Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books

The Caravaggio Conspiracy

By Alex Connor
Authors:
Alex Connor
  • More
  • The Cold Nowhere

    By Brian Freeman
    Authors:
    Brian Freeman
    • More

    Chelsea Bird

    By Virginia Ironside
    Authors:
    Virginia Ironside
    The debut novel of acclaimed writer Virginia Ironside, author of No, I Don't Want to join a Bookclub, originally published in 1964, when she was aged just twenty. London, 1960s. A cultural revolution is taking place. Young people are finally being seen as a force to be reckoned with. But for eighteen-year-old art student Harriet and her Chelsea friends, this amounts to one thing: being'In'. The King's Road swarms with people wanting to see and be seen; upper-class boys with faux cockney accents party with models, beatniks and photographers; teddy boys are good people to nod to in the street; transport caffs are the must-go places for food, and black men have suddenly become the people to know. Through Harriet's eyes, Virginia Ironside paints a witty, tongue-in-cheek portrait of life in 1960's London that will strike a nostalgic chord with all those who were there, and make all those who weren't wish they had been.
    • More

    Chance (A Spenser Mystery)

    By Robert B. Parker
    Authors:
    Robert B. Parker
    When Boston mobster Julius Ventura asks Spenser and his sidekick, Hawk, to find his missing son-in-law, it's clear he's not telling the whole truth. But something about the case appeals to Spenser and he agrees to take it, only to find himself at the centre of a gangland turf war.
    • More

    Constellations

    By Giles Sparrow
    Authors:
    Giles Sparrow
    • More

    A Curious History of Food and Drink

    By Ian Crofton
    Authors:
    Ian Crofton
    • More

    Crimson Joy (A Spenser Mystery)

    By Robert B. Parker
    Authors:
    Robert B. Parker
    Private detective Spenser is on the case of a serial killer with an unusual calling card - he leaves a red rose on the body of each of his victims. And when the madman targets Susan Silverman, Spenser's resolve is strengthened and he determines to find the murderer no matter what the risk.
    • More
  • The Chessmen

    By Peter May
    Authors:
    Peter May
    THE NAIL-BITING FINAL CHAPTER IN THE LEWIS TRILOGY, FROM THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF COFFIN ROAD.THE NEW STARTFin Macleod, now head of security on a privately owned Lewis estate, is charged with investigating a spate of illegal game-hunting taking place on the island. THE OLD FRIENDThis mission reunites him with Whistler Macaskill - a local poacher, Fin's teenage intimate, and possessor of a long-buried secret. THE FINAL CHAPTERBut when this reunion takes a violent, sinister turn and Fin puts together the fractured pieces of the past, he realizes that revealing the truth could destroy the future.
    • More

    The Cook

    By Wayne Macauley
    Authors:
    Wayne Macauley
    • More

    A Catskill Eagle (A Spenser Mystery)

    By Robert B. Parker
    Authors:
    Robert B. Parker
    When Susan Silverman disappears with the heir to an underground weapons empire, Spenser breaks sidekick Hawk out of jail to help him with the search for her. But they also need the help of the CIA, and favours from the agency don't come cheap.
    • More

    The Castles of Britain and Ireland

    By RODN CASTLEDEN, Rodney Castleden
    Authors:
    RODN CASTLEDEN, Rodney Castleden
    To many, medieval castles are the essence of Britain and Ireland's fascinating past. Immersed in history and centuries old, each one tells a story of Kings, Queens and feuding lords; war and bloody conflict; treason, revenge and murder. In Castles of Britain and Ireland, Rodney Castleden weaves a fascinating and detailed narrative of 115 of the grandest and most historically significant castles in the British Isles, including Balmoral in Scotland, Bunratty in Ireland, Caernarfon in Wales and St Michael's Mount in England. As well as the details of the construction, function, and often the destruction of these magnificent buildings, each chapter also tells the human stories behind these ancient walls, with fascinating details of everyday life within.
    • More

    Ceremony (A Spenser Mystery)

    By Robert B. Parker
    Authors:
    Robert B. Parker
    The trail of a missing high-school girl leads private detective Spenser to the Boston red-light district and to an underworld of high-class brothels, vice and corruption.
    • More
  • The City's Son

    By Tom Pollock
    Authors:
    Tom Pollock
    'An impeccably dark parable, endlessly inventive and utterly compelling' M R Carey, author of The Girl with all the Gifts Beth's world is falling apart. Then she discovers a hidden London, full of marvels, magic . . . and menace. Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman's Neverwhere. Hidden under the surface of everyday London is a city where wild train spirits stampede over the tracks and glass-skinned dancers with glowing veins light the streets. When a devastating betrayal drives her from her home, Beth stumbles into the secret city, where she finds Filius Viae, London's ragged crown prince, just when he needs someone the most. For an ancient enemy has returned to the darkness under St Paul's Cathedral, bent on reigniting a centuries-old war. Desperate to find a way to save the city they both love, they find themselves in a desperate race through this bizarre urban wonderland, but when Beth's best friend is captured, she must choose between this wondrous existence and the life she left behind. The City's Son is the first book of The Skyscraper Throne trilogy: a story about family, friends and monsters, and how you can't always tell which is which.
    • More

    Chaotic Fishponds and Mirror Universes

    By Richard Elwes
    Authors:
    Richard Elwes
    • More

    Combat

    By Stephen Coonts
    Authors:
    Stephen Coonts
    Combat brings the best military fiction authors together to imagine how war will be fought in the twenty-first century. From the down and dirty 'ground-pounders' of the U.S. Armored Cavalry to new frontiers of warfare, including outer space and cyber warfare, ten authors whose novels define the military fiction genre have written short stories that also celebrate the men and women who put their lives on the line for freedom.
    • More

    Come to the Edge

    By Joanna Kavenna
    Authors:
    Joanna Kavenna
    • More

    Coconut Chaos

    By Diana Souhami
    Authors:
    Diana Souhami
    • More
  • The Crowded Grave

    By Martin Walker
    Authors:
    Martin Walker
    Spanish separatists, angry activists and a mystery corpse: Bruno, chief of police has has his work cut out in the fourth in this internationally bestselling series.Life in the South of France isn't full of the charming peace that you might imagine. In St Denis a summit in a local château is threatened by Basque separatists, animal rights campaigners are causing havoc and it's about to get worse. A local archaeological team unearths a well-preserved skeleton. Yet it's a lot more recent than they'd hoped - boasting a Swatch on its wrist and a bullet-hole in its skull. Meanwhile, an influx of visitors makes Saint Denis unusually crowded, and the key to the body appears to lie with one of these outsiders. Bruno must think fast and keep his wits about him in order to work out how these events are connected. Especially if the answer lies a little closer to home.
    • More

    The Curse of Brink's-Mat

    By Wensley Clarkson
    Authors:
    Wensley Clarkson
    'It wasn't only Britain's biggest heist, it became the bloodiest' Mail on SundayThe inside story of the 20th century's most lucrative armed robbery.On 26 November 1983 six armed robbers escaped with £28 million worth of gold bullion from a Brink's-Mat warehouse at London's Heathrow Airport. The heist made the careers of many of the underworld's biggest names, and changed the face of British crime for ever. In the years following the robbery, many of those involved, innocent and guilty alike, have been sent to an early grave. Two decades on, the death toll is still rising. Nobody knows more about that extraordinary morning's events than Wensley Clarkson. Nobody is better placed to track the vicious, violent and unexpected waves that followed in its wake, or bring to life its cast of larger-than-life characters. From small-time crime in south-east London, to 'the heist of the century' and its bloody consequences, Wensley Clarkson's The Curse of Brink's-Mat is an epic tale of villainy, gold and revenge.
    • More

    The Cosmic Gallery

    By Giles Sparrow
    Authors:
    Giles Sparrow
    The heavens are alive with breathtaking beauty: from the incandescent surface of the Sun to the shimmering tail of a comet; the birth of planets to the death of stars; the dancing shadows of Jupiter's moons to the silhouettes of eclipses. The Cosmic Gallery contemplates the entire cosmos as a grand celestial art exhibit. In six thematically organized chapters, Giles Sparrow presents an array of stunning images, ranging from easily seen phenomena to the most distant and intricate galaxies, providing the reader with an exciting and beautiful new perspective on the cosmos.
    • More