Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books

Darwin Comes to Town

By Menno Schilthuizen
Authors:
Menno Schilthuizen
See your city through fresh eyesWe are marching towards a future in which three-quarters of humans live in cities, and a large portion of the planet's landmass is urbanized. With much of the rest covered by human-shaped farms, pasture, and plantations, where can nature still go? To the cities -- is Menno Schilthuizen's answer in this remarkable book. And with more and more wildlife carving out new niches among humans, evolution takes a surprising turn. Urban animals evolve to become more cheeky and resourceful, city pigeons develop detox-plumage, and weeds growing from cracks in the pavement get a new type of seeds. City blackbirds are even on their way of becoming an entirely new species, which we could name Turdus urbanicus.Thanks to evolutionary adaptation taking place at unprecedented speeds, plants and animals are coming up with new ways of living in the seemingly hostile environments of asphalt and steel that we humans have created. We are on the verge of a new chapter in the history of life, Schilthuizen says -- a chapter in which much old biodiversity is, sadly, disappearing, but also one in which a new and exciting set of life forms is being born.Menno Schilthuizen shows us that evolution in cities can happen far more rapidly, and strangely, than Darwin had dared dream.
  • More

The Digital Photography Handbook

By Doug Harman
Authors:
Doug Harman
Need to know which digital camera to buy? Want to take better photographs and retouch images? Ready to achieve professional results? This updated edition of The Digital Photography Handbook will allow you to make the most of all the advantages your camera has to offer - as well as guiding you through the latest software to enhance your images, and get professional results with every shot. This book includes expert advice on the art of photography (composition, depth of field and how to photograph a variety of subjects), editing and image manipulation software, how to print your images for the best results, developing a portfolio and mastering the rules of copyright. Doug Harman includes the very latest developments in digital technology, equipping you with everything you need to become a photographer. Contents include: Types of camera, Computers and software, Memory, Pixels and magnification, Saving images, Exposure, Composition, Light, Camera modes, Special effects, Manipulating images, Photo apps, Retouching old photos, Printing digital images, Selecting printers and paper, Archiving and the cloud, Making money from your images, Copyright rules and more.
  • More

Dead Gods: The 27 Club

By Chris Salewicz
Authors:
Chris Salewicz
Robert Johnson. Brian Jones. Jimi Hendrix. Janis Joplin. Jim Morrison. Kurt Cobain. Amy Winehouse. They were inspirational, controversial, talismanic and innovative. They lead lives full of myth, scandal, sex, drugs and some of the most glorious music that has ever heard. Though each of their lives were cut tragically short at the age of 27, they would all leave the world having changed it irrevocably. Chris Salewicz tells, in intimate detail, the stories behind these compelling figures. From Robert Johnson and his legendary deal with the devil, to Jimi Hendrix appearing like a psychedelic comet on the London scene, through to Amy Winehouse's blazing talent and her savage appetite for self-destruction.
  • More

The Dragon Throne

By Jonathan Fenby
Authors:
Jonathan Fenby
They were the most powerful rulers on earth. The mighty Qin Shi Huangdu (r. 221-210 BC), who began the construction of the Great Wall. The long-lived Han emperor Wudi (r. 141-87 BC), who developed China as a centralized Confucian state. The soldier-scholar Yongle (r. 1402-24 AD), who raised the Ming dynasty to its military peak. The dowager empress Cixi (r. 1861-1908 AD), who rose from humble Manchu origins to rule over all China. In The Dragon Throne, Jonathan Fenby tells the extraordinary story of imperial China through its 157 emperors, from Qin Shi Huangdu, who crushed his rivals to take supreme power as the first emperor in 221BC, until the final collapse of the faltering Manchu dynasty amidst the revolutionary chaos of the early twentieth century. The final emperor, the infant Puyi (r. 1908-12) ended his days as an assistant gardener in the very palace where he had been enthroned.
  • More

The Dress Thief

By Natalie Meg Evans
Authors:
Natalie Meg Evans
'Wonderful! I didn't want to put this book down' Amazon reviewer. Perfect for fans of The Villa in Italy, Island of Secrets and Amy Snow.Alix Gower may be poor but she's also ambitious, and she'd do anything to secure her dream job in one of Paris' premier fashion houses. But Alix also has a secret: she supports her family by stealing from the very houses she so adores. Then Alix is unexpectedly given a break - a way to support her elderly grandmother and a future she can believe in . . . but it comes at a terrible price. Will Alix risk her reputation, her relationships and even her personal safety for a dream? And is the handsome English reporter she keeps bumping into really to be trusted? The Dress Thief is an award-winning, atmospheric novel about love, dreams and betrayal.
  • More

The Digital Filmmaking Handbook

By Mark Brindle
Authors:
Mark Brindle
Whether you are already a seasoned director or simply a film fan, this comprehensive guide features everything you need to know to make a digital film: from the basics of capturing footage and planning a shoot, to the more advanced aspects of editing and post-production. Clear, step-by-step instruction on the technical aspects of filming with HD and DSLR cameras - including the latest advice on equipment, accessories, and software - are set alongside tips on the creative aspects - such as effects, making a storyboard and creating and lighting a set. Packed with tips and tricks to develop both your artistic flair and your technical know-how, The Digital Filmmaking Handbook is the ultimate resource for all your filmmaking needs.
  • More
1