Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books

The Pillow Friend

By Lisa Tuttle
Authors:
Lisa Tuttle
Perfect for fans of Tanith Lee and Joyce Carol Oates, this extremely dark and disturbing novel by award-winning author Lisa Tuttle is 'Impossible to forget' Neil Gaiman.Be careful what you wish for . . . As a child, Agnes Grey dreamed of the perfect friend to ease her loneliness: a doll that would talk to her, tell her stories, share her secrets, just like her Aunt Marjorie used to have.So when she receives an old-fashioned porcelain doll as an adult, painted to look like an old-world gentleman, she's certain her dreams have come true. But as the line between fantasy and reality begins to blurs, Agnes discovers that every dream has its price and every wish must be paid for . . .
  • More

Philosophy

By Jeremy Harwood
Authors:
Jeremy Harwood
From philosophy's founding fathers - Thales, Socrates, Plato... to great minds of the post-modern era - Satre, Ayer, Feyerabend... this concise new guide presents 100 of the world's most influential thinkers. Arranged from the ancient world to the present day, each philosopher's key ideas, notable works and pronouncements are encapsulated in a series of succinct biographies, accompanied by illustrations, at-a-glance fact panels and thought-provoking quotations. Philosophy: A Beginner's Guide uncovers the fundamental concepts of this fascinating discipline, explaining the diverging schools of thought and revealing the universal aim of philosophy throughout the ages - to push back the boundaries of human knowledge in order to understand the fundamental nature of human existence. THE ANCIENT WORLD: Thales (c.635-c.543 BCE); Buddha (c.563-483 BCE); Confucius (c.55-479 BCE); Socrates (470-399 BCE); Plato (427-347 BCE); Aristotle (384-322 BCE). THE MIDDLE AGES: Avicenna (Ibn Sina) (980-1037); Peter Lombard (c1100-1160); Averroes (Ibn Rushd) 1126-1198); Thomas Aquinas (1225-1274); William of Ockham (1285- 1349). THE EARLY MODERN ERA: Machiavelli (1469-1527); Hobbes (1588-1679); Descartes (1596-1650); Locke (1632-1704); Voltaire (1694-1778). THE MODERN ERA: Fichte (1762-1814); G W F Hegel (1770-1831); Schopenhauer (1788-1860); Marx (1818-1883); Engels (1820-1895); Nietzsche (1844-1900); Dewy (1859-1952); Max Weber (1864-1920); Gasset (1883-1955); Heidegger (1889-1976). THE POST-MODERN ERA: Marcuse (1898-1979); Karl Popper (1902-1994); Sartre (1905-1980); Arendt (1906-1975); de Beauvoir (1908-1986); A J Ayer (1910-1989); Feyerabend (1924-1994); Rorty (1931-2007). And many more...
  • More
  • Prague Fatale

    By Philip Kerr
    Authors:
    Philip Kerr
    Bernie Gunther returns to his desk on homicide from the horrors of the Eastern Front to find Berlin changed, and for the worse. He begins to investigate the death of a railway worker, but is obliged to drop everything when Reinhard Heydrich of the SD orders him to Prague to spend a weekend at his country house. It's an invitation Bernie accepts reluctantly, especially when he learns that his fellow guests are all senior figures in the SS and SD. The weekend turns sour almost immediately when a body is found in a room locked from the inside. Bernie has to solve this impossible mystery: If he fails, it is not only his reputation at stake, but also that of Reinhard Heydrich, a man who does not like to lose face.
    • More
  • The Pilgrims

    By Will Elliott
    Authors:
    Will Elliott
    The first book in the Pendulum Trilogy, a visionary work of imaginative fantasy from one of genre fiction's most exciting new voices.Eric Albright, a twenty-six-year-old unemployed journalist, and Stuart Casey, a homeless old drunk, fall through a door in a graffiti-covered wall into the strange world of Levall, where a mountain-sized dragon with the powers of a god lies sleeping beneath a great white castle. Here they are the otherworlders, Pilgrims, and their lives are never going to be the same again. In the castle the sinister Lord Vous rules with an iron fist as the Project, designed to effect his transformation into an immortal spirit, nears completion. But Vous' growing madness is close to consuming him, as is his fear of the imaginary being named 'Shadow'. And the arrival of the otherworlders in Levall is about to lend substance to that fear. No one has ever seen what lies beyond the impossibly vast Wall that divides Levall, but the Pilgrims possess powers strong enough to break it down. If they do, what will enter from the other side? Will Elliott's brilliantly subversive and creative imagination twists the conventions of the genre to create an unforgettable alternate-world fantasy. The Pilgrims is no ordinary alternate-world fantasy: Will Elliott's brilliantly subversive and creative imagination twists the conventions of the genre for an unforgettable, visionary experience.
    • More

    Phantoms on the Bookshelves

    By Jacques Bonnet
    Authors:
    Jacques Bonnet
    This enchanting study on the art of living with books considers how our personal libraries reveal our true nature: far more than just places, they are living labyrinths of our innermost feelings. The author, a lifelong accumulator of books both ancient and modern, lives in a house large enough to accommodate his many thousands of books, as well as overspill from the libraries of his friends. While his musings on the habits of collectors past and present are learned, witty and instructive, his advice on cataloguing may even save the lives of those whose books are so prodigiously piled as to be a hazard... The Phantoms on the Bookshelves ranges from classical Greece to contemporary Iceland, from Balzac and Moby Dick to Google, offering up delicious anecdotes along the way. This elegantly produced volume will be a lasting delight to specialist collectors, librarians, bibliophiles and all those who treasure books.
    • More
  • Piece of Cake

    By Derek Robinson
    Authors:
    Derek Robinson
    • More

    Phantoms of Breslau

    By Marek Krajewski
    Authors:
    Marek Krajewski
    • More

    Painted Ladies (A Spenser Mystery)

    By Robert B Parker, Robert B. Parker
    Authors:
    Robert B Parker, Robert B. Parker
    • More

    The Pilo Family Circus

    By Will Elliott
    Authors:
    Will Elliott
    You have two days to pass your audition. You better pass it, feller. You're joining the circus. Ain't that the best news you ever got?The Pilo Family Circus is recruiting and whether he likes it or not, Jamie is auditioning. He never dreamed of running away to join the circus, but you just don't say no to a troupe of exuberantly sadistic clowns out headhunting.Darkly funny and gleefully macabre, The Pilo Family Circus follows Jamie's furious descent into the nightmare world of a centuries-old carnival where amid the acrobats, clowns, dwarves, freaks and fortunetellers, you may lose more than just your way . . .
    • More

    The Promise of Rain

    By Donna Milner
    Authors:
    Donna Milner
    Howard Coulter was one of hundreds of Canadian soldiers sent to the Far East following the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbour. Surviving the fierce battle for Hong Kong, he became a POW, and is haunted by the memories that he carries with him. His daughter Ethie was born after he returned from the war. She never knew him as he was before, an open, loving man and a devoted husband. Why, Ethie wonders, is he so silent and withdrawn? Howard carries more than the physical and mental scars inflicted by his captors. Something happened in Hong Kong, a secret that he has carried for two decades and one which threatens to destroy his family should it ever come to light.
    • More

    Present Danger

    By Stella Rimington
    Authors:
    Stella Rimington
    • More

    Perfect Meringues

    By Laurie Graham
    Authors:
    Laurie Graham
    It shouldn't have been like this. Being on television was meant to lead to fame and a glamorous social life. But for Lizzie Partridge, forty-something, divorced and TV cook on Midlands This Morning, it meant dinners for one, coping alone with an air-head adolescent daughter and following middle-aged men into corner shops pretending she needed a bottle of Lea & Perrins. Her good friend Louie - if only he wasn't gay - thought he knew what the trouble was: Lizzie was always on the wrong side of the glass, looking in at other people's lives. True or not, things for Lizzie were going to get a lot worse before they got better...
    • More

    The Professional (A Spenser Mystery)

    By Robert B. Parker
    Authors:
    Robert B. Parker
    • More

    Play Better Guitar

    By David Black, David Black
    Authors:
    David Black, David Black
    • More

    The Prometheans

    By Max Adams
    Authors:
    Max Adams
    • More

    The Perfect Prey

    By Jeroen Smit
    Authors:
    Jeroen Smit
    • More

    Play Better Golf

    By Colin Howe
    Authors:
    Colin Howe
    • More

    Pulp Fiction - The Dames

    By Laura Lippman
    Authors:
    Laura Lippman
    • More

    Paris to the Moon

    By Adam Gopnik
    Authors:
    Adam Gopnik
    • More

    A Peter Temple Omnibus

    By Peter Temple
    Authors:
    Peter Temple
    • More