Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books

Leica Format

By Daša Drndic
Authors:
Daša Drndic
This is like a fairy tale, all this. A woman meets a stranger who tells her her identity is a lie. 772 (or 789) children's brains rest silently in jars. A traveller comes to a quotidian city, unknowingly approaching her past. From the author of Trieste (shortlisted for the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize) comes this bedazzling kaleidoscopic novel, stitching together fact and fiction, history and memory, words and images into a heart-breaking collage that manages to look askance at the blinding horror of history. Ranging across themes of memory, loss, inheritance and storytelling, Drndic borrows from every tradition of writing to weave together a fragmented narrative of love and disease, in a novel that's very format raises penetrating and unanswerable questions about history, and the processes by which we describe and remember it.
  • More

The Life Intended

By Kristin Harmel
Authors:
Kristin Harmel
After her husband's sudden death over ten years ago, Kate Westhoven never expected to be lucky enough to find another love of her life. But now she's planning her second walk down the aisle to a perfectly nice man. So why isn't she more excited?At first, Kate blames her pre-wedding jitters on stress. But when she starts seeing Patrick, her late husband, in her dreams, she begins to wonder if she's really ready to move on. Is Patrick trying to tell her something about his death and is there a chance his nighttime visits could be more than just wishful thinking?
  • More

Land Where I Flee

By Prajwal Parajuly
Authors:
Prajwal Parajuly
  • More
  • Live and Let Drood

    By Simon R. Green
    Authors:
    Simon R. Green
    The name is Drood, Eddie Drood - and yes, I'm now the last. Recently, my family was wiped out, but I will get them back.Eddie recently suffered a slight case of death, but thanks for Molly, his best girl (who also happens to be a powerful witch), he managed to get over that right quick. Unfortunately, his family wasn't so lucky - his family home, Drood Hall, was destroyed in his absence, and all of his relatives were killed.He's not fond of being the Last Drood, but he soon realises that things aren't exactly as they appeared. The home wasn't destroyed; it was caught in a dimension engine, sending Drood Hall and everyone inside it into an alternate Earth, and replacing it with a burnt-out dopplegänger. Eddie's family is out there - somewhere! - all he has to do is find them.Live and Let Drood is the sixth title in New York Times bestselling author Simon R. Green's Secret History series featuring Eddie Drood.
    • More

    Leningrad

    By Brian Moynahan
    Authors:
    Brian Moynahan
    Shostakovich's Seventh Symphony was first played in the city of its birth on 9 August, 1942. There has never been a first performance to match it. Pray God, there never will be again. Almost a year earlier, the Germans had begun their blockade of the city. Already many thousands had died of their wounds, the cold, and most of all, starvation. The assembled musicians - scrounged from frontline units and military bands, for only twenty of the orchestra's 100 players had survived - were so hungry, many feared they'd be too weak to play the score right through. In these, the darkest days of the Second World War, the music and the defiance it inspired provided a rare beacon of light for the watching world. Setting the composition of Shostakovich's most famous work against the tragic canvas of the siege itself and the years of repression and terror that preceded it, Leningrad: Siege and Symphony is a magisterial and moving account of one of the most tragic periods in history.
    • More

    The Last Alibi

    By David Ellis
    Authors:
    David Ellis
    • More
  • Liberty

    By Jakob Ejersbo
    Authors:
    Jakob Ejersbo
    Two young men from very different backgrounds. Christian is the son of Danish ex-pats; Marcus works as a house boy for a Swedish family, hoping they will eventually take him back to Europe with them. Their friendship defines a divided continent. When they decide to go into business together - a teenage dream of playing at discos - they unwittingly set a collision course. But will it be love or money that tears the two apart? Spanning a decade from the dawn of the 1980s, the story of Marcus and Christian's dissolving friendship plays out amid a vast cast of characters, all fighting to make their way in a country defined by corruption. As the Tanzanian authorities and European aid agencies compete to line their own pockets, the rise of 'the disease' threatens to lay waste to an already stricken continent.
    • More

    Low Expectations

    By Elizabeth Aaron, Erin Reinhelt
    Authors:
    Elizabeth Aaron, Erin Reinhelt
    • More

    The Lullaby of Polish Girls

    By Dagmara Dominczyk
    Authors:
    Dagmara Dominczyk
    • More

    The Liar's Daughter

    By Laurie Graham
    Authors:
    Laurie Graham
    • More

    The List

    By Joanna Bolouri
    Authors:
    Joanna Bolouri
    'I would give this book 6 stars if I could!' Amazon reviewer. The bestselling romantic comedy, perfect for fans of Don't Stop Me Now and The Bucket List to Mend a Broken Heart.Phoebe Henderson may be single but she sure doesn't feel fabulous. It's been a year since she found her boyfriend Alex in bed with another woman, and multiple cases of wine and extensive relationship analysis with best friend Lucy have done nothing to help. Faced with a new year but no new love, Phoebe concocts a different kind of resolution. The List: ten things she's always wanted to do in bed but has never had the chance (or the courage!) to try. A bucket list for between the sheets. One year of pleasure, no strings attached. Simple, right? Factor in meddlesome colleagues, friends with benefits, getting frisky al fresco and maybe, possibly, true love and Phoebe's got her work cut out for her.[*Contains adult material*]
    • More

    Loss of Innocence

    By Davi Patterson, Richard North Patterson
    Authors:
    Davi Patterson, Richard North Patterson
    • More

    The Life of Rebecca Jones

    By Angharad Price
    Authors:
    Angharad Price
    • More

    The Library of Unrequited Love

    By Sophie Divry
    Authors:
    Sophie Divry
    • More

    The Light and the Dark

    By Mikhail Shishkin
    Authors:
    Mikhail Shishkin
    • More

    The Lewis Trilogy

    By Peter May
    Authors:
    Peter May
    The isle of Lewis is a land of strange beauty, harsh living and inhabitants of deep-rooted faith. Detective Inspector Fin Macleod returns from Edinburgh to the island of his childhood to investigate a series of brutal killings. As old memories resurface and old friends reappear, Fin realizes that returning to the past will lead him into danger.
    • More

    Lucy Charlton's Christmas

    By Elizabeth Gill
    Authors:
    Elizabeth Gill
    A festive short story to accompany Elizabeth Gill's new novel, The Fall and Rise of Lucy Charlton. Lucy Charlton - beloved daughter, precocious student and aspiring lawyer - is looking forward to spending a cozy holiday in Durham with her parents and sister Gemma. But when Headmistress asks Lucy to look after a younger girl at school - a Malaysian immigrant called Shamala - Lucy learns that not everybody has a warm hearth and jolly family to come home to this Christmas. From the author of the bestselling novel Miss Appleby's Academy comes a heartwarming tale full of love, courage and Christmas cheer.
    • More

    The Lover

    By Laura Wilson
    Authors:
    Laura Wilson
    Shortlisted for the CWA Gold Dagger Award and the CWA Ellis Peters Award for Historical Crime Fiction. It is the autumn of 1940, and London is in the terrifying grip of the Blitz. An unidentified female corpse is discovered in an alleyway in Soho - the fourth to the have been found in a matter of weeks. The women - all prostitutes - have been horribly mutilated. Rene is a Soho prostitute with a young son to support. She's learnt to cope with the air-raids, but each night on the streets is a terrifying ordeal as the killer begins to pick off her friends. Lucy is a young, middle-class office worker living with her family in Clapham, her head full of romantic notions of how love ought to be. She struggles to make sense of things as her peaceful suburban life degenerates into chaos while London burns and crumples under aerial bombardment. Jim is a fighter pilot, handsome and much admired for his heroism in battle. The killer instinct makes him perfectly suited to the daily challenge he faces above the skies of southern England, but the strain is beginning to tell. In ordinary circumstances, their paths might never have crossed, but in war-torn London, anything can happen, and one night a bomb falls, with terrifying consequences for them all...
    • More

    A Little Death

    By Laura Wilson
    Authors:
    Laura Wilson
    Shortlisted for the Anthony Award for Best Paperback Original and the CWA Ellis Peters Award for Historical Crime Fiction. London, 1955. Three bodies are found in a house - but when the police search for the murder weapon, vital evidence is destroyed. One of the victims is former society beauty Georgina Gresham, prime suspect in the notorious murder of her husband, James, almost thirty years earlier. Beside her lie the bodies of her brother Edmund and housekeeper Ada. But there is a link with the past. In the 1890s, in a beautiful garden, three children played together. Their lives were secure, their future certain - until the youngest child was found with fatal head injuries...
    • More

    Love Online

    By Lisa Tuttle
    Authors:
    Lisa Tuttle
    In this brand new story by award-winning author Lisa Tuttle, a girl online finds more than she ever dreamed . . .When Rose moves to America to stay with her grandmother, the internet enables her to keep in touch with her family and play games in multi-user domains.She meets Orson, Olivia and Simon in the 'domain' of Illyria, where they become people they are not and find a deeper truth in fantasy.
    • More