Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books

The Narrowboat Girls

By Rosie Archer
Authors:
Rosie Archer
'One of the nation's favourite wartime saga writers ... warm and engrossing' Lancashire Evening PostSpring 1944, and the war shows no sign of stopping. In Hampshire, Elsie is desperate for a new start after her husband leaves her. When her friend Izzy, herself planning an escape from her abusive boyfriend, tells her about the wartime jobs going for women on the canal boats, she jumps at the chance.Their new boss, Dorothy, is kind and fair, but it's clear she has a secret of her own. Their crew is completed by Tolly, searching for a new vocation now that her dream job has been snatched away. The work is hard, but together they pitch in, and through shared ups and downs they forge close friendships that will see them through the darkest times.What none of them could have predicted is just how much working on the canals will change their lives. Could it really be that what started as a means of escape will end up giving each of them everything they ever wanted?
  • More

The Night Visitor

By Lucy Atkins
Authors:
Lucy Atkins
'One of the most vivid, memorable and menacing characters I've ever read' C.L. Taylor, author of The Fear She knows your secret . . . and she'll make you payAs high-flying TV presenter and historian Olivia Sweetman stands before an adoring crowd at the launch of her new bestseller she can barely pretend to smile. Her life has spiralled into lies and if the truth comes out she'll lose everything.Only one person knows what Olivia has done. Vivian Tester is the socially awkward housekeeper of a Sussex manor who has become Olivia's unofficial research assistant. But Vivian has secrets too, and as the relationship between the women grows more and more tangled, a bizarre act of violence changes everything . . .Perfect for fans of Little Fires Everywhere and He Said She Said.PRAISE FOR THE NIGHT VISITOR:'WONDERFUL' - Clare Mackintosh, author of Let Me Lie'INSIDIOUS' - Guardian 'BRILLIANT' - Fiona Barton, author of The Child'PROPULSIVE' - Metro'INGENIOUS' - Sabine Durrant, author of Lie With Me'SINISTER' - Red'MENACING' - C.L. Taylor, author of The Fear 'FANTASTIC' - Sunday Mirror'ELEGANT' - Joanna Cannon, author of Three Things about Elsie'GRIPPING' - The Literary Review'UNRELENTING' - Mick Herron, author of Spook Street 'ENTHRALLING' - Heat'FASCINATING' - Linda Green, author of When My Eyes Were Closed'INTELLIGENT' - Good Housekeeping
  • More

Name of the Dog: A Lefty Mendieta Investigation (Book 3)

By Élmer Mendoza
Authors:
Élmer Mendoza
Perfect for fans of Mick Herron and John Le Carré"The most important thing that's happened in Mexican literature in the last thirty years" Gaby Wood, Sunday Telegraph.It's Christmas in Culiacán and Detective Edgar "Lefty" Mendieta can't believe his luck. An old flame has returned with a teenage son he knew nothing about. Happiness seems to finally beckon for our careworn hero. The only snag is that Jason Mendieta wants to follow in his father's footsteps-even as Mexico's drug war descends a slippery slope toward chaos.While Lefty pursues a lunatic who has taken to bumping off dentists with a heavy-calibre pistol, a secret agent infiltrates a meeting of the drug lords and hears Pacific Cartel boss Samantha Valdés implore her underlings to stay out of the war. But an audacious murder provokes Samantha to change her mind and launch a wave of grisly killings across the country.Samantha then persuades Lefty to help her find the killer that pushed her over the edge. The truth he discovers will underline an old adage: revenge is a dish best served cold. No quiet family Christmas for our detective.
  • More

Nobody's Child

By Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
'The two sisters slept in the same bed, hugging one another for comfort and warmth. "It'll be so cold on the road," Ella said. "Anything has to be better than staying here," Kath pointed out. She thought of a town far away her mother had told her about. Their friends would be gathered as they did most winters, but it was a very long way from here. She tried not to dwell on that problem as they set off.'When their mother dies and their father, in his grief, burns down their wagon and runs away, Kath and Ella - gypsy sisters - suddenly become orphans. With no one to turn to for help, they face hardship and prejudice at every turn. Will the bond between the two sisters be enough to see them safely through?From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy and Far From My Father's House comes a heartwarming tale of family and overcoming adversity.
  • More
  • Nightingale's Lament

    By Simon R. Green
    Authors:
    Simon R. Green
    Private eye John Taylor must find the Nightingale before her magical voice ensorcels the entire Nightside - and drives all the denizens of the netherworlds to suicide! No one likes a diva - particularly one who lures her fans to an early grave. In the concealed heart of London known as the Nightside, a place of everlasting darkness, private eye John Taylor has a new case: finding the elusive young songstress known as the Nightingale. The singer has fallen under the influence of a merciless husband-and-wife management team. Once she sang cheerful, upbeat tunes; now her songs are so melancholy that all who hear her are driven to suicide. Taylor is determined to uncover the truth behind this powerful voice, before the whole of the Nightside falls under the singer's deadly spell. But to do so, he must first listen to the Nightingale himself . . . Nightingale's Lament is the third title in Simon R. Green's New York Times bestselling Nightside series.
    • More

    The New Centurions

    By Joseph Wambaugh
    Authors:
    Joseph Wambaugh
    In a class of new police recruits, Augustus Plebesly is fast and scared. Roy Fehler is full of ideals. And Serge Duran is an ex-marine running away from his Chicano childhood. In a few weeks they'll put on the blue uniform of the LAPD. In the months to come, they'll learn that right and wrong aren't always clearly black and white. Bad guys populate both sides of the law. Rules are subject to interpretation. Justice is slow and convoluted. And life is not fair.But for these men, these new centurions, time is an enemy. The year is 1960. The streets are burning with rage. And before they can grow old on this job, they'll have to fight for their lives...
    • More

    No-One Loves a Policeman

    By Guillermo Orsi
    Authors:
    Guillermo Orsi
    • More

    Night and Day

    By Robert B. Parker
    Authors:
    Robert B. Parker
    • More
  • Nineteen Eighty Three

    By David Peace
    Authors:
    David Peace
    • More
  • Nineteen Seventy Four

    By David Peace
    Authors:
    David Peace
    • More

    The Natural Disorder of Things

    By Andrea Canobbio
    Authors:
    Andrea Canobbio
    • More
    1