Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books

Richer Than God

By David Conn
Authors:
David Conn
  • More

Rhumba

By Elaine Proctor
Authors:
Elaine Proctor
Ten-year-old Flambeau waits for his young mother to arrive from the Congo, along the same dangerous route that the human traffickers smuggled him. Homesick and pining for love, he sees a glimpse of life in his young neighbor, Eleanor, and her gangster boyfriend, Knight - a fellow Congolese. Eleanor, a pale Scottish beauty, offers Flambeau the warmth and empathy that London has hitherto failed to provide; while Knight - dressed to the nines and dressed to kill - might just have the contacts to find Flambeau's mother, Bijou. But Knight's past is so troubled, and his present so dangerous, that to challenge the traffickers to find Bijou might be more than his life is worth - something neither a lovesick girl nor a ten-year-old boy can be expected to understand.
  • More

The Rose Petal Beach

By Dorothy Koomson
Authors:
Dorothy Koomson
  • More

The Road to Berry Edge

By Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
A gripping saga about guilt, secrets and an enduring love from a bestselling author. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Nadine Dorries.1903. As Rob Berkeley comes home to Berry Edge, ten years after his brother's terrible death, he brings with him memories that Faith Norman, his dead brother's fiancée, would rather forget. Rob, driven by guilt, is determined to bring the family business, the foundering steelworks, back to full strength. But every time he sees Faith, he is remained of the part he played in her bereavement and the debt he owes her and Berry Edge. The secrets he hides from the community around him could threaten his very future, and jeopardise his growing feelings for Faith . . .
  • More

The River of Fire

By Patrick Easter
Authors:
Patrick Easter
  • More

Robert B. Parker's Fool Me Twice

By Michael Brandman, Robert B. Parker
Authors:
Michael Brandman, Robert B. Parker
Hollywood has come to Paradise, Massachusetts. And Police Chief Jesse Stone has been distracted from his duty by a beautiful young producer. But before Jesse can get too cozy, the leading star of the movie, Marisol Hinton, approaches him for help. Her meth-addicted ex is terrorizing her, and, expecting him to turn up in town, she grows increasingly frightened for her life. Jesse, meanwhile, is waging a war against an off-the-rails teenage girl - the seemingly untouchable daughter of a local business magnate - whose reckless and dangerous driving is endangering Paradise's citizens on a daily basis. And as if he's not got enough to be dealing with, Jesse's juggling a third ongoing investigation: addressing a string of complaints from angered locals, claiming they are being charged suspiciously high fees by the local water company. Not one to give up a fight, Jesse throws himself into all three cases with his characteristic bullish vigour. But what he doesn't necessarily realize is that those that seem to present the least danger will prove to be the most deadly.
  • More

Robert B. Parker's Fool Me Twice

By Michael Brandman, Robert B. Parker
Authors:
Michael Brandman, Robert B. Parker
  • More

Rapture

By CC Gibbs
Authors:
CC Gibbs
Discover the sensuality and scandal that flourishes behind closed doors in the exclusive world of turn-of-the-century aristocratic England... When American adventurer Kit Braddock first lays eyes on Countess Angela de Grae, notorious society beauty and lover to the Prince of Wales, he feels there's something different about her. Beneath her sparkling exterior, Countess Angela is secretly distraught. As the two become more intimate, Kit learns of Angela's impossible situation and secret heartache, and finds himself drawn ever more forcefully towards her. When one night of reckless pleasure between the two turns the tables completely, Kit may be forced to pledge his very life for the woman he has come to adore.
  • More

Read the World

By Maclehose Press
Authors:
Maclehose Press
A selection of extracts from the prestigious MacLehose Press, an imprint specialising in the very best translated literary and crime fiction.From a hill station in the Himalayan foothills to the sweltering heat of downtown Buenos Aires; from the frozen lakes of far northern Sweden to the scarred cityscape of 1980s Beirut; from Breslau's sordid heyday to a kingdom that no longer exists.For five years the MacLehose Press has published fiction, non-fiction and crime from twenty languages - using the finest translators - alongside a distinguished few writers in English. This anthology brings together extracts from our backlist and from titles to be published in 2013. Many of these books are bestsellers in their own countries, and prizewinners of critical and popular acclaim.Romance, satire, elegy, mystery, murder, existential angst, the horrors of civil or colonial strife: if words can offer new worlds, you will find them in these pages. We invite you to sample a literary life less ordinary:
  • More

The Red Horseman

By Stephen Coonts
Authors:
Stephen Coonts
As the infrastructure of the Soviet Union crumbles before the world's eyes, twenty thousand tactical nuclear weapons, once under the command of the Soviet military, are now up for grabs - and US intelligence believes they may soon appear on the open market, available to the highest bidder.Rear Admiral Jake Grafton, attached to the Defense Intelligence Agency, is dispatched to Moscow. His assignment: ensure that the weapons are destroyed before they disappear into a terrorist pipeline pointed south, toward the Middle East. Unofficially, however, Grafton has learned there are those in his own government who would prefer to see his mission fail - and who will go to any lengths to stop it...
  • More

The Resolution

By Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green
For Sam, Jackie and Anna, a night out is a rare treat - a chance to have a little fun without worrying (too much) about their families at home. That's why they're resolved to make it a regular thing, and what better time to start a new resolution than the New Year? From acclaimed author Linda Green comes a festive and heartwarming short story about the importance of friendship andfamily, featuring characters from her new book THE MUMMYFESTO.
  • More

Ruth's First Christmas Tree

By Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths
It is three days before Christmas and a bitter wind is blowing across Norfolk.Until her daughter was born, forensic archaeologist Ruth Galloway didn't do Christmas, but now that Kate is a year old, she wants it to be special. She must get a tree, shop for food, clean the house, buy presents, including one for her new boyfriend - who she isn't even sure is her boyfriend - and remember to get the turkey out of the freezer.But time is rushing by and the best-laid plans don't always work out...
  • More

Rose Petal Beach

By Dorothy Koomson, Adjoa Andoh
Authors:
Dorothy Koomson
Read by:
Adjoa Andoh
Every love story has a dangerous twist. Tamia is horrified when her husband, Scott, is accused of something terrible - but when she discovers who his accuser is, everything goes into freefall. Backed into a corner and unsure what to think, Tamia is forced to choose who she instinctively believes. But this choice has dire consequences for all concerned, especially when matters take a tragic turn. Then a stranger arrives in town to sprinkle rose petals in the sea in memory of her lost loved one. This stranger carries with her shocking truths that will change the lives of everyone she meets, and will once again force Tamia to make some devastating choices...(P)2012 WF Howes Ltd
  • More
  • Rendition

    By Mark Sullivan
    Authors:
    Mark Sullivan
    Berlin, 2005: Super-thief Robin Monarch is leading a CIA Special Operations Group, charged with capturing a defected nuclear physicist. Yet kidnappings, Monarch has learned from painful experience, rarely go like clockwork . . .Buenos Aires, 1985: Sixteen-year-old Robin Monarch has been a member of the Brotherhood of Thieves for two years. And he's just been handed his most risky and morally questionable mission to date: the abduction of a teenage heiress.ROGUE GENESIS is a collection of two short stories (INCURSION and RENDITION) and one novella (THE ESCAPE ARTIST) introducing Robin Monarch - CIA agent, expert thief, and star of the explosive international thriller ROGUE.
    • More

    The Ravenglass Eye

    By Tom Fletcher
    Authors:
    Tom Fletcher
    A malevolent power is on the prowl - and it's hungry for death.Edie is a barmaid at The Tup in the small town of Ravenglass. So far, so normal. But when she is caught in a freak earthquake she develops a strange new power - 'The Eye' - which allows her glimpses of other worlds and mysterious events.At first Edie passes her visions off as nightmares, but when a murdered body is found, she realises she has seen this death before - and that her visions are real, after all.Mankind had better hope that Edie finds a solution to the murders soon, because it's more than just the influence of 'The Eye' that has entered the world. A power far more malevolent has been released, and that power is hungry for death.
    • More

    Robert B. Parker's Lullaby (A Spenser Mystery)

    By Ace Atkins
    Authors:
    Ace Atkins
    • More

    The Rise and Fall of Babylon

    By Anton Gill
    Authors:
    Anton Gill
    • More

    Robert B. Parker's Killing the Blues

    By Michael Brandman, Robert B. Parker
    Authors:
    Michael Brandman, Robert B. Parker
    • More

    Redemption in Indigo

    By Karen Lord
    Authors:
    Karen Lord
    A masterful, magical retelling of a Senegalese legend.Paama's husband is a fool and a glutton. Bad enough that he followed her to her parents' home in the village of Makendha, now he's disgraced himself by murdering livestock and stealing corn. When Paama leaves him for good, she attracts the attention of the undying ones - the djombi - who present her with a gift: the Chaos Stick, which allows her to manipulate the subtle forces of the world. Unfortunately, not all the djombi are happy about this gift: the Indigo Lord believes this power should be his and his alone, and he sets about trying to persuade Paama to return the Chaos Stick. Chaos is about to reign supreme . . . Bursting with humour and rich in fantastic detail, Redemption in Indigo is a clever, contemporary fairy tale from a dynamic new voice. Lord's world of spider tricksters and indigo immortals, inspired in part by a Senegalese folk tale, is fresh, surprising, and utterly original.
    • More

    Red Rag Blues

    By Derek Robinson
    Authors:
    Derek Robinson
    It's 1953, and Luis Cabrillo has burned through the small fortune he earned from both British and German Intelligence in WW2. Now he has only his wits, his confidence, and his dazzling skills at lying and cheating to rely on.Teaming up with Julie Conroy (a corker of a New Yorker), he follows his wartime instincts and goes where arrogance breeds wealth: to Washington D.C. and Senator Joe McCarthy, high priest of America's holy war on Red treachery. Joe's problem is a sudden shortage of treachery. Luis can help him out, but for dollars. Big dollars. And when the C.I.A. gets into the act, followed by the K.G.B., F.B.I., M.I.6. and the Mafia, it makes for an explosive mixture ripe for a spark. In Red Rag Blues Derek Robinson lends his signature wit to the hysteria and paranoia of the McCarthy years, toying with the notion that the world's most powerful nation is occasionally its most stupid.
    • More