Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books

When Someone Loves You

By CC Gibbs
Authors:
CC Gibbs
Annabelle Foster isn't about to risk everything for just any man...Annabelle Foster has a reputation that precedes her: beautiful, witty and thoroughly disreputable. But behind the polished façade lies a woman who is afraid of heartbreak and determined to never let herself fall in love again. So when the handsome but reclusive 'Duff' D'Abernon, Marquis of Darley, makes a play for Anabelle's attentions, Anabelle offers him friendship, and nothing more. But as the two grow closer, Anabelle's resolution may be put to test by her own growing love and desire for the Marquis.
  • More

Wildflower Hill

By Kimberley Freeman
Authors:
Kimberley Freeman
  • More
  • White Dog

    By Peter Temple
    Authors:
    Peter Temple
    THE THRILLING FOURTH JACK IRISH NOVEL, FROM THE FIVE-TIME NED KELLY WINNER AND SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE BROKEN SHORE AND TRUTH.'Peter Temple's fourth Jack Irish thriller is like slipping into deliciously dangerous quicksand . . . demands to be read in one sitting' Herald SunHer name was Sarah Longmore and she was charged with murdering her former lover.When Jack Irish is asked to look into Sarah Longmore's defence, he's more than happy to oblige. After all, whenever somebody seems as guilty as Sarah does, it's usually for a good reason. But her case will prove far from straightforward, and Jack's investigation far from swift and painless.Loved the Jack Irish thrillers and now craving more Peter Temple? Then you now need to read his first standalone novel, An Iron Rose . . .
    • More

    A Walk Across the Sun

    By Corban Addison
    Authors:
    Corban Addison
    • More

    What Do We Really Know?

    By Simon Blackburn
    Authors:
    Simon Blackburn
    In What Do We Really Know? Simon Blackburn addresses the twenty most-asked philosophical questions, including 'Can machines think?', 'What is the meaning of life?', 'Is death to be feared?', 'Why be good?', 'What am I?' and 'What do we really know?' Each 3000-word essay examines a question that has eternally perplexed enquiring minds, and provides answers from history's great thinkers.
    • More
  • Wages of Sin

    By Stephen Coonts
    Authors:
    Stephen Coonts
    Stephen Coonts first introduced ex-burglar, now CIA agent Tommy Carmellini in the bestselling Jake Grafton novel, CUBA. Now Tommy takes center stage.The KGB's chief archivist defects, escaping Russia with seven suitcases full of notes. There is a massacre at a government safe house. Carmellini is on the trail of a dark conspiracy, and he soon realizes that someone in the United States government is behind it all. Which begs the question, who can Carmellini trust?
    • More

    The Walled Garden

    By Lisa Tuttle
    Authors:
    Lisa Tuttle
    'A strong, poignant, and outright magical tale' New York Review of Science Fiction In this exclusive short story from critically acclaimed and award-winning author Lisa Tuttle, a woman is haunted by an experience she had as a five-year-old, when she believed she had seen herself with her true love in the future...'The Walled Garden' was originally written for Hidden Turnings, a YA fantasy anthology edited by Diana Wynne Jones and was reprinted in Lisa Tuttle's collection Ghosts and Other Lovers and The Year's Best Horror and Fantasy, edited by Ellen Datlow and Terry Windling.
    • More

    Wonders of the Ancient World

    By Justin Pollard
    Authors:
    Justin Pollard
    • More

    The Watermen

    By Patrick Easter
    Authors:
    Patrick Easter
    • More

    The Woman in Silk

    By R.J. Gadney
    Authors:
    R.J. Gadney
    • More
  • World History

    By Ian Crofton
    Authors:
    Ian Crofton
    People often complain that in history lessons at school they were taught just a few topics - the Romans, the Tudors, the Nazis - and how they have no idea at all about what happened in between. To remedy this, World History: 50 Key Milestones You Really Need to Know offers brief and stimulating outlines of key developments in the history of the world, from the beginning of agriculture 10,000 years ago to the attack on the Twin Towers on 9/11. Ian Crofton, the author of several books of popular history including The Kings and Queens of England, Traitors and Turncoats and History Without the Boring Bits, brings his lively style to bear in a series of essays ranging from ancient Egypt to modern China, from the Vikings and the Mongols to the French Revolution and the Cold War. Each essay is accompanied by a detailed time line of dates and events, and the flavour of the period concerned is brought to life by selected contemporary quotations from figures as diverse as Aristotle, Ashoka, Saladin, Christopher Columbus, Martin Luther, Suleiman the Magnificent, Galileo, Voltaire, Thomas Jefferson, Mary Wollstonecraft, Napoleon, Lincoln, Lenin and Winston Churchill. In addition, box features throw light on a range of related topics, from the Nazca Lines to Renaissance man, from Confucianism and the state to Alexander the Great's horse, from Islamic science and the Barbary corsairs to the Enigma code and the atomic bomb.
    • More

    Who's Afraid of Mr Wolfe?

    By Hazel Osmond
    Authors:
    Hazel Osmond
    Ellie Somerset's high-flying job as an advertising copywriter is hard work, but she's got it under control. Her sexy, devil-may-care new boss, on the other hand? She'll try her best...A perfect romantic comedy for fans of Holly Martin and Cathy Bramley.Ellie Somerset loves her career-obsessed boyfriend Sam and she loves her job as an advertising copywriter. But Sam is always at work and her fresh ideas keep being overlooked. Her life gets more complicated when new boss Jack Wolfe - Heathcliff in jeans - arrives at the agency. With his brooding good looks, trademark scowl and plans for change, he challenges Ellie to smarten up and prove herself. To Ellie's horror, she finds herself both repelled and attracted to the sexy and dangerous Jack. But this particular wolf has an awful lot to hide . . .
    • More

    A Watermelon, a Fish and a Bible

    By Christy Lefteri
    Authors:
    Christy Lefteri
    • More

    Warrior Women

    By Robin Cross, Rosalind Miles
    Authors:
    Robin Cross, Rosalind Miles
    From earliest times, women gained access to leadership in times of conflict and proved themselves equal to the challenge of commanding during war. Women leaders abounded in the ancient world from Ireland to Israel, sometimes through the accident of birth, but often rising to power through naked opportunism and raw courage in the ranks - and it is no accident that women war leaders, like men, are often famous for their strong sexual drive. Wherever there is war, there has often been a woman at the helm. Later ages frequently wrote these women out of history, but their stories have refused to die. From the legendary leader of the Amazons who fought the greatest of Greek heroes, Achilles, to the Iron Ladies of today, the women of both West and East directing military campaigns and leading their countries in war. Presenting an array of fascinating and sometimes little known women war leaders, popular author Rosalind Miles and the acclaimed military historian Robin Cross do full justice to the achievements of these women, some of whose amazing stories have so far never been told. Warrior women include: Penthesilea the Amazons queen, Deborah, Cleopatra VII, Boudicca, Eleanor of Aquitaine, Joan of Arc, Elizabeth I, Grace O'Malley, Deborah Samson, Nadezda Durova, Harriet Tubman, Anna Etheridge, Soldaderas, Flora Sandes, Lily Litvak, Women of the Warsaw Ghetto, Hanna Reitsch, Ruth Werner, Jeanne Holm, Margaret Thatcher, Women in Today's Armies, Martha McSally and more...
    • More

    Wartime Notebooks

    By Marguerite Duras
    Authors:
    Marguerite Duras
    • More
  • Women Who Kill

    By Vanessa Howard
    Authors:
    Vanessa Howard
    Every murder is shocking, but few crimes shock society more than when the killer is a woman. There has been an explosion in female violence in the last ten years, and Women Who Kill brings to light some of the most horrific and compelling cases in this disturbing trend. From the happy-slapping teenage murderer Chelsea O'Mahoney to Heather Stephenson-Snell, the psychotherapist turned Scream-masked psychopath; from Edith McAlinden, butcher queen of Glasgow's 'House of Blood' to the mother of Baby P, women who kill have motives as diverse as the methods of slaying their victims. Are they victims themselves, or just evil? As society changes, will more and more women feel driven to kill?
    • More

    What's Next

    By Max Brockman
    Authors:
    Max Brockman
    • More

    With My Lazy Eye

    By Julia Kelly
    Authors:
    Julia Kelly
    • More

    Wrath of God

    By Edward Paice
    Authors:
    Edward Paice
    • More

    Who Am I?

    By Anthony Adolph
    Authors:
    Anthony Adolph
    • More