Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Hanging Tree Announcement

The hanging treeGollancz is delighted to announce the publication of THE HANGING TREE, the sixth book in Ben Aaronovitch’s bestselling Peter Grant series, on November 3rd 2016.  The publication will be supported by a major marketing and publicity campaign and a full UK tour.

 News of THE HANGING TREE’s imminent publication will delight Ben Aaronovitch’s legions of fans, who have eagerly awaited his next book since the Sunday Times Top Ten Bestseller FOXGLOVE SUMMER was published in 2014.  THE HANGING TREE already has thousands of preorders in hardback and ebook and is set to be Aaronovitch’s most successful title to date.

THE HANGING TREE was the ghoulish nickname for the Tyburn gallows, which stood where Marble Arch stands today.  The journey down Oxford Street towards the gallows was the last journey of the condemned.  The super-rich, who own the Mayfair mansions that now surround this grisly part of London, are unaware of its haunted legacy, but they are about to receive a bloody reminder.  And blood mixed with magic is a job for Peter Grant.

Another gripping and hilarious adventure through the secret streets of London, THE HANGING TREE is an insight into London’s dark past and what still remains today with a liberal sprinkling of folklore, myth and violent crime.

Each of Ben Aaronovitch’s previous titles, RIVERS OF LONDON, MOON OVER SOHO, WHISPERS UNDERGROUND, BROKEN HOMES and FOXGLOVE SUMMER have been Sunday Times Top Ten Bestsellers and attracted rave reviews.

Bestselling narrator Kobna Holdbrook-Smith returns again to read the audiobook of THE HANGING TREE, which will be available to download on 24th November 2016 and as a MP3CD on 8th December.

Gillian Redfearn, Gollancz Publisher, says: THE HANGING TREE is fantastic – a mystery set in the heart of London and drawing on the city’s rich history and culture to add depth and a little London magic to a gripping story. It’s a treat to read, and a welcome early Christmas present for fans of Ben Aaronovitch and PC Peter Grant.’

Pre-order THE HANGING TREE from Waterstones, Amazon, Audible, WHSmith, Hive, iBooks, Kobo, Sainsburys.

hanging-tree-5-compressed