Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books
  • Tyrant's Throne

    By Sebastien de Castell
    Authors:
    Sebastien de Castell
    'First-rate fiction, first rate adventure, first rate full stop' - Sunday Times bestseller Conn Iggulden.Would you - could you? - uphold the law at the cost of those you love?Falcio val Mond, First Cantor of the Greatcoats, is on the brink of fulfilling his dead King's dream: Aline is about to take the throne and restore the rule of law once and for all.But for the Greatcoats, nothing is ever that simple. In neighbouring Avares, an enigmatic new warlord is uniting the barbarian armies and even worse, he is rumoured to have a new ally: Falcio's old nemesis Trin. With the armies of Avares at her back, she'll be unstoppable.Falcio, Kest and Brasti go racing north to stop her, but in those cold, treacherous climes they discover something altogether different - and far more dangerous: a new player plans to take the throne of Tristia, and the Greatcoats, for all their determination and skill, may not be able to stop him.
    • More

    Thin Places

    By Tom Fletcher
    Authors:
    Tom Fletcher
    Come and visit a world of subtle horror and dark fantasy by master of creeping horror Tom Fletcher, a world in which insidious forces permeate the folds of reality, twisting it one strand at a time. This omnibus includes the novels The Leaping, The Thing on the Shore and The Ravenglass Eye, with a bonus chapter from Tom's new fantasy series, The Factory Trilogy, included. THE LEAPING: Jack finished university three years ago, but he's still stuck in a dead-end job in a sinister call-centre in Manchester. When the beautiful(and rich) Jennifer comes into his life, he thinks he has finally found his ticket out of there. Trouble is that his boss is interested in Jennifer as well, and there's something strangely bestial about him . . . So when Jennifer buys Fell House, a mysterious old mansion in remote Cumbria, a house party on a legendary scale seems like the perfect escape. But as the party spins out of control on a seemingly neverending night, they must face up to the terrifying possibility that not all their guests may be human - and some of them want to feed. THE THING ON THE SHORE: When Artemis Black is assigned to manage a call centre on behalf of a mysterious multinational corporation called Interext, he decides to implement a unique personal project, installing cutting-edge AI technology in the centre. But this 'technology' has other effects. Soon, one of Artemis' employees, Arthur, becomes aware of an intangible landscape inside the labyrinthine systems of the call-centre - a landscape in which he can feel an otherworldly consciousness stirring . . . THE RAVENGLASS EYE: Edie is a barmaid at The Tup in the small town of Ravenglass. So far, so normal. But when she is caught in a freak earthquake she subsequently develops 'The Eye' - a power that allows her glimpses of other worlds and strange events. At first Edie passes her visions off as nightmares, but when a person is found murdered, she realises that she has seen this death before, and that her visions are not imaginary, but real. Mankind had better hope that Edie finds a solution to the murders soon, because it's more than just the influence of The Eye that has entered the world. A power far more malevolent has been released, and that power is hungry for death.
    • More

    The Tower and Knife Trilogy

    By Mazarkis Williams
    Authors:
    Mazarkis Williams
    Mazarkis Williams is the pseudonym for a British Sunday Times bestselling author and a critically acclaimed American writer. Together they have written this 'riveting and intense novel which will keep fans of grim fantasy entirely enthralled' Publishers Weekly (starred review). There is a cancer at the heart of the mighty Cerani empire: a plague that first marks its victims, then covers the skin in geometric patterns until they die in agony - or are subsumed, their bodies now in thrall to the Pattern Master, a sorcerer of immense power. Emperor Beyon's law is that any hint of the pattern means death, before they become another puppet for the Pattern Master to use for his own evil ends - for he will see the Cerani Empire reduced to dust and whispers.No one but his mother knows the emperor himself is infected. Now she looks to her only other living son, Prince Sarmin, locked in a tower since Beyon ascended the throne. A bride is chosen, a girl from the grasslands quite unused to the politics and intrigue of the imperial court - but she is strong-willed and determined, and she once saw a path in a pattern in the waving grasses: a path that might just save them all.
    • More
  • The Tower Broken

    By Mazarkis Williams
    Authors:
    Mazarkis Williams
    The final part of the 'twisty and enjoyable tale' (SFX) from Mazarkis Williams, the Sunday Times bestselling author and critically acclaimed American writer: a 'compelling and wholly convincing fantasy' Ben Aaronovitch, author of The Rivers of London, a 'riveting and intense novel which will keep fans of grim fantasy entirely enthralled' Publishers Weekly, perfect for fans of Mark Lawrence and Brandon Sanderson.The walls of Cerana are crumbling; Emperor Sarmin and his wife believed the Pattern Master dead, but what he started is spreading across the desert: a vast nothing that is swallowing everything in its path. The last mage has vanished, seeking a mysterious pattern-worker, the Mage's Tower, symbol of Cerani invincibility, is cracked, and the Yrkman armies have arrived with conquest in mind - but they will spare Sarmin's people if they will convert to the Mogryk faith.Time is running out for Sarmin and Mesema in this gripping climax to the Tower and Knife trilogy. . .
    • More
  • Traitor's Blade

    By Sebastien de Castell
    Authors:
    Sebastien de Castell
    'Fantastic from the first sentence to the last . . . These books are the rarest of things, great rollicking fun combined with an emotional punch' John GwynneThe Greatcoats - legendary heroes, arbiters of justice . . . or notorious traitors? The Greatcoats are travelling magistrates bringing justice to all . . . or at least they were, before they watched the Dukes impale their King's head on a spike. Now the land's heroes are reviled as traitors, their Greatcoats in tatters.Facio, Kest and Brasti have been reduced to working as mercenaries, but when they find their employer dead - and are forced to watch as the killer plants evidence framing them for the murder - they realise things are about to get even worse.For the royal conspiracy that began with overthrowing an idealistic young king is spreading to Rijou, the most corrupt city in the land, and the life of a young girl hangs in the balance.When every noble is a tyrant and every knight is a thug, the only thing you can really trust is a traitor's blade.
    • More
  • Trial of Fire

    By Kate Jacoby
    Authors:
    Kate Jacoby
    The final part in this glorious epic of political intrigue, sorcery and romance: Lusara is finally boiling over into rebellion, but the Angel of Darkness has his own plans: for fans of Mercedes Lackey and L.E. Modesitt. Millennia ago, a great prophecy was forged: the Enemy, the Ally and the Angel of Darkness would come together, and out of their meeting would come chaos and destruction for Lusara and all its peoples.And now is the time for that prophecy to be fulfilled, for good or ill, for the Enclave, the secret mountain community of those gifted with magical powers, has been exposed and its sorcerers must scatter before those who wish them annihilated can get there. And hot on the heels of the Enemy, the sorcerer Robert Douglas, and the Ally, Jenn, leader of those hidden magic-wielders, is Nash, the Angel of Darkness - and his powers are fully regenerated . . .After twenty-five years of tyranny, Lusara is finally boiling over into rebellion!
    • More

    Treading the Maze

    By Lisa Tuttle
    Authors:
    Lisa Tuttle
    In this exclusive short story from the award-winning author of The Mysteries, inexplicable fear of a maze leads to unexpected consequences . . .Amy and Phil are charmed by the Old Vicarage, a beautiful Glastonbury guest house surrounded by peaceful countryside. But when they look from their window and see a group of strange figures performing a ritual dance around a turf-maze, Amy feels far from peaceful. Phil insists on treading the maze, but Amy is gripped by inexplicable fear - fear that turns out to be well-founded. Dark forces are at work, and unbeknownst to them, Amy and Phil's holiday will be the last time they enjoy happiness together . . .
    • More
    1