Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books

The Light and the Dark

By Mikhail Shishkin
Authors:
Mikhail Shishkin
  • More

The Lewis Trilogy

By Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
The isle of Lewis is a land of strange beauty, harsh living and inhabitants of deep-rooted faith. Detective Inspector Fin Macleod returns from Edinburgh to the island of his childhood to investigate a series of brutal killings. As old memories resurface and old friends reappear, Fin realizes that returning to the past will lead him into danger.
  • More

The Lover

By Laura Wilson
Authors:
Laura Wilson
Shortlisted for the CWA Gold Dagger Award and the CWA Ellis Peters Award for Historical Crime Fiction. It is the autumn of 1940, and London is in the terrifying grip of the Blitz. An unidentified female corpse is discovered in an alleyway in Soho - the fourth to the have been found in a matter of weeks. The women - all prostitutes - have been horribly mutilated. Rene is a Soho prostitute with a young son to support. She's learnt to cope with the air-raids, but each night on the streets is a terrifying ordeal as the killer begins to pick off her friends. Lucy is a young, middle-class office worker living with her family in Clapham, her head full of romantic notions of how love ought to be. She struggles to make sense of things as her peaceful suburban life degenerates into chaos while London burns and crumples under aerial bombardment. Jim is a fighter pilot, handsome and much admired for his heroism in battle. The killer instinct makes him perfectly suited to the daily challenge he faces above the skies of southern England, but the strain is beginning to tell. In ordinary circumstances, their paths might never have crossed, but in war-torn London, anything can happen, and one night a bomb falls, with terrifying consequences for them all...
  • More

A Little Death

By Laura Wilson
Authors:
Laura Wilson
Shortlisted for the Anthony Award for Best Paperback Original and the CWA Ellis Peters Award for Historical Crime Fiction. London, 1955. Three bodies are found in a house - but when the police search for the murder weapon, vital evidence is destroyed. One of the victims is former society beauty Georgina Gresham, prime suspect in the notorious murder of her husband, James, almost thirty years earlier. Beside her lie the bodies of her brother Edmund and housekeeper Ada. But there is a link with the past. In the 1890s, in a beautiful garden, three children played together. Their lives were secure, their future certain - until the youngest child was found with fatal head injuries...
  • More

Lucy Charlton's Christmas

By Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
A festive short story to accompany Elizabeth Gill's new novel, The Fall and Rise of Lucy Charlton. Lucy Charlton - beloved daughter, precocious student and aspiring lawyer - is looking forward to spending a cozy holiday in Durham with her parents and sister Gemma. But when Headmistress asks Lucy to look after a younger girl at school - a Malaysian immigrant called Shamala - Lucy learns that not everybody has a warm hearth and jolly family to come home to this Christmas. From the author of the bestselling novel Miss Appleby's Academy comes a heartwarming tale full of love, courage and Christmas cheer.
  • More

Lighthouse Bay

By Kimberley Freeman
Authors:
Kimberley Freeman
  • More

Love Online

By Lisa Tuttle
Authors:
Lisa Tuttle
In this brand new story by award-winning author Lisa Tuttle, a girl online finds more than she ever dreamed . . .When Rose moves to America to stay with her grandmother, the internet enables her to keep in touch with her family and play games in multi-user domains.She meets Orson, Olivia and Simon in the 'domain' of Illyria, where they become people they are not and find a deeper truth in fantasy.
  • More

Limit

By Frank Schätzing
Authors:
Frank Schätzing
Perfect for fans of Neal Stephenson and Peter F. Hamilton, an epic science-fiction novel from Germany's most successful thriller writer.The first space elevator connects the Earth to the Moon, prompting abreathless race between the Americans and Chinese to get to the Moon's helium-3 - the rare element that promises to solve all the world's energy problems. In Shanghai, cyber-detective Owen Jericho has been hired to find Yoyo, a missing girl, but what started as a routine investigation soon develops into a nightmarish hunt. There's a crazed assassin hot on his heels, all because Yoyo accidentally stumbled onto a secret society called Hydra - and now it's not just her life at risk. Following the Hydra trail takes Jericho and Yoyo round the world and finally to the Gaia, the Moon's very first hotel, where a billionaire entrepreneur is entertaining some of the world's richest and most influential men and women But the secret society that is Hydra has its own plans for the Earth - and the Moon. And nothing and no one will be allowed to stand in its way.
  • More

Let the Old Dreams Die

By John Ajvide Lindqvist
Authors:
John Ajvide Lindqvist
The follow-up collection to the international vampire bestseller Let the Right One InWhatever happened to Oskar and Eli? And what became of the beleaguered families in Handling the Undead? Find out in Let the Old Dreams Die. In other tales from this collection, a woman finds a dead body and decides to keep it for herself, a customs officer has a mysterious gift that enables her to see what others hide, and a man believes he knows how to deceive death. These are the stories of John Ajvide Lindqvist's rich imagination. They are about love and death, and what we do when the two collide and the monsters emerge.
  • More

Love is Strange

By Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly
  • More

The Last Man Standing

By Davide Longo
Authors:
Davide Longo
  • More

Leaving Patrick

By Prue Leith
Authors:
Prue Leith
Successful City lawyer Jane is leaving her husband, Patrick. She feels there must be more to life than stability and looming middle-age. She goes to India in search of passion, excitement, and a fresh start. What happens there makes her question the life she's led so far: Does her career always have to come first? And has she thrown away true love by mistake?
  • More

Looking for Rachel Wallace (A Spenser Mystery)

By Robert B. Parker
Authors:
Robert B. Parker
Rachel Wallace is a radical feminist on tour with a controversial book, and she needs protection. Private detective Spenser, a little too wisecracking and direct for Rachel's tastes, doesn't last long as her bodyguard. But when Rachel vanishes in the depths of a Boston winter, Spenser must charge to her rescue.
  • More

A Life Apart

By Mariapia Veladiano
Authors:
Mariapia Veladiano
Rebecca's parents were born to very different families. One wealthy, one all but destitute, they were united only by their striking mutual beauty. But the sole child to bless their great romantic fairy tale is a daughter of startling ugliness. The shock of having given birth to such a monster leads the mother to withdraw both herself and her daughter from the world. Only by keeping her child indoors, away from strangers' eyes, can she protect her from their disgust. But against all odds, with a little help from some remarkable friends, Rebecca discovers a talent for music that proves that inner beauty can outshine any other. A Life Apart is an irresistible modern fable that will resonate with anyone who has ever felt that they don't belong.
  • More

Lost Futures

By Lisa Tuttle
Authors:
Lisa Tuttle
Shortlisted for the Arthur C. Clarke Award and the James Tiptree Jr. Award, this literary science-fiction novel by award-winning author Lisa Tuttle is 'a brilliant exploration of the relationship between quantum mechanics, human choice and alternate worlds' The Oxford TimesSometimes, those roads not taken can come back and haunt you.Clare's unhappy life hasn't gone the way she expected. At the age of thirty-three she's still an accountant, still unmarried and ridden with guilt over the tragic death of her brother. Her obsession with roads not taken drives her into a nervous breakdown, until she comes to realise that she can leave her unsatisfactory "real life" behind and enter alternate realities where things worked out better.But when she explores these other existences, she discovers they are far from the perfect lives she was imagining, and wherever she turns, another Clare usurps her own existence, until she is forced into the ultimate confrontation with madness - and truth . . .
  • More

Liberty

By Stephen Coonts
Authors:
Stephen Coonts
The master of the techno-thriller delivers yet again in the last of the hugely popular Jake Grafton series. In the aftermath of the September 11th terrorist attacks, spymaster Janos Ilin delivers a chilling message to Jake Grafton: a rogue Russian general has sold four nuclear warheads to radical Islamic terrorist group the Sword of Islam, which intends to detonate them in America in the ultimate terror strike.Charged with finding the warheads before America is consumed by nuclear holocaust, Grafton soon finds himself up to his neck in power politics, techno-billionaires, money-grubbing traitors, anarchists and spies as he hunts for the terrorists, who, as he quickly discovers, don't all come from the Middle East. With the help of the indomitable Toad Tarkington and CIA burglar Tommy Carmellini, Grafton pulls out all the stops to prevent the apocalypse that will trigger a holy war between western civilization and the Muslim world, as the clock ticks toward Armageddon.
  • More

Lovers and Rivals

By CC Gibbs
Authors:
CC Gibbs
Carey Fersten might have the perfect life: he's handsome, charming, a celebrated war hero and a champion equestrian. He could have any woman he wants, except the one he truly loves. Ten years ago Molly Darian stole Carey's heart, and then married another man. Now she's back and Carey has the chance to win Molly over, this time for good. But just as everything seems to be going right, Carey and Molly discover that Carey's fame has attracted some very unpleasant people . . . now Carey and Molly must fight to preserve the love it took them so long to find.
  • More

The Last Time I Saw You

By Eleanor Moran
Authors:
Eleanor Moran
  • More

The Low Road

By Chris Womersley
Authors:
Chris Womersley
  • More

Live the Life You Want for Less

By Lucy Tobin
Authors:
Lucy Tobin
Lucy Tobin, Personal Finance Editor at the London Evening Standard, shares the secrets to living a high life on a low budget. Bursting with original ideas for saving, spending, stretching and making money, this book is an entertaining and unbeatable guide to living the life you want for less... and having fun while you're doing it. Do you want to eat out at the best restaurants without denting the wallet? Looking for ways to make your money go further? Need some more cash but not sure how to earn it? Live the Life you Want for Less has the answers. It's all in an AUSPERITY lifestyle.
  • More