Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books

Journal

By Helene Berr
Authors:
Helene Berr
From April 1942 to March 1944, Helene Berr, a recent graduate of the Sorbonne, kept a journal that is both an intensely moving, intimate, harrowing, appalling document and a text of astonishing literary maturity. With her colleagues, she plays the violin and she seeks refuge from the everyday in what she calls the "selfish magic" of English literature and poetry. But this is Paris under the occupation and her family is Jewish. Eventually, there comes the time when all Jews are required to wear a yellow star. She tries to remain calm and rational, keeping to what routine she can: studying, reading, enjoying the beauty of Paris. Yet always there is fear for the future, and eventually, in March 1944, Hélène and her family are arrested, taken to Drancy Transit Camp and soon sent to Auschwitz. She went - as is later discovered - on the death march to Bergen-Belsen and there she died in 1945, only weeks before the liberation of the camp. The last words in the journal she had left behind in Paris were "Horror, Horror, Horror.", a hideous and poignant echo of her English studies from The Heart of Darkness. Hélène Berr's story is almost too painful to read, foreshadowing horror as it does amidst an enviable appetite for life, for beauty, for literature, for all that lasts.
  • More

Jungle Soldier

By Brian Moynahan
Authors:
Brian Moynahan
  • More
  • The Janus Stone

    By Elly Griffiths
    Authors:
    Elly Griffiths
    Dr Ruth Galloway's forensic skills are called upon when builders, demolishing an old house in Norwich, uncover the bones of a child - minus the skull - beneath a doorway. Is it some ritual sacrifice or just plain straightforward murder? Ruth links up with DCI Harry Nelson to investigate. The house was once a children's home. Nelson traces the Catholic priest who used to run the place. He tells him that two children did go missing forty years before - a boy and a girl. They were never found. When carbon dating proves that the child's bones predate the home and relate to a time when the house was privately owned, Ruth is drawn ever more deeply into the case. But as spring turns into summer it becomes clear that someone is trying hard to put her off the scent by frightening her to death...
    • More

    Julia

    By Otto de Kat
    Authors:
    Otto de Kat
    • More

    A Journey to Nowhere

    By Jean-Paul Kauffmann
    Authors:
    Jean-Paul Kauffmann
    • More

    The Judas Goat (A Spenser Mystery)

    By Robert B. Parker
    Authors:
    Robert B. Parker
    Private detective Spenser has travelled to London in search of the bombers who attacked his client's family. But there are nine terrorists to track down and he has only his sidekick, Hawk, to help. Spenser hopes one of the targets will play 'Judas Goat', and lead him to the others. Trouble is, he hasn't counted on her being blond, beautiful and dangerous.
    • More

    Jacaranda Vines

    By Tamara McKinley
    Authors:
    Tamara McKinley
    If you love Lesley Pearse, you're sure to fall for Tamara McKinley.Jacaranda Vines was once the greatest vineyard in Australia, but the death of its owner, Jock Witney, leaves the business in shambles. As the Witney family fight over the future of the winery, Jock's young granddaughter Sophie makes a voyage of historical discovery through the Australian outback, hoping to learn more about her family's past. Set between the 1830s and the modern day, Jacaranda Vines is an exploration of ancestral ties, bitter rivalries and the importance of sharing family history.
    • More

    Judges

    By Andrea Camilleri, Carlo Lucarelli, Giancarlo De Cataldo
    Authors:
    Andrea Camilleri, Carlo Lucarelli, Giancarlo De Cataldo
    Camilleri, best known for his Inspector Montalbano series, presents the charming Judge Surra who moves to a small Sicilian town in the late nineteenth century. He does not quite understand the quirky welcoming gifts from the locals, but nothing stands in the way of his quest for justice - and pastries. Lucarelli brings us a far darker story. Judge Valentina Lorenzi - La Bambina - is so young and inexperienced she hardly merits a bodyguard. But when she barely survives an assassin's bullet, her black-and-white world of crime and punishment turns a deathly shade of grey. In The Triple Dream of the Prosecutor, De Cataldo, a judge himself, crafts a Kafkaesque tale of a lifelong feud between Prosecutor Mandati and the corrupt Mayor of Novere. When the mayor narrowly escapes a series of bizarre assassination attempts, Mandati begins to realise that all his dreams may just be coming true. From Italy's premiere crime authors, three novellas from every tradition of crime writing.
    • More

    Judge Surra

    By Andrea Camilleri
    Authors:
    Andrea Camilleri
    A charming short story from the author of the celebrated Inspector Montalbano series. Sicily, 1862. In the newly united Italy, Judge Surra arrives in Montelusa to take charge of the local court, in a town where conflict has been kind to a select few. At first, Surra is baffled by the quaint local customs: cryptic anonymous notes, mutterings in the street, tasty - if tasteless - gifts of disembodied animal heads. However, buoyed by his twin passions for justice and fine dining, Surra is determined to settle into island life, no matter who stands in his way. Distilling his customary humour and tension into this miniature masterpiece, Andrea Camilleri casts an ironic eye on the corruption and charm of a turbulent small town, testing his naïve but noble hero against the darkest arts of the Mafia.
    • More

    Jack the Lad and Bloody Mary

    By Joseph Connolly
    Authors:
    Joseph Connolly
    • More

    Judy: A Dog in a Million

    By Damien Lewis
    Authors:
    Damien Lewis
    • More

    The Jail Busters

    By Robert Lyman
    Authors:
    Robert Lyman
    • More

    Janey and Me

    By Virginia Ironside
    Authors:
    Virginia Ironside
    Is it every woman's fate to turn into her mother? This is renowned writer and journalist Virginia Ironside's poignant and blackly funny memoir of life with fashion professor and media icon Janey Ironside. Stylish, beautiful and self-loathing, Janey Ironside was to lead a cultural revolution. In 1956 she became Professor of Fashion at the Royal College of Art, then an extraordinary appointment for a young mother. Discovering and promoting designers like Ossie Clark and Bill Gibb, she changed the way people dressed around the world and herself became a fashion icon. Yet the qualities that made her great - wit, talent and drive - did not bring happiness to either her or her family. Having grown up in colonial India, Janey suffered a painful childhood separation from her parents. She married dashing artist Christopher Ironside, but eking out wartime rations ill-suited a woman whose idea of divine punishment was 'to spend eternity washing up.' Dress-making soon filled the void, while her daughter Virginia endured a string of au pairs, embarrassing outfits and acute loneliness. As Virginia fought to be her own person, plunging into the swing of the sixties as a rock journalist, she was caught between a father she adored and a mother bent on self-destruction. Now a renowned writer, she has drawn a startling portrait of a gifted woman in a time of extraordinary change. Blackly comic, beautifully written and deeply moving, JANEY AND ME reflects the universal struggle to emerge from our parents' shadow.
    • More
  • Just Another Judgement Day

    By Simon R. Green
    Authors:
    Simon R. Green
    Judgement Day has arrived for the inhabitants of the Nightside, and here to cast the first stone is God's very own agent of righteousness, the Walking Man. The Walking Man; God's enforcer on earth, has arrived, and brought Judgement Day with him. His sole mission is to rid the Nightside of sin and corruption, but the trouble is, that's exactly what the city was built on. It's a place where depravity rules, and where every dark desire can be fulfilled. If the Walking Man is allowed to carry out his indiscriminate purge, there'll soon be nothing - and no one - left. So the Authorities have hired private eye John Taylor to stop him, although that is likely to be easier said than done. Everyone knows that the Walking Man can't be killed, but if John Taylor doesn't find his weakness soon, he - along with the entire Nightside - will be facing God's wrath.Just another Judgement Day is the ninth title in Simon R. Green's New York Times bestselling Nightside series
    • More

    Jigsaw Man

    By Elena Forbes
    Authors:
    Elena Forbes
    • More

    Just Haven't Met You Yet

    By Cate Woods
    Authors:
    Cate Woods
    'Witty, engaging and original . . . I did not see that twist coming!' Paige Toon. Perfect for fans of The Bucket List to Mend a Broken Heart and The List.Percy James has everything a girl could want: a comfy flat, a steady relationship and a truly lovely group of friends. Then she is approached by Eros Tech. Eros is 'the future of love' - an agency that brings together soulmates using phone data. Percy has been identified as a match for one of Eros's super wealthy clients. The only problem is she already has a boyfriend . . . but what if this is *destiny*? Would you - could you - pass up a chance to meet your one true love?
    • More

    Jack & Jack: You Don't Know Jacks

    By Jack & Jack
    Authors:
    Jack & Jack
    Vine royalty, YouTube megastars, hip-pop sensations, and best friends, Jack & Jack bring their own brand of irreverent comedy, on-point style, and heartfelt life advice to You Don't Know Jacks.Jack & Jack: You Don't Know Jacks is a 240-page, full-colour behind-the-scenes look at the lives of Jack Gilinsky and Jack Johnson, two of the hottest stars performing today. The book details the rise of two best friends growing up in Nebraska, posting Nerd Vandals Vines, to becoming iTunes bestselling rap-rock stars. Full of exclusive photographs, backstage antics, and hilarious anecdotes, it's perfect for any fan who's ever dreamed of someday being famous.
    • More

    The Jo Fletcher Books Anthology

    By Frank P. Ryan, Markus Heitz, Christopher Golden, Sue Tingey, Stephanie Saulter, David Towsey, Naomi Foyle, Snorri Kristjansson, Tom Fletcher, Aidan Harte, Lisa Tuttle, Alison Littlewood, Rachel Pollack, John Matthews, Caitlín Matthews
    Authors:
    Frank P. Ryan, Markus Heitz, Christopher Golden, Sue Tingey, Stephanie Saulter, David Towsey, Naomi Foyle, Snorri Kristjansson, Tom Fletcher, Aidan Harte, Lisa Tuttle, Alison Littlewood, Rachel Pollack, John Matthews, Caitlín Matthews
    Whatever you fancy - enthralling epic fantasy or spine-tingling ghost-story, mythical thriller or riveting alternate history - Jo Fletcher Books has it all.Here at Jo Fletcher Books we pride ourselves on publishing high quality fantasy, science fiction and horror, of all types (we don't like to be bored). To demonstrate this, we've put together an anthology featuring a collection of short stories written by our wonderful authors. The Jo Fletcher Books Anthology includes stories from award-winning and bestselling writers including Lisa Tuttle, Alison Littlewood and Christopher Golden as well as many others: a showcase of the fantastic talent contained within this small but perfectly formed Imprint. Whatever your taste, there is something in here for everyone
    • More
    1