Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books

My Best Friend

By Laura Wilson
Authors:
Laura Wilson
A quiet Suffolk village, 1944: Fourteen-year-old Gerald Haxton is a lonely boy who regards his still-born twin brother Jack as his only friend. His mother, a famous children's writer, guards Jack's memory jealously, claiming him as the model for the boy detective in her series of adventure stories, and Gerald, disturbed and unpopular, has no hope of ever measuring up to him. Playing in the woods near his home, Gerald discovers the body of his elder sister buried in a shallow grave. She has been beaten to death with a wooden stake and her boyfriend, a young G.I., is hanged for the crime. London 1995: As the country prepares to celebrate the 50th anniversary of VE Day, Gerald, who remains a loner, is nearing retirement. Obsessed by routine, he still talks to his dead brother Jack. Surrounded by nostalgic artefacts at the TV prop-hire company where he works, he is constantly reminded of the past, and, with it, his sister Vera's death. Hoping to escape his lonely existence, he takes to following Mel, the twelve-year-old daughter of a colleague. A few days later, Mel, who bears a striking resemblance to Vera, disappears...
  • More

Made in Heaven

By Adèle Geras
Authors:
Adèle Geras
Suzannah (known as Zannah) and Adrian are planning to marry in May, the loveliest time of year. Zannah has always wanted a beautiful, traditional wedding and feels she missed out the first time round when she married Cal, father of her daughter Isis. Now, the two families are to meet for the first time. Will the slightly bohemian Gratrixes from Cheshire and the wealthy Ashtons from the Home Counties like each other? The meeting will take place on neutral territory, at a lunch party in the home of Zannah's great aunt Charlotte in London - but no one anticipates the reaction when Zannah's mother and Adrian's stepfather first meet, and a series of events is set in motion with consequences no one expected... As the story unfolds, full of drama, conflict, revelations, reconciliations and romance, the two families plus several outsiders move forward towards the inevitable Big Day. Not everyone will get what they want. Not all marriages are made in heaven...
  • More

Motherland

By William Nicholson
Authors:
William Nicholson
  • More

Memories of the Body

By Lisa Tuttle
Authors:
Lisa Tuttle
Award-winning horror author Lisa Tuttle's second short story collection is 'both entertaining and thought-provoking' Publisher's Weekly.This collection of fifteen emotionally-powerful short stories by a writer of cutting-edge fantasy, science fiction and horror are filled with subtlety, power and distinctive voice demanding to be heard.Includes five stories singled out by critic John Clute as 'among the very best short stories published in the last decade' - 'The Wound', 'Memories of the Body', 'Riding the Nightmare', 'Husbands' and 'Lizard Lust', along with 'A Mother's Heart', 'Bits and Pieces', 'Dead Television', 'Other Room', 'Skin Deep', 'Colonization of Edwin Beal', 'Spirit Cabinet', 'Jamie's Grave', 'Heart's Desire' and 'A Birthday'.
  • More

A Man Without Breath

By Philip Kerr
Authors:
Philip Kerr
  • More
  • Mage's Blood

    By David Hair
    Authors:
    David Hair
    Desperate for the next Game of Thrones? The Moontide is coming and the world stands on the brink of war: 'Similar in scope to George R.R. Martin's Ice and Fire and Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time novels and sure to please those authors' many fans (Library Journal)Every twelve years the tides sink to their lowest and the Leviathan Bridge rises above the waves, linking the East and West for twenty-four short months.'Fans of Game of Thrones will delight in the existence of this different-yet-similar fantasy series' (New Myths) The Rondian emperor, overlord of the West, is hell-bent on ruling both continents, and the last two Moontides have seen his crusading armies crossing the Bridge and raping and pillaging their way across Antiopia.The next Moontide is almost here: the battle-magi of the Third Crusade are mustering in the West, and in the East, holy Shihad has been declared. This time the two will clash as never before. 'A complex world populated by a rich and diverse cast of characters . . . something for everyone - conspiracies, political backstabbing, high magic, swordplay, a smattering of romance, and more . . . Recommended for fans of George R.R. Martin, Brandon Sanderson and Patrick Rothfuss' (Monster Librarian)And three ordinary people - a failed mage, a jaded mercenary and a lowly market girl - are about to discover that their actions may determine the fate of nations.The Moontide Quartet: an epic fantasy rich in intricate plots, intrigue and treachery as vast forces collide and ordinary people make heart-rending choices that will shake the world.
    • More

    My Pathology and Other Stories

    By Lisa Tuttle
    Authors:
    Lisa Tuttle
    What if the logic of the world reflected the bizarre logic of the unconscious? Each story in My Pathology explores the insanity just below the surface of normal life, especially the madness that unites and divides the sexes. A woman's obsession with her younger sister's nocturnal activities centres uneasily upon the attic of their shared home, where someone or something has built a room-sized nest. A man's desire to connect with aliens threatens his ability to form human relationships. And in the title story, a modern-day alchemist has enlisted sexuality itself into his quest for the philosopher's stone, with uncertain consequences for the women who love him. By turns disturbing and compelling, these sixteen multi-faceted tales reprise the career of one of SF's most emotionally insightful writers.Includes the stories 'Replacements', 'Honey, I'm Home!', 'Food Man', 'Mr Elphinstone's Hands', 'Lucy Maria', 'Where the Stones Grow', 'White Lady's Grave', 'Tir Nan Og', 'The Dragon's Bride', 'Manskin, Womanskin', 'From Another Country', 'The Walled Garden', 'The Extra Hour', 'In Jealousy', 'Turning Thirty' and 'My Pathology'.
    • More

    Mountain Higher

    By Daniel Friebe, Pete Goding
    Authors:
    Daniel Friebe, Pete Goding
    Following the success of Mountain High: Europe's Greatest Cycle Climbs comes a volume focusing on the continent's lesser-known, challenging and spectacular mountain roads and passes. From the heights of the Ötztal Glacier Road in Austria to the 'secret' side of the legendary Alpe d'Huez, Mountain Higher: Europe's Extreme, Undiscovered and Unforgettable Cycle Climbs explores 50 soon-to-be cult locations and captures stunning scenery from off the beaten track. Featuring the technical details (maps, profiles, lengths, heights) that made Mountain High an indispensable reference book, as well as dynamic descriptions of the routes themselves and Pete Goding's breathtaking photography, this book is a stylish and practical guide to the hidden gems that every true cycling enthusiast needs to know about.
    • More

    The Moment

    By Claire Dyer
    Authors:
    Claire Dyer
    • More

    Misinterpretation of Tara Jupp

    By Eva Rice, Penelope Rawlins
    Authors:
    Eva Rice
    Read by:
    Penelope Rawlins
    FROM THE AUTHOR OF 'THE LOST ART OF KEEPING SECRETS'. Country girl Tara is whisked off to '60s London to become a star; there she is dressed, she is shown off at Chelsea parties, photographed by the best. She meets songwriters, singers, designers, and records her song. And she falls in love - with two men. Behind the buzz and excitement of her success, the bitterness between her elder sister Lucy and her friend Matilda haunts Tara. Their past friendship is broken and among the secrets and the strangeness of both their marriages, the past keeps on reappearing. Praise for THE LOST ART OF KEEPING SECRETS: 'So good we could hardly speak' Observer. 'A delight of Nancy Mitford-esque trials and tribulations' Vogue.(P)2103 WF Howes Ltd
    • More

    Maths in 100 Key Breakthroughs

    By Richard Elwes
    Authors:
    Richard Elwes
    • More

    The Misinterpretation of Tara Jupp

    By Eva Rice
    Authors:
    Eva Rice
    • More

    The Marseille Caper

    By Peter Mayle
    Authors:
    Peter Mayle
    • More

    The Minotaur's Head

    By Marek Krajewski
    Authors:
    Marek Krajewski
    • More

    Mrs Keppel and Her Daughter

    By Diana Souhami
    Authors:
    Diana Souhami
    • More

    Murder at Wrotham Hill

    By Diana Souhami
    Authors:
    Diana Souhami
    • More

    Matt Tebbutt's Guilty Pleasures

    By Matt Tebbutt
    Authors:
    Matt Tebbutt
    • More

    Mad Dogs and Englishmen

    By Ashley Jackson
    Authors:
    Ashley Jackson
    At its peak the British Empire covered approximately one quarter of the Earth's total land area and ruled over the same proportion of the world's population: its boundaries stretched from Birmingham to Bombay, from Cairo to Cape Town, and from Winnipeg to Wagga-Wagga. In this unique book, Ashley Jackson takes the reader on a richly informative tour of the empire 'on which the sun never set', examining the representations of empire that informed the world view of hundreds of millions of people. In a sequence of elegantly written chapters Mad Dogs and Englishmen examines every aspect of the largest imperium the world has seen, from its district commissioners to dependent territories, from its armed forces to its architecture, and from its music to its monarchy. Ashley Jackson's text is as accessible as it is scholarly, and is amplified and embellished by imperial imagery from an exceptionally wide range of media. Authoritative, sumptuous, and written by a scholar who is steeped in knowledge of the period, Mad Dogs and Englishmen evokes the fascinating sights and sounds that the British Empire presented to its citizens, and thereby brings a unique period of British and world history unforgettably to life.
    • More

    Matilda's Last Waltz

    By Tamara McKinley
    Authors:
    Tamara McKinley
    If you love Lesley Pearse, you're sure to fall for Tamara McKinley.When tragedy strikes, Jenny craves a fresh start away from the memories of her past. So when she unexpectedly inherits a sheep station in the Australian Outback called Churinga, she welcomes the escape. But Churinga turns out to be a lonely place, where the weather is extreme and the neighbours hostile. As Jenny fights to take control of her new life, she discovers some surprising secrets about the station itself and its enigmatic previous owner - the mysterious Matilda - leading Jenny to wonder if inheriting the station has been a blessing or a curse.
    • More

    Mesmerized

    By Alissa Walser
    Authors:
    Alissa Walser
    • More