Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books

The Q Series

By Trevor Hoyle
Authors:
Trevor Hoyle
The Q Series includes Seeking the Mythical Future, Through the Eye of Time and The Gods Look Down.An acclaimed scientist is chosen to travel through alternate futures to find safe haven - and instead, finds a totalitarian world of dictators and concentration camps . . .Christian Queghan is a Myth Technologist, a highly respected scientist on Earth IVN. Like so many other worlds colonised generations ago, the planet was created to be as much like Old Earth as possible - even though Old Earth itself is now pretty much a myth, the stuff of legend. But Earth IVN has its problems too.Now a machine has been developed to project a researcher into one of the infinite number of possible futures of Earth IVN, and Christian Queghan is the ideal subject. He can't resist the idea of going where no man has gone before, but there are an infinite number of possible futures, and no guarantee of a safe return.On a parallel world, a strange, translucent figure is found floating in the blood-red ocean on a craft of scorched metal. Could the alien's claim to come from the future be true? Or is this totalitarian world of dictators and concentration camps a dream projection from another dimension?The Q Series is an epic science fiction adventure through parallel worlds.
  • More
  • The Quiet Death of Thomas Quaid

    By Craig Russell
    Authors:
    Craig Russell
    'Storytelling at its very best!' Michael ConnellyWhen you have as few friends as private investigator Lennox does, you can't afford to lose any. When you do, someone has to pay. Fast-paced Glasgow noir for fans of Philip Kerr and Raymond Chandler.Quiet Tommy Quaid is one of Lennox's few friends in Glasgow. Lennox appreciates Tommy's open, straightforward personality - even if he is a master thief. When Tommy is flung to his death from a factory roof in front of Lennox's eyes, Lennox discovers just how wrong he was about Tommy's quiet life.It seems Tommy knew a secret, and it cost him his life. But for once, Quiet Tommy didn't go quietly. His secret concerned people above the law - people in some cases who are the law - and so now, from beyond the grave, he leaves a trail for Lennox to follow to ensure justice is done. For once, Lennox is on the side of the angels. But he is an avenging angel, and in brutal Glasgow, justice has to get bloody.
    • More
  • Queen of the Darkness

    By Anne Bishop
    Authors:
    Anne Bishop
    The third in New York Times bestselling author Anne Bishop's captivating Black Jewels trilogy. War is coming to the Shadow-Realm. To save millions of lives, Witch must sacrifice only one: hers.Jaenelle, the long-prophesised Witch Queen, has finally healed, and emerged stronger than ever to claim her throne.But for centuries a taint has been creeping across the realms, corrupting those born into power. Now war is coming to the Shadow-Realm - and Witch is helpless to prevent it.The Dreamweavers' webs show two paths. One will see the blood of millions spilled, the other will see the taint destroyed - and only one person needs to die.Her.'A powerful finale for this fascinating, uniquely dark trilogy' - Locus
    • More
  • A Quiet Flame

    By Philip Kerr
    Authors:
    Philip Kerr
    'One of the greatest anti-heroes ever written' LEE CHILDPosing as an escaping Nazi war-criminal Bernie Gunther arrives in Buenos Aires and, having revealed his real identity to the local chief of police, discovers that his reputation as a detective goes before him. A young girl has been murdered in peculiarly gruesome circumstances that strongly resemble Bernie's final case as a homicide detective with the Berlin police. A case he had failed to solve. Circumstances lead the chief of police in Buenos Aires to suppose that the murderer may be one of several thousand ex Nazis who have fetched up in Argentina since 1945. And, therefore, who better than Bernie Gunther to help him track that murderer down?
    • More
    1