Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books

Mata Hari

By Michelle Moran
Authors:
Michelle Moran
From the internationally bestselling author of Nefertiti comes a captivating novel about the infamous Mata Hari, exotic dancer, adored courtesan, and, possibly, infamous spy.Paris, 1917. The notorious dancer Mata Hari sits in a cold cell awaiting freedom . . . or death. Alone and despondent, Mata Hari is as confused as the rest of the world about the charges she's been arrested on: treason leading to the deaths of thousands of French soldiers.As Mata Hari waits for her fate to be decided, she relays the story of her life to a reporter who is allowed to visit her in prison. Beginning with her carefree childhood, Mata Hari recounts her father's cruel abandonment of her family as well her calamitous marriage to a military officer. Taken to the island of Java, Mata Hari refuses to be ruled by her abusive husband and instead learns to dance, paving the way to her stardom as Europe's most infamous exotic dancer.From lush Indian temples and glamorous Parisian theatres to stark German barracks in war-torn Europe, Moran brings to vibrant life the famed world of Mata Hari: dancer, courtesan, and possibly, spy.
  • More

The Milliner's Secret

By Natalie Meg Evans
Authors:
Natalie Meg Evans
'A captivating story from beginning to end. Full of secrets and intrigue!' Amazon reviewer. Perfect for fans of Amy Snow and Lucinda Riley. Plucky English girl Cora Mason has reinvented herself as Coralie de Lirac - confident French beauty with aristocratic connections. Catapulted into the sensuous world of Parisian society, Cora becomes a lady's hat maker, but living beyond one's means isn't easy. When Paris is threatened, the influence of a high-ranking lover protects her secret past . . . but the cruel demands of war - and of love - cannot be kept at bay forever. Soon Coralie must find the courage to do what's necessary to protect her friends, her freedom and everything she believes in.
  • More

The Mayan Trilogy

By Steve Alten
Authors:
Steve Alten
21 December, 2012: the end of the Mayan calendar. The advent of Armageddon.From the distant mythic past, through the conspiracy-filled present and into the terrifying future, The Mayan Trilogy follows four generations of the Gabriel family as they struggle to embrace their superhuman destiny in the face of an apocalyptic threat both supernatural and all too real.Marrying Mayan legend and mind-bending science; spanning centuries and traversing dimensions; and paced faster than a particle in the Large Hadron Collider, The Mayan Trilogy is a race through - and against - time to preserve the very future of humanity by solving the mysteries of its ancient past.This three-book pack comprises The Mayan Prophecy, The Mayan Resurrection and The Mayan Destiny.
  • More

The Mayan Destiny

By Steve Alten
Authors:
Steve Alten
  • More

The Mayan Resurrection

By Steve Alten
Authors:
Steve Alten
  • More

The Mayan Prophecy

By Steve Alten
Authors:
Steve Alten
  • More

Madame Tussaud

By Michelle Moran
Authors:
Michelle Moran
  • More

Memoirs of a Bitch

By Francesca Petrizzo
Authors:
Francesca Petrizzo
Her face launched a thousand ships, she caused one of the most famous battles of all time, but Helen of Troy was also a woman in love. Her story is one of loss, betrayal, fear, hope, but most importantly, of how she gave up everything she had for the man she loved. She has always been a legend, but never a real woman, until now...
  • More
1