Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Award-winning author Simon Morden joins Gollancz

DOWN STATIONGollancz is delighted to announce the acquisition of two sweeping science fantasy novels from Philip K. Dick Award-winning author, Simon Morden. The world of Down Station is built on another, magical, world that bears uncanny links to home.

 Simon Morden joins Gollancz the specialist SFF imprint of the Orion Publishing Group with an out-of-the-ordinary novel with engaging characters, a gripping plot and a surprising take on familiar genre tropes and themes in the vein of Michael Moorcock and Julian May.

The World rights to the two books were brought by Gollancz Associate Editor Simon Spanton from Antony Harwood of Antony Harwood ltd.

Simon Spanton writes: “It’s a real thrill to be publishing Simon Morden especially with a book that takes your expectations and plays with them in such an entertaining way. It’s been a long time since I read a novel that had such a unique feel and which kept me guessing as much as Down Station. It’s an absorbing step into a constantly surprising world. And Simon is full of more equally fascinating proposals. It’s wonderful that he’s joined Gollancz.”

Simon Morden writes: “I’m obviously delighted that Gollancz are publishing Down Station and its sequel. It’s entirely natural that these strange, wonderful stories have found a place at a strange and wonderful publisher.  It feels very much like coming home.”

In Down Station a small group of commuters and tube workers witness a fiery apocalypse overtaking London. They make their escape through a service tunnel. Reaching a door they step through…and find themselves on a wild shore backed by cliffs and rolling grassland. Other people have arrived. The party embark on a quest to discover what has brought them all here and what this new world is and what their role in it is to be.

Simon Morden has won the Philip K. Dick Award and been a judge on the Arthur C. Clarke Award. A popular figure on the genre scene he has also proved to be a popular author of both noir SF and extravagant Fantasy themed SF. He has also been an editor at Focus magazine. He has a degree in Geology and Planetary Geophysics.

Down Station will be available in trade paperback, eBook and audio download on the 18th February 2016.

Can’t wait until the 18th February? Enter our giveaway for a chance to win 1 of 3 early reading copies.

a Rafflecopter giveaway