Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books

Women Who Changed The World

By Ros Horton, Sally Simmons
Authors:
Ros Horton, Sally Simmons
A celebration of the achievements of womankind, this book honours fifty amazing women and the incredible impact they have had on our world. From empire builders and healers to daring explorers and iconoclastic thinkers, these are moving stories of dedication, conflict, tragedy and triumph, as dramatic as any fiction. Each will both inspire readers and provide a greater understanding of the crucial role these women played in shaping our culture and history, and the debt we owe them.Presented chronologically, from antiquity to the modern day, each of these remarkable women's stories is told with a complete biography, a time-line setting their achievement in its historical context, and a selection of little-known facts and intimate insights, alongside an iconic black-and-white image and one of their inspiring quotations. Great Women in History pays homage to fifty of the most influential and admired women of all time, including: Cleopatra, Mary Magdalene, Boudicca, Joan of Arc, Catherine the Great, Elizabeth I, Emmeline Pankhurst, Jane Austen, Amelia Earhart, Marie Curie, Florence Nightingale, Mother Teresa, Virginia Woolf, Eleanor Roosevelt, Helen Keller, Anne Frank, Katharine Hepburn, Simone de Beauvoir, Rosa Parks, Madame Mao, Eva Peron, Margaret Thatcher, Marilyn Monroe, Germaine Greer, Billie Jean King, Oprah Winfrey, Madonna and Princess Diana.
  • More

What's So Funny?

By Donald E. Westlake
Authors:
Donald E. Westlake
John Dortmunder hasn't gotten where he is today by turning a blind eye to an easy heist. But he also knows an impossible job when it comes along. So when an ex-cop named Eppick presents him with a job that involves stealing a bejewelled, solid gold chess set, a chess set weighing more than one man can carry, from an underground vault in a Manhattan bank, Dortmunder says no thanks.Eppick says he is to steal the chess set or go to jail for previous. So John and his bumbling band of good natured thieves put together a plan. But is it a workable plan?
  • More

Wartime Notebooks

By Marguerite Duras
Authors:
Marguerite Duras
Marguerite Duras was one of the leading intellectuals and novelists of post-war France. This work, retrieved from the papers she left at her death, consists of four notebooks written between 1943 and 1949 followed by ten previously unpublished short stories and autobiographical texts.She writes vividly about her childhood and teenage years in Indochina, stuck between a mother whom she loves and admires despite her shortcomings and her two brothers - one of whom was paranoid and violent.What emerges from these books is a fascinating portrayal of how Duras' life and work entertwine. Leo, the hero of her novel The Lover, is laid bare here as an uninteresting, weak man, despised by her family because he is a native. Physically he repulses her, but she and her family need his wealth. Duras becomes both whore and saviour to her family.The passages of what would later become the published manuscript of La Douleur are equally compelling. Undeniably tough to write, Duras movingly conveys her expectations and the long wait for her husband's return from concentration camps. She chronicles every little hope and disappointment she lives through.
  • More

With My Lazy Eye

By Julia Kelly
Authors:
Julia Kelly
  • More

Walking to the Moon

By Kate Cole-Adams
Authors:
Kate Cole-Adams
  • More

Who Am I?

By Anthony Adolph
Authors:
Anthony Adolph
  • More

Wrath of God

By Edward Paice
Authors:
Edward Paice
  • More

What's Next

By Max Brockman
Authors:
Max Brockman
  • More
  • Women Who Kill

    By Vanessa Howard
    Authors:
    Vanessa Howard
    Every murder is shocking, but few crimes shock society more than when the killer is a woman. There has been an explosion in female violence in the last ten years, and Women Who Kill brings to light some of the most horrific and compelling cases in this disturbing trend. From the happy-slapping teenage murderer Chelsea O'Mahoney to Heather Stephenson-Snell, the psychotherapist turned Scream-masked psychopath; from Edith McAlinden, butcher queen of Glasgow's 'House of Blood' to the mother of Baby P, women who kill have motives as diverse as the methods of slaying their victims. Are they victims themselves, or just evil? As society changes, will more and more women feel driven to kill?
    • More

    Words of Wisdom

    By Gareth Southwell
    Authors:
    Gareth Southwell
    • More

    Warrior Women

    By Robin Cross, Rosalind Miles
    Authors:
    Robin Cross, Rosalind Miles
    From earliest times, women gained access to leadership in times of conflict and proved themselves equal to the challenge of commanding during war. Women leaders abounded in the ancient world from Ireland to Israel, sometimes through the accident of birth, but often rising to power through naked opportunism and raw courage in the ranks - and it is no accident that women war leaders, like men, are often famous for their strong sexual drive. Wherever there is war, there has often been a woman at the helm. Later ages frequently wrote these women out of history, but their stories have refused to die. From the legendary leader of the Amazons who fought the greatest of Greek heroes, Achilles, to the Iron Ladies of today, the women of both West and East directing military campaigns and leading their countries in war. Presenting an array of fascinating and sometimes little known women war leaders, popular author Rosalind Miles and the acclaimed military historian Robin Cross do full justice to the achievements of these women, some of whose amazing stories have so far never been told. Warrior women include: Penthesilea the Amazons queen, Deborah, Cleopatra VII, Boudicca, Eleanor of Aquitaine, Joan of Arc, Elizabeth I, Grace O'Malley, Deborah Samson, Nadezda Durova, Harriet Tubman, Anna Etheridge, Soldaderas, Flora Sandes, Lily Litvak, Women of the Warsaw Ghetto, Hanna Reitsch, Ruth Werner, Jeanne Holm, Margaret Thatcher, Women in Today's Armies, Martha McSally and more...
    • More

    A Watermelon, a Fish and a Bible

    By Christy Lefteri
    Authors:
    Christy Lefteri
    • More

    Who's Afraid of Mr Wolfe?

    By Hazel Osmond
    Authors:
    Hazel Osmond
    Ellie Somerset's high-flying job as an advertising copywriter is hard work, but she's got it under control. Her sexy, devil-may-care new boss, on the other hand? She'll try her best...A perfect romantic comedy for fans of Holly Martin and Cathy Bramley.Ellie Somerset loves her career-obsessed boyfriend Sam and she loves her job as an advertising copywriter. But Sam is always at work and her fresh ideas keep being overlooked. Her life gets more complicated when new boss Jack Wolfe - Heathcliff in jeans - arrives at the agency. With his brooding good looks, trademark scowl and plans for change, he challenges Ellie to smarten up and prove herself. To Ellie's horror, she finds herself both repelled and attracted to the sexy and dangerous Jack. But this particular wolf has an awful lot to hide . . .
    • More
  • World History

    By Ian Crofton
    Authors:
    Ian Crofton
    People often complain that in history lessons at school they were taught just a few topics - the Romans, the Tudors, the Nazis - and how they have no idea at all about what happened in between. To remedy this, World History: 50 Key Milestones You Really Need to Know offers brief and stimulating outlines of key developments in the history of the world, from the beginning of agriculture 10,000 years ago to the attack on the Twin Towers on 9/11. Ian Crofton, the author of several books of popular history including The Kings and Queens of England, Traitors and Turncoats and History Without the Boring Bits, brings his lively style to bear in a series of essays ranging from ancient Egypt to modern China, from the Vikings and the Mongols to the French Revolution and the Cold War. Each essay is accompanied by a detailed time line of dates and events, and the flavour of the period concerned is brought to life by selected contemporary quotations from figures as diverse as Aristotle, Ashoka, Saladin, Christopher Columbus, Martin Luther, Suleiman the Magnificent, Galileo, Voltaire, Thomas Jefferson, Mary Wollstonecraft, Napoleon, Lincoln, Lenin and Winston Churchill. In addition, box features throw light on a range of related topics, from the Nazca Lines to Renaissance man, from Confucianism and the state to Alexander the Great's horse, from Islamic science and the Barbary corsairs to the Enigma code and the atomic bomb.
    • More

    White Dog

    By Peter Temple
    Authors:
    Peter Temple
    • More

    The Woman in Silk

    By R.J. Gadney
    Authors:
    R.J. Gadney
    • More

    The Watermen

    By Patrick Easter
    Authors:
    Patrick Easter
    • More

    Wonders of the Ancient World

    By Justin Pollard
    Authors:
    Justin Pollard
    • More

    A Walk Across the Sun

    By Corban Addison
    Authors:
    Corban Addison
    • More

    A Willing Victim

    By Laura Wilson
    Authors:
    Laura Wilson
    • More