Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books
  • When Day Is Done

    By Elizabeth Gill
    Authors:
    Elizabeth Gill
    From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy comes the first book in the beloved Deerness series - a saga of love and loss, perfect for fans of Linda Finlay and Mary Gibson.When Dryden's wife dies he is finally free to pursue his one true love. But Vinia is tragically already married to Dryden's employer, Joe, manager of the Black Prince coal pit. Joe's jealousy over the growing connection between his wife and Dryden sends Dryden into the arms of the beautiful and fiery Roberta Grant. But can Dryden ever truly forget Vinia?
    • More

    The World in Colour

    By Amber Anderson
    Authors:
    Amber Anderson
    Make your own mindful journey as you travel the globe with Amber Anderson's beautifully hand-drawn World in Colour. Small enough to take with you wherever you go, you'll find a new illustration, each with an inspiring affirmation, for the World's most famous sights, from the Sydney Opera House to the Eiffel Tower, taking in the leaning tower of Pisa, the Empire State Building and other wonders on the way. Colouring is a proven antidote to the stresses of modern life: satisfying and creative at the same time. Let your imagination travel the World with Amber's intricate, unique drawings to create your own oasis of calm in your busy day.
    • More

    The Wrong Girl

    By Laura Wilson
    Authors:
    Laura Wilson
    A sudden death exposes three generations of family secrets in this gripping, atmospheric psychological thriller for fans of Clare Mackintosh, Belinda Bauer and B A Paris.Janice Keaton is living a quiet, easy life when a longed-for reunion with the daughter she gave up for adoption several decades earlier drags her into a lethal confrontation with her past. Did her brother, Dan, die a natural death? Is Joe, her former lover, really an acid casualty, or was there another reason for his abrupt withdrawal from public life? And what is her granddaughter, Molly, hiding? As she struggles to come to terms with a series of shocks, Janice realises that her recollections of the past hold a sinister secret - one with deadly consequences. And then Molly disappears...
    • More

    The Watchers

    By Neil Spring
    Authors:
    Neil Spring
    A chilling tale based on true events from the bestselling author of The Ghost Hunters - now a major ITV drama starring Rafe SpallAt the height of the Cold War, officials at the Ministry of Defence conducted a highly secret investigation into unusual events that occurred along a strip of rugged coastline within the Pembrokeshire National Park nicknamed 'The Broad Haven Triangle'. The events made national headlines: lights and objects hovering in the sky, ghostly figures peering into farmhouse windows, cowering animals, and poltergeists plaguing a terrified family of witnesses.Thirty years later, official files pertaining to these occurrences were finally released for public scrutiny at the National Archives. The disclosure prompted a new witness to come forward to speak of what he knew. His testimony rocked the very foundations of the British Government. This is his story.
    • More

    Words of Wisdom

    By Gareth Southwell
    Authors:
    Gareth Southwell
    Words of Wisdom brings together 360 of Philosophy's most famous quotations, explaining their meaning and telling the stories behind them. Western philosophy may be said to have begun in ancient Greece, where, inscribed in his temple at Delphi, the words of the god Apollo commanded those who sought wisdom to first 'know thyself'. With the author's usual humour and clarity of style, the whole 2,500 year history of philosophy is laid bare. Each quote is set in the context of its cultural background, author biography and general outlook; trends are highlighted, links established, and influences traced, all in a way that is entertaining, thought-provoking, and even fun. Words of Wisdom is the perfect book for those who always wanted to ask what philosophy was about, but were afraid they might not understand the answer.
    • More

    What You Want

    By Constantine Phipps
    Authors:
    Constantine Phipps
    Patrick is still in love with his estranged wife. Returning with their son after a trip to an amusement park, he begs, one last time, to reconcile with her. When she refuses, he is driven to thoughtless desperation: a bottle of sleeping pills, a bottle of whisky. And in his dying dream, he revisits that theme park of childish desire. There he finds the landscape - still garish and indulgent - has evolved. The attractions are religion, money and sex. The characters - costumed and acted - are transformed into Jefferson, Xunzi, Aristotle. And their purpose is to instruct Patrick in the pursuit of happiness throughout human history. But Patrick can only answer with his own story. He remembers falling in love with Louise. Recalls the enlightenment of their youth and the banality of their family life. He tells of their marriage, how it came under strain after the birth of his son; how he cheated; the unravelling of all his joy. Yet still his love persists. Beginning with the first line of Dante's Divine Comedy and taking Disneyworld, the Declaration of Independence and the canon of philosophy in its stride, What You Want is a literary feat: a novel written entirely in verse, depicting life in all its ordinariness. It gives voice to a new Everyman and brings forth an unparalleled modern epic.
    • More

    Women Who Ruled

    By Claudia Gold
    Authors:
    Claudia Gold
    • More
  • World History in Minutes

    By Dorothy Ail, Tat Wood
    Authors:
    Dorothy Ail, Tat Wood
    What happened to the Roman Empire? Why was the Magna Carta so important? What led to the First World War? Why did the USSR collapse? World History in Minutes provides succinct answers to these questions - and many more - in 200 simple and accessible essays. From the 100 Years War to the Gulf Wars, and from the wisdom of Aristotle to the Civil Rights movement, this book distils the major events in human history into easily digestible chunks. Each essay is accompanied by an image - or a clear diagram to illustrate complex ideas - and will plug the gaps in your knowledge of the most important eras, movements and events in the history of humankind. World History in Minutes is the perfect introduction to this expansive subject. Contents include: Neanderthals, Babylonians, Attilla the Hun, Abyssinian Empire, Magna Carta, Black Death, Inca, Henry VIII Reformation, Ulster Plantations, Rousseau and the Enlightenment, Declaration of Independence, French Revolution, Tonga Civil War, Universal Suffrage, Spanish Influenza, Great Depression, Pearl Harbour, The Space Age, Civil Rights, Environmentalism, Oligarchs and Tiger Economies.
    • More

    The Wave Trilogy

    By Aidan Harte
    Authors:
    Aidan Harte
    Sofia Scaligeri, soon-to-be Contessa of Rasenna, longs to see her feuding city reunited, but even as Engineer Giovanni Bernoulli bridges Irenicon, the magical river dividing Rasenna, the Apprentices in the gleaming towers of Concord plot to destroy it. Sofia must find a way to defeat them, lest evil reign forever.
    • More

    Winter Breaks

    By Joseph Connolly
    Authors:
    Joseph Connolly
    • More

    Winning Recipes

    By Natalie Coleman
    Authors:
    Natalie Coleman
    • More

    Without God, Is Everything Permitted?

    By Julian Baggini
    Authors:
    Julian Baggini
    • More

    Why 1914?

    By Derek Robinson
    Authors:
    Derek Robinson
    Short, brisk and highly readable, this account stands out from the flood of books written for the Centenary of the Great War. In Why 1914?, Derek Robinson - trained as a historian, shortlisted for the Booker Prize - applies his novelist's skills to asking how and why Europe hurried into such a massive disaster. He captures a world of kings and Kaisers, generals and infantrymen. None of them knew what a big European war meant. All the combatant nations assumed it would be short, and each expected to win. The roots of such folly began in the nineteenth century. Robinson traces the earliest warning signs, leading to a sudden crisis and an impulsive war that went massively wrong from the start. This book is the ideal introduction to the key question of the Great War: why did Europe explode?
    • More

    Where Women are Kings

    By Christie Watson
    Authors:
    Christie Watson
    • More
  • The Walls of Byzantium

    By James Heneage
    Authors:
    James Heneage
    'One hell of a fine book' Conn IgguldenIN AN AGE OF CLASHING EMPIRES, DARK FORCES FROM THE EAST ENDANGER THE FIRST LIGHT OF THE WESTERN RENAISSANCE...It is an age of ruthless rulers, divided churches, fractured dynasties and intrepid traders. It is an age of great cities like Venice and Constantinople; an age of conquerors like Tamerlane who will drown the world in blood; an age when only a hero of exceptional gifts can make a difference. Luke Magoris is that hero. A hero who will find himself committed to a long journey to discover - and try to avoid - his destiny. He will travel from battle to trading fortune, from horse dealing to captivity, and to the love of three very different women and the unrelenting enmity of two remarkable men.
    • More
  • The Warring States

    By Aidan Harte
    Authors:
    Aidan Harte
    The second book in the Wave Trilogy, set in a darkly original alternative Renaissance Italy.After the rout at Rasenna, Concord faces enemies on all fronts, and nobody believes that the last surviving Apprentice is equal to these crises - but Torbidda didn't become Apprentice by letting himself be manipulated. While Sofia is struggling to understand her miraculous pregnancy, the City of Towers grows wealthy. But it's not long before the people of Rasenna start arguing again, and as the city falls apart once more, Sofia realises she must escape Etruria to save her baby. When prophecy leads her to another cesspit of treachery, the decadent Crusader kingdom of Oltremare, Sofia begins to despair, for this time she can see no way out...
    • More

    Willow Trees don't Weep

    By Fadia Faqir
    Authors:
    Fadia Faqir
    Najwa's father left when she was four years old. Now, upon her mother's death, she cannot live alone in the Islamic society of Jordan. She must find her father. Her search takes her through new dangers as she becomes swept up with a mysterious organization which sends her into the mountains of Afghanistan. For her father, this same journey was made as a wrenching sacrifice for the sake of his beliefs. Yet his experience in the desert transformed his life forever. Now it transforms Najwa's, as she is compelled to follow in his footsteps: from a heartbreaking secret in Afghanistan all the way to a revelation in Britain.
    • More

    The Works

    By Joseph Connolly
    Authors:
    Joseph Connolly
    • More

    Winters in the South

    By Norbert Gstrein
    Authors:
    Norbert Gstrein
    • More

    Wilderness

    By Robert B. Parker
    Authors:
    Robert B. Parker
    At 46, Aaron Newman was enjoying the good things in life - a good marriage, good health, a good job. Then he witnesses a murder and is plunged into a world of fear and violence. But Aaron refuses to be a victim. In a world where only the strongest survive, he determines to eliminate the psychopath who threatens those he loves.
    • More