Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books

Live the Life You Want for Less

By Lucy Tobin
Authors:
Lucy Tobin
Lucy Tobin, Personal Finance Editor at the London Evening Standard, shares the secrets to living a high life on a low budget. Bursting with original ideas for saving, spending, stretching and making money, this book is an entertaining and unbeatable guide to living the life you want for less... and having fun while you're doing it. Do you want to eat out at the best restaurants without denting the wallet? Looking for ways to make your money go further? Need some more cash but not sure how to earn it? Live the Life you Want for Less has the answers. It's all in an AUSPERITY lifestyle.
  • More

Life in Five Seconds

By Gianmarco Milesi, Matteo Civaschi
Authors:
Gianmarco Milesi, Matteo Civaschi
  • More

Love Me Do

By Paolo Hewitt
Authors:
Paolo Hewitt
  • More
  • The Lewis Man

    By Peter May
    Authors:
    Peter May
    LOVED THE BLACKHOUSE? THE TRILOGY CONTINUES WITH THE LEWIS MAN: AS FIN MACLEOD RETURNS IN AN INGENIOUS CRIME THRILLER ABOUT MEMORY AND MURDER.A MAN WITH NO NAMEAn unidentified corpse is recovered from a Lewis peat bog; the only clue to its identity being a DNA sibling match to a local farmer.A MAN WITH NO MEMORYBut this islander, Tormod Macdonald - now an elderly man suffering from dementia - has always claimed to be an only child.A MAN WITH NO CHOICEWhen Tormod's family approach Fin Macleod for help, Fin feels duty-bound to solve the mystery.
    • More

    Little Star

    By John Ajvide Lindqvist
    Authors:
    John Ajvide Lindqvist
    'The new Stephen King. Don't miss it' The TimesHe found her as a baby, abandoned in the forest. He saved her life. With her first breath - a perfect, musical note - he realised she was no ordinary child. It was for her own protection that he hid her from the authorities. Was it his fault, what she turned into? Or was that why she was left for dead in the first place? The girl who became a little star. Who became, with her extraordinary powers, the most terrifying thing imaginable.In John Ajvide Lindqvist's fourth masterpiece, he ratchets up the tension until the story reaches its blood-chilling conclusion. In doing so, he confirms his place as the undisputed new king of horror.'A magician of genre fiction' Independent
    • More

    Lex

    By James Mylet
    Authors:
    James Mylet
    • More

    Love Virtually

    By Daniel Glattauer
    Authors:
    Daniel Glattauer
    Have you ever just clicked with someone?Is there a safer space for secret desires than virtual reality? "Just what you need" WENDY HOLDENIt begins by chance: Leo receives emails in error from an unknown woman called Emmi. Being polite he replies, and Emmi writes back. A few brief exchanges are all it takes to spark a mutual interest in each other, and soon Emmi and Leo are sharing their innermost secrets and longings. The erotic tension simmers, and it seems only a matter of time before they will meet in person. But they keep putting off the moment - the prospect both unsettles and excites them. And, after all, Emmi is happily married. Will their feelings for each other survive the test of a real-life encounter?Translated from German by Jamie Bulloch and Katharina Bielenberg
    • More

    Lord of Misrule

    By Jaimy Gordon
    Authors:
    Jaimy Gordon
    • More

    The Love and Death of Caterina

    By Andrew Nicoll
    Authors:
    Andrew Nicoll
    • More

    Legacy of Blood

    By Alex Connor
    Authors:
    Alex Connor
    • More

    The Lineup

    By Otto Penzler
    Authors:
    Otto Penzler
    The story behind your favourite detectives of all time; the world's greatest crime writers reveal all.The great recurring characters in the mystery series we love become like old friends. Our favourite cops and sleuths earn our respect and we follow their antics with baited breath from one instalment to the next. But where do some of the most fascinating detectives in the mystery and thriller world really come from? What was the real-life location that inspired Michael Connelly to make Harry Bosch a former Vietnam tunnel rat? Why is Jack Reacher such a giant of a guy, and why did Lee Child make him a drifter? How did a brief encounter in Botswana inspire Alexander McCall Smith to create the kind but no-nonsense Precious Ramotswe? In The Lineup, some of today's top mystery writers reveal the genesis of their unforgettable characters. For crime fiction fans everywhere, this is a unique and highly entertaining volume to read and relish again and again. Find out about your favourite characters, and maybe discover some new ones too.
    • More

    The Landmark Xenophon's Hellenika

    By R B Strassler
    Authors:
    R B Strassler
    From the editor of the widely praised The Landmark Thucydides and The Landmark Herodotus, here is a new edition of Xenophon's Hellenika, the primary source for the events of the final seven years and aftermath of the Peloponnesian War. Hellenika covers the years between 411 and 362 B.C.E., a particularly dramatic period during which the alliances among Athens, Sparta, Thebes, and Persia were in constant flux. Together with the volumes of Herodotus and Thucydides, it completes an ancient narrative of the military and political history of classical Greece. Beautifully illustrated, heavily annotated, and filled with detailed, clear maps, this edition gives us a new, authoritative, and completely accessible translation by John Marincola, a comprehensive introduction by David Thomas, sixteen appendices written by leading classics scholars, and an extensive timeline/chronology to clarify this otherwise confusing period. Unlike any other edition of the Hellenika, it also includes the relevant texts of Diodorus Siculus and the Oxyrhynchus Historian, with explanatory footnotes and a table that correlates passages of the three works, which is perhaps crucial to an assessment of Xenophon's reliability and quality as a historian. Like the two Landmark editions that precede it, The Landmark Xenophon's Hellenika is the most readable and comprehensive edition yet of an essential history.
    • More

    The Legacy

    By Kirsten Tranter
    Authors:
    Kirsten Tranter
    • More

    The Last Talk With Lola Faye

    By Thomas H. Cook
    Authors:
    Thomas H. Cook
    • More
  • The Long Glasgow Kiss

    By Craig Russell, Sean Barrett
    Authors:
    Craig Russell
    Read by:
    Sean Barrett
    'The kind of thriller writing that made me want to be a writer' Chris BrookmyreFast-paced and blackly funny noir for fans of Philip Kerr and Raymond ChandlerGlasgow in the 1950s - private investigator Lennox is keeping a low profile, enjoying a fling with the daughter of shady bookie and greyhound breeder MacFarlane. When MacFarlane is found bludgeoned to death, Lennox is a suspect. Luckily, he has a solid gold alibi - he was in bed with the victim's daughter at the time. It turns out MacFarlane was into some seriously dodgy stuff. One of Glasgow's notorious Three Kings, crime boss Willie Sneddon, is involved and he's not a man Lennox wants to cross. But there's an even bigger player out there, an elusive villain who makes the Three Kings look like minnows. Lennox is going to get his fingers burnt, badly.
    • More

    A Last English Summer

    By Duncan Hamilton
    Authors:
    Duncan Hamilton
    • More

    The Last Brother

    By Nathacha Appanah
    Authors:
    Nathacha Appanah
    • More

    Legions of Rome

    By Stephen Dando-Collins
    Authors:
    Stephen Dando-Collins
    • More

    Love Songs from a Shallow Grave

    By Colin Cotterill
    Authors:
    Colin Cotterill
    • More

    Let Me In

    By John Ajvide Lindqvist
    Authors:
    John Ajvide Lindqvist
    • More