Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books

The Girls from the Local

By Rosie Archer
Authors:
Rosie Archer
Gosport, Hampshre, 1943, and even in the middle of war the local pub provides a warm welcome, thanks to its trio of barmaids. A heartwarming saga for fans of Sheila Newberry and Daisy Styles.Ruby has been living and working at the Point of No Return pub since her parents were killed by a bomb. She loves the bustle of the pub; it helps take her mind off worrying about her fiance, Joe, away fighting in France.The only thing Ruby doesn't like about the Point is Sylvie. This singing siren may have a beautiful voice, but she's out for all she can get, including Joe.Finally, there's Marge, a true party girl. She's a great friend to Ruby and makes sure they have fun, going out to dances and flirting with all and sundry, but she's not as fond of her other role as a mother to two young children.The three of them face many obstacles to fulfilling their dreams, but the bonds of friendship and camaraderie that hold the Point together will keep them going through the darkest of times.
  • More
  • The Guardian Angel

    By Elizabeth Gill
    Authors:
    Elizabeth Gill
    1820. Alice Lee, middle-aged and unmarried, takes in a young murderer, Zebediah Bailey, when he's released from Durham gaol. Their acquaintance had begun when Alice's local Methodist minister had asked his congregation if anybody would help the young man, and Alice had volunteered. Alice dutifully writes him every week, sending him sweets from her shop. And when Zeb comes out and has nowhere to go, Alice takes him back to Stanhope in Weardale with her, much to the horror of her neighbours.A tale of an unlikely friendship set in the atmospheric world of 19th century Durham, this is the first in a new series set in Weardale.
    • More
  • The Gunpowder and Glory Girls

    By Rosie Archer
    Authors:
    Rosie Archer
    The war is drawing to a close, but the munitions girls are still hard at work in the factory. Gladys, who's been promoted to overseer, has been feeling lonely lately. Her friend Em, and Em's daughter Lizzie, have moved away, and a lot of others have left Gosport too. Then an act of kindness towards Goldie, a homeless teenager, provides Gladys with a new friend and lodger.But Goldie has run away from her dangerous family - a group of local gangsters and black-market smugglers, including a particular thug, a pimp, who is determined to make the girl his ownCan Gladys keep both of them safe while dealing with her own unexpected pregnancy?
    • More

    The Galaxy Game

    By Karen Lord
    Authors:
    Karen Lord
    The sequel to critically acclaimed The Best of All Possible Worlds from award-winning Barbadian writer Karen Lord.For years, Rafi Delarua watched his family suffer under his father's unethical use of psionic power. Now the government has Rafi under surveillance. Hating their crude attempts to analyse his brain, he escapes to the planet Punartam, where his abilities are the norm, not the exception. Punartam is also the centre for his favourite sport, wallrunning - and thanks to his best friend, he discovers a way to train with the elite.But soon Rafi realises he's playing quite a different game. The galaxy is changing; unrest is spreading and the Zhinuvian cartels are plotting, making the stars a far more dangerous place to aim. There may yet be one solution - involving interstellar travel, galactic power and the love of a beautiful game.'A smart science fictional fable as inventive and involving as it is finally vital' - Tor.com
    • More
  • Ghost of a Chance

    By Simon R. Green
    Authors:
    Simon R. Green
    Meet the operatives of the Carnacki Institute. The Institute's operatives are the best of the best: JC Chance, team leader, is undoubtedly brave, sharp as a tack, incredibly charming - and almost unbearably arrogant. Melody Chambers may be a science geek, but she's also the techno-wizard extraordinaire who keeps their anti-supernatural equipment running. And as for Happy Jack Palmer: their terminally gloomy telepath is the last person anyone would want navigating through their head.Their mission: Do Something About Ghosts. That means lay them to rest, send them packing, or just kick their nasty ectoplasmic arses with extreme prejudice . . . Their current is a haunting deep underground, in London's Oxford Circus tube station, but things become difficult when their rival team - the Crowley Project - get involved.Ghost of a Chance is the first title in New York Times bestselling author Simon R. Green's Ghost Finders series.
    • More

    Games Creatures Play

    By Charlaine Harris
    Authors:
    Charlaine Harris
    Everyone plays something - whether it's solitaire or squash or stockcar racing, World of Warcraft or World Wrestling Entertainment tournaments, darts or dodgeball. Games bring out the best in us, the worst in us, the thing-we-never-expected in us. Human beings just naturally like to test their limits, both mental and physical - and why should the supernaturals be any different? In their latest anthology international superstar Charlaine Harris and award-winning mystery writer Toni Kelner have collected stories that feature ghostly players, bloodthirsty interruptions, and competitions with deadly outcomes, from some of the top writers in the fantasy, horror, crime and mystery genres. Game on!
    • More
  • The Glass Republic

    By Tom Pollock
    Authors:
    Tom Pollock
    'Marks the appearance of a powerful new imagination in SF' GuardianIn the gripping sequel to The City's Son, Pen returns to London-Under-Glass when her mirror sister - and biggest secret - is abducted. Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman's Neverwhere.Pen's life is all about secrets: the secret of the city's spirits, deities and monsters that live just beyond notice, the secret of how she got the intricate scars that disfigure her so cruelly - and the most closely guarded secret of all: Parva, her mirror-sister, forged from her reflection in a school bathroom mirror and the only person who really understands her.When Parva is abducted, Pen is forced to make a terrible bargain for the means to track her down, for in London-Under-Glass, looks are currency, and Pen's scars make her a rare and valuable commodity. Kept company by the pretty and fierce steeplejill, Espel, Pen isn't completely alone, but some in the reflected city will do anything to keep her from the secret of what happened to the sister who shared her face. The Glass Republic is the gripping sequel to The City's Son, and the second book of The Skyscraper Throne trilogy.
    • More
  • The Gods Look Down

    By Trevor Hoyle
    Authors:
    Trevor Hoyle
    When an ancient religious text reveals that nuclear physics capable of creating a new species of man existed in Biblical times, the mystified scientists of Earth IVn realise that something - or somebody - has been tampering with history . . .It's up to Christian Queghan to use his extraordinary powers as a Myth Technologist to unravel this baffling enigma, for only he can cross the barriers of time and space to uncover the malevolent force linking the distant past to the mythical future. Queghan is working with another scientist, decoding the ancient texts from ancient history - until he realises that his own colleague is seeking to alter history using the results of the research.Queghan must draw upon his ability to pass into alternate realities in an attempt to stop him, however dangerous it is for him.Q: The Gods Look Down is Book Three of the Q Series, an epic science fiction adventure through parallel worlds.
    • More

    The Ghost Hunters

    By Neil Spring
    Authors:
    Neil Spring
    'Deliciously creepy' Herald. A hair-raising fictionalized account of the Borley Rectory haunting, based on contemporary first-hand testimonies.Welcome to Borley Rectory, the most haunted house in England. The year is 1926 and Sarah Grey has landed herself an unlikely new job - personal assistant to Harry Price, London's most infamous ghost hunter. Equal parts brilliant and charming, neurotic and manipulative, Harry has devoted his life to exposing the truth behind England's many 'false hauntings', and never has he left a case unsolved, nor a fraud unexposed. So when Harry and Sarah are invited to Borley Rectory - a house so haunted that objects frequently fly through the air unbidden, and locals avoid the grounds for fear of facing the spectral nun that walks there - they're sure that this case will be just like any other. But when night falls and still no artifice can be found, the ghost hunters are forced to confront an uncomfortable possibility: the ghost of Borley Rectory may be real. And, if so, they're about to make its most intimate acquaintance.
    • More

    Goodbye Mr Rat

    By Patrick McCabe
    Authors:
    Patrick McCabe
    A girl from northern Indiana travels to rural Ireland; where, as she bids a friend farewell, she meets malign misfortune. Goodbye Mr Rat forms half of Hello and Goodbye: two glitzy baubles - generously stuffed with the choicest, rustiest nails, lacquered with dread, and compressed to the point of detonation. Its sister title is Hello Mr Bones.
    • More
    1