Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books

Lex

By James Mylet
Authors:
James Mylet
  • More

Love Virtually

By Daniel Glattauer
Authors:
Daniel Glattauer
Have you ever just clicked with someone?Is there a safer space for secret desires than virtual reality? "Just what you need" WENDY HOLDENIt begins by chance: Leo receives emails in error from an unknown woman called Emmi. Being polite he replies, and Emmi writes back. A few brief exchanges are all it takes to spark a mutual interest in each other, and soon Emmi and Leo are sharing their innermost secrets and longings. The erotic tension simmers, and it seems only a matter of time before they will meet in person. But they keep putting off the moment - the prospect both unsettles and excites them. And, after all, Emmi is happily married. Will their feelings for each other survive the test of a real-life encounter?Translated from German by Jamie Bulloch and Katharina Bielenberg
  • More

Lord of Misrule

By Jaimy Gordon
Authors:
Jaimy Gordon
  • More

The Love and Death of Caterina

By Andrew Nicoll
Authors:
Andrew Nicoll
  • More

Legacy of Blood

By Alex Connor
Authors:
Alex Connor
  • More

The Lineup

By Otto Penzler
Authors:
Otto Penzler
The story behind your favourite detectives of all time; the world's greatest crime writers reveal all.The great recurring characters in the mystery series we love become like old friends. Our favourite cops and sleuths earn our respect and we follow their antics with baited breath from one instalment to the next. But where do some of the most fascinating detectives in the mystery and thriller world really come from? What was the real-life location that inspired Michael Connelly to make Harry Bosch a former Vietnam tunnel rat? Why is Jack Reacher such a giant of a guy, and why did Lee Child make him a drifter? How did a brief encounter in Botswana inspire Alexander McCall Smith to create the kind but no-nonsense Precious Ramotswe? In The Lineup, some of today's top mystery writers reveal the genesis of their unforgettable characters. For crime fiction fans everywhere, this is a unique and highly entertaining volume to read and relish again and again. Find out about your favourite characters, and maybe discover some new ones too.
  • More

The Legacy

By Kirsten Tranter
Authors:
Kirsten Tranter
  • More

The Landmark Xenophon's Hellenika

By R B Strassler
Authors:
R B Strassler
From the editor of the widely praised The Landmark Thucydides and The Landmark Herodotus, here is a new edition of Xenophon's Hellenika, the primary source for the events of the final seven years and aftermath of the Peloponnesian War. Hellenika covers the years between 411 and 362 B.C.E., a particularly dramatic period during which the alliances among Athens, Sparta, Thebes, and Persia were in constant flux. Together with the volumes of Herodotus and Thucydides, it completes an ancient narrative of the military and political history of classical Greece. Beautifully illustrated, heavily annotated, and filled with detailed, clear maps, this edition gives us a new, authoritative, and completely accessible translation by John Marincola, a comprehensive introduction by David Thomas, sixteen appendices written by leading classics scholars, and an extensive timeline/chronology to clarify this otherwise confusing period. Unlike any other edition of the Hellenika, it also includes the relevant texts of Diodorus Siculus and the Oxyrhynchus Historian, with explanatory footnotes and a table that correlates passages of the three works, which is perhaps crucial to an assessment of Xenophon's reliability and quality as a historian. Like the two Landmark editions that precede it, The Landmark Xenophon's Hellenika is the most readable and comprehensive edition yet of an essential history.
  • More

The Last Talk With Lola Faye

By Thomas H. Cook
Authors:
Thomas H. Cook
  • More

A Last English Summer

By Duncan Hamilton
Authors:
Duncan Hamilton
  • More
  • The Long Glasgow Kiss

    By Craig Russell, Sean Barrett
    Authors:
    Craig Russell
    Read by:
    Sean Barrett
    'The kind of thriller writing that made me want to be a writer' Chris BrookmyreFast-paced and blackly funny noir for fans of Philip Kerr and Raymond ChandlerGlasgow in the 1950s - private investigator Lennox is keeping a low profile, enjoying a fling with the daughter of shady bookie and greyhound breeder MacFarlane. When MacFarlane is found bludgeoned to death, Lennox is a suspect. Luckily, he has a solid gold alibi - he was in bed with the victim's daughter at the time. It turns out MacFarlane was into some seriously dodgy stuff. One of Glasgow's notorious Three Kings, crime boss Willie Sneddon, is involved and he's not a man Lennox wants to cross. But there's an even bigger player out there, an elusive villain who makes the Three Kings look like minnows. Lennox is going to get his fingers burnt, badly.
    • More

    The Last Brother

    By Nathacha Appanah
    Authors:
    Nathacha Appanah
    • More

    Legions of Rome

    By Stephen Dando-Collins
    Authors:
    Stephen Dando-Collins
    • More

    Love Songs from a Shallow Grave

    By Colin Cotterill
    Authors:
    Colin Cotterill
    • More

    Let Me In

    By John Ajvide Lindqvist
    Authors:
    John Ajvide Lindqvist
    • More
  • Lennox

    By Craig Russell
    Authors:
    Craig Russell
    Glasgow, 1953: the war may be over but the battle for the streets is just beginning. Three crime bosses control the murky streets, but a small-scale con is trying to invade their territory. The balance is shifting. Lennox, a hard man in a hard city at a hard time, finds himself caught in the middle - a dangerous place to be. One night, a body is discovered on the road, his head mashed to pulp, and Lennox is in the frame for murder. The only way of proving his innocence is to solve the crime - but he'll have to dodge men more deadly than Glasgow's crime bosses before he gets any answers. The first in a unique and memorable crime series, Lennox is gritty, fast-paced, mordantly funny and totally compelling.
    • More

    The Leaping

    By Tom Fletcher
    Authors:
    Tom Fletcher
    An astonishing and innovative blend of horror, folktale and disturbing realism, The Leaping is the first instalment in what is shaping up to be a genre-defining series.Jack finished university three years ago, but he's still stuck in a dead-end job in a sinister call-centre in Manchester. When the beautiful - and rich - Jennifer comes into his life, he thinks he might have finally found his ticket out of there. The only problem? His boss is interested in Jennifer as well, and there's something strangely bestial about him . . . So when Jennifer buys Fell House, a mysterious old mansion out in remote Cumbria, a house party on a legendary scale seems like the perfect escape. But as the party spins out of control, Jennifer and Jack face the terrifying possibility that not all the guests may be human - and some of them want to feed.
    • More

    Last Known Address

    By Theresa Schwegel
    Authors:
    Theresa Schwegel
    • More

    Life according to Lubka

    By Laurie Graham
    Authors:
    Laurie Graham
    Pittsburgh was too small for Beryl Wexler. Barely out of high school, she changed her name to Buzz and set off for the bright lights of London. She never looked back. Now she's at the top of her game in the music PR business, looking after the coolest groups on the planet. And for a woman who was forty-two last birthday she certainly keeps up the pace. But her life is about to change. Some twenty-year-old has been given the new Japanese girl band predicted to go stellar, and Buzz is being sidelined. Instead, Buzz gets to tour with the Gorni Grannies, Bulgarian singers of a certain age. These ladies may not be the tantrum-throwing celebs Buzz is used to, but they present other challenges. How to stop Lubka straining yogurt through her knee highs? How to dissuade Kichka from stealing everything not nailed to the floor? Fuelled by copious shots of home-brewed plum rakia, Buzz and Lubka address life's ups and down, until the world tilts and a different future beckons.
    • More

    Late Nights on Air

    By Elizabeth Hay
    Authors:
    Elizabeth Hay
    • More