Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books

Mata Hari

By Michelle Moran
Authors:
Michelle Moran
From the internationally bestselling author of Nefertiti comes a captivating novel about the infamous Mata Hari, exotic dancer, adored courtesan, and, possibly, infamous spy.Paris, 1917. The notorious dancer Mata Hari sits in a cold cell awaiting freedom . . . or death. Alone and despondent, Mata Hari is as confused as the rest of the world about the charges she's been arrested on: treason leading to the deaths of thousands of French soldiers.As Mata Hari waits for her fate to be decided, she relays the story of her life to a reporter who is allowed to visit her in prison. Beginning with her carefree childhood, Mata Hari recounts her father's cruel abandonment of her family as well her calamitous marriage to a military officer. Taken to the island of Java, Mata Hari refuses to be ruled by her abusive husband and instead learns to dance, paving the way to her stardom as Europe's most infamous exotic dancer.From lush Indian temples and glamorous Parisian theatres to stark German barracks in war-torn Europe, Moran brings to vibrant life the famed world of Mata Hari: dancer, courtesan, and possibly, spy.
  • More

A Miner's Daughter

By Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy and Far From My Father's House comes a family saga perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Anna Jacobs and Dilly Court.When Rosalind West leaves her native Durham for a job in London with the Doxbridge Motor Company she is determined to escape her background and build a new life. London is excitingly different and tantalisingly glamorous - especially when she meets the handsome and aristocratic Freddie Harrington, a rally driver, and the son of a once-wealthy Northumberland landowner. Against her friends' better judgement Freddie and Rosalind begin a relationship. But Freddie's family have plans for him which do not include marrying a Durham miner's daughter. Turning to a close companion for consolation, Rosalind suddenly finds herself torn between two men, both of strong passions, and fierce ambition.Note: this book was previously published under the title Home to the High Fells.
  • More

The Milliner's Secret

By Natalie Meg Evans
Authors:
Natalie Meg Evans
'A captivating story from beginning to end. Full of secrets and intrigue!' Amazon reviewer. Perfect for fans of Amy Snow and Lucinda Riley. Plucky English girl Cora Mason has reinvented herself as Coralie de Lirac - confident French beauty with aristocratic connections. Catapulted into the sensuous world of Parisian society, Cora becomes a lady's hat maker, but living beyond one's means isn't easy. When Paris is threatened, the influence of a high-ranking lover protects her secret past . . . but the cruel demands of war - and of love - cannot be kept at bay forever. Soon Coralie must find the courage to do what's necessary to protect her friends, her freedom and everything she believes in.
  • More

Motherland

By William Nicholson
Authors:
William Nicholson
  • More

Miss Appleby's Academy

By Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
The bestselling emotional saga set in County Durham. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Nadine Dorries.Emma Appleby's arrival in the County Durham village of Tow Law is sudden and mysterious, provoking deep suspicion in the locals. And because she has a child with her, seemingly out of marriage, they want nothing to do with her - except for pub landlord Mick Castle. When Emma opens an academy and sets herself up in competition with the local school, she provokes a savage response from the community. But she will not be deterred - even when her past catches up with her and Mick is forced to choose between his heart and his family.
  • More

The Mayan Trilogy

By Steve Alten
Authors:
Steve Alten
21 December, 2012: the end of the Mayan calendar. The advent of Armageddon.From the distant mythic past, through the conspiracy-filled present and into the terrifying future, The Mayan Trilogy follows four generations of the Gabriel family as they struggle to embrace their superhuman destiny in the face of an apocalyptic threat both supernatural and all too real.Marrying Mayan legend and mind-bending science; spanning centuries and traversing dimensions; and paced faster than a particle in the Large Hadron Collider, The Mayan Trilogy is a race through - and against - time to preserve the very future of humanity by solving the mysteries of its ancient past.This three-book pack comprises The Mayan Prophecy, The Mayan Resurrection and The Mayan Destiny.
  • More

The Mayan Destiny

By Steve Alten
Authors:
Steve Alten
  • More

The Mayan Resurrection

By Steve Alten
Authors:
Steve Alten
  • More

The Mayan Prophecy

By Steve Alten
Authors:
Steve Alten
  • More

Madame Tussaud

By Michelle Moran
Authors:
Michelle Moran
  • More

Memoirs of a Bitch

By Francesca Petrizzo
Authors:
Francesca Petrizzo
Her face launched a thousand ships, she caused one of the most famous battles of all time, but Helen of Troy was also a woman in love. Her story is one of loss, betrayal, fear, hope, but most importantly, of how she gave up everything she had for the man she loved. She has always been a legend, but never a real woman, until now...
  • More

Measuring the World

By Daniel Kehlmann
Authors:
Daniel Kehlmann
Measuring the World recreates the parallel but contrasting lives of two geniuses of the German Enlightenment - the naturalist and explorer Alexander von Humboldt and the mathematician and physicist Carl Friedrich Gauss. Towards the end of the 18th century, these two brilliant young Germans set out to measure the world. Humboldt, a Prussian aristocrat schooled for greatness, negotiates savannah and jungle, climbs the highest mountain then known to man, counts head lice on the heads of the natives, and explores every hole in the ground. Gauss, a man born in poverty who will be recognised as the greatest mathematician since Newton, does not even need to leave his home in Göttingen to know that space is curved. He can run prime numbers in his head, cannot imagine a life without women and yet jumps out of bed on his wedding night to jot down a mathematical formula. Measuring the World is a novel of rare charm and readability, distinguished by its sly humour and unforgettable characterization. It brings the two eccentric geniuses to life, their longings and their weaknesses, their balancing act between loneliness and love, absurdity and greatness, failure and success.
  • More
1