Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books

Sisters

By Prue Leith
Authors:
Prue Leith
Growing up in the outback of South Africa, sensible Poppy realized she would always have to look out for her younger sister, the beautiful, wild, and unreliable Carrie. Years later, in London, Poppy, a stage actress with three children and a charming, handsome husband, never imagines that Carrie, now a sexy and passionate caterer, would try to hurt her. But Carrie can't help herself. She's resentful that Poppy has everything she always wanted: a successful, fulfilling career, a gorgeous husband, a loving family, a house in the country, while Carrie has nothing but debts, one-night-stands, and an uncertain future. Carrie discovers the chink in Poppy's armor, her husband Eduardo, and she sets out to exploit it in the way she knows best. She provides Eduardo with danger, excitement, and great sex - all things that have faded in Eduardo and Poppy's marriage. But in destroying her sister's peace of mind, Carrie risks losing all those who love her. Prue Leith has written a poignant and moving story about the real choices siblings have to make once they grow up and start taking stock of their lives. Sisters is a brilliantly crafted portrait of sibling rivalry, love, and the ultimate betrayal.
  • More

Summer Things

By Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly
  • More

Summer Lightning

By Tamara McKinley
Authors:
Tamara McKinley
If you love Lesley Pearse, you're sure to fall for Tamara McKinley.Miriam Strong has been looking forward to her family arriving at Bellbird Station to celebrate her seventy-fifth birthday, and she can't imagine how anything could go wrong. But then questions are raised about a stolen inheritance, and everyone is surprised to discover that Miriam has hidden the existence of a dangerous personal enemy. Miriam's granddaughters are drawn into the conflict, and a hero emerges in the person of Jake Connor, a high-minded lawyer determined to discover the truth. Summer Lightning is a feel-good family epic with a dark heart.
  • More

Soho, 4 a.m.

By Nuala Casey
Authors:
Nuala Casey
  • More

The Sea Witch

By Stephen Coonts
Authors:
Stephen Coonts
  • More

A Savage Place (A Spenser Mystery)

By Robert B. Parker
Authors:
Robert B. Parker
TV reporter Candy Sloan is in danger, after investigating labour racketeering in Hollywood's movie industry. Someone isn't happy about it. Spenser is hired to keep Candy safe until the story breaks, but when he discovers quite how far she is willing go to secure her headline, he begins to have second thoughts about the job. But soon her unorthodox approach isn't his only concern...
  • More

Stiff Upper Lips & Baggy Green Caps

By Simon Briggs
Authors:
Simon Briggs
  • More

The Story of Christianity

By David Bentley Hart
Authors:
David Bentley Hart
  • More

The Secret History of Dante

By Jonathan Black
Authors:
Jonathan Black
Why does Dante describe the Inferno as a real place? What secret society did Dante belong to? What was Dante's connection with the Knights Templar? What was his secret connection to militant Islamic sects? Jonathan Black, author of the international bestseller The Secret History of the World, uncovers the real-life stories of Dante and The Inferno. Here you will find hidden codes, passageways under the streets of Florence, mad monks, mind-bending drugs and terrifying underground rituals. Together they contain all the elements of a great thriller - greed, murder, obsessive love, betrayal - and they reveal a 2,000-year-old conspiracy: to rule the world. Perfect if you want to understand the mysteries that inspired Dan Brown's novel Inferno, or as a standalone initiation to one of the great turning points in occult history.
  • More

The Sweetness of Forgetting

By Kristin Harmel
Authors:
Kristin Harmel
  • More
  • Saucer: The Conquest

    By Stephen Coonts
    Authors:
    Stephen Coonts
    After discovering the secrets of a 140,000-year-old spacecraft and delivering it to safety in the smash hit Saucer, Rip and Charley think their days of high-flying extra-terrestrial adventure are over. But bored with Rip's aimless wanderings, Charley accepts a job flying space planes to the moon for the French lunar base project, where she discovers a world-threatening anti-gravity beam that could only have been constructed using saucer technology.She steals a space plane and flies back to earth to sound the warning. Meanwhile, the French kidnap Rip's uncle Egg and force him to fly a saucer hidden in Area 51 to the moon. Rip and Charley must steal the first saucer from its new home at the museum and hit the not-so-friendly skies again in order to rescue Uncle Egg and save the world from a twisted modern-day Napoleon bent on conquest.
    • More
  • Saucer

    By Stephen Coonts
    Authors:
    Stephen Coonts
    While interning with a seismic survey crew in the Sahara Desert, Rip Cantrell discovers a flying saucer embedded in a sandstone ledge. Rip is keen to learn as much as possible about the saucer, which is at least 140,000 years old. But he's not the only one.While various groups squabble about Rip's discovery, Rip and former Air Force test pilot Charlotte "Charley" Pine steal the saucer and fly into orbit. As they try to learn the saucer's secrets, Rip and Charley must keep it away from the U.S. Government, which would deny its existence, and rogue Australian billionaire Roger Hedrick, who wants to sell it to the highest bidder.
    • More

    Selkirk's Island

    By Diana Souhami
    Authors:
    Diana Souhami
    • More

    Signs and Wonders

    By Alix Ohlin
    Authors:
    Alix Ohlin
    • More

    The Singing Winds

    By Elizabeth Gill
    Authors:
    Elizabeth Gill
    Can she triumph over tragedy?After her father's death, Kate Ferrar is expected to move from London to a mining village in County Durham to live with an uncle she barely knows. Restricted by the confines of polite society and hungry for education and honest company, she breaks all social rules by taking a job in her uncle's office. But a sudden and shocking pit disaster almost destroys everything and Kate must draw on all her courage to survive...An emotional read about love in the face of hardship. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Nadine Dorries.
    • More
  • Shelter from the Storm

    By Elizabeth Gill
    Authors:
    Elizabeth Gill
    1877, Durham. After a traumatic incident, a woman gives birth to a child and is persuaded by her husband to give him up to a local couple. On the same dark and stormy night, a local pit owner turns his wife out on to the bleak moors, telling her son she is evil. The woman is never seen again.1897, DurhamThese childhood events, seemingly unrelated, have shaped the characters of these two unloved boys, now men. And they in turn are about to change the lives of two innocent young women, as the past reaches out and casts a shadow over the present.
    • More

    The Second Empress

    By Michelle Moran
    Authors:
    Michelle Moran
    • More

    Sleepwalkers

    By Tom Grieves
    Authors:
    Tom Grieves
    • More

    Secrets and Sins

    By CC Gibbs
    Authors:
    CC Gibbs
    ELIZABETH GRAHAM WAS HIS PRISONER, BUT IT WAS SHE WHO WOULD ULTIMATELY RULE OVER HIM.When Johnnie Carre, Laird of Ravensby, abducts Elizabeth, his only thought is to help his brother in prison. But Elizabeth's beauty and wit prove to be a temptation he hasn't planned for. Keeping Elizabeth with him will only antagonize his foes, but letting her go would mean forfeiting his hard-won prize... and after all his hostage doesn't seem so unwilling...
    • More

    Sinful Dreams

    By CC Gibbs
    Authors:
    CC Gibbs
    From the erotic imagination of bestselling author Susan Johnson comes a tale of surprising sensuality, sweeping from English sitting rooms to North African markets, from the horse races to the Scottish Highlands. Sinjin St. John, Duke of Seth, charming rogue and bedder of beautiful women, was sure nothing could surprise him. That is until he stepped into his carriage one evening and found it already occupied with the most delectable visitor imaginable. Chelsea Fergusson is a proper young lady with an indecent plan to get out of an unwanted marriage, and she needs an immoral rogue to help her do it. Sinjin looks like he might be the perfect man for the job, but will Chelsea's beauty and spirit leave him wanting something more for the very first time?
    • More