Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books
  • The People of the Sky

    By Walton Golightly
    Authors:
    Walton Golightly
    • More

    The Plantagenets

    By Derek Wilson
    Authors:
    Derek Wilson
    • More

    Paper Doll (A Spenser Mystery)

    By Robert B. Parker
    Authors:
    Robert B. Parker
    Hired by an aristocrat who refuses to believe that his wife's brutal street-slaying was random violence, private detective Spenser suddenly finds himself in a world where nothing is what it seems, least of all the life - and death - of the victim.
    • More

    Pastime (A Spenser Mystery)

    By Robert B. Parker
    Authors:
    Robert B. Parker
    Ten years ago, Spenser saved a teenage boy from his father's rage. Now, in his twenties, the son is seeking answers to his mother's sudden disappearance. And once again, Spenser is the only one he can turn to.
    • More

    Playmates (A Spenser Mystery)

    By Robert B. Parker
    Authors:
    Robert B. Parker
    When Spenser is hired to look into rumours of match fixing in university basketball, his investigations lead him deep into the gambling underworld - and into the most dangerous job of his career.
    • More

    Panther in Argyll

    By Lisa Tuttle
    Authors:
    Lisa Tuttle
    A unique and inventive story by award-winning author Lisa Tuttle.When Danni chooses to spend the school holidays with her godmother, Claire, she thinks she will find a kindred spirit. She doesn't bank on meeting the mysterious Finlay Black, or Claire being on the look out for the Panther of Argyll - the beast that supposedly roams the woods around her cottage. And she doesn't bank on discovering that she has the 'animal spirit' - a rare and unique ability that not only provides an empathy with animals, but the ability to become them. But there is a price for letting the animal within loose. Panthers are wild, primal, strong . . . and most of all free: why remain human when all of this is within your grasp?
    • More

    Playing Grace

    By Hazel Osmond
    Authors:
    Hazel Osmond
    A romantic comedy about love and learning to let go. Perfect for fans of Sarra Manning, Ellie Adams and Rosie Blake.Grace Surtees has everything carefully under control - her work life, her home life and her love life - especially her love life. But then her boss hires Tate Saunders, a brash American, to spice up the gallery tours his company provides. Messy and fond of breaking rules, Tate explodes into her tidy existence like a paintball, and Grace hates everything about him... doesn't she? Because, for Grace, the alternative would be simply too terrifying to contemplate: to love Tate rather than hate him would mean leaping out of her comfort zone, and Grace's devotion to order hides some long-kept secrets... secrets she's sure someone like Tate Saunders could never accept or understand.Discover Hazel Osmond's other novels, Who's Afraid of Mr Wolfe?, The Mysterious Miss Mayhew and The First Time I Saw Your Face.
    • More

    Pale Kings and Princes (A Spenser Mystery)

    By Robert B. Parker
    Authors:
    Robert B. Parker
    When a young journalist researching the cocaine trade in a small Massachusetts town is found murdered, private detective Spenser is called in to find out who is responsible. Wheaton isn't just any small town though - Spenser soon discovers it's one of the biggest cocaine distribution centres in the Northeast. But the local drugs cartel are not the only suspects - did the journalist get too close to the truth, or too close to the wife of a very jealous man?
    • More

    The Periodic Table

    By Paul Parsons, Gail Dixon
    Authors:
    Paul Parsons, Gail Dixon
    The Periodic Table is one of the most recognizable images in science - and in our culture. Its 118 elements make up everything on our planet and in the entire universe. But how many of us actually know how to interpret its distinctive design? And what does its unique arrangement tell us about the behaviour of each element in the world around us? The Periodic Table looks at the fascinating story and surprising history of each of these elements, from the little-known uses of gold in medicine to that of arsenic as a wallpaper dye in the ninteenth-century and the development of the hydrogen bomb. Packed with interesting facts and figures and helpful illustrations, this accessible guide will help the armchair chemist navigate through the different groups of elements - and discover the world afresh.
    • More

    A Private Business

    By Barbara Nadel
    Authors:
    Barbara Nadel
    • More

    Path of Needles

    By Alison Littlewood
    Authors:
    Alison Littlewood
    Some fairy tales are born of dreams . . . and some are born of nightmares. Chrissie Farrell is young, beautiful and about to be crowned Queen of the Dance. But on the evening of her triumph she is abducted and murdered, her body left for the police to find.With no other clues, the disturbing way in which Chrissie's body has been posed has PC Cate Corbin at a loss - until university lecturer Alice Hyland is called in. An expert on fairy tales, Alice quickly notices a connection between the murder and an obscure version of Snow White.When a second body is found, Alice is dragged further into the investigation - and only then realises that she is becoming a suspect. Now Alice must fight, not just to prove her innocence, but to protect herself: because the body count is growing and it's looking like she might be next . . .'I loved Path of Needles. Dark but satisfying, like the best chocolate' Elly Griffiths, bestselling author of The Dark Angel
    • More
  • Planesrunner

    By Ian McDonald
    Authors:
    Ian McDonald
    'Chock-full of awesome,' says Paolo Bacigalupi, 'the kind of airship-dueling, guns-blazing fantasythat makes me wish I could pop through to the next reality over!'There is not just one you, there are many yous. We're part of a multiplicity of universes in parallel dimensions - and Everett Singh's dad has found a way in. But he's been kidnapped, and now it is as though Everett's dad never existed. Yet there is one clue for his son to follow, a mysterious app called the Infundibulum: a map not just to the Ten Known Worlds, but to the entire multiverse - and someone wants to get her hands on it . . . very badly. If Everett's going to keep it safe and rescue his dad, he's going to need friends: like Captain Anastasia Sixmith, her adopted daughter and the crew of the airship Everness.'Romantic, action-packed, wildly imaginative and full of heart' Cory Doctorow
    • More

    Promised Land (A Spenser Mystery)

    By Robert B. Parker
    Authors:
    Robert B. Parker
    Harvey Shepard's wife has run away and private detective Spenser has been hired to find her. A seemingly easy mission, but there may be more to this case than meets the eye.
    • More

    The Pit Girl

    By Elizabeth Gill
    Authors:
    Elizabeth Gill
    To make a home, she must break the rules. Can she triumph over tragedy?After her father's death, Kate Ferrar is expected to move from London to a mining village in County Durham to live with an uncle she barely knows. Restricted by the confines of polite society and hungry for education and honest company, she breaks all social rules by taking a job in her uncle's office. But a sudden and shocking pit disaster almost destroys everything and Kate must draw on all her courage to survive...An emotional read about love in the face of hardship. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Nadine Dorries.Note: this book was previously published under the title The Singing Winds.
    • More

    Parker

    By Richard Stark
    Authors:
    Richard Stark
    The book that inspired the major new film, starring Jason Statham and Jennifer Lopez. Parker is a thief with a unique code of ethics: Don't steal from people who can't afford it and don't hurt people who don't deserve it. When he is double-crossed by his crew and left for dead, Parker is set on revenge. Assuming a new disguise and forming an unlikely alliance with a woman on the inside, he looks to hijack the score of the crew's latest heist, and put right what they took from him. Please note that this novel was previously published as Flashfire.
    • More

    Promise Laid Bare

    By CC Gibbs
    Authors:
    CC Gibbs
    Isolde Perceval, Countess of Wraxall, has no intention of marrying. Not least the odious suitor who is out for her body and her money . . .The luck of Osmond, Baron Lennox, seems to have run out. When a dalliance with his mistress goes awry and the wrong woman is found in his bed, he is trapped at the centre of Isolde's scheme to escape her situation. Marriage now seems his only option but his last desire - something they have in common. But shared passion will draw them closer together than they could have ever imagined . . .
    • More

    The Planets (FIXED FORMAT EDITION)

    By Giles Sparrow
    Authors:
    Giles Sparrow
    In the last 40 years the planets have been revealed in their full glory, unmasked by a fleet of satellites and interplanetary probes. And the closer we look, the more astonishing they are: Mars' deserts were once home to rivers and oceans; on Jupiter wind speeds reach 10,000 kph (6,000 mph) and storms rage for centuries; Saturn is surrounded by a swarm of 34 moons; and diamonds are believed to rain from Neptune's blue skies.Moving out from the Sun, every planet and moon is visited in a journey that takes us a full light year into space, out to the fringes of the solar system where the Sun is no longer the brightest star in the sky. With 200 spectacular images, The Planets follows the tracks of robotic rovers over Mars, plunges through Titan's atmosphere on the back of the Hugyens probe, smashes into a comet with Deep Impact, and voyages to the edge of our solar system to discover the frozen planets that lurk beyond the orbit of Pluto.
    • More

    Pacific Heights

    By Paul Harper
    Authors:
    Paul Harper
    • More

    The Pillow Friend

    By Lisa Tuttle
    Authors:
    Lisa Tuttle
    Perfect for fans of Tanith Lee and Joyce Carol Oates, this extremely dark and disturbing novel by award-winning author Lisa Tuttle is 'Impossible to forget' Neil Gaiman.Be careful what you wish for . . . As a child, Agnes Grey dreamed of the perfect friend to ease her loneliness: a doll that would talk to her, tell her stories, share her secrets, just like her Aunt Marjorie used to have.So when she receives an old-fashioned porcelain doll as an adult, painted to look like an old-world gentleman, she's certain her dreams have come true. But as the line between fantasy and reality begins to blurs, Agnes discovers that every dream has its price and every wish must be paid for . . .
    • More
  • Prague Fatale

    By Philip Kerr
    Authors:
    Philip Kerr
    'One of the greatest anti-heroes ever written' LEE CHILDBernie Gunther returns to his desk on homicide from the horrors of the Eastern Front to find Berlin changed for the worse. He begins to investigate the death of a railway worker, but is obliged to drop everything when Reinhard Heydrich of the SD orders him to Prague to spend a weekend at his country house. Bernie accepts reluctantly, especially when he learns that his fellow guests are all senior figures in the SS and SD. The weekend quickly turns sour when a body is found in a room locked from the inside. If Bernie fails to solve this impossible mystery not only is his reputation at stake, but also that of Reinhard Heydrich, a man who cannot bear to lose face.
    • More