Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, from Quercus
Our books

Screams in the Dark

By Anna Smith
Authors:
Anna Smith
A gritty, page-turning thriller perfect for fans of Martina Cole. Refugees are disappearing in Glasgow. The mutilated body of one has been found, but the police aren't interested. Can crime reporter Rosie Gilmour uncover the truth before the killer comes for her?Steeped in its own problems, Glasgow's mushrooming underclass is simmering with resentment and the sudden flow of Kosovan refugess into the city; and one by one, refugees are disappearing. The authorities assume the refugees have vanished into the black economy, until the mutilated body of an Albanian man is fished out of the River Clyde.Asylum seekers and refugees with no roots and no families are easy pickings. But why is there no urgency from the authorities to find out what's happening? Rosie Gilmour's instincts tell her there's more to this story, but after six weeks on the frontlines in Kosovo, is her sympathy for the refugees clouding her judgement?'Gripping and compelling' KIMBERLEY CHAMBERS'An action packed novel with current political undertones that make for a riveting read' EUROCRIME
  • More

Sacrifice

By Max Kinnings, Max Kinnings
Authors:
Max Kinnings, Max Kinnings
  • More

The Spies

By Luís Fernando Veríssimo
Authors:
Luís Fernando Veríssimo
  • More
  • Super Bright Baby: 50 Things You Really Need to Know

    By John Farndon
    Authors:
    John Farndon
    • More

    Spit Against the Wind

    By Anna Smith
    Authors:
    Anna Smith
    It's the long, hot summer of 1968. For ten-year-old Kathleen Slaven and her pals, the school holidays beckon. Into their run-down village in the west of Scotland arrives Tony, a real American kid, like the ones from the movies, ready to lead them into all kinds of adventure: gaining sweet revenge on their sadistic teacher Miss Grant on a trip to Ayr, discovering the unsettling secrets of 'Shaggy Island', and coming up with ways to outwit the people who screw up their lives - like the local parish priest Father Flynn. But the world they live in is a precarious one. And while they escape by playing at TV heroes and film stars, their mothers grow old before their time on broken promises, and fathers make a living in the coal mines or 'digging ditches, in the pissing rain', often boozing or gambling the wages away while their families go hungry. In an impoverished community, suffering and violence are never far from home. And even the optimism and escapism of their years cannot protect the children from the tragedies of life.
    • More

    A Spaceship Built of Stone and Other Stories

    By Lisa Tuttle
    Authors:
    Lisa Tuttle
    'Tuttle is at her best as a short story writer. The power and sheer quality of her work are unmistakable on every page' Science Fiction & Fantasy Book Review. Containing 'Wives', a classic in feminist science fiction and the author's most frequently discussed and reprinted short story, and 'The Bone Flute', which was famously awarded and then removed from the Nebula Awards, Lisa Tuttle's second short-story collection is as breathtaking and genre bending as the first.Originally published by The Woman's Press, a specialised feminist publishing company in 1987, A Spaceship Built of Stones contains 10 short stories that demonstrate Tuttle's effortless mastery of the short story form and her undeniable writing prowess. The collection also includes the stories 'No Regrets', 'The Family Monkey', 'Mrs T', 'A Spaceship Built of Stone', 'The Cure', 'The Hollow Man', 'The Other Kind' and 'The Birds of the Moon'.
    • More

    Stardust (A Spenser Mystery)

    By Robert B. Parker
    Authors:
    Robert B. Parker
    When Spenser is hired to protect glamorous star Jill Joyce from an anonymous harasser, he gets more than he bargained for. The stalking is growing steadily more sinister and Spenser fears it could soon turn into murder.
    • More

    Sisters

    By Prue Leith
    Authors:
    Prue Leith
    Growing up in the outback of South Africa, sensible Poppy realized she would always have to look out for her younger sister, the beautiful, wild, and unreliable Carrie. Years later, in London, Poppy, a stage actress with three children and a charming, handsome husband, never imagines that Carrie, now a sexy and passionate caterer, would try to hurt her. But Carrie can't help herself. She's resentful that Poppy has everything she always wanted: a successful, fulfilling career, a gorgeous husband, a loving family, a house in the country, while Carrie has nothing but debts, one-night-stands, and an uncertain future. Carrie discovers the chink in Poppy's armor, her husband Eduardo, and she sets out to exploit it in the way she knows best. She provides Eduardo with danger, excitement, and great sex - all things that have faded in Eduardo and Poppy's marriage. But in destroying her sister's peace of mind, Carrie risks losing all those who love her. Prue Leith has written a poignant and moving story about the real choices siblings have to make once they grow up and start taking stock of their lives. Sisters is a brilliantly crafted portrait of sibling rivalry, love, and the ultimate betrayal.
    • More

    Summer Things

    By Joseph Connolly
    Authors:
    Joseph Connolly
    • More
  • A Song from Dead Lips

    By William Shaw
    Authors:
    William Shaw
    • More

    Summer Lightning

    By Tamara McKinley
    Authors:
    Tamara McKinley
    If you love Lesley Pearse, you're sure to fall for Tamara McKinley.Miriam Strong has been looking forward to her family arriving at Bellbird Station to celebrate her seventy-fifth birthday, and she can't imagine how anything could go wrong. But then questions are raised about a stolen inheritance, and everyone is surprised to discover that Miriam has hidden the existence of a dangerous personal enemy. Miriam's granddaughters are drawn into the conflict, and a hero emerges in the person of Jake Connor, a high-minded lawyer determined to discover the truth. Summer Lightning is a feel-good family epic with a dark heart.
    • More

    The Story of Philosophy

    By James Garvey, Jeremy Stangroom
    Authors:
    James Garvey, Jeremy Stangroom
    • More

    Soho, 4 a.m.

    By Nuala Casey
    Authors:
    Nuala Casey
    6 July 2005. Great Britain has just been announced as the next host of the Olympics. The euphoric crowds pour forth from Trafalgar Square into the waiting bars and restaurants of Soho. Dreams, drugs, debauchery . . . Soho is London's red light district, where any desire can be satisfied in the blink of an eye. But behind it all there is a permanent community of residents whose own sins are concealed by the partying and excess. Zoe, an aspiring model looking for her big break, will discover the sinister world behind the bright lights; artist Seb is hoping he can forget the past by drinking himself into oblivion, while his friend Ade is about to take extreme measures to save his livelihood and relationship. Meanwhile, Stella, Ade's girlfriend, wonders if this is the night to escape. Through the dark streets, these four ordinary people walk a dangerous, twisted path through London's greatest adult playground.Come the morning of 7 July, as jubilation turns to horror, will they have fallen into Soho's poisoned embrace while the nation's eyes are turned elsewhere?
    • More

    The Sea Witch

    By Stephen Coonts
    Authors:
    Stephen Coonts
    • More

    A Savage Place (A Spenser Mystery)

    By Robert B. Parker
    Authors:
    Robert B. Parker
    TV reporter Candy Sloan is in danger, after investigating labour racketeering in Hollywood's movie industry. Someone isn't happy about it. Spenser is hired to keep Candy safe until the story breaks, but when he discovers quite how far she is willing go to secure her headline, he begins to have second thoughts about the job. But soon her unorthodox approach isn't his only concern...
    • More

    The Story of Christianity

    By David Bentley Hart
    Authors:
    David Bentley Hart
    • More

    Stiff Upper Lips & Baggy Green Caps

    By Simon Briggs
    Authors:
    Simon Briggs
    • More

    The Secret History of Dante

    By Jonathan Black
    Authors:
    Jonathan Black
    Why does Dante describe the Inferno as a real place? What secret society did Dante belong to? What was Dante's connection with the Knights Templar? What was his secret connection to militant Islamic sects? Jonathan Black, author of the international bestseller The Secret History of the World, uncovers the real-life stories of Dante and The Inferno. Here you will find hidden codes, passageways under the streets of Florence, mad monks, mind-bending drugs and terrifying underground rituals. Together they contain all the elements of a great thriller - greed, murder, obsessive love, betrayal - and they reveal a 2,000-year-old conspiracy: to rule the world. Perfect if you want to understand the mysteries that inspired Dan Brown's novel Inferno, or as a standalone initiation to one of the great turning points in occult history.
    • More

    Signs and Wonders

    By Alix Ohlin
    Authors:
    Alix Ohlin
    • More

    The Sweetness of Forgetting

    By Kristin Harmel
    Authors:
    Kristin Harmel
    • More