Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books

The Great Modern Poets

  • More
  • The Glass Republic

    By Tom Pollock
    Authors:
    Tom Pollock
    'Marks the appearance of a powerful new imagination in SF' GuardianIn the gripping sequel to The City's Son, Pen returns to London-Under-Glass when her mirror sister - and biggest secret - is abducted. Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman's Neverwhere.Pen's life is all about secrets: the secret of the city's spirits, deities and monsters that live just beyond notice, the secret of how she got the intricate scars that disfigure her so cruelly - and the most closely guarded secret of all: Parva, her mirror-sister, forged from her reflection in a school bathroom mirror and the only person who really understands her.When Parva is abducted, Pen is forced to make a terrible bargain for the means to track her down, for in London-Under-Glass, looks are currency, and Pen's scars make her a rare and valuable commodity. Kept company by the pretty and fierce steeplejill, Espel, Pen isn't completely alone, but some in the reflected city will do anything to keep her from the secret of what happened to the sister who shared her face. The Glass Republic is the gripping sequel to The City's Son, and the second book of The Skyscraper Throne trilogy.
    • More
  • The Gods Look Down

    By Trevor Hoyle
    Authors:
    Trevor Hoyle
    When an ancient religious text reveals that nuclear physics capable of creating a new species of man existed in Biblical times, the mystified scientists of Earth IVn realise that something - or somebody - has been tampering with history . . .It's up to Christian Queghan to use his extraordinary powers as a Myth Technologist to unravel this baffling enigma, for only he can cross the barriers of time and space to uncover the malevolent force linking the distant past to the mythical future. Queghan is working with another scientist, decoding the ancient texts from ancient history - until he realises that his own colleague is seeking to alter history using the results of the research.Queghan must draw upon his ability to pass into alternate realities in an attempt to stop him, however dangerous it is for him.Q: The Gods Look Down is Book Three of the Q Series, an epic science fiction adventure through parallel worlds.
    • More

    The Garden of Unearthly Delights

    By Alex Connor
    Authors:
    Alex Connor
    This exclusive short story is the perfect accompaniment to Alex Connor's gripping new novel, The Bosch Deception, a sample chapter of which is included in this ebook. Reporter David Gerrald has heard of the controversy surrounding Hieronymus Bosch's famous painting St Jerome, but he suspects there's more to the story than the papers are reporting. So when a shady figure connected to the scandal grants him an exclusive interview, Gerrald is eager to learn what really happened to Bosch's masterpiece. But as Gerrald digs deeper he finds that the glamour of the art world hides a multitude of sins. Is Gerrald's mystery confidant to be trusted, or is there a darker incentive at play?
    • More
  • Gemsigns

    By Stephanie Saulter
    Authors:
    Stephanie Saulter
    They were created to save humanity. Now they must fight to save themselves.For years the human race suffered from a deadly Syndrome, but when a cure was found - in the form of genetically engineered human beings, gems - the line between survival and ethics was radically altered. Now the gems are fighting for their freedom, from the oppression of the companies that created them, and against the norms who see them as slaves. And a conference at which Dr Eli Walker has been commissioned to present his findings on the gems is the key to that freedom. But with the gemtech companies fighting to keep the gems enslaved, and the horrifying godgangs determined to rid the earth of these 'unholy' creations, the gems are up against forces that may just be too powerful to oppose.
    • More

    The Girls' Bicycle Handbook

    By Caz Nicklin
    Authors:
    Caz Nicklin
    • More

    Girlchild

    By Tupelo Hassman
    Authors:
    Tupelo Hassman
    • More

    The Gurkha's Daughter

    By Prajwal Parajuly
    Authors:
    Prajwal Parajuly
    • More

    Ghosts and Other Lovers: A Short Story Collection

    By Lisa Tuttle
    Authors:
    Lisa Tuttle
    Incisive, moving, and unsettling, Ghosts and Other Lovers should appeal to both fans of the classic ghost story and those seeking bold new psychological fantasy. Includes the James Tiptree Jr Award nominated story 'Food Man'.Award-winning fantasy and horror author Lisa Tuttle's third short-story collection assembles thirteen of her imaginative inquiries into the nature of ghosts and the people they visit, covering territory from gothic romance to the just plain creepy. Originally published in 2002, this collection includes thirteen ghost stories written in the 1990s and 1980s, including the stories 'In Jealousy', 'Mr Elphinstone's Hands', 'From Another Country', 'The Walled Garden', 'Lucy Maria', 'The Extra Hour', 'Where the Stones Grow', 'White Lady's Grave', 'Soul Song', 'Food Man', 'Manskin, Womanskin', 'Turning Thirty' and 'Haunts'
    • More

    The Ghost Hunters

    By Neil Spring
    Authors:
    Neil Spring
    'Deliciously creepy' Herald. A hair-raising fictionalized account of the Borley Rectory haunting, based on contemporary first-hand testimonies.Welcome to Borley Rectory, the most haunted house in England. The year is 1926 and Sarah Grey has landed herself an unlikely new job - personal assistant to Harry Price, London's most infamous ghost hunter. Equal parts brilliant and charming, neurotic and manipulative, Harry has devoted his life to exposing the truth behind England's many 'false hauntings', and never has he left a case unsolved, nor a fraud unexposed. So when Harry and Sarah are invited to Borley Rectory - a house so haunted that objects frequently fly through the air unbidden, and locals avoid the grounds for fear of facing the spectral nun that walks there - they're sure that this case will be just like any other. But when night falls and still no artifice can be found, the ghost hunters are forced to confront an uncomfortable possibility: the ghost of Borley Rectory may be real. And, if so, they're about to make its most intimate acquaintance.
    • More

    The Great British Year

    By Stephen Moss
    Authors:
    Stephen Moss
    • More

    The Guard

    By Peter Terrin
    Authors:
    Peter Terrin
    • More

    Goodbye Mr Rat

    By Patrick McCabe
    Authors:
    Patrick McCabe
    A girl from northern Indiana travels to rural Ireland; where, as she bids a friend farewell, she meets malign misfortune. Goodbye Mr Rat forms half of Hello and Goodbye: two glitzy baubles - generously stuffed with the choicest, rustiest nails, lacquered with dread, and compressed to the point of detonation. Its sister title is Hello Mr Bones.
    • More

    Gabriel

    By Lisa Tuttle
    Authors:
    Lisa Tuttle
    In award-winning horror author Lisa Tuttle's novel Gabriel, young window Dinah is ready to let go of the past, but her husband isn't. 'Gabriel is a spellbinding read from start to finish' Chris Morgan, SFF Book Review Annual 1988Dinah and Gabriel know that they'll be together forever, but when Gabriel suffers a violent and senseless death just a year after they marry, Dinah is devastated.Ten years on, Dinah believes she has moved forward enough to return to New Orleans, the place where she lived with Gabriel, and deal with the ghosts of her past. That is until she meets a young boy with a remarkably familiar face . . . Dinah may be ready to let go of the past, but Gabriel definitely isn't.
    • More

    Gertrude and Alice

    By Diana Souhami
    Authors:
    Diana Souhami
    Gertrude Stein and Alice B. Tokas were the talk of pre-war Paris. Photographed by Cecil Beaton and Man Ray, painted by Picasso and written about by Hemingway, they were at the heart of Parisian cultural and literary life. Alice, convinced that Gertrude was a genius, cooked for her, typed her manuscripts and fought to obtain the fame she was convinced Gertrude was due. Alice said Gertrude was the happiest person she had ever known, and was besotted with her for the many years they were together. They were indomitable, charismatic, and wildly eccentric, driving around in 'Auntie', their Ford, with Basket, their cherished poodle. In Gertrude and Alice, award-winning writer Diana Souhami brings these two extraordinary women, and the fascinating world in which they moved, to vivid life.
    • More

    God Save the Child (A Spenser Mystery)

    By Robert B. Parker
    Authors:
    Robert B. Parker
    When a fourteen-year-old boy disappears from a decent neighbourhood, everyone thinks he has run away. Everyone, that is, except private detective Spenser, who is hot on the trail of the missing boy; a trail that leads to corruption and a deadly partnership.
    • More

    The Godwulf Manuscript (A Spenser Mystery)

    By Robert B. Parker
    Authors:
    Robert B. Parker
    The first in the series featuring private detective Spenser sees Spenser hired to return a stolen fourteenth-century manuscript to its rightful owners, an investigation that soon leads him into a complex web of murder, radical politics, adultery, drugs and organised crime.
    • More

    Gluck

    By Diana Souhami
    Authors:
    Diana Souhami
    • More

    Greta and Cecil

    By Diana Souhami
    Authors:
    Diana Souhami
    • More

    The Great Philosophers

    By Stephen Law
    Authors:
    Stephen Law
    • More