Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books
  • Aera Book 1

    By Markus Heitz
    Authors:
    Markus Heitz
    Part 1 in the fast-paced and thrilling new episodic novella series from award-winning Markus Heitz. NOVEMBER, 2019I've never believed in any kind of god.But that's a problem when they start manifesting.It was a problem for everyone else too, especially those whose gods did not appear. We are divided, a fractured globe, because you'd question everything you'd believed, wouldn't you? Or would you fight?Because I don't think these really are the gods we've worshipped - Zeus, The Mórrígan, Thor, they can go to hell. We're in the middle of an invasion, and I'm the only one who believes in that reality.My name is Malleus Bourreau, I'm an atheist, an investigator, and I will find the answers.The first instalment in the ten-part novella serialisation 'The Return of the Ancient Gods' by award-winning author Markus Heitz.
    • More

    Arab Jazz

    By Karim Miské
    Authors:
    Karim Miské
    Kosher sushi, kebabs, a second-hand bookshop and a bar: the 19th arrondissement in Paris is a cosmopolitan district where multicultural citizens live, love and worship alongside one another. This peace is shattered when Ahmed Taroudant's melancholy daydreams are interrupted by the blood dripping from his upstairs neighbour's brutally mutilated corpse. The violent murder of Laura Vignole, and the pork joint placed next to her, set imaginations ablaze across the neighbourhood, and Ahmed finds himself the prime suspect. But detectives Rachel Kupferstein and Jean Hamelot are not short of other leads. What is the connection between a disbanded hip-hop group and the fiery extremist preachers that jostle for attention in the streets? And what is the mysterious blue pill that is taking the district by storm? Karim Miské demonstrates a sharp eye for character and an evocative sense of place, moving seamlessly between the sensual streets of Paris and the synagogues of New York to reveal the truth behind a horrifying crime.
    • More

    The Art of Killing Well

    By Marco Malvaldi
    Authors:
    Marco Malvaldi
    Nothing could please a chef more than a chance to learn the secrets of a Baron's castle kitchen. Having travelled the length and breadth of the country compiling his masterpiece, The Science of Cooking and The Art of Eating Well, Pellegrino Artusi relishes the prospect of a few quiet days and a boar hunt in the Tuscan hills. But his peace is short-lived. A body is found in the castle cellar, and the local inspector finds himself baffled by an eccentric array of aristocratic suspects. When the baron himself becomes the target of a second murder attempt, Artusi realises he may need to follow his infallible nose to help find the culprit. Marco Malvaldi serves up an irresistible dish spiced with mischief and intrigue, and sweetened with classical elegance and wit. His stroke of genius is to bring Italy's first cookery writer to life in this most entertaining of murder mysteries.
    • More

    Amy Snow

    By Tracy Rees
    Authors:
    Tracy Rees
    Unlock the secret with the Richard and Judy bestseller. Perfect for fans of The Angel Tree by Lucinda Riley, The Lake House by Kate Morton and Dinah Jefferies' The Tea Planter's Wife.Abandoned on a bank of snow as a baby, Amy is taken in at nearby Hatville Court. But the masters and servants of the grand estate prove cold and unwelcoming. Amy's only friend and ally is the sparkling young heiress Aurelia Vennaway. So when Aurelia tragically dies young, Amy is devastated. But Aurelia leaves Amy one last gift. A bundle of letters with a coded key. A treasure hunt that only Amy can follow.A life-changing discovery awaits . . . if only she can unlock the secret.Discover more from Tracy Rees with her next heartwarming historical mystery, Florence Grace.
    • More
  • Astronomy in Minutes

    By Giles Sparrow
    Authors:
    Giles Sparrow
    What happens when a star dies? How many asteroids are in our solar system? Can galaxies collide? What is dark energy? Astronomy in Minutes answers all these questions and more as it condenses 200 key concepts into easily digestible essays. From Trojan asteroids to stellar black holes, and from superclusters to cosmic microwave background, this book will take you on an essential tour around the universe. Beginning with the specks and constellations that we see in the night sky, and then zooming in on the objects and 'matter' beyond the naked eye, Astronomy in Minutes draws on established theories and recent research. Each essay is accompanied by an image or a clear diagram to help unravel complex ideas. Beginning with the constellations and finishing with the latest cosmological theories, this is the perfect reference guide to this  fascinating subject. Contents include: The celestial sphere, Piscis Austrinus, the Earth-Moon system, Io and Ganymede, Kuiper Belt Objects, Measuring stellar properties, Nuclear fusion, Red and orange dwarfs, Open star clusters, Planetary nebulae, Supernova remnants, Cosmic expansion, Quasars and blazars, Nature of spacetime, Nucleosynthesis and the Anthropic Principle.
    • More
  • Astra

    By Naomi Foyle
    Authors:
    Naomi Foyle
    Is-land is a Gaian paradise in the middle of a blasted world - but its success comes at a dark price.Like every child in Is-Land, all Astra Ordott has ever wanted is to get her Security Shot, do her National Service and defend her Gaian homeland from Non-Lander 'infiltrators'. But when one of her Shelter mothers, the formidable Dr Hokma Blesser, tells her the shot will limit her chances of becoming a scientist and offers her an alternative, Astra agrees to her plan.Then the orphaned Lil arrives to share Astra's home and Astra is torn between jealousy and fascination. Lil's father taught her some alarming ideas about Is-Land and the world, but when she pushes Astra too far, the heartache that results goes far beyond the loss of a friend. If she is to survive, Astra must learn to deal with devastating truths about Is-Land, Non-Land and the secret web of adult relationships that surrounds her . . . or her actions could bring the whole community toppling down.
    • More

    America's Mistress

    By John L. Williams
    Authors:
    John L. Williams
    • More

    Away

    By Jane Urquhart
    Authors:
    Jane Urquhart
    A stunning, evocative novel set in Ireland and Canada, Away traces a family's complex and layered past. The narrative unfolds with shimmering clarity, and takes us from the harsh northern Irish coast in the 1840s to the quarantine stations at Grosse Isle and the barely hospitable land of the Canadian Shield; from the flourishing town of Port Hope to the flooded streets of Montreal; from Ottawa at the time of Confederation to a large-windowed house at the edge of a Great Lake during the present day. Graceful and moving, Away unites the personal and the political as it explores the most private, often darkest corners of our emotions where the things that root us to ourselves endure. Powerful, intricate, lyrical, Away is an unforgettable novel.
    • More

    The Axe Factor

    By Colin Cotterill
    Authors:
    Colin Cotterill
    • More

    African Sky

    By Tony Park
    Authors:
    Tony Park
    • More

    An Armenian Sketchbook

    By Vasily Grossman
    Authors:
    Vasily Grossman
    • More
  • Agents of Light and Darkness

    By Simon R. Green
    Authors:
    Simon R. Green
    Private eye John Taylor is - grudgingly - back in the Nightside, because the Unholy Grail is missing . . . and everyone wants its corrosive power.John Taylor, private detective with a difference, is back in the Nightside, that nightmarish realm hidden deep beneath London where it is forever 3 a.m.This time he must use his supernatural gifts to locate the Unholy Grail; the cup from which Judas drank at the Last Supper; before it falls into the wrong hands. Anyone who touches the cup will gain tremendous power - but they will also be corrupted.Angels, demons, sinners and saints are all determined to find the Unholy Grail, no matter what the cost. And it isn't long before they realise exactly who can lead them to it . . .Agents of Light and Darkness is the sequel to Something From the Nightside and the second title in Simon R. Green's New York Times bestselling Nightside series.
    • More

    An Englishman in Madrid

    By Eduardo Mendoza
    Authors:
    Eduardo Mendoza
    • More

    An Act of Kindness

    By Barbara Nadel
    Authors:
    Barbara Nadel
    • More

    And Then Came Paulette

    By Barbara Constantine
    Authors:
    Barbara Constantine
    • More

    Art

    By Susie Hodge
    Authors:
    Susie Hodge
    • More

    Agents of Innocence

    By David Ignatius
    Authors:
    David Ignatius
    Agents of Innocence is the book that established David Ignatius's reputation as a master of the novel of contemporary espionage. Into the treacherous world of shifting alliances and arcane subterfuge comes idealistic CIA man Tom Rogers. Ordered to penetrate the PLO and recruit a high-level operative, he soon learns the heavy price of innocence in a time and place that has no use for it.
    • More

    Amelia Grey's Fireside Dream

    By Abby Clements
    Authors:
    Abby Clements
    • More

    An Apple for the Creature

    By Harris Kelner
    Authors:
    Harris Kelner
    What could be scarier than the first day of school? Take a crash course in the paranormal from editors Charlaine Harris and Toni L. P. Kelner in An Apple for the Creature, featuring thirteen all-new tales straight from the classroom. Your schooldays are supposed to be the happiest days of your life - until you start thinking of your worst school nightmares: not knowing which is your classroom door; finding yourself naked in Assembly! But those fears will pale in comparison to these thirteen original stories, which take academic anxiety to whole new realms. You'll need more than an apple to stave off the creatures in these spooky scholastic stories! Featuring 13 all-new original tales out of school by Ilona Andrews, Amber Benson, Rhys Bowen, Mike Carey, Charlaine Harris, Donald Harstad, Steve Hockensmith, Nancy Holder, Faith Hunter, Toni L.P. Kelner, Marjorie Liu, Jonathan Maberry, Thomas Sniegoski.
    • More

    Alone in the Classroom

    By Elizabeth Hay
    Authors:
    Elizabeth Hay
    In a small prairie school in 1929, Connie Flood helps a backward student, Michael Graves, learn how to read. Observing them and darkening their lives is the principal, Parley Burns, whose strange behaviour culminates in an attack so disturbing its repercussions continue to the present day. Connie's niece, Anne, tells the story. Impelled by curiosity about her dynamic, adventurous aunt and her more conventional mother, she revisits Connie's past and her mother's broken childhood. In the process she unravels the enigma of Parley Burns and the mysterious, and unrelated, deaths of two young girls.
    • More