Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books

What Do We Really Know?

By Simon Blackburn
Authors:
Simon Blackburn
  • More
  • Wages of Sin

    By Stephen Coonts
    Authors:
    Stephen Coonts
    Stephen Coonts first introduced ex-burglar, now CIA agent Tommy Carmellini in the bestselling Jake Grafton novel, CUBA. Now Tommy takes center stage.The KGB's chief archivist defects, escaping Russia with seven suitcases full of notes. There is a massacre at a government safe house. Carmellini is on the trail of a dark conspiracy, and he soon realizes that someone in the United States government is behind it all. Which begs the question, who can Carmellini trust?
    • More

    The Walled Garden

    By Lisa Tuttle
    Authors:
    Lisa Tuttle
    'A strong, poignant, and outright magical tale' New York Review of Science Fiction In this exclusive short story from critically acclaimed and award-winning author Lisa Tuttle, a woman is haunted by an experience she had as a five-year-old, when she believed she had seen herself with her true love in the future...'The Walled Garden' was originally written for Hidden Turnings, a YA fantasy anthology edited by Diana Wynne Jones and was reprinted in Lisa Tuttle's collection Ghosts and Other Lovers and The Year's Best Horror and Fantasy, edited by Ellen Datlow and Terry Windling.
    • More

    Wonders of the Ancient World

    By Justin Pollard
    Authors:
    Justin Pollard
    • More

    The Watermen

    By Patrick Easter
    Authors:
    Patrick Easter
    • More

    The Woman in Silk

    By R.J. Gadney
    Authors:
    R.J. Gadney
    • More
  • World History

    By Ian Crofton
    Authors:
    Ian Crofton
    People often complain that in history lessons at school they were taught just a few topics - the Romans, the Tudors, the Nazis - and how they have no idea at all about what happened in between. To remedy this, World History: 50 Key Milestones You Really Need to Know offers brief and stimulating outlines of key developments in the history of the world, from the beginning of agriculture 10,000 years ago to the attack on the Twin Towers on 9/11. Ian Crofton, the author of several books of popular history including The Kings and Queens of England, Traitors and Turncoats and History Without the Boring Bits, brings his lively style to bear in a series of essays ranging from ancient Egypt to modern China, from the Vikings and the Mongols to the French Revolution and the Cold War. Each essay is accompanied by a detailed time line of dates and events, and the flavour of the period concerned is brought to life by selected contemporary quotations from figures as diverse as Aristotle, Ashoka, Saladin, Christopher Columbus, Martin Luther, Suleiman the Magnificent, Galileo, Voltaire, Thomas Jefferson, Mary Wollstonecraft, Napoleon, Lincoln, Lenin and Winston Churchill. In addition, box features throw light on a range of related topics, from the Nazca Lines to Renaissance man, from Confucianism and the state to Alexander the Great's horse, from Islamic science and the Barbary corsairs to the Enigma code and the atomic bomb.
    • More

    Who's Afraid of Mr Wolfe?

    By Hazel Osmond
    Authors:
    Hazel Osmond
    Ellie Somerset's high-flying job as an advertising copywriter is hard work, but she's got it under control. Her sexy, devil-may-care new boss, on the other hand? She'll try her best...A perfect romantic comedy for fans of Holly Martin and Cathy Bramley.Ellie Somerset loves her career-obsessed boyfriend Sam and she loves her job as an advertising copywriter. But Sam is always at work and her fresh ideas keep being overlooked. Her life gets more complicated when new boss Jack Wolfe - Heathcliff in jeans - arrives at the agency. With his brooding good looks, trademark scowl and plans for change, he challenges Ellie to smarten up and prove herself. To Ellie's horror, she finds herself both repelled and attracted to the sexy and dangerous Jack. But this particular wolf has an awful lot to hide . . .
    • More

    A Watermelon, a Fish and a Bible

    By Christy Lefteri
    Authors:
    Christy Lefteri
    • More

    Warrior Women

    By Robin Cross, Rosalind Miles
    Authors:
    Robin Cross, Rosalind Miles
    • More

    Wartime Notebooks

    By Marguerite Duras
    Authors:
    Marguerite Duras
    • More
  • Women Who Kill

    By Vanessa Howard
    Authors:
    Vanessa Howard
    Every murder is shocking, but few crimes shock society more than when the killer is a woman. There has been an explosion in female violence in the last ten years, and Women Who Kill brings to light some of the most horrific and compelling cases in this disturbing trend. From the happy-slapping teenage murderer Chelsea O'Mahoney to Heather Stephenson-Snell, the psychotherapist turned Scream-masked psychopath; from Edith McAlinden, butcher queen of Glasgow's 'House of Blood' to the mother of Baby P, women who kill have motives as diverse as the methods of slaying their victims. Are they victims themselves, or just evil? As society changes, will more and more women feel driven to kill?
    • More

    What's Next

    By Max Brockman
    Authors:
    Max Brockman
    • More

    Wrath of God

    By Edward Paice
    Authors:
    Edward Paice
    • More

    With My Lazy Eye

    By Julia Kelly
    Authors:
    Julia Kelly
    • More

    Who Am I?

    By Anthony Adolph
    Authors:
    Anthony Adolph
    • More

    Walking to the Moon

    By Kate Cole-Adams
    Authors:
    Kate Cole-Adams
    • More

    What's So Funny?

    By Donald E. Westlake
    Authors:
    Donald E. Westlake
    Donald Westlake turns the world of crime and criminals upside down and has the last laugh in WHAT'S SO FUNNY?, his latest comic caper novel. His perennially depressed master thief, John Dortmunder, finds himself involved an impossible crime, one he doesn't want and doesn't believe in and which he'd rather avoid if possible.but a little blackmail goes a long way.All it takes is a few underhanded moves by a tough ex-cop named Eppick to pull Dortmunder into a game he never wanted to play. With no choice, he musters his always-game gang and they set out on a perilous treasure hunt for a long-lost gold and jewel-studded chess set once intended as a birthday gift for the last Romanov czar. Unfortunately for everyone, then and now, he became the last Romanov czar without making it to his own birthday party. From the moment Dortmunder reaches for his first pawn, he faces insurmountable odds.
    • More

    Women Who Changed The World

    By Ros Horton, Sally Simmons
    Authors:
    Ros Horton, Sally Simmons
    • More