Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books

Lighthouse Bay

By Kimberley Freeman
Authors:
Kimberley Freeman
  • More

Limit

By Frank Schätzing
Authors:
Frank Schätzing
Perfect for fans of Neal Stephenson and Peter F. Hamilton, an epic science-fiction novel from Germany's most successful thriller writer.The first space elevator connects the Earth to the Moon, prompting abreathless race between the Americans and Chinese to get to the Moon's helium-3 - the rare element that promises to solve all the world's energy problems. In Shanghai, cyber-detective Owen Jericho has been hired to find Yoyo, a missing girl, but what started as a routine investigation soon develops into a nightmarish hunt. There's a crazed assassin hot on his heels, all because Yoyo accidentally stumbled onto a secret society called Hydra - and now it's not just her life at risk. Following the Hydra trail takes Jericho and Yoyo round the world and finally to the Gaia, the Moon's very first hotel, where a billionaire entrepreneur is entertaining some of the world's richest and most influential men and women But the secret society that is Hydra has its own plans for the Earth - and the Moon. And nothing and no one will be allowed to stand in its way.
  • More

Let the Old Dreams Die

By John Ajvide Lindqvist
Authors:
John Ajvide Lindqvist
The follow-up collection to the international vampire bestseller Let the Right One InWhatever happened to Oskar and Eli? And what became of the beleaguered families in Handling the Undead? Find out in Let the Old Dreams Die. In other tales from this collection, a woman finds a dead body and decides to keep it for herself, a customs officer has a mysterious gift that enables her to see what others hide, and a man believes he knows how to deceive death. These are the stories of John Ajvide Lindqvist's rich imagination. They are about love and death, and what we do when the two collide and the monsters emerge.
  • More

Love is Strange

By Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly
  • More

The Last Man Standing

By Davide Longo
Authors:
Davide Longo
  • More

Leaving Patrick

By Prue Leith
Authors:
Prue Leith
Successful City lawyer Jane is leaving her husband, Patrick. She feels there must be more to life than stability and looming middle-age. She goes to India in search of passion, excitement, and a fresh start. What happens there makes her question the life she's led so far: Does her career always have to come first? And has she thrown away true love by mistake?
  • More

Looking for Rachel Wallace (A Spenser Mystery)

By Robert B. Parker
Authors:
Robert B. Parker
Rachel Wallace is a radical feminist on tour with a controversial book, and she needs protection. Private detective Spenser, a little too wisecracking and direct for Rachel's tastes, doesn't last long as her bodyguard. But when Rachel vanishes in the depths of a Boston winter, Spenser must charge to her rescue.
  • More

A Life Apart

By Mariapia Veladiano
Authors:
Mariapia Veladiano
  • More

Lost Futures

By Lisa Tuttle
Authors:
Lisa Tuttle
Shortlisted for the Arthur C. Clarke Award and the James Tiptree Jr. Award, this literary science-fiction novel by award-winning author Lisa Tuttle is 'a brilliant exploration of the relationship between quantum mechanics, human choice and alternate worlds' The Oxford TimesSometimes, those roads not taken can come back and haunt you.Clare's unhappy life hasn't gone the way she expected. At the age of thirty-three she's still an accountant, still unmarried and ridden with guilt over the tragic death of her brother. Her obsession with roads not taken drives her into a nervous breakdown, until she comes to realise that she can leave her unsatisfactory "real life" behind and enter alternate realities where things worked out better.But when she explores these other existences, she discovers they are far from the perfect lives she was imagining, and wherever she turns, another Clare usurps her own existence, until she is forced into the ultimate confrontation with madness - and truth . . .
  • More

Lovers and Rivals

By CC Gibbs
Authors:
CC Gibbs
Carey Fersten might have the perfect life: he's handsome, charming, a celebrated war hero and a champion equestrian. He could have any woman he wants, except the one he truly loves. Ten years ago Molly Darian stole Carey's heart, and then married another man. Now she's back and Carey has the chance to win Molly over, this time for good. But just as everything seems to be going right, Carey and Molly discover that Carey's fame has attracted some very unpleasant people . . . now Carey and Molly must fight to preserve the love it took them so long to find.
  • More

Liberty

By Stephen Coonts
Authors:
Stephen Coonts
The master of the techno-thriller delivers yet again in the last of the hugely popular Jake Grafton series. In the aftermath of the September 11th terrorist attacks, spymaster Janos Ilin delivers a chilling message to Jake Grafton: a rogue Russian general has sold four nuclear warheads to radical Islamic terrorist group the Sword of Islam, which intends to detonate them in America in the ultimate terror strike.Charged with finding the warheads before America is consumed by nuclear holocaust, Grafton soon finds himself up to his neck in power politics, techno-billionaires, money-grubbing traitors, anarchists and spies as he hunts for the terrorists, who, as he quickly discovers, don't all come from the Middle East. With the help of the indomitable Toad Tarkington and CIA burglar Tommy Carmellini, Grafton pulls out all the stops to prevent the apocalypse that will trigger a holy war between western civilization and the Muslim world, as the clock ticks toward Armageddon.
  • More

The Low Road

By Chris Womersley
Authors:
Chris Womersley
  • More

The Last Time I Saw You

By Eleanor Moran
Authors:
Eleanor Moran
  • More

Live the Life You Want for Less

By Lucy Tobin
Authors:
Lucy Tobin
Lucy Tobin, Personal Finance Editor at the London Evening Standard, shares the secrets to living a high life on a low budget. Bursting with original ideas for saving, spending, stretching and making money, this book is an entertaining and unbeatable guide to living the life you want for less... and having fun while you're doing it. Do you want to eat out at the best restaurants without denting the wallet? Looking for ways to make your money go further? Need some more cash but not sure how to earn it? Live the Life you Want for Less has the answers. It's all in an AUSPERITY lifestyle.
  • More

Life in Five Seconds

By Gianmarco Milesi, Matteo Civaschi
Authors:
Gianmarco Milesi, Matteo Civaschi
  • More

Love Me Do

By Paolo Hewitt
Authors:
Paolo Hewitt
  • More
  • The Lewis Man

    By Peter May
    Authors:
    Peter May
    LOVED THE BLACKHOUSE? THE TRILOGY CONTINUES WITH THE LEWIS MAN: AS FIN MACLEOD RETURNS IN AN INGENIOUS CRIME THRILLER ABOUT MEMORY AND MURDER.A MAN WITH NO NAMEAn unidentified corpse is recovered from a Lewis peat bog; the only clue to its identity being a DNA sibling match to a local farmer.A MAN WITH NO MEMORYBut this islander, Tormod Macdonald - now an elderly man suffering from dementia - has always claimed to be an only child.A MAN WITH NO CHOICEWhen Tormod's family approach Fin Macleod for help, Fin feels duty-bound to solve the mystery.
    • More

    Little Star

    By John Ajvide Lindqvist
    Authors:
    John Ajvide Lindqvist
    'The new Stephen King. Don't miss it' The TimesHe found her as a baby, abandoned in the forest. He saved her life. With her first breath - a perfect, musical note - he realised she was no ordinary child. It was for her own protection that he hid her from the authorities. Was it his fault, what she turned into? Or was that why she was left for dead in the first place? The girl who became a little star. Who became, with her extraordinary powers, the most terrifying thing imaginable.In John Ajvide Lindqvist's fourth masterpiece, he ratchets up the tension until the story reaches its blood-chilling conclusion. In doing so, he confirms his place as the undisputed new king of horror.'A magician of genre fiction' Independent
    • More

    Lex

    By James Mylet
    Authors:
    James Mylet
    • More

    Love Virtually

    By Daniel Glattauer
    Authors:
    Daniel Glattauer
    Have you ever just clicked with someone?Is there a safer space for secret desires than virtual reality? "Just what you need" WENDY HOLDENIt begins by chance: Leo receives emails in error from an unknown woman called Emmi. Being polite he replies, and Emmi writes back. A few brief exchanges are all it takes to spark a mutual interest in each other, and soon Emmi and Leo are sharing their innermost secrets and longings. The erotic tension simmers, and it seems only a matter of time before they will meet in person. But they keep putting off the moment - the prospect both unsettles and excites them. And, after all, Emmi is happily married. Will their feelings for each other survive the test of a real-life encounter?Translated from German by Jamie Bulloch and Katharina Bielenberg
    • More