Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books
  • The Glass Republic

    By Tom Pollock
    Authors:
    Tom Pollock
    'Marks the appearance of a powerful new imagination in SF' GuardianIn the gripping sequel to The City's Son, Pen returns to London-Under-Glass when her mirror sister - and biggest secret - is abducted. Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman's Neverwhere.Pen's life is all about secrets: the secret of the city's spirits, deities and monsters that live just beyond notice, the secret of how she got the intricate scars that disfigure her so cruelly - and the most closely guarded secret of all: Parva, her mirror-sister, forged from her reflection in a school bathroom mirror and the only person who really understands her.When Parva is abducted, Pen is forced to make a terrible bargain for the means to track her down, for in London-Under-Glass, looks are currency, and Pen's scars make her a rare and valuable commodity. Kept company by the pretty and fierce steeplejill, Espel, Pen isn't completely alone, but some in the reflected city will do anything to keep her from the secret of what happened to the sister who shared her face. The Glass Republic is the gripping sequel to The City's Son, and the second book of The Skyscraper Throne trilogy.
    • More

    Goodbye Mr Rat

    By Patrick McCabe
    Authors:
    Patrick McCabe
    A girl from northern Indiana travels to rural Ireland; where, as she bids a friend farewell, she meets malign misfortune. Goodbye Mr Rat forms half of Hello and Goodbye: two glitzy baubles - generously stuffed with the choicest, rustiest nails, lacquered with dread, and compressed to the point of detonation. Its sister title is Hello Mr Bones.
    • More

    The Ghost Hunters

    By Neil Spring
    Authors:
    Neil Spring
    'Deliciously creepy' Herald. A hair-raising fictionalized account of the Borley Rectory haunting, based on contemporary first-hand testimonies.Welcome to Borley Rectory, the most haunted house in England. The year is 1926 and Sarah Grey has landed herself an unlikely new job - personal assistant to Harry Price, London's most infamous ghost hunter. Equal parts brilliant and charming, neurotic and manipulative, Harry has devoted his life to exposing the truth behind England's many 'false hauntings', and never has he left a case unsolved, nor a fraud unexposed. So when Harry and Sarah are invited to Borley Rectory - a house so haunted that objects frequently fly through the air unbidden, and locals avoid the grounds for fear of facing the spectral nun that walks there - they're sure that this case will be just like any other. But when night falls and still no artifice can be found, the ghost hunters are forced to confront an uncomfortable possibility: the ghost of Borley Rectory may be real. And, if so, they're about to make its most intimate acquaintance.
    • More

    Games Creatures Play

    By Charlaine Harris
    Authors:
    Charlaine Harris
    • More
  • The Gods Look Down

    By Trevor Hoyle
    Authors:
    Trevor Hoyle
    When an ancient religious text reveals that nuclear physics capable of creating a new species of man existed in Biblical times, the mystified scientists of Earth IVn realise that something - or somebody - has been tampering with history . . .It's up to Christian Queghan to use his extraordinary powers as a Myth Technologist to unravel this baffling enigma, for only he can cross the barriers of time and space to uncover the malevolent force linking the distant past to the mythical future. Queghan is working with another scientist, decoding the ancient texts from ancient history - until he realises that his own colleague is seeking to alter history using the results of the research.Queghan must draw upon his ability to pass into alternate realities in an attempt to stop him, however dangerous it is for him.Q: The Gods Look Down is Book Three of the Q Series, an epic science fiction adventure through parallel worlds.
    • More

    The Galaxy Game

    By Karen Lord
    Authors:
    Karen Lord
    • More
  • Ghost of a Chance

    By Simon R. Green
    Authors:
    Simon R. Green
    Meet the operatives of the Carnacki Institute. The Institute's operatives are the best of the best: JC Chance, team leader, is undoubtedly brave, sharp as a tack, incredibly charming - and almost unbearably arrogant. Melody Chambers may be a science geek, but she's also the techno-wizard extraordinaire who keeps their anti-supernatural equipment running. And as for Happy Jack Palmer: their terminally gloomy telepath is the last person anyone would want navigating through their head.Their mission: Do Something About Ghosts. That means lay them to rest, send them packing, or just kick their nasty ectoplasmic arses with extreme prejudice . . . Their current is a haunting deep underground, in London's Oxford Circus tube station, but things become difficult when their rival team - the Crowley Project - get involved.Ghost of a Chance is the first title in New York Times bestselling author Simon R. Green's Ghost Finders series.
    • More
    1