Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books

The Memory Chamber

By Holly Cave
Authors:
Holly Cave
'An elegant tale of love and loss, memory and murder, set in an edgy near-future' Daily Mail'The Memory Chamber is captivating from the first page' Daily Express'Will mess with your head' Emerald Street **********True death is a thing of the past...Now you can spend the rest of eternity re-living your happiest memories: that first kiss, falling in love, the birth of your children, enjoyed on loop for ever and ever.Isobel is a Heaven Architect, and she helps dying people create afterlives from these memories. So when she falls for Jarek, one of her terminal - and married - clients, she knows that while she cannot save him, she can create the most beautiful of heavens, just for him.But when Jarek's wife is found dead, Isobel uncovers a darker side of the world she works within, and she can trust no one with what she finds...The Memory Chamber is a thrilling and original story which vaults the reader into a world that is terrifyingly close to our own, where we can avoid everything we fear - even death itself. But can we ever escape the truth? Perfect for fans of Black Mirror. **********'Thought-provoking and totally absorbing' Candis'Provocative . . . a thrilling read' Psychologies'Strikingly original and impossible to put down' John Marrs, author of The One
  • More

The Mysteries

By Lisa Tuttle
Authors:
Lisa Tuttle
'A deft and daring blend of mystery and dark fantasy . . . Richly imagined and beautifully written, it lingers in the mind long after the last page is turned' - George R.R. MartinBlending mystery, thrills and fantasy, this standalone novel from award-winning author Lisa Tuttle will leave you looking over your shoulder . . .Laura Lensky's daughter, Peri, has been missing for two years. For the police it's a closed case - she wanted to run away - but for her mother and boyfriend, Hugh, it's a different story.When Laura hires private investigator Ian Kennedy, it is a last-ditch attempt to find her daughter before she leaves for America.Drawn in by strange parallels to an obscure Celtic myth and his first, almost unexplainable case, Ian takes the job. But his beliefs are about to be stretched to their limit - there are darker and more devious forces at work here than any of them imagined . . . 'It will make the hairs stand up on the back of your head. It will make you imagine things you've never imagined before. And it will make you think. It is her best novel to date' - Michael Moorcock
  • More
  • Marked

    By Sue Tingey
    Authors:
    Sue Tingey
    Team Jamie or Team Jinx? Which handsome hunk will Lucky choose - once she's dealt with the demon assassin on her trail, that is?Lucky's always known about her own psychic powers - after all, her closest friend is a ghost - but she knows nothing of her long-dead family . . . until a daemonic assassin brings a message that drags both Kayla and Lucky down to the Underlands - and into the political fight for the daemon king's throne. Lucky's determined to find her way home, but Jinx and Jamie have both marked her - and now she's not sure she even wants to escape the loving attentions of her handsome winged Guardian and her devilishly charming horned Deathbringer.And if she stays, she might just find out who she really is . . .'Reads like the Sookie Stackhouse series combined with the sinister undertones of Neil Gaiman's Neverwhere' says Booklist.
    • More
  • Mage's Blood

    By David Hair
    Authors:
    David Hair
    The Moontide is coming. Urte stands on the brink of war. Now three seemingly ordinary people will decide the fate of the world.Urte is divided, its two continents separated by impassable seas. But once every twelve years, the Moontide sees the waters sink to their lowest point and the Leviathan Bridge is revealed, linking east to west for twenty-four short months.The Rondian emperor, overlord of the west, is hell-bent on ruling both continents, and for the last two Moontides he has led armies of battle-magi across the bridge on crusades of conquest, pillaging his way across Antiopa.But the people of the east have been preparing - and, this time, they are ready for a fight.An epic fantasy, rich in intricate plots, intrigue and treachery. Vast forces collide and ordinary people make heart-rending choices that will shake the world.'A complex world populated by a rich and diverse cast of characters . . . Recommended for fans of George R.R. Martin, Brandon Sanderson and Patrick Rothfuss' - Library Journal
    • More
    1