Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books
  • Daemons are Forever

    By Simon R. Green
    Authors:
    Simon R. Green
    Humanity's at risk - again - and we need a special kind of secret agent to save our collective arses . . . so step up Eddie Drood!During World War II, the Droods made a pact with some nasty buggers from another dimension known as the Loathly Ones, in order to defeat the Nazis. But once the war was won and the pact was fulfilled, the Loathly Ones decided that they liked this world too much to leave, and the Droods are the only thing stopping them from world domination.Unfortunately, it seems that Eddie may not be able to trust every member of his family, and if he chooses the wrong horse to back, everything he - and the rest of humanity - holds dear will go up in smoke.Daemons are Forever is the second book in the Secret History series from the New York Times bestselling author of The Man with the Golden Torc.
    • More

    Darkness Descending

    By Ken Jones
    Authors:
    Ken Jones
    An astonishing true story of mountaineering survivalOn 5 January 2003, former Special Forces soldier Ken Jones was caught in a devastating avalanche as he climbed in the frozen wilderness of Romania's Transylvanian Alps. Flung from a cliff, he regained consciousness to find himself shrouded in darkness, separated from his supplies, suffering from overexposure in the sub zero-temperatures and in horrendous pain from a broken leg and shattered pelvis. Heavily frostbitten and bleeding internally, Ken dragged himself to safety over three agonizing days only to discover that his true ordeal had yet to begin. His account of life saving surgery and his battle to walk again is a classic tale of triumph over adversity and what it means to never give up. Heart stopping and inspiring to the very last page, Ken Jones's story of endurance and survival is an unforgettable testament to the strength of the human spirit.
    • More

    Down the Figure 7

    By Trevor Hoyle
    Authors:
    Trevor Hoyle
    The war's over, but kids are still fighting the enemy - until a soldier returns home and suddenly there's real-life danger, and real tragedy.On the wasteland between their houses, Terry Webb and his mates are battling the Nazzies and Nips, inflamed by the Movietone News at the Saturday matinee, the exploits of Hollywood tough guys and the tales of brothers and dads and uncles who fought for their country. But in the 1950s, Britain is struggling to emerge from beneath the long shadow left in the wake of the Second World War. Life is all rationing, 'make-do-and-mend', deprivation and poverty, especially in the Northern cotton towns.As far as the boys are concerned it's all just a bit of fun, just like their opportunistic fumblings and increasing interest in girls - until Terry's favourite uncle, a Desert Rat, comes home, bearing all the scars of Monty's North Africa campaign and bringing a piece of the war back with him. And suddenly for Terry, life's no longer a game, but there's real-life danger - and real-life tragedy . . .The past is truly is a foreign country in this coming-of-age novel based on Trevor Hoyle's short story, the winner of the Transatlantic Review short story competition, evoking the joys, frustrations, injustices, excitement, battles, discoveries and bloody-minded wonder of a boy slowly learning to become a man.
    • More
  • The Dark Angel

    By Dominique Sylvain
    Authors:
    Dominique Sylvain
    • More

    Dark Heart

    By Tony Park
    Authors:
    Tony Park
    • More

    The Defections

    By Hannah Michell
    Authors:
    Hannah Michell
    • More

    Dive

    By Lawson Wood
    Authors:
    Lawson Wood
    • More
  • The Demi-Monde: Fall

    By Rod Rees
    Authors:
    Rod Rees
    The Demi-Monde is about to reach its catastrophic conclusion . . .For thousands of years the Grigori have lain hidden, dreaming of the day when they will emerge from the darkness. Now that day draws close. Norma, Trixie and Ella fight doggedly to frustrate these plans, but they need help. Percy Shelley must lead Norma to the Portal in NoirVille so she can return to the Real World. Trixie's father must convince her that, if she is to destroy the Great Pyramid standing in Terror Incognita, she must be prepared to die. And Vanka Maykov - though not the man she knew and loved - must guide Ella to the secret enclave of the Grigori, where she will face the most chilling of enemies. In this explosive finale to the Demi-Monde series, our heroes will come to understand that resisting evil will require courage, resolve . . . and sacrifice.
    • More
  • The Detainee

    By Peter Liney
    Authors:
    Peter Liney
    'Of all the dystopian novels I have read in recent years, Peter Liney's The Detainee is one the best written, most engaging, heart-tugging and cinematic of all' - Amazon ReviewerThere is no point trying to run. There is no point trying to escape. The island means the end of all hope, until Clancy finds a reason to fight back. When the fog comes down and the drums start to beat, the inhabitants of the island tremble: the punishment satellites, which keep the tyrannical Wastelords at bay, are blind in the darkness, and the islanders become prey. The inhabitants are the old, the sick, the poor: the detritus of Society, dumped on the island with the rest of Society's waste. There is no point trying to run. There is no point trying to escape. The satellites - the invisible eyes of the law - mete out instant judgement from the sky. The island is the end of all hope, until Clancy finds a blind woman living in a secret underground warren and discovers a reason to fight . . .'Impressively dark' - Financial Times
    • More

    Dog's Life

    By Michael Holroyd, Jonathan Keeble
    Authors:
    Michael Holroyd
    Read by:
    Jonathan Keeble
    Eustace is undisputed patriarch of the Farquhar family. That is, he would be if everyone stopped mumbling, let him get on with his shaving and find his way downstairs. It's not Henry's fault that he snores and that his marriage has collapsed. Or that he failed to get into the cricket team. But he has made up for it and is now a faster motorist than ever he was bowler. He is a good father too and one day, when he wakes up from day-dreaming, his son Kenneth will thank him. It is good that Anne sleeps with a whistle in her mouth - how else could she terrify the burglars? As for Mathilda she would love to like her mother, but prefers going for long walks with the dog. But what will happen to them all if the dog dies? A devastating postscript follows the story. Placing this eccentric family in isolation after two world wars and at the beginning of our aggressive financial culture, it turns comedy into tragedy. This novel brings a very personal addition to the biographer's remarkable career.(P)2014 WF Howes Ltd
    • More
  • Don't Tell the Boss

    By Anna Bell
    Authors:
    Anna Bell
    • More

    The Dress Thief

    By Natalie Meg Evans
    Authors:
    Natalie Meg Evans
    'Wonderful! I didn't want to put this book down' Amazon reviewer. Perfect for fans of The Villa in Italy, Island of Secrets and Amy Snow.Alix Gower may be poor but she's also ambitious, and she'd do anything to secure her dream job in one of Paris' premier fashion houses. But Alix also has a secret: she supports her family by stealing from the very houses she so adores. Then Alix is unexpectedly given a break - a way to support her elderly grandmother and a future she can believe in . . . but it comes at a terrible price. Will Alix risk her reputation, her relationships and even her personal safety for a dream? And is the handsome English reporter she keeps bumping into really to be trusted? The Dress Thief is an award-winning, atmospheric novel about love, dreams and betrayal.
    • More

    The Devil's Recruit

    By S. G. MacLean
    Authors:
    S. G. MacLean
    • More
  • The Deliverance of Evil

    By Roberto Costantini
    Authors:
    Roberto Costantini
    • More
  • Daughter of the Blood

    By Anne Bishop
    Authors:
    Anne Bishop
    'Darkly mesmerising' - LocusThe first in New York Times bestselling author Anne Bishop's captivating Black Jewels trilogy. The Darkness has had a Prince for a long, long time. Now the Queen is coming. For years the realm of Terreille has been falling into corruption, as the powerful Queens who rule it turned to cruelty.But there is hope. A prophetic vision has revealed the coming of a Queen more powerful than any before. And once the foundations of her power - father, brother, lover - are in place, she will emerge from the darkness, bringing freedom. For she is the living myth, dreams made flesh. Not just any witch, but Witch.
    • More
  • Dodger

    By James Benmore
    Authors:
    James Benmore
    The Artful Dodger is back! Returning to the page for the first time in 175 years, London's most skilled and charismatic thief is back to ply his trade on the capital's streets once more. From the rooftops to the sewers, Dodger leads us on a witty and thrilling adventure through Dickensian London.
    • More
  • Don't Tell the Groom

    By Anna Bell
    Authors:
    Anna Bell
    • More

    Dying Voices

    By Laura Wilson
    Authors:
    Laura Wilson
    Dodie Blackstock, child of a multimillionaire, was only eight when her mother was kidnapped. The rescue attempt went disastrously wrong, and no body was ever found. Now Dodie is twenty-nine, and her mother's body has just been discovered - but she has only been dead for forty-eight hours. Dodie returns to the family home and begins to piece together the fragments of her mother's life, whilst trying to come to terms with her own troubled past. But someone is watching her every move...
    • More

    A Distant Sunset

    By Virginia Ironside
    Authors:
    Virginia Ironside
    'We are married now,' said Richard softly. 'We may not be married in a church and you may not have taken my name, but here... here we are married.' 19th century Devon. On the day Richard Applevale leaves for India, Elizabeth Shawcross gives herself to him, secure in the knowledge that he loves her, and that he will one day return to make her his wife. But Elizabeth soon finds herself pregnant with the child of a man she fears she will never see again, for she has heard nothing from India. Heart-broken and terrified of what will become of her and her child, she is forced to wed the arrogant Mr Whittle. With him she travels to the subcontinent, where she is confronted with her former lover. But once again, Richard and Lizzie are kept apart by circumstances out of their control. From acclaimed author Virginia Ironside, A Distant Sunset is a classic tale of adventure and romance.
    • More
  • Don't Tell Penny

    By Anna Bell
    Authors:
    Anna Bell
    'Romantic and refreshing' Mhairi McFarlane on The Bucket List to Mend a Broken Heart. A delicious free taste of the hilarious Don't Tell the Groom series. Lou and Penny have been best friends forever, so when Penny tells Lou she's sure tonight's the night fiancé Mark will finally propose, Lou couldn't be more pleased for her. But when the moment arrives, Lou can't help but wonder if marriage might be the furthest thing from Mark's mind, and Penny hasn't noticed a thing! Could it fall on Lou to break the news gently, or will Mark bend his knee before it's just too late?
    • More