Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books
  • Exile's Return

    By Kate Jacoby
    Authors:
    Kate Jacoby
    The first in a glorious epic of political intrigue, sorcery and romance: magic can no longer lie hidden when an ancient evil threatens the country, perfect for fans of Robert Jordan and Robin Hobb.Robert Douglas, Earl of Dunlorn, has returned to Lusara after three years of self-imposed exile to find that the Guild has spread its Halls throughout the land, bringing fear and tyranny to the people. The usurper King Selar is too busy planning to overthrow his brother, king of neighbouring Mayeene, to notice - or perhaps to care - what is going on in his country. Robert has sworn a vow never to oppose the king, but his brother Finnlay won't let him return quietly to his lands, for Robert, like his younger brother, is a sorcerer. Magic is outlawed in Lusara, and most believe it to have vanished from the land; but there are a few who still wield the power in secret for the good of the common folk.And when Robert and Finnlay rescue Jenn, running in fear of her life from Guildsmen, they discover a new kind of sorcerer: one whose powers, though different, may be as great as Robert's. And with Jenn come new possibilities . . .
    • More

    Empire of Lies

    By Andrew Klavan
    Authors:
    Andrew Klavan
    Sustained by a deep religious faith, Jason Harrow has built a stable family and become a pillar of principle and patriotism in the Midwest. Then the phone rings, and his past is on the other end of the line. A woman with whom he once shared a life of violence and desire claims her daughter is missing - and Jason is the one man who can find her. Returning to New York, Jason finds himself entangled in a murderous conspiracy only he can see and only he can stop. Hunted by terrorists and by the police, Harrow has just hours to unravel an ex-lover's lies and face the unbearable truth: in order to prevent a savage attack on his country, he's going to have to risk his decency, his sanity, and his life.
    • More

    Every Promise

    By Andrea Bajani
    Authors:
    Andrea Bajani
    • More

    Early Autumn (A Spenser Mystery)

    By Robert B. Parker
    Authors:
    Robert B. Parker
    A bitter divorce results in a father ordering the kidnapping of his own son, and private detective Spenser is hired by the mother to get her boy back. But when Spenser senses the lay of the land, he decides to do some kidnapping of his own, and soon finds there is a contract out on his own life.
    • More

    Emperors of Rome

    By David Potter
    Authors:
    David Potter
    • More

    The Expo Files

    By Stieg Larsson
    Authors:
    Stieg Larsson
    • More

    Earth

    By Douglas Palmer
    Authors:
    Douglas Palmer
    Uncovered here are the 100 groundbreaking discoveries that reveal why Earth is the one lucky blue planet in our Solar System that can support life and how this has come about in its myriad forms. The Material World: clay and quartz, feldspar and diamond, satellite image of deltaic muds, sandy desert, feldspar crystals, diamond, crystal, the water cycle, seawater, clouds, glacier ice, volcanic gas propelling pyroclastic flow. Earth's Engine: computer model of flow in the core and the magnetic field, major fault zone e.g. San Andreas or East African Rift; folded rocks in mountains e.g. one of the alpine 'nappes' or Zagros mountain folds and erupting volcano. Earth's Changing Face: Earth's oldest rocks (Greenland or Pilbara, Australia), stromatolites from Western Australia - early marine rocks, banded iron formation rocks (Australia), snowball Earth glacial deposits in Namibia, Carboniferous coal deposits with seat earths in which the plants grew. Living Earth: hydrothermal vent communities, hot-spring life forms, simple plants e.g. lichens and mosses and complex ones such as modern flowering plants, domesticated plants and animals. Past Life: 3.2 billion year old acritarch spores from South Africa, fossil red algae (Bangiomorpha) and first evidence for sexual reproduction, Cooksonia (first true land plant). Life Evolves: the Ediacaran explosion in late Precambrian times, the Cenozoic explosion of mammals, insects and flowering plants, the human family bursts upon the scene, trilobites slowly evolve, the end of the Palaeozoic world 251 million years ago, the end of the Mesozoic world 65 million years ago. Earth's Future: computer simulations of future plate positions, what the world will look like with changing sealevel, artists impressions of future evolutionary adaptations.
    • More

    The Enigma of the Return

    By Dany Laferrière
    Authors:
    Dany Laferrière
    • More

    Every Seventh Wave

    By Daniel Glattauer
    Authors:
    Daniel Glattauer
    • More
  • The Escape Artist

    By Mark Sullivan
    Authors:
    Mark Sullivan
    Eastern Democratic Republic of Congo, 2007: Robin Monarch is on a mission to gain possession of a politically sensitive object. Securing the target is child's play for Monarch, but exiting the jungle alive will pose a far greater challenge . . .Buenos Aires, 1987: An eighteen-year-old Robin Monarch has begun to question the dark direction the Brotherhood of Thieves is taking. As such, there is only one path he can now take: voice his objection, and - by doing so - risk his life.ROGUE GENESIS is a collection of two short stories (INCURSION and RENDITION) and one novella (THE ESCAPE ARTIST) introducing Robin Monarch - CIA agent, expert thief, and star of the explosive international thriller ROGUE.
    • More
  • The Emperor's Knife

    By Mazarkis Williams
    Authors:
    Mazarkis Williams
    Only a forgotten prince and a girl from the grasslands can stop the Patttern Master in this 'compelling and wholly convincing fantasy' (Ben Aaronovitch, author of The Rivers of London). Written under a pseudonym by a Sunday Times bestselling author and a critically acclaimed writer, this 'riveting and intense novel' (Publishers Weekly) is perfect for fans of Mark Lawrence and Brandon Sanderson. There is a cancer at the heart of the mighty Cerani empire: a plague that first marks its victims, then covers their skin in geometric patterns until they die in agony - or are subsumed, their bodies now in thrall to the Pattern Master. Emperor Beyon's law is that any hint of the pattern means death, before they become another puppet for the sorcerer to use for his evil ends - to see the Cerani Empire reduced to dust and whispers.No one but his mother knows the emperor himself is infected, and so she looks to her only other living son, Prince Sarmin, locked in a tower since Beyon ascended the throne. A bride is chosen, a girl from the grasslands quite unused to the politics and intrigue of the imperial court - but she is strong-willed and determined, and she once saw a path in a pattern in the waving grasses: a path that might just save them all.
    • More
  • Exile

    By Jakob Ejersbo
    Authors:
    Jakob Ejersbo
    • More

    Eureka!

    By Hazel Muir
    Authors:
    Hazel Muir
    • More

    The Extra Hour

    By Lisa Tuttle
    Authors:
    Lisa Tuttle
    'Lisa Tuttle never disappoints' George R.R. MartinAn exclusive short story from the author of THE MYSTERIES and THE SILVER BOUGH.A working wife and mother longs for more time to write, then finds a hidden room where her wish is granted, where she can work undisturbed in a place out of time...
    • More

    Eldorado Network

    By Derek Robinson
    Authors:
    Derek Robinson
    1941. Hitler rampant. Spain neutral. Madrid, like Casablanca, the launching pad for spies from all sides. The most daring and audacious is codenamed 'Eldorado'. Young, inexperienced, hotheaded, he had no right to survive, let alone succeed. Now his network is the most valuable in Europe, and the fates of armies lie in his hands.But who does he work for? Or is he only in it for himself? One thing's for sure. War may be a dirty business, but it certainly brings home the bacon. Based on a true story, The Eldorado Network is the first novel in Derek Robinson's acclaimed Luis Cabrillo Quartet. A tense and gripping espionage thriller from a master of action and suspense.
    • More

    English as a Second Language

    By Megan Crane
    Authors:
    Megan Crane
    Alexandra Brennan is doing just fine in a dead end job working for people she hates in New York, until she bumps into an ex in a bar, and he tells her she'll never make it to graduate school in the UK. Never one to let a challenge pass her by, Alex applies and when she gets a place at the University of York, she finds herself on a plane to the other side of the Atlantic, wondering what on earth she's done.Armed with American cigarettes and extra-strength coffee, Alex is ready to face everything Britain has to offer - beer, blokes and more books than she can possibly read in a year. Falling for her lecturer, the divine Sean Douglas, and managing to get a Master's somewhere along the line, Alex realises that instead of running away from home, she might just have found it
    • More

    Earth in 100 Groundbreaking Discoveries

    By Douglas Palmer
    Authors:
    Douglas Palmer
    • More

    Empress of Rome

    By Matthew Dennison
    Authors:
    Matthew Dennison
    • More

    Emperor of the West

    By Hywel Williams
    Authors:
    Hywel Williams
    • More

    Evil in Return

    By Elena Forbes
    Authors:
    Elena Forbes
    • More