scheming LondonAn invitation to dinner at the house of local businessman Matthew Pullan lifts the lid on the bubbling cauldron of grudges and resentment that is Faithly village. The local constable, drunk on the tiny bit of power he holds, using it to avenge old resentments. The hated lord of the manor, the last of a staunchly Royalist family who has managed to avoid suspicion of treachery - for now. The vicar on trial for his job and his home, accused of ungodly acts. And the Pullans themselves, proudly Puritan but disillusioned with Cromwell's government, respected and despised in Faithly in equal measure. The man for whom this unlikely gathering was organised - The Trier, the enforcer of Puritan morality for the local villages - hasn't shown up. And by the end of the night, on of those gathered around Matthew Pullan's table will be fatally poisoned.Seeker must discover the motive behind the death - mushroom misidentification, petty revenge, or part of a larger plot against Cromwell's government in the north? But who in Faithly can he trust? And when the most painful part of his past reappears after eleven years, will the Seeker meet his match?
    • More

    Dodger of the Revolution

    By James Benmore
    Authors:
    James Benmore
    • More

    Doctor of the High Fells

    By Elizabeth Gill
    Authors:
    Elizabeth Gill
    From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy, comes a gritty saga perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Nadine Dorries.Prue's heart beat hard - she had heard of the low seams of the mines of northwest Durham and she had always had a fear of being enclosed. This was her job, she told herself, this was what she had wanted. She must do it. So she picked up her bag and followed them to the cage which carried the miners below ground, praying that the man did not die, that she need not produce some miracle . . . Determined to practise as a doctor, Prue escapes a loveless marriage to journey far from home and join a surgery in Tow Law. But she soon finds that long hours and limited resources are only the beginning - gaining the townspeople's trust will be her greatest challenge of all. From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy comes the story of Prue Stanhope, young woman doctor to the miners of Tow Law, County Durham.
    • More

    Down the Figure 7

    By Trevor Hoyle
    Authors:
    Trevor Hoyle
    The war's over, but kids are still fighting the enemy - until a soldier returns home and suddenly there's real-life danger, and real tragedy.On the wasteland between their houses, Terry Webb and his mates are battling the Nazzies and Nips, inflamed by the Movietone News at the Saturday matinee, the exploits of Hollywood tough guys and the tales of brothers and dads and uncles who fought for their country. But in the 1950s, Britain is struggling to emerge from beneath the long shadow left in the wake of the Second World War. Life is all rationing, 'make-do-and-mend', deprivation and poverty, especially in the Northern cotton towns.As far as the boys are concerned it's all just a bit of fun, just like their opportunistic fumblings and increasing interest in girls - until Terry's favourite uncle, a Desert Rat, comes home, bearing all the scars of Monty's North Africa campaign and bringing a piece of the war back with him. And suddenly for Terry, life's no longer a game, but there's real-life danger - and real-life tragedy . . .The past is truly is a foreign country in this coming-of-age novel based on Trevor Hoyle's short story, the winner of the Transatlantic Review short story competition, evoking the joys, frustrations, injustices, excitement, battles, discoveries and bloody-minded wonder of a boy slowly learning to become a man.
    • More
  • Dodger

    By James Benmore
    Authors:
    James Benmore
    London, 1850s. After five years in an Australian penal colony, the Artful Dodger returns to London in search of a hidden fortune. Unaware of the fate that befell Twist, Fagin and Sikes, Dodger revisits the criminal underworld of Dickensian London to seek out his old comrades, any of whom might possess the key to the treasure. He finds the city a changed place from his youth: with law and order upheld by a new police force, Fagin gone to the gallows, his old gang scattered and danger around every corner.
    • More
    1