Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books

Made for Each Other

By Virginia Ironside
Authors:
Virginia Ironside
I destroy everything I touch... don't let me destroy you. When two strangers meet in a bank one day, sparks fly. Both are emotionally unstable but neither can resist the other and they embark on a passionate love affair. The constant threat of being torn apart by another woman does nothing to stifle the attraction between these lovers, only fuelling an obsessive relationship. As their lives become increasingly tangled, they realise their desire is both destructive and insatiable. From acclaimed author Virginia Ironside, a provocative and sensual novel about obsessive love.
  • More

The Missing File

By D. A. Mishani
Authors:
D. A. Mishani
  • More

The Missing One

By Lucy Atkins
Authors:
Lucy Atkins
'From the very first page I was drawn in, hook, line and sinker' Amazon reviewerThe bestselling noir thriller about the lengths a mother will go to protect her child. Perfect for fans of Linda Green and Fiona Barton.The loss of her mother has left Kali McKenzie with too many unanswered questions. But while clearing out Elena's art studio, she finds a drawer packed with postcards, each bearing an identical one-line message a Canadian gallery owner called Susannah Gillespie: thinking of you. Who is this woman and what does she know about Elena's hidden past? Desperate to find out, Kali travels with her toddler, Finn, to Susannah's isolated home on a remote British Columbian island, a place of killer whales and storms. But as bad weather closes in, Kali quickly realises she has made a big mistake. The handsome and enigmatic Susannah refuses to talk about the past, and as Kali struggles to piece together what happened back in the 1970s, Susannah's behaviour grows more and more erratic. Most worrying of all, Susannah is becoming increasingly preoccupied with little Finn . . .
  • More

My Best Friend

By Laura Wilson
Authors:
Laura Wilson
A quiet Suffolk village, 1944: Fourteen-year-old Gerald Haxton is a lonely boy who regards his still-born twin brother Jack as his only friend. His mother, a famous children's writer, guards Jack's memory jealously, claiming him as the model for the boy detective in her series of adventure stories, and Gerald, disturbed and unpopular, has no hope of ever measuring up to him. Playing in the woods near his home, Gerald discovers the body of his elder sister buried in a shallow grave. She has been beaten to death with a wooden stake and her boyfriend, a young G.I., is hanged for the crime. London 1995: As the country prepares to celebrate the 50th anniversary of VE Day, Gerald, who remains a loner, is nearing retirement. Obsessed by routine, he still talks to his dead brother Jack. Surrounded by nostalgic artefacts at the TV prop-hire company where he works, he is constantly reminded of the past, and, with it, his sister Vera's death. Hoping to escape his lonely existence, he takes to following Mel, the twelve-year-old daughter of a colleague. A few days later, Mel, who bears a striking resemblance to Vera, disappears...
  • More

Made in Heaven

By Adèle Geras
Authors:
Adèle Geras
Suzannah (known as Zannah) and Adrian are planning to marry in May, the loveliest time of year. Zannah has always wanted a beautiful, traditional wedding and feels she missed out the first time round when she married Cal, father of her daughter Isis. Now, the two families are to meet for the first time. Will the slightly bohemian Gratrixes from Cheshire and the wealthy Ashtons from the Home Counties like each other? The meeting will take place on neutral territory, at a lunch party in the home of Zannah's great aunt Charlotte in London - but no one anticipates the reaction when Zannah's mother and Adrian's stepfather first meet, and a series of events is set in motion with consequences no one expected... As the story unfolds, full of drama, conflict, revelations, reconciliations and romance, the two families plus several outsiders move forward towards the inevitable Big Day. Not everyone will get what they want. Not all marriages are made in heaven...
  • More

Motherland

By William Nicholson
Authors:
William Nicholson
  • More

Memories of the Body

By Lisa Tuttle
Authors:
Lisa Tuttle
Award-winning horror author Lisa Tuttle's second short story collection is 'both entertaining and thought-provoking' Publisher's Weekly.This collection of fifteen emotionally-powerful short stories by a writer of cutting-edge fantasy, science fiction and horror are filled with subtlety, power and distinctive voice demanding to be heard.Includes five stories singled out by critic John Clute as 'among the very best short stories published in the last decade' - 'The Wound', 'Memories of the Body', 'Riding the Nightmare', 'Husbands' and 'Lizard Lust', along with 'A Mother's Heart', 'Bits and Pieces', 'Dead Television', 'Other Room', 'Skin Deep', 'Colonization of Edwin Beal', 'Spirit Cabinet', 'Jamie's Grave', 'Heart's Desire' and 'A Birthday'.
  • More
  • A Man Without Breath

    By Philip Kerr
    Authors:
    Philip Kerr
    Berlin, March 1943. The mood in Germany is bleak after their stunning defeat at Stalingrad. Private Investigator Bernie Gunther is at work in the German War Crimes Bureau - weary, cynical but well aware of the value of truth in a world where that's now a rarity. When human remains are found deep in the Katyn Forest, Bernie is sent to investigate. Rumour has it that this mass grave is full of Polish officers murdered by the Russians. For Josef Goebbels, proof of Russian involvement is sure to destroy the Western Alliance, giving Germany a chance to reverse its devastating losses. But supposing the truth is far more damaging to the German cause? It's Bernie Gunther's job to give Goebbels what he needs. But when there's nothing left for Gunther to lose, the compulsion to speak the truth becomes ever stronger...
    • More
  • Mage's Blood

    By David Hair
    Authors:
    David Hair
    The Moontide is coming. Urte stands on the brink of war. Now three seemingly ordinary people will decide the fate of the world.Urte is divided, its two continents separated by impassable seas. But once every twelve years, the Moontide sees the waters sink to their lowest point and the Leviathan Bridge is revealed, linking east to west for twenty-four short months.The Rondian emperor, overlord of the west, is hell-bent on ruling both continents, and for the last two Moontides he has led armies of battle-magi across the bridge on crusades of conquest, pillaging his way across Antiopa.But the people of the east have been preparing - and, this time, they are ready for a fight.An epic fantasy, rich in intricate plots, intrigue and treachery. Vast forces collide and ordinary people make heart-rending choices that will shake the world.'A complex world populated by a rich and diverse cast of characters . . . Recommended for fans of George R.R. Martin, Brandon Sanderson and Patrick Rothfuss' - Library Journal
    • More

    Mountain Higher

    By Daniel Friebe, Pete Goding
    Authors:
    Daniel Friebe, Pete Goding
    Following the success of Mountain High: Europe's Greatest Cycle Climbs comes a volume focusing on the continent's lesser-known, challenging and spectacular mountain roads and passes. From the heights of the Ötztal Glacier Road in Austria to the 'secret' side of the legendary Alpe d'Huez, Mountain Higher: Europe's Extreme, Undiscovered and Unforgettable Cycle Climbs explores 50 soon-to-be cult locations and captures stunning scenery from off the beaten track. Featuring the technical details (maps, profiles, lengths, heights) that made Mountain High an indispensable reference book, as well as dynamic descriptions of the routes themselves and Pete Goding's breathtaking photography, this book is a stylish and practical guide to the hidden gems that every true cycling enthusiast needs to know about.
    • More

    My Pathology and Other Stories

    By Lisa Tuttle
    Authors:
    Lisa Tuttle
    What if the logic of the world reflected the bizarre logic of the unconscious? Each story in My Pathology explores the insanity just below the surface of normal life, especially the madness that unites and divides the sexes. A woman's obsession with her younger sister's nocturnal activities centres uneasily upon the attic of their shared home, where someone or something has built a room-sized nest. A man's desire to connect with aliens threatens his ability to form human relationships. And in the title story, a modern-day alchemist has enlisted sexuality itself into his quest for the philosopher's stone, with uncertain consequences for the women who love him. By turns disturbing and compelling, these sixteen multi-faceted tales reprise the career of one of SF's most emotionally insightful writers.Includes the stories 'Replacements', 'Honey, I'm Home!', 'Food Man', 'Mr Elphinstone's Hands', 'Lucy Maria', 'Where the Stones Grow', 'White Lady's Grave', 'Tir Nan Og', 'The Dragon's Bride', 'Manskin, Womanskin', 'From Another Country', 'The Walled Garden', 'The Extra Hour', 'In Jealousy', 'Turning Thirty' and 'My Pathology'.
    • More

    The Moment

    By Claire Dyer
    Authors:
    Claire Dyer
    • More

    Maths in 100 Key Breakthroughs

    By Richard Elwes
    Authors:
    Richard Elwes
    • More

    The Misinterpretation of Tara Jupp

    By Eva Rice
    Authors:
    Eva Rice
    Tara Jupp is living out all our dreams: a pop star in Sixties London, surrounded by the glitterati. But can she succeed while holding on to who she is?Country girl Tara is whisked off to Sixties London to become a pop star; there she is dressed, she is shown off at Chelsea parties, photographed by the best. She meets songwriters, singers, designers, and records her song, and falls in love. But behind the buzz and excitement of her success, concern about her beautiful, wild sister Lucy and the bitter relationship with their friend Matilda haunts Tara. Their past friendship is broken, and among the deceptions and the strangeness of both their marriages, the buried secrets keep on reappearing. The brilliant new world of fashion and music, of mini skirts and rock 'n' roll, of the Marquee Club and The Palladium, is also one of love and heartache.
    • More

    Misinterpretation of Tara Jupp

    By Eva Rice, Penelope Rawlins
    Authors:
    Eva Rice
    Read by:
    Penelope Rawlins
    FROM THE AUTHOR OF 'THE LOST ART OF KEEPING SECRETS'. Country girl Tara is whisked off to '60s London to become a star; there she is dressed, she is shown off at Chelsea parties, photographed by the best. She meets songwriters, singers, designers, and records her song. And she falls in love - with two men. Behind the buzz and excitement of her success, the bitterness between her elder sister Lucy and her friend Matilda haunts Tara. Their past friendship is broken and among the secrets and the strangeness of both their marriages, the past keeps on reappearing. Praise for THE LOST ART OF KEEPING SECRETS: 'So good we could hardly speak' Observer. 'A delight of Nancy Mitford-esque trials and tribulations' Vogue.(P)2103 WF Howes Ltd
    • More

    The Minotaur's Head

    By Marek Krajewski
    Authors:
    Marek Krajewski
    • More

    The Marseille Caper

    By Peter Mayle
    Authors:
    Peter Mayle
    • More

    Murder at Wrotham Hill

    By Diana Souhami
    Authors:
    Diana Souhami
    • More

    Matt Tebbutt's Guilty Pleasures

    By Matt Tebbutt
    Authors:
    Matt Tebbutt
    • More

    Mrs Keppel and Her Daughter

    By Diana Souhami
    Authors:
    Diana Souhami
    • More