Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books

Kiss Her Goodbye

By Max Allan Collins, Mickey Spillane
Authors:
Max Allan Collins, Mickey Spillane
Private eye Mike Hammer is recuperating in Florida after a mob shootout when he learns that his old mentor from the New York police force has taken his own life. All the evidence points to suicide, but Hammer knows that Inspector Doolan would never have killed himself - and that it's finally time for him to return to his once beloved New York. When a woman is murdered just a few blocks from Doolan's funeral, Hammer is soon drawn into the hunt for a hoard of Nazi diamonds, and for a mystery woman who had been close to Doolan in his final days. Before long, the investigation leads him to a Mafia social club, and to a classic Spillane showdown. A week before his death, Mickey Spillane entrusted all of his unfinished works to his frequent collaborator, Max Allan Collins. Kiss Her Goodbye is based on two of Spillane's unfinished novels.
  • More

Kramer's War

By Derek Robinson
Authors:
Derek Robinson
Jersey, 1944. Lieutenant Earl Kramer, sole survivor of a ditched USAF bomber, crawls out of the sea one night and cuts the throat of a German sentry. Big mistake. Jersey is under Nazi occupation, and the lives of its inhabitants depend on an uneasy co-existence with their oppressors. Though Kramer's motives were entirely patriotic, to the islanders he presents a terrifying risk to their very survival. But to Kramer, a man governed by an overriding sense of duty, this stronghold of Hitler's armies proves too irresistible a target to ignore... Kramer's War is a powerful novel about the savagery of war, from the bestselling and Booker-shortlisted author of Goshawk Squadron.
  • More

Kentucky Blues

By Derek Robinson
Authors:
Derek Robinson
Rock Springs, Kentucky. A backwater miles from civilisation, but so far upstream that the riverboats can go no further, and with plenty of farmland there for the taking. Among the pioneers who choose to build their homes here are the Hudds and the Killicks, two families destined to spend the next century despising one another. Kentucky Blues is a powerful, unsentimental depiction of life through several generations, widely considered to be Robinson's most ambitious work. Told with his trademark dark humour, it is an epic tale of one small community's journey from its foundation in the 1820s, through the Civil War and the abolition of slavery, to the dawn of the modern age.
  • More
  • Keane's Company

    By Iain Gale, David Timson
    Authors:
    Iain Gale
    Read by:
    David Timson
    'Wonderfully imaginative' Bernard Cornwell, author of The Last Kingdom. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow and Bernard Cornwell. Meet James Keane of the 27th Foot: an ill-disciplined card sharp and ladies' man - and one of the finest soldiers of Wellington's army. Keane's task, assigned directly by Wellington, is the creation of an intelligence unit operating behind the French lines. He and his company are trusted with the secrets of the generals - and viewed with hostile suspicion by regular troops. In a bid to recruit men with uncommon skills, Keane springs soldiers from military jails and liberates them from their regiments. It's up to him to form this band of blackguards into an elite unit. Deep in enemy territory, they must negotiate with dangerous guerilla groups and forge new routes for their army if they are to succeed - and survive. Based on the true activities of the first British military intelligence unit, Keane's Company presents an unusual and fascinating picture of the Peninsular War: a nineteenth-century Dirty Dozen and a worthy companion to Sharpe.
    • More
  • Knight Takes Queen

    By CC Gibbs
    Authors:
    CC Gibbs
    • More
  • Knife-Sworn

    By Mazarkis Williams
    Authors:
    Mazarkis Williams
    There's a murderer loose in the Imperial Court: it could mean war in this 'twisty and enjoyable tale' (SFX) and 'wholly convincing fantasy world' says Ben Aaronovitch, bestselling author of Foxglove Summer.After years locked in a tower, Sarmin has come into his own: he has been crowned emperor, he has wed Mesema of the grasslands, and the Pattern Master is dead. Everything should be happy-ever-after.But war is threatening, Sarmin has no royal assassin and both Mesema and his mother have given birth to sons, throwing the succession into question. The last thing anyone needs is for the Yrkman peace envoy to be murdered in his bed.There are numerous possible killers, and it's up to Grada, Sarmin's trusted investigator, to follow the clues - no matter how close to the throne they lead her.Conspiracies, secret agendas and betrayals abound in this riveting sequel to The Emperor's Knife.
    • More
  • Knight's Game

    By CC Gibbs
    Authors:
    CC Gibbs
    • More

    Killing Range

    By Phil Campion
    Authors:
    Phil Campion
    • More

    Knight's Mistress

    By CC Gibbs
    Authors:
    CC Gibbs
    • More

    The King's Mistress

    By Claudia Gold
    Authors:
    Claudia Gold
    • More

    Killed at the Whim of a Hat

    By Colin Cotterill
    Authors:
    Colin Cotterill
    • More

    Karama!

    By Johnny West
    Authors:
    Johnny West
    Johnny West has lived in this area for the past decade and speaks fluent Arabic, and so has the skills and ability to talk to everyone from security guards to revolutionaries, from families of protestors, some of whom have been killed, to oil workers, to cafe owners, lawyers, barbers and clerics. Travelling on public buses, visiting with families, hanging out in shops and cafes, he brings out for all of us what made ordinary people erupt, what happened to them during those days and now, what their hopes, fears and dreams are, how they see us in the West, how each country is different but how they see themselves as part of a joint Arab culture, before Islamists. Johnny West's long experience in the area enables him to set all this in context, while never losing the vividness of a travel book or the characters of a novel. This is not a political treatise but a journey of discovery - of people, of places, of life under extraordinary circumstances - which this book allows us to share and makes one feels as if one had been there.
    • More

    Killed at the Whim of a Hat

    By Colin Cotterill
    Authors:
    Colin Cotterill
    • More