Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books

Dive

By Lawson Wood
Authors:
Lawson Wood
  • More
  • The Demi-Monde: Fall

    By Rod Rees
    Authors:
    Rod Rees
    The Demi-Monde is about to reach its catastrophic conclusion . . .For thousands of years the Grigori have lain hidden, dreaming of the day when they will emerge from the darkness. Now that day draws close. Norma, Trixie and Ella fight doggedly to frustrate these plans, but they need help. Percy Shelley must lead Norma to the Portal in NoirVille so she can return to the Real World. Trixie's father must convince her that, if she is to destroy the Great Pyramid standing in Terror Incognita, she must be prepared to die. And Vanka Maykov - though not the man she knew and loved - must guide Ella to the secret enclave of the Grigori, where she will face the most chilling of enemies. In this explosive finale to the Demi-Monde series, our heroes will come to understand that resisting evil will require courage, resolve . . . and sacrifice.
    • More
  • The Detainee

    By Peter Liney
    Authors:
    Peter Liney
    The island means the end of all hope: until 'Big Guy' Clancy discovers a reason to fight back. When the fog comes down and the drums start to beat, the inhabitants of the island tremble: the punishment satellites - which keep the tyrannical Wastelords at bay - are blind in the darkness, and the islanders become prey. The inhabitants are the old, the sick, the poor: the detritus of Society, dumped on the island with the rest of Society's waste. There is no point trying to run. There is no point trying to escape. The satellites - the invisible eyes of the law - mete out instant judgement from the sky. The island is the end of all hope - until 'Big Guy' Clancy finds a blind woman living in a secret underground warren, and discovers a reason to fight . . .
    • More

    Dog's Life

    By Michael Holroyd, Jonathan Keeble
    Authors:
    Michael Holroyd
    Read by:
    Jonathan Keeble
    Eustace is undisputed patriarch of the Farquhar family. That is, he would be if everyone stopped mumbling, let him get on with his shaving and find his way downstairs. It's not Henry's fault that he snores and that his marriage has collapsed. Or that he failed to get into the cricket team. But he has made up for it and is now a faster motorist than ever he was bowler. He is a good father too and one day, when he wakes up from day-dreaming, his son Kenneth will thank him. It is good that Anne sleeps with a whistle in her mouth - how else could she terrify the burglars? As for Mathilda she would love to like her mother, but prefers going for long walks with the dog. But what will happen to them all if the dog dies? A devastating postscript follows the story. Placing this eccentric family in isolation after two world wars and at the beginning of our aggressive financial culture, it turns comedy into tragedy. This novel brings a very personal addition to the biographer's remarkable career.(P)2014 WF Howes Ltd
    • More
  • Don't Tell the Boss

    By Anna Bell
    Authors:
    Anna Bell
    • More

    The Dress Thief

    By Natalie Meg Evans
    Authors:
    Natalie Meg Evans
    'Wonderful! I didn't want to put this book down' Amazon reviewer. Perfect for fans of The Villa in Italy, Island of Secrets and Amy Snow.Alix Gower may be poor but she's also ambitious, and she'd do anything to secure her dream job in one of Paris' premier fashion houses. But Alix also has a secret: she supports her family by stealing from the very houses she so adores. Then Alix is unexpectedly given a break - a way to support her elderly grandmother and a future she can believe in . . . but it comes at a terrible price. Will Alix risk her reputation, her relationships and even her personal safety for a dream? And is the handsome English reporter she keeps bumping into really to be trusted? The Dress Thief is an award-winning, atmospheric novel about love, dreams and betrayal.
    • More

    The Devil's Recruit

    By S. G. MacLean
    Authors:
    S. G. MacLean
    • More
  • Daughter of the Blood

    By Anne Bishop
    Authors:
    Anne Bishop
    The Darkness has had a Prince for a long, long time. Now the Queen is coming. For years the realm of Terreille has been falling into corruption, as the powerful Queens who rule it have turned to cruelty. But there is hope - a prophetic vision has revealed the coming of a Queen more powerful than any other. And once the foundations of her power - father, brother, lover - are in place, she will emerge from the darkness, bringing freedom. For she is the living myth, dreams made flesh; not just any witch, but Witch.
    • More
  • The Deliverance of Evil

    By Roberto Costantini
    Authors:
    Roberto Costantini
    • More
  • Dodger

    By James Benmore
    Authors:
    James Benmore
    • More

    Dying Voices

    By Laura Wilson
    Authors:
    Laura Wilson
    Dodie Blackstock, child of a multimillionaire, was only eight when her mother was kidnapped. The rescue attempt went disastrously wrong, and no body was ever found. Now Dodie is twenty-nine, and her mother's body has just been discovered - but she has only been dead for forty-eight hours. Dodie returns to the family home and begins to piece together the fragments of her mother's life, whilst trying to come to terms with her own troubled past. But someone is watching her every move...
    • More

    A Distant Sunset

    By Virginia Ironside
    Authors:
    Virginia Ironside
    'We are married now,' said Richard softly. 'We may not be married in a church and you may not have taken my name, but here... here we are married.' 19th century Devon. On the day Richard Applevale leaves for India, Elizabeth Shawcross gives herself to him, secure in the knowledge that he loves her, and that he will one day return to make her his wife. But Elizabeth soon finds herself pregnant with the child of a man she fears she will never see again, for she has heard nothing from India. Heart-broken and terrified of what will become of her and her child, she is forced to wed the arrogant Mr Whittle. With him she travels to the subcontinent, where she is confronted with her former lover. But once again, Richard and Lizzie are kept apart by circumstances out of their control. From acclaimed author Virginia Ironside, A Distant Sunset is a classic tale of adventure and romance.
    • More
  • Don't Tell the Groom

    By Anna Bell
    Authors:
    Anna Bell
    • More
  • Don't Tell Penny

    By Anna Bell
    Authors:
    Anna Bell
    'Romantic and refreshing' Mhairi McFarlane on The Bucket List to Mend a Broken Heart. A delicious free taste of the hilarious Don't Tell the Groom series. Lou and Penny have been best friends forever, so when Penny tells Lou she's sure tonight's the night fiancé Mark will finally propose, Lou couldn't be more pleased for her. But when the moment arrives, Lou can't help but wonder if marriage might be the furthest thing from Mark's mind, and Penny hasn't noticed a thing! Could it fall on Lou to break the news gently, or will Mark bend his knee before it's just too late?
    • More

    Double Deuce (A Spenser Mystery)

    By Robert B. Parker
    Authors:
    Robert B. Parker
    Double Deuce is a forgotten neighbourhood, home to some of Boston's toughest gangs. Private detective Spenser and his sidekick, Hawk, have been tasked with cleaning up the area. But before they can begin, Spenser must take on the teenage thugs and gain control of the streets.
    • More

    Dreamscapes

    By Tamara McKinley
    Authors:
    Tamara McKinley
    If you love Lesley Pearse, you're sure to fall for Tamara McKinley!Catriona was born into the world of show business, having made her first appearance on stage in her father's arms when she was only minutes old. And although life has never been easy for Catriona, it seems she's finally made her big break: her unique voice has captured the attention of a Sydney opera company, and the only place to go is up. But when scandalous secrets from her teenage years threaten to destroy everything she's worked so hard to achieve, she learns she will have to fight to keep her rightful place at the top.
    • More

    Does Your Rabbi Know You're Here?

    By Anthony Clavane
    Authors:
    Anthony Clavane
    • More
  • The Demi-Monde: Summer

    By Rod Rees
    Authors:
    Rod Rees
    The Demi-Monde was intended to train today's soldiers to fight tomorrow's wars - but its creator had its own secret agenda, and now no one can be allowed to stand in its way . . .Eight-thousand years ago the Deluge destroyed the empire of the Lilithi, setting the race of super-warriors known as the Grigori loose in the outside world. They have lain hidden until now when - thanks to the creation of the dystopian virtual reality that is the Demi-Monde - they at last stand ready to achieve mastery of the Real World - and to cull HumanKind in the Final Solution. Three girls stand between them and victory: Norma Williams, trapped in the nightmare that is the Coven, the viciously misandric Sector of the Demi-Monde; Ella Thomas, enslaved by the spirit of Lilith-come-again; and Trixie Dashwood, consumed by her hatred for Heydrich and his evil ForthRight.
    • More
  • Dead Point

    By Peter Temple
    Authors:
    Peter Temple
    JACK IRISH BOOK THREE: FROM THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE BROKEN SHORE.'Another world-class crime novel from Peter Temple' Canberra Times'Peter Temple is an addiction. Read one book and you will want to read them all. Now' Val McDermidJack Irish has a lot on his mind. His woman has an old flame, his champion horse has been put down and his gambling has left him broke. No wonder then, that he's a bit distracted from the work he is getting paid for - looking for the elusive Robbie Colburne, occasional barman. He's not the only one. Robbie's caught the interest not only of the police, but also certain dealers from the city's criminal class. So when Robbie finally shows up - in the morgue - Jack thinks he'd better start taking his job seriously. But there are those who would prefer him not to. Who don't like it when Jack begins asking questions. Who would do anything to make sure Jack Irish stays off the case - for good.Enjoyed Bad Debts, Black Tide and now Dead Point? Then discover the fourth and final Jack Irish thriller, White Dog . . .
    • More
  • The Devil's Cave

    By Martin Walker
    Authors:
    Martin Walker
    A body is found showing marks of Satanism. Bruno, chief of police must track down a murderer while quelling his town's superstitious fears in the fifth book in this internationally bestselling seriesIt is springtime France's Périgord, a time of beauty and calm. But not for Bruno, chief of police of the small town of St Denis. A woman's body has been found on a boat, bearing signs of a black magic ritual. Bruno has too much on his plate as it is - mediating a domestic abuse case that needs careful handling and a dodgy local development proposal that seems just too good to be true. But a murder case must take precedent and the roots of this one lie buried deep in the past - linked to a chateau above a bend in the river, to the reclusive old woman who lives there, and to the secret hidden in the Devil's Cave.
    • More