Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books

The Third Reich

By Richard Overy
Authors:
Richard Overy
The Third Reich was the name Hitler and the Nazi Party gave to the dictatorship that began in 1933 and ended twelve years later with the utter destruction of Germany and Hitler's suicide. Defined by the messianic, iconic figure of the Führer, the Third Reich was one of the pivotal periods of the modern age. From small beginnings in the 1920s, Hitler's movement came to dominate German society in the 1930s, bringing with it the militarization of German society, the apparatus of state terror and a policy of violent discrimination against political opponents, the so-called 'asocials': gypsies, homosexuals, and, above all, the Jews. The history of the Reich is bound up with territorial aggression, total war and genocide. The end result was the complete defeat of Germany and the annihilation of millions of Europeans, a historical drama without precedent that still lies as a shadow over modern-day Germany. Richard Overy charts the rise and fall of Nazi power in a compelling narrative of the period, amplified by extensive quotations from documents, letters, diaries and oral testimony, and accompanied by many original and striking images of the era. There are also fact boxes which explore many of the important aspects of the Third Reich in greater detail. Authoritative, informative and sumptuously illustrated, written by a scholar steeped in knowledge of the period, The Third Reich brings the bloody realities of war, conquest and genocide vividly to life. It is an ideal book for anyone fascinated by the stormy history of the twentieth century, World War II and the age of dictators.
  • More

The Thing on the Shore

By Tom Fletcher
Authors:
Tom Fletcher
The second in the series that began with The Leaping, set in a malevolent call-centre that just might be alive - affirming Tom Fletcher as the dark master for the 'temp' generation.When Artemis Black is assigned to manage a call-centre on behalf of a mysterious multinational corporation called Interext, the isolation and remoteness of the place encourage him to implement a decidedly unhinged personal project, installing what purports to be cutting-edge AI technology, with a real, 'human' voice, on the automated answering systems. As a result of Artemis' actions, one of his employees, Arthur, becomes aware of an intangible landscape inside the labyrinthine systems of the call-centre - a landscape in which he can feel some kind of otherworldly consciousness stirring and in which, perhaps as a result of his father's increasingly alarming eccentricities, he feels that he could find his recently deceased mother. Arthur takes refuge in this belief as his father, his job, and his house slowly deteriorate around him. He begins to conflate the mysterious, interstitial region that exists down the phonelines with the sea, as that was where his mother drowned. In a way he is right - Artemis' meddlings have attracted something, it is just not as benevolent as he thinks . . .
  • More
  • Three Seconds

    By Anders Roslund, Börge Hellström
    Authors:
    Anders Roslund, Börge Hellström
    WINNER OF THE 2011 CWA INTERNATIONAL DAGGER. A NEW YORK TIMES TOP 5 BESTSELLER. AND SOON TO BE A HOLLYWOOD BLOCKBUSTER - SCANDINAVIAN CRIME DOES NOT GET MORE EXPLOSIVE.'Extraordinarily compelling' Daily Mail'Three Seconds is just about how long it feels it takes to read Three Seconds . . . Terrific' Time OutONE MURDER.Piet Hoffmann is the Swedish police force's best undercover operative. Not even his family know of his double identity. Yet when a drug deal with the Polish mafia goes fatally wrong, his secret life begins to crumble around him. TWO MEN. Detective Inspector Ewert Grens is charged with investigating the drug-related killing. Unaware of Hoffmann's true identity, he believes himself to be on the trail of a dangerous psychopath. THREE SECONDS. Hoffmann must desperately maintain his cover; else he is a dead man walking. But, in the doggedly-perceptive Ewert Grens, he has just made the most relentless of enemies.Can't get enough of DCI Ewert Grens? Then check out Cell 8, named by the Sunday Times as one of the 60 Best Thrillers and Crime Novels of the Past 6 Years.
    • More

    Twenty-One Locks

    By Laura Barton
    Authors:
    Laura Barton
    • More

    Turn Back Time - The High Street

    By Philip Wilkinson
    Authors:
    Philip Wilkinson
    • More

    Tooth and Claw

    By Nigel McCrery
    Authors:
    Nigel McCrery
    From the creator of the hit BBC drama Silent Witness, comes the gripping second instalment in the acclaimed Mark Lapslie series, sees the DCI come under attack from all sides. Perfect for fans of M.J. Arlidge and Angela Marsons. By now he had knifed, strangled, blown up, drowned, bludgeoned and tortured ten people. Ten people that he had never even met, and had no knowledge of...Carl Whittley is seemingly a murderer without a motive. He's just tortured a beautiful, young TV presenter to death and now he's planning to blow an anonymous commuter to pieces. Who will be next? What is the motive behind the attacks? And how will he strike? DCI Mark Lapslie needs something to do. He suffers from a rare neurological condition that has forced him to leave his family and avoid the police station. For his superiors, he is nothing but a nuisance to be avoided - and the spate of unconnected murders is just what they need to send him into retirement. Carl wants every death to be different. More violent, bizarre and shocking. But as Lapslie gets on the scent and the force brings in a profiler, Carl makes a new plan. He hasn't killed a policeman yet . . .Discover the other books in the DCI Mark Lapslie series: Core of Evil, Scream, Thirteenth Coffin and Flesh and Blood.
    • More

    The Ten O'Clock Horses

    By Laurie Graham
    Authors:
    Laurie Graham
    • More

    Ten O'Clock Horses

    By Laurie Graham
    Authors:
    Laurie Graham
    It is 1962. The first avocado pears are appearing at the greengrocers, people are thinking about carpeting their lavatories and boxing in their banisters, and Ronnie Glover, housepainter, husband and father, is feeling the first vague stirrings of discontent with his life.Then, out of the blue, the fabulous, sophisticated (and married) Jacqueline bursts into this life and teaches him to tango. She seems to offer everything he ever dreamt of. But is it all too good to be true? What can a woman who has traveled the world want with a man who carries a stub of pencil behind his ear? And are the Ten O'Clock horses of Ronnie's painful childhood awake and sniffing the wind?
    • More

    Truth

    By Peter Temple
    Authors:
    Peter Temple
    THE SEQUEL TO THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER THE BROKEN SHORE, AND WINNER OF THE 2010 MILES FRANKLIN AWARD.'This year's best thriller' Sunday Times'A thriller of dazzling richness' Guardian'Temple's award-winning The Broken Shore was good; this is better' IndependentAt the close of a long day, Inspector Stephen Villani stands in the bathroom of a luxury apartment high above the city. In the glass bath, a young woman lies dead.Villani's job as the head of the Victoria Police Homicide Squad is bathed in blood and sorrow. Incapable of constancy as a father and husband, damaged as a son, his life is his work. Now, over a few sweltering summer days, as fires burn across the state and his superiors and colleagues scheme and jostle, the girl's murder will collide with what seems on the surface to be another brutal gangland slaying and expose the darkness in the city's soul.Loved Truth and The Broken Shore, and want more Peter Temple? Then check out the first of his Jack Irish thrillers, Bad Debts.
    • More

    Thirty-Three Teeth

    By Colin Cotterill
    Authors:
    Colin Cotterill
    • More

    Taming the Infinite

    By Ian Stewart
    Authors:
    Ian Stewart
    • More
  • To Dream of the Dead

    By Phil Rickman
    Authors:
    Phil Rickman
    • More

    The Tudor Chronicles

    By Susan Doran
    Authors:
    Susan Doran
    • More

    Through The Children's Gate

    By Adam Gopnik
    Authors:
    Adam Gopnik
    • More

    A Thomas H Cook Omnibus

    By Thomas H. Cook
    Authors:
    Thomas H. Cook
    • More

    Tools of War

    By Jeremy Black
    Authors:
    Jeremy Black
    • More

    The Teenager's Guide to Money

    By Jonathan Self
    Authors:
    Jonathan Self
    • More

    The Tyrants

    By Clive Foss
    Authors:
    Clive Foss
    • More